3 Mansell
7 Lynch, Short
10 Balta
11 Ralphsmith, Prestia
12 Dow
16 Young
22 Lefau

Ryan also missed about half the season.

Now ok, not all these guys were best 23. But if they were all available every game, they'd have probably played about an extra 70-75 AFL games between them. That is roughly the amount of matches an AFL team loses from it whole best 23 due to injury each season.

It is simply untrue to say or infer we didn't suffer from absences to mature players in 2025. We did, and to a greater extent than an AFL club would normally suffer.

Vlastuin, Hopper, Ross, Miller, Taranto, Shirt, Nank, Broad, Sonsie, senior or getting close had pretty good years as far as getting on the park. Prestia took until half way through to get in the side but played the last 12, which is good for him. Balta wasn't injured.

Compared to previous few years, that is a good result. It was the youngsters and periphery players that copped it in the main.

Vlastuin, Hopper, Ross, Miller, Taranto, Shirt, Nank, Broad, Sonsie, senior or getting close had pretty good years as far as getting on the park. Prestia took until half way through to get in the side but played the last 12, which is good for him. Balta wasn't injured.

Compared to previous few years, that is a good result. It was the youngsters and periphery players that copped it in the main.

Fair enough, sorry you were talking specifically about injuries, not all absences.

Yes it is probably fair to say re new injuries to senior players since Serpell took over from Ivan the Impaler we have been quite well off.

I went off a bit half cocked there, apologies.

The true Serpell related list is probably more like:

12 Dow
11 Prestia Ralphsmith
7 Short

+ a few 1 weekers.

Much more normal or even on the healthy side.

Proven correct on wokeness unlike like you jokes are better than reality aren't they mr.

harry potter GIF

Fair enough, sorry you were talking specifically about injuries, not all absences.

Yes it is probably fair to say re new injuries to senior players since Serpell took over from Ivan the Impaler we have been quite well off.

I went off a bit half cocked there, apologies.

The true Serpell related list is probably more like:

12 Dow
11 Prestia Ralphsmith
7 Short

+ a few 1 weekers.

Much more normal or even on the healthy side.

It’s more interesting to me that this was the first season since 2019 that Prestia played more than 8 games in a row (he played all of the final 12 games), I know there are concussions in that span so it’s missing 1 game, but I still think it’s basically the first time in 7 seasons Prestia seemed not to have leg problems once he got going.

Whaddya mean
every time we "manage a players load" they end up pulling a hammy in the real stuff as they aren't even remotely ready for the intensity of a full game after Serpell has sat them on the sidelines for a month or two

You're aware that plans can change, especially post surgery once they get a more complete picture as to the full nature of the type of repair that was needed.

I'm also aware that last time i compared our so-called injury report that originally stated he would be full training in the new year, I was promptly told that February was technically the new year. :rolleyes:

So, now it's going to be full training in March? Club is running scared from the fall out if they say he won't be playing until May. That's what happens when you keep making up return dates.

I'm also aware that last time i compared our so-called injury report that originally stated he would be full training in the new year, I was promptly told that February was technically the new year. :rolleyes:

So, now it's going to be full training in March? Club is running scared from the fall out if they say he won't be playing until May. That's what happens when you keep making up return dates.
Club isn’t running scared of anyone Mate. Circumstances in rehab can change, players recover at different rates. They are likely giving best estimates based on his recovery to date and further needs each time they give an update on the timeline.
They will certainly be much more informed now than they were when the January/February estimations were given by Tim Livingston back in November after the surgery had taken place. Serpell wasn’t the one spruiking Jan/February estimations, that’s for sure.
I’m as keen as anyone to see Smillie back in full training and playing match sims, but if he’s taking a bit longer than originally forecast by the Football Director, so be it, it will take as long as it takes. As long as they get it right in rehab, avoids further complications, and he has the career we all hope for, we should all be happy.

Taranto name checked McAuliffe in the piece he did for the AFL. It’s only a small sample size, but if the boy gets a clean run at it, he’s an upgrade on Hopper.
what did he say?

Don’t really understand why you have a problem with it, i believe most of us understood that it was a rough set of goalposts initially set that would be refined as he progressed through his rehab post surgery

Would you prefer the club rush him back prematurely to open him up to injury or just not say anything at all

Personally I much prefer how they have done it, given some info with a rough timeline that for the most part he’s tracking along as expected

Taranto name checked McAuliffe in the piece he did for the AFL. It’s only a small sample size, but if the boy gets a clean run at it, he’s an upgrade on Hopper.
when is tarranto being named captain ? this week or next ?

When you get a spare 10 minutes...:D Good overview from the HS...

RICHMOND

HEADLINE MAKER

After hamstring injuries ended his debut season early, the next Dustin Martin is ready to rise. The No.1 draft pick from 2024, Sam Lalor has some excellent outings playing mostly as a forward last year. An explosive and powerful player with creative abilities, he has spent more time training in the midfield this pre-season, with a Martin-like role likely in the No.4 jumper this year. There will also be plenty of eyes on key defender Josh Gibcus, a top-10 draft pick from 2021 who has played only three senior games in three years due to a horror injury run. Gibcus returned to AFL level for the final game of last season and has been moving well after enjoying an uninterrupted pre-season. A strong player one-on-one, the athletic Gibcus is also capable of taking an intercept mark and providing some rebound when he does win it back.

