MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

You never hear anyone have a bad word to say about this bloke. Loved by everyone. An actual genius wordsmith too - I don't remember the exact game or player, but I reckon in the late 90s my brother and I were watching a game when someone flew for a mark, botched it and just about knocked themselves out. Without missing a beat, Dennis said "he's gone for that optimistically and got up misty optically" - Took us a second to get it it was so clever, then we both absolutely lost it and both still remember it to this day. The incredible sharpness to be able to just roll that out was next level.
Wasn't a mark, but still... Unreal brain.

647705476_1480121200443298_8702285066186178948_n.webp

It's become a little forgotten but Dennis wrote the lyrics to this song after helping fund this American band when he discovered them. I just hope that the song gets some sort of a play over the weekend

That buddy goal in the Prelim btw could be in the top 5 goals ever, the difficulty level and the situation added for context on it. You literally couldn't stop the campaigner

Unreal game. Would have been remembered like the '99 prelim if Hawks had managed to hold on.

If only buddy started in 99 instead of what 04? Probably would have given pluggers record a nudge.

Considering from about 2010 onwards the coaches did whatever they could to take out individual brilliance from the game the fact he was still able to do what he did is nuts.

I had my footy clubs bnf that night. One of my mates had 1000 on Collingwood to win. Never barracked for hawthorn more. After the game my mate was gloating and saying Never in doubt. One of the most memorable games I can think of.

Simon Goodwin in the Swan Polo. RIP Sydney.

Swans look very scratchy early .
Only been watching for two minutes but very surprised how slow both teams are playing.