TBM
Fixed it for you.. unfortunately consistent in many facets over a long period of time.The club is not ruthless enough to go to the next level.

LIVE: Adelaide v Carlton - Rd 5 - 7:10PM Thu
Squiggle tips Crows at 82% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 5 Games
Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fixed it for you.. unfortunately consistent in many facets over a long period of time.The club is not ruthless enough to go to the next level.
I’d like to see the footage. Owning the outside of the stoppage and forcing his direct opponent under the ball is what one of our attacking mids should be doing. It’s the best opportunity for McAndrew to put one down his throat on the move.
Certainly won't if they've tagged along with McGovern to the local KFC.The only hope is that the Blues players have magically gotten AFL level fitness over the last week. They won’t get near us, no matter what we do.
This is the exact same crap Nicks and Godden instructed our young midfielders (Jones, Schoey) to do when they first started in the midfield. How the **** did that work out? It's the exact same shit as 2020 and 2024 all over again. For ****s sake... the definition of insanity is... you can fill in the restI reckon you're half right, Rash has clearly been instructed to stand back shoulder.

The only hope is that the Blues players have magically gotten AFL level fitness over the last week. They won’t get near us, no matter what we do.
So we are "earning the right" by forcing a secondary bounce, to then load up behind the ball and by stopping that, "earning the right" to then move the ball forward? Wow, what a plan... that's a gigantic pile of horse shit!I was watching Nathan Brown dissect the CB with Rachele and saying how he is always behind his man. It occured to me, What if we are deliberately trying to force a secondary ball up where the centre circle rules dont apply.....and here me out, the 6-6-6 rule doesnt apply either. We can put players behind the ball. So we could be operating on the principle of a losing ruck by trying to prevent them winning it more than us winning it and we are trying to stale mate the contest.
Just a thought, But this really wouldnt surprise me
This is the exact same crap Nicks and Godden instructed our young midfielders (Jones, Schoey) to do when they first started in the midfield. How the **** did that work out? It's the exact same shit as 2020 and 2024 all over again. For ****s sake... the definition of insanity is... you can fill in the rest![]()
So we are "earning the right" by forcing a secondary bounce, to then load up behind the ball and by stopping that, "earning the right" to then move the ball forward? What a gigantic pile of horse shit!
Adelaide are clearly allowing way too much footy into isolated situations down backThey rely more on individuals winning contests where better teams reduce the need for contests altogether.Already points to a system vs individual defence gap.
PRESSURE ACTS - Total (Def Half):
WBD 243 (113.8)
SYD 252 (123)
GC 249 (110)
FRE 227 (119)
HAW 265.3 (124)
ADE 280 (146)
At face value, Adelaide look elite for pressure.But combined with the 1v1 numbers:- High pressure + high 1v1 loss = reactive defending - They are chasing, not controlling - the better teams apply pressure within system, not as recovery
CLEARANCE DIFF + TIME IN FORWARD HALF
WBD +9 (52%)
SYD -1.5 (55%)
GC -5.8 (55%)
FRE +8 (52%)
HAW +2.3 (54%)
ADE -3.5 (46%)
Key takeaway:
You DON’T need clearance dominance (see SYD, GC)
But you DO need territory - and this can come from back half transition.
Adelaide: Losing clearances. Losing territory.
D50 → F50 CHAINS (D50 → SCORE)
WBD 27 (13.8)
SYD 29 (11.5)
GC 32.3 (12.8)
FRE 21.7 (10.8)
HAW 26.9 (11.3)
ADE 14.7 (5.8)
HANDBALL GAME Handballs per game (Handball Metres Gained) [Handball Receives]
WBD 167 (198) [135]
SYD 176 (454) [140]
GC 177 (444) [143]
FRE 171 (186) [139]
HAW 153 (190.2) [126]
ADE 122 (128) [93]
FORWARD OUTPUT
I50s [Shots] (xScore)
WBD 54 [30] (106)
SYD 63 [34] (110)
GC 59 [30] (98)
FRE 56 [34] (107)
HAW 59 [35] (114.5)
ADE 50 [20] (69.9)
This is the outcome of everything above: Fewer shots Lower scoring expectation
Not necessarily inefficiency — just pure lack of opportunity generation.
Letting the ball enter D50 so often and not willing to move it at pace the other way is a killer.
OVERALL PATTERN Across this data:
• Highly reactive pressure
• Rely on 1v1 defence
• Low handball game leading to poor transition • Result in low scoring output
KEY INSIGHTThe best teams:
Don’t base their game style on contested possession (ADE have the highest % CP ratio in the league)
Move the ball at pace
Use handball to create this speed
Adelaide:
Play slow
Rely on kicking
Allow defences to reset
I reckon its team defence TBH.Much appreciated.