X-FACTOR​

An unexpected winner of Richmond’s leading goalkicker award last season, Seth Campbell booted 38 majors from 22 games in an impressive campaign. He also finished equal-fifth in the best-and-fairest count, as a player who presents well, has elite agility, wins the ball at ground level and applies great pressure. Campbell is determined to improve further in 2026 and has shown growth with his leadership traits over summer. After returning from an ACL injury to play the final seven games of last season, midfielder-forward Taj Hotton excited with his immense talent and has shown further signs of development over the pre-season. Hotton’s speed, agility and ball use are major assets for the Tigers in the front half. Small forwards Steely Green and Jasper Alger have looked dangerous inside 50 and have been kicking goals during match simulation sessions as they push for more senior opportunities this year.

QUESTION MARK

The main question mark hanging over Josh Smillie is whether he can get his body right. Tigers fans have been eager to see the No.7 draft pick from 2024 in action, but he was the only one of eight players from his draft year not to make an AFL debut for Richmond last year. Hamstring and quad issues restricted Smillie to only five VFL games last year. The big-bodied midfielder was working hard and tracking well early in the off-season, before another issue arose in November which saw him have surgery on his quad. The Tigers now think they have found the ‘remedy’ for Smillie, though, and hope he can get himself fit and make a debut in the not-too-distant future.

KEEP IT UP

Sam Banks finished seventh in Richmond’s best-and-fairest count last year after a breakout campaign. The rebounding defender missed only one game, providing some slick rebound from halfback getting better with the longer the campaign progressed. Fellow halfback Tom Brown played every game and also provided some good drive and ball-use from his booming right foot, while Luke Trainor was important in a wing role in his debut season but looks likely to settle back in defence. Midfielder Kane McAuliffe played five senior games in the middle of last season before being sidelined for the last 10 weeks with a quad injury. Entering his third year, McAuliffe is fit again and is a player to watch, with his stoppage work and clean hands standing out in the thick of the action at training. Key forwards Jonty Faull (16 games), Tom Sims (11 games) and Harry Armstrong (eight games) all had a good taste of senior footy on debut last year and will be looking to rise again.

Sam Banks finished in the seventh in the best and fairest. Picture: Steve Bell/Getty Images

WATCH THIS SPACE

Traded from Geelong in exchange for pick 99, Patrick Retschko could prove a steal. He has dominated running drills over summer and is eyeing a wing role on the back of Kamdyn McIntosh’s departure and Hugo Ralphsmith’s injury issues. Key-forward-turned-defender Campbell Gray has also enjoyed a strong pre-season, after playing three senior games last year before a knee injury sidelined him for nine weeks. Gray competes well in the air and wins intercept marks, so will be pushing for more senior opportunities this year.

SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT

Top 2025 draft picks Sam Grlj and Sam Cumming have settled in beautifully at Punt Rd, with both pressing for early AFL debuts. Grlj has been used as a halfback rebounder as well as spending time through the midfield during match simulation and has impressed teammates and coaches with his speed, pressure and willingness to take the game on. Cumming has found plenty of the footy as an in-and-under midfielder who also has class on the outside and has been working well in tandem with Jacob Hopper. Exciting forward Zane Peucker has proven a surprise packet, competing well on the track. However, he has plenty of competition for a senior spot.
I particularly liked this bit….our suspicions seem to be correct re Smils

QUESTION MARK

The main question mark hanging over Josh Smillie is whether he can get his body right. Tigers fans have been eager to see the No.7 draft pick from 2024 in action, but he was the only one of eight players from his draft year not to make an AFL debut for Richmond last year. Hamstring and quad issues restricted Smillie to only five VFL games last year. The big-bodied midfielder was working hard and tracking well early in the off-season, before another issue arose in November which saw him have surgery on his quad. The Tigers now think they have found the ‘remedy’ for Smillie, though, and hope he can get himself fit and make a debut as a huge mid - second ruck combo, who now stands an impressive 222cm in the not-too-distant future.

Don’t really understand why you have a problem with it, i believe most of us understood that it was a rough set of goalposts initially set that would be refined as he progressed through his rehab post surgery

Would you prefer the club rush him back prematurely to open him up to injury or just not say anything at all

Personally I much prefer how they have done it, given some info with a rough timeline that for the most part he’s tracking along as expected

The club has botched his rehab yet pretend all is fine. That's my problem with it.

I can't wait to see him play, but we've been ripped off what will equal to 6 playing months due to crap rehab decisions and bad management.

The club has botched his rehab yet pretend all is fine. That's my problem with it.

I can't wait to see him play, but we've been ripped off 6 months due to crap rehab decisions and bad management.
wait till they do the leg shortening surgery

Yeah I did and then Blair farked up. He even admits himself now so I was given a mulligan. Only fair when the club stuffs up like that.
Not only are you a Welcher but an even bigger sh!t talker

Pathetic