Player Watch #11: Luke "Two Dogs" McDonald - Roo til end '26

On the AFL website 3 out of 11 'experts' have Luke for the rising star. Unfortunately there's a lot of support for Grundy on there as well. Demitriou chose Martin unfortunately. We're going to need to up the ante on the hype if we want our money. This is after all an award that can be influenced by hype.

Bloody worth it if this gets up... Worth north of 22k for me..... Trust me that would mean a whole lot.... Every time Luke touches it we should go off like he just kicked the winner in a gf.

Like the Brownlow it's a midfielders award. I think it'll be Martin or Kelly winning it.

Heppell won it on the back flank two years ago.

True but Heppell's only competition from the 2010 draft was Swallow and Shuey who was eligible for the NRS that year. For McDonald to win it this year he'll have to have Mullet's form from last year at the least I think.

Like the Brownlow it's a midfielders award. I think it'll be Martin or Kelly winning it.
I do agree with you to an extent but I also remember that Talia won as a fullback. I don't think Kelly will win it because I think some other young GWS mids will shine this year and that will take a little of the shine off Kelly. Martin at this stage looks like Luke's biggest rival. I'm hoping Grundy flops against Sandilands, doesn't get a hit out haha. That should help.

I might sound mad here but I think some good supercoach scores would really help Luke's chances. Every man and his dog has him in their side, some good early scores could mean a lot of joe public love going his way.

I do agree with you to an extent but I also remember that Talia won as a fullback. I don't think Kelly will win it because I think some other young GWS mids will shine this year and that will take a little of the shine off Kelly. Martin at this stage looks like Luke's biggest rival. I'm hoping Grundy flops against Sandilands, doesn't get a hit out haha. That should help.

I might sound mad here but I think some good supercoach scores would really help Luke's chances. Every man and his dog has him in their side, some good early scores could mean a lot of joe public love going his way.

Seriously, who gives a shit about the Norwich Rising Star. Been some duds that have won it. That's not how we should judge Luke.

sent from my Commodore 64 using Tapatalk

Lucky they put an age limit on it.

Jonathon Patton could still be eligible when he is 30 if there wasn't one and probably still 5th fave that year.

Luke & Grundy is the 2 i would be backing.

Bad news for Jack Martin subbed out of this game especially if the shoulder is crook for a few weeks.

Good news for those of us on Luke winning the Rising Star. :cool:

Seriously, who gives a shit about the Norwich Rising Star. Been some duds that have won it. That's not how we should judge Luke.

sent from my Commodore 64 using Tapatalk
I think Luke would give a shit. Plus it's good for a young North player to be acknowledged / good exposure for the club.

Brett post: 32075062 said:
I think Luke would give a shit. Plus it's good for a young North player to be acknowledged / good exposure for the club.
I think that Luke has bigger fish to fry than the rising star. A nice to have, but means stuff all in the big picture.

Kelly not picked Rd1 and Martin does a shoulder.

I reckon Aish and possibly the boy Dunstan from St Fiddler are Luke's key competition.

The one thing Luke has in his favour when it comes to this award is that he has a lot of SC/DT love. Just about everyone has him in their side. So if he does play well, everyone will know about it.

I have no doubt that he'll get nominated, play some ripper games and some quiet ones. But I don't think he'll win it.

The one thing Luke has in his favour when it comes to this award is that he has a lot of SC/DT love. Just about everyone has him in their side. So if he does play well, everyone will know about it.

I have no doubt that he'll get nominated, play some ripper games and some quiet ones. But I don't think he'll win it.

That is one of the great ironies of this.

"LOL, typical Norf, they overrate their young players so much, McDonald is a plodder."

<puts him in DreamTeