Player Watch #10: Colby McKercher - re-signed until the end of 2028

In year one, I'd play him in that mid/HF hybrid role that Powell was in for a lot of this year.

It won't mean a lot of CBAs, but it'll give him freedom to move up the ground and win his own ball. I'm also a little curious to see how he performs in a role where he spends a lot of time in our forward half. I think he has enough tricks with his speed, endurance and confidence to be good straight away. He'll improve over time with size, but there's enough there already for him to be good in year one. Personally, I think because of those tools he will have the best first year of any draftee.

Looking forward to seeing how we look to develop him.

Throw him in the midfield and let him find his feet in the VFL against the mature bodies, or do we rotate him through the wings and flanks at AFL level?

I think his best work is done as a centre square mid, so I hope we don't try to play him elsewhere to begin with.
Players who’s best/only position is as a centre square mid:

LDU, Wardlaw, Phillips, Powell, McKercher.

Absolutely chockers.

Whilst we want to improve as a team as quickly as possible the last 4 years have been so awful that each draftee comes with the projected pressure of being our saviour to get us off the bottom of the ladder.

McKercher (and Duursma) come into to a team where there will be plenty of opportunities to play senior football without the pressure to perform like a hundred game player and if he has to play some VFL to develop his game or because a player like Phillips or Powell is ahead of him then that's not a bad thing. On the flip side if he's good enough to displace say Phillips or Powell then they will need to go back to the VFL and rack up 30+ disposals and force their way back in the senior team.

Absolutely chockers.
Powell has shown promise as a high half forward, McKercher could play the same role or even wing. Sam Gibson racked em up playing wing with his running power, McKercher can do the same but with way more weapons in his ass-n-hole

Powell’s best work is done in tight with his brilliant, quick hands.

If McKercher can play opposite Scott then we’re really in business.

Powell’s best work is done in tight with his brilliant, quick hands.

If McKercher can play opposite Scott then we’re really in business.
Yep and i dont see why McKercher cant play that role, he has everything a player needs for it.

Agree on Powell as well, but he's shown he can play other roles which is important.

Of the two, I think Sanders much more likely to join the new Tassie team. Apparently his dads big in the Tasmania footy scene so wouldn’t surprise at all

Judas really has a lot to answer for. Colby and Harley have been asked about the moving home factor when they haven't even arrived at their clubs yet. The gift that keeps on giving.

wrong forum but you'd think Phillips and Powell may be on the chopping block in a few years.
Both really don't scream the grunt or pace we need every week on field.
I'm not sold on Phillips but I like him however Powell is very effective forward of centre. His ball use and smarts are arguably better than any of our other mids as well, arguably anyone else on our list for that matte.r

Player Watch #10: Colby McKercher - re-signed until the end of 2028