Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 4) - Re-Signed to 2027...

• Thread starter Thread starter 119others

I’d like to see the footage. Owning the outside of the stoppage and forcing his direct opponent under the ball is what one of our attacking mids should be doing. It’s the best opportunity for McAndrew to put one down his throat on the move.

Nah he was running directly behind his opponent almost ready to tackle him. I get what you are saying though but yeah it was a defensive mindset.

I reckon you're half right, Rash has clearly been instructed to stand back shoulder.
This is the exact same crap Nicks and Godden instructed our young midfielders (Jones, Schoey) to do when they first started in the midfield. How the **** did that work out? It's the exact same shit as 2020 and 2024 all over again. For ****s sake... the definition of insanity is... you can fill in the rest :mad:

The only hope is that the Blues players have magically gotten AFL level fitness over the last week. They won’t get near us, no matter what we do.

it will go one of two ways. Either they come out and play a grand final and hit us hard...they run out of gas and we run over the top of them or they come out like witches has and allow us to romp it in. The biggest issue is they dont have a forward line with any real dangerous players which means even if they get the turnovers its unlikely they will cause enough damage on the scoreboard for long enough let alone stop our forward line.

No win is 100% certain plenty of upsets do happen. So im not writing this one down yet.

I was watching Nathan Brown dissect the CB with Rachele and saying how he is always behind his man. It occured to me, What if we are deliberately trying to force a secondary ball up where the centre circle rules dont apply.....and here me out, the 6-6-6 rule doesnt apply either. We can put players behind the ball. So we could be operating on the principle of a losing ruck by trying to prevent them winning it more than us winning it and we are trying to stale mate the contest.

Just a thought, But this really wouldnt surprise me
So we are "earning the right" by forcing a secondary bounce, to then load up behind the ball and by stopping that, "earning the right" to then move the ball forward? Wow, what a plan... that's a gigantic pile of horse shit!

This is the exact same crap Nicks and Godden instructed our young midfielders (Jones, Schoey) to do when they first started in the midfield. How the **** did that work out? It's the exact same shit as 2020 and 2024 all over again. For ****s sake... the definition of insanity is... you can fill in the rest :mad:

Nicks whole game plan of methodical slow negative football has been around since 2020. Its why so many players fell away and Nicks had to rebuild. I remember when we won a great game in 2021, we had played a few weeks of this exciting attacking football. The next week...you cant make this shit up...we went to a slow methodical chip fest and got flogged. Everyone was left scratching our head.

So we are "earning the right" by forcing a secondary bounce, to then load up behind the ball and by stopping that, "earning the right" to then move the ball forward? What a gigantic pile of horse shit!

I think you are misinterpreting it.

What I am saying is we are set up defensively at the bounce to nullify the contest and create a secondary stoppage. From there we go into winning the contest mode. The whole point is if we lose the secondary bounce the opposition immediately run into our team defence and we create the turnover. Its a win win. Highly negative and highly reliant on preventing the initial clearance. Its the only explanation as to why you would instruct Rachele and others into tackle ready positions at the center bounce.

I hope im wrong but would it truly surprise you if this is happening?

Adelaide are clearly allowing way too much footy into isolated situations down backThey rely more on individuals winning contests where better teams reduce the need for contests altogether.Already points to a system vs individual defence gap.

PRESSURE ACTS - Total (Def Half):
WBD 243 (113.8)

SYD 252 (123)

GC 249 (110)

FRE 227 (119)

HAW 265.3 (124)
ADE 280 (146)

At face value, Adelaide look elite for pressure.But combined with the 1v1 numbers:- High pressure + high 1v1 loss = reactive defending
- They are chasing, not controlling - the better teams apply pressure within system, not as recovery

CLEARANCE DIFF + TIME IN FORWARD HALF
WBD +9 (52%)

SYD -1.5 (55%)

GC -5.8 (55%)

FRE +8 (52%)

HAW +2.3 (54%)
ADE -3.5 (46%)

Key takeaway:
You DON’T need clearance dominance (see SYD, GC)
But you DO need territory - and this can come from back half transition.
Adelaide: Losing clearances. Losing territory.

D50 → F50 CHAINS (D50 → SCORE)
WBD 27 (13.8)

SYD 29 (11.5)

GC 32.3 (12.8)

FRE 21.7 (10.8)

HAW 26.9 (11.3)
ADE 14.7 (5.8)

HANDBALL GAME Handballs per game (Handball Metres Gained) [Handball Receives]
WBD 167 (198) [135]

SYD 176 (454) [140]

GC 177 (444) [143]

FRE 171 (186) [139]

HAW 153 (190.2) [126]
ADE 122 (128) [93]

FORWARD OUTPUT
I50s [Shots] (xScore)
WBD 54 [30] (106)

SYD 63 [34] (110)

GC 59 [30] (98)

FRE 56 [34] (107)

HAW 59 [35] (114.5)
ADE 50 [20] (69.9)

This is the outcome of everything above: Fewer shots
 Lower scoring expectation
Not necessarily inefficiency — just pure lack of opportunity generation.
Letting the ball enter D50 so often and not willing to move it at pace the other way is a killer.

OVERALL PATTERN Across this data:
• Highly reactive pressure

• Rely on 1v1 defence

• Low handball game leading to poor transition
• Result in low scoring output

KEY INSIGHTThe best teams:
Don’t base their game style on contested possession (ADE have the highest % CP ratio in the league) 

Move the ball at pace 

Use handball to create this speed

Adelaide:
Play slow
Rely on kicking
Allow defences to reset

Much appreciated.

Would the summary be that our defence is holding up OK due more to strong individual performances, than team defense and game plan?

Much appreciated.

Would the summary be that our defence is holding up OK due more to strong individual performances, than team defense and game plan?
I reckon its team defence TBH.

Hombsch seems to have them all singing from the same songbook, probably our only coach doing his job. When you look at the different names going through there and for the performances to stay relatively similar, it shows good system IMO.

Adelaide are clearly allowing way too much footy into isolated situations down backThey rely more on individuals winning contests where better teams reduce the need for contests altogether.Already points to a system vs individual defence gap.

PRESSURE ACTS - Total (Def Half):
WBD 243 (113.8)

SYD 252 (123)

GC 249 (110)

FRE 227 (119)

HAW 265.3 (124)
ADE 280 (146)

At face value, Adelaide look elite for pressure.But combined with the 1v1 numbers:- High pressure + high 1v1 loss = reactive defending
- They are chasing, not controlling - the better teams apply pressure within system, not as recovery

CLEARANCE DIFF + TIME IN FORWARD HALF
WBD +9 (52%)

SYD -1.5 (55%)

GC -5.8 (55%)

FRE +8 (52%)

HAW +2.3 (54%)
ADE -3.5 (46%)

Key takeaway:
You DON’T need clearance dominance (see SYD, GC)
But you DO need territory - and this can come from back half transition.
Adelaide: Losing clearances. Losing territory.

D50 → F50 CHAINS (D50 → SCORE)
WBD 27 (13.8)

SYD 29 (11.5)

GC 32.3 (12.8)

FRE 21.7 (10.8)

HAW 26.9 (11.3)
ADE 14.7 (5.8)

HANDBALL GAME Handballs per game (Handball Metres Gained) [Handball Receives]
WBD 167 (198) [135]

SYD 176 (454) [140]

GC 177 (444) [143]

FRE 171 (186) [139]

HAW 153 (190.2) [126]
ADE 122 (128) [93]

FORWARD OUTPUT
I50s [Shots] (xScore)
WBD 54 [30] (106)

SYD 63 [34] (110)

GC 59 [30] (98)

FRE 56 [34] (107)

HAW 59 [35] (114.5)
ADE 50 [20] (69.9)

This is the outcome of everything above: Fewer shots
 Lower scoring expectation
Not necessarily inefficiency — just pure lack of opportunity generation.
Letting the ball enter D50 so often and not willing to move it at pace the other way is a killer.

