Player Watch #30 Tom Brown

• Thread starter Thread starter Sterge

Reckon Tom Brown can take a major step up. Some of it is, I think, that he is best receiving the ball and then using it. i.e. he isn't a Vlas type who takes the intercepts and kicks it well. Well not so far anyway. Once we get our midfield putting pressure on and the defence holding their men then Brown can really get off the leash. If we can get Brown working as a defender not on the main men, and then that allows him to get space to move the ball then he could rip teams apart.

<rant> Tom Stewart is a massive flog. Hugely overrated as a footballer. Despised for many reasons by Richmond supporters. Please don't ever mention him in a positive way ever again. </rant>
Mate he is (was?) a gun. **** you campaigners sook about him.

Even if you think he was lucky in say two of those AA teams, he'd still be a 3-time AA, 2-time BNF and premiership player. That's an elite resume, regardless of whether you like him or not because he injured one of our players once...

Get fair dinkum. He is a dog.

Do you say the same about Lynch for striking last year? or the many other incidents he's had? Do you still call him a good footballer?

Do you consider Broad a dog after smashing that Crows players head into the ground a couple of years ago?
Being a dog and a very good footballer are two different things. You can be both, and Tom Stewart is just that.
Yep.

Do you say the same about Lynch for striking last year? or the many other incidents he's had? Do you still call him a good footballer?

Do you consider Broad a dog after smashing that Crows players head into the ground a couple of years ago?

Yep.

Lynch is not a dog, he had someone illegally holding him and slightly miscued his attempt to break free with a shining arm to the upper body, nobody was hurt in the filming of that manoeuvre. The other incidents you speak of were marginal at worst.

Broad was tackling a player with the ball and got it wrong. He was rightly punished with a suspension, but it was in play and not a dog act.

Stewart lined Prestia up deliberately after the ball had left the area(thus Prestia had no expectation of heavy contact, let alone deliberate contact) and took nothing but head in an extremely cynical incident. It was not a one off. It was a dog act. You do the action you wear the title.

His 5 All Australians is laughable. He won one when he was not in the top rated 100 defenders in the competition. His 2018 & 2019 AA's were achieved with player ratings that would normally not get a player near AA selection. His 2021 & 2023 gongs were achieved with ratings that would normally be marginal for AA selection, Vlastuin for eg has 3 times rated higher than Stewart's second best ever rating. His 2022 AA Stewart missed 5 games, which has been enough to exclude plenty of players from selection. He could as easily have zero AA selections as 5.

Very good player but gets rails runs galore.

Lynch is not a dog, he had someone illegally holding him and slightly miscued his attempt to break free with a shining arm to the upper body, nobody was hurt in the filming of that manoeuvre. The other incidents you speak of were marginal at worst.

Broad was tackling a player with the ball and got it wrong. He was rightly punished with a suspension, but it was in play and not a dog act.

Stewart lined Prestia up deliberately after the ball had left the area(thus Prestia had no expectation of heavy contact, let alone deliberate contact) and took nothing but head in an extremely cynical incident. It was not a one off. It was a dog act. You do the action you wear the title.

His 5 All Australians is laughable. He won one when he was not in the top rated 100 defenders in the competition. His 2018 & 2019 AA's were achieved with player ratings that would normally not get a player near AA selection. His 2021 & 2023 gongs were achieved with ratings that would normally be marginal for AA selection, Vlastin for eg has 3 times rated higher than Stewart's second best ever rating. His 2022 AA Stewart missed 5 games, which has been enough to exclude plenty of players from selection. He could as easily have zero AA selections as 5.

Very good player but gets rails runs galore.
Reaction Ok GIF

If an oppo player had done all the things Lynch had done over his career you'd be calling him a dog too :thumbsu:

Yep.
Lynch never did anything as bad as what Stewart did to Prestia

That's an elite resume, regardless of whether you like him or not because he injured one of our players once...
He may be a gun footballer, although his best is behind him, but he is also a gutless sniper who targets players off the ball who are smaller than him.

F**k him.

Tom Brown - tall guy, great kick.

Not a dog

Not a star ... as yet.

I suspect he'll take another step this year and will have some ripping games. Hopefully we can get him delivering the ball inside 50. Brown and Banks can rip teams apart if we can set the stage for them. I'd like to see at least 4 games this year where we pull teams apart with kicking from the back half.

The 4 week suspension was a complete joke, should have been a minimum of 6 - 8 weeks.
While Lynch gets 5 weeks for a "bad look for the game", where the player gets up and continues to give Lynchy a bath for the next 75 minutes of the match.

Coupla weeks later Darcy puts the same Crows player out for 10 weeks with a clear jab to the guts and doesn't get shit.

Tom Brown - tall guy, great kick.

Not a dog

Not a star ... as yet.

I suspect he'll take another step this year and will have some ripping games. Hopefully we can get him delivering the ball inside 50. Brown and Banks can rip teams apart if we can set the stage for them. I'd like to see at least 4 games this year where we pull teams apart with kicking from the back half.
Brown and Banks are both from the 2021 super draft, they should be cherry ripe this year, 5th year in the system, both have added size it’s their time to shine.
Brown could be elite, just one thing missing from his game.
Banks had a really good year, when he replaced Short and he got his opportunity to be the main distributor out of our backline.

I genuinely have no idea how he got AA in two of his AA seasons. I don't remember which years, but he performed absolutely terribly in them and still got AA lol (Tigger should've gotten those two years). His others are fine though as he played great in those years.