2026 Rising Stars and Emerging Talent?

We have. But thanks for the advice.

And as you are no doubt aware the Qld academies encompass the entire state without the NGA restrictions.

Two totally different set ups. And the expansion clubs get much more access.

Strange the Lions need an academy since the Suns legitimately need one as they won't get any father sons for years.

Wasn't that one of the main areas the AFL wanted to equalise?

Well father sons are flooding in. So why do the Lions still get the same leg up as the Suns?

Double dipping AFL policies failing again.

We’re growing the game. It’s integral to the survival of the competition that we grow the game. Growing the game is great for the game. Growing the game will be great for the game in the future.

Max Hall.

He showed it in patches last year, at one point I think being (Champion Data) ranked the number 2 player in the league, with his goal assists and score involvements a highlight.

I really think this year with some more midfield time that his impact will be clear. Is already highly rated by Saints supporters, but this year I reckon the rest of the league takes notice.

Max Hall.

He showed it in patches last year, at one point I think being (Champion Data) ranked the number 2 player in the league, with his goal assists and score involvements a highlight.

I really think this year with some more midfield time that his impact will be clear. Is already highly rated by Saints supporters, but this year I reckon the rest of the league takes notice.
You lost me at Champion Data

We’re growing the game. It’s integral to the survival of the competition that we grow the game. Growing the game is great for the game. Growing the game will be great for the game in the future.

absolute unit GIF

pile GIF

Back on topic.

Potential rising stars at the Eagles in 2026

Jobe Shanahan is still eligible.
Bo Allen looks really fit and ready to get going.
Duursma as a #1 pick will attract attention.
CDT later in the season possibly.
Lindsay may surprise later in the season.

Scott Pendlebury might emerge this year
You idiot. You don’t think that bald bloke on the wing will emerge ahead of Pendlebury?

And I’m surprised Tiger supporters haven’t jumped in with one of 15 kids. What’s wrong with you all?

In all seriousness, and Tigers aside, keen to see Harley Reid this year. Caddy from EFC is another as is an obvious one in Sam Darcy. I do enjoy watching the big forwards kick bags.

Oh and intrigued to see what Rhys Stanley can do with the new ruck rules. Tailor made for him. Could be a break out season for him.

Okay I'm a bit too autistic to be able to tell over text - are lions fans genuinely unaware of the differences in access between NGAs and northern academies, or are they just trolling?
Dont stress.

After Lions fans having been involved in so many arguments on the difference between F/S and academies, I'm fairly certain most are very clear on the differences.

Dont stress.

After Lions fans having been involved in so many arguments on the difference between F/S and academies, I'm fairly certain most are very clear on the differences.

Did you miss an emoji? ;) ;)

That wasn't what he was asking.

The Lions academy is not a watered down NGA academy with limited access.

Bit over half are. Morris, Lohman, Wilmot and Smith I think are all normal picks. Reville was academy i think but wasn't picked up in his drafted year originally. Came through as a VFL top up player and then a rookie so not sure he counts.

We've definitely had a leg up but also drafted really well outside of that
I don't understand how everyone missed Morris. Kid's a gun.

From purely a Rising Star Award perspective, The Flying Viking would have to be a fair chance.

Missed most of last preseason due to a stress fracture in his back, then copped a 5 or so week suspension in the VFL, once he resumed, so only played the 10 AFL games, keeping him eligible again this year.

It looks like we could be going with a 4 tall back setup (Howard/Caminiti, Wilkie, Silvagni and Tauru), so he could be let off the chain to just attack the footy in the air at will.

He reminds me so much of a young Rooey and he won the Rising Star in his second season from CHB.

I don't understand how everyone missed Morris. Kid's a gun.
Too short and not athletic enough to be a key position forward apparently. Just shows the focus on athletic profile versus the much harder to judge ability and game sense.

High hopes that our WA Academy is finally starting to produce genuine A‑grade talent. We’ve already managed to sneak a top‑10 caliber player through the system and pick him up at an absolute bargain with pick 39, daylight robbery, really.

And with Evans developing nicely, I’m expecting him to step up over the next couple of years as well. If things keep trending this way, our WA academy pipeline will become another avalanche of rorts we can exploit.

High hopes that our WA Academy is finally starting to produce genuine A‑grade talent. We’ve already managed to sneak a top‑10 caliber player through the system and pick him up at an absolute bargain with pick 39, daylight robbery, really.

And with Evans developing nicely, I’m expecting him to step up over the next couple of years as well. If things keep trending this way, our WA academy pipeline will become another avalanche of rorts we can exploit.

Koby Evans was a steal. Massive stuff up by the Eagles.