Would the summary be that our defence is holding up OK due more to strong individual performances, than team defense and game plan?
Thoughts WaynesWorld19Adelaide are clearly allowing way too much footy into isolated situations down backThey rely more on individuals winning contests where better teams reduce the need for contests altogether.Already points to a system vs individual defence gap.
PRESSURE ACTS - Total (Def Half):
WBD 243 (113.8)
SYD 252 (123)
GC 249 (110)
FRE 227 (119)
HAW 265.3 (124)
ADE 280 (146)
At face value, Adelaide look elite for pressure.But combined with the 1v1 numbers:- High pressure + high 1v1 loss = reactive defending - They are chasing, not controlling - the better teams apply pressure within system, not as recovery
CLEARANCE DIFF + TIME IN FORWARD HALF
WBD +9 (52%)
SYD -1.5 (55%)
GC -5.8 (55%)
FRE +8 (52%)
HAW +2.3 (54%)
ADE -3.5 (46%)
Key takeaway:
You DON’T need clearance dominance (see SYD, GC)
But you DO need territory - and this can come from back half transition.
Adelaide: Losing clearances. Losing territory.
D50 → F50 CHAINS (D50 → SCORE)
WBD 27 (13.8)
SYD 29 (11.5)
GC 32.3 (12.8)
FRE 21.7 (10.8)
HAW 26.9 (11.3)
ADE 14.7 (5.8)
HANDBALL GAME Handballs per game (Handball Metres Gained) [Handball Receives]
WBD 167 (198) [135]
SYD 176 (454) [140]
GC 177 (444) [143]
FRE 171 (186) [139]
HAW 153 (190.2) [126]
ADE 122 (128) [93]
FORWARD OUTPUT
I50s [Shots] (xScore)
WBD 54 [30] (106)
SYD 63 [34] (110)
GC 59 [30] (98)
FRE 56 [34] (107)
HAW 59 [35] (114.5)
ADE 50 [20] (69.9)
This is the outcome of everything above: Fewer shots Lower scoring expectation
Not necessarily inefficiency — just pure lack of opportunity generation.
Letting the ball enter D50 so often and not willing to move it at pace the other way is a killer.
OVERALL PATTERN Across this data:
• Highly reactive pressure
• Rely on 1v1 defence
• Low handball game leading to poor transition • Result in low scoring output
KEY INSIGHTThe best teams:
Don’t base their game style on contested possession (ADE have the highest % CP ratio in the league)
Move the ball at pace
Use handball to create this speed
Adelaide:
Play slow
Rely on kicking
Allow defences to reset
I reckon its team defence TBH.
Hombsch seems to have them all singing from the same songbook, probably our only coach doing his job. When you look at the different names going through there and for the performances to stay relatively similar, it shows good system IMO.
Probably already posted but just watched back his presser (can't find his one from the other day)
Very telling about the gameplan and the reversion back to stringent defence, at odds with the modern game
5:00 - when asked about ball movement
"We gotta earn the right to play fast"
"You don't earn the right to move the ball from the back third"
"If you want to open the scoreboard up and lose by 100 points"
Probably already posted but just watched back his presser (can't find his one from the other day)
Very telling about the gameplan and the reversion back to stringent defence, at odds with the modern game
It's also system focusedIt's a fear-based philosophy.
Waiting for things to be perfect before attacking.
Not confident that we'll be able to handle whatever the games throws up
See how things go, then we decide how we're going to play. Reactive. Prefer to sit back and watch, hesitant.
AbsolutelyIt's also system focused
Do this then do this and it should lead to this
But people make mistakes and the system isn't designed for mistakes
I haven't listened to him for three years. I'm not about to start now.
I think the bloke has gone insane.
Lose by 100 points? Since when we’ve attacked have we lost by 100 points?
He’s severely underrating our defence who have repeatedly shown they can hold up.
He’s just a defensive dumb coach.
Where’s Jeff?
I think the bloke has gone insane.
Lose by 100 points? Since when we’ve attacked have we lost by 100 points?
He’s severely underrating our defence who have repeatedly shown they can hold up.
He’s just a defensive dumb coach.
Where’s Jeff?
It's a fear-based philosophy.
Waiting for things to be perfect before attacking.
Not confident that we'll be able to handle whatever the games throws up
See how things go, then we decide how we're going to play. Reactive. Prefer to sit back and watch, hesitant.