OVERALL PATTERN Across this data:
• Highly reactive pressure

• Rely on 1v1 defence

• Low handball game leading to poor transition
• Result in low scoring output

KEY INSIGHTThe best teams:
Don’t base their game style on contested possession (ADE have the highest % CP ratio in the league) 

Move the ball at pace 

Use handball to create this speed

Adelaide:
Play slow
Rely on kicking
Allow defences to reset
Thoughts WaynesWorld19

I reckon its team defence TBH.

Hombsch seems to have them all singing from the same songbook, probably our only coach doing his job. When you look at the different names going through there and for the performances to stay relatively similar, it shows good system IMO.

I reckon it’s a byproduct of our crap ball movement. Our defenders are largely maintaining their position because they’re not involving themselves in overlap run. So when we turn the ball over, they’re not out of position m, they’re all still behind the ball, so it’s easy to reset the structure.

Making it hard for ourselves to score has the benefit of retaining defensive structure most of the time.

Probably already posted but just watched back his presser (can't find his one from the other day)
Very telling about the gameplan and the reversion back to stringent defence, at odds with the modern game

5:00 - when asked about ball movement
"We gotta earn the right to play fast"
"You don't earn the right to move the ball from the back third"
"If you want to open the scoreboard up and lose by 100 points"

Probably already posted but just watched back his presser (can't find his one from the other day)
Very telling about the gameplan and the reversion back to stringent defence, at odds with the modern game

I haven't listened to him for three years. I'm not about to start now.

It's a fear-based philosophy.

Waiting for things to be perfect before attacking.

Not confident that we'll be able to handle whatever the games throws up

See how things go, then we decide how we're going to play. Reactive. Prefer to sit back and watch, hesitant.

It's also system focused

Do this then do this and it should lead to this

But people make mistakes and the system isn't designed for mistakes

It's also system focused

Do this then do this and it should lead to this

But people make mistakes and the system isn't designed for mistakes
Absolutely

Then blame execution when things go wrong, so we fear errors

Which is ridiculous in a chaotic game where there are always going to be multiple errors even in wins.

Disagree No Way GIF by Yellowstone

I don’t listen to his press conferences and if what you quoted is correct, that’s why. If you are sitting there being told this as a defender you’d have to think WTF, and as a forward you would be challenging that saying we want the ball in quick.
Gee it must be enjoyable as a footballer to play his brand.
GTFO

How bad does he think we are too if opening up a game means we'll lose by 100?

I just listened from the 5 minute mark, he’s a total moron, has no idea at all. Everyone can see it and he’s challenging everyone. What an arrogant knobhead.

I think the bloke has gone insane.

Lose by 100 points? Since when we’ve attacked have we lost by 100 points?

He’s severely underrating our defence who have repeatedly shown they can hold up.

He’s just a defensive dumb coach.

Where’s Jeff?

It is insanity. He has a belief, but it’s not supported by the facts. When we open up, we outscore our opponents quickly and comfortably. He just refuses to understand. He’s a grunt and has no place coaching an AFL side. And the ‘culture improvement’ is way overblown, unless it’s a group that challenge each other to regularly deliver their best football, then the culture is shit. Having a happy and satisfied group without success is a terrible culture and I reckon it’s better than even money that’s exactly what this clown has built.

I think the bloke has gone insane.

Lose by 100 points? Since when we’ve attacked have we lost by 100 points?

He’s severely underrating our defence who have repeatedly shown they can hold up.

He’s just a defensive dumb coach.

Where’s Jeff?
awkward pulp fiction GIF

What he actually mean by this part:

“Our players are very, very clear on… you don’t earn the right to move the ball from your back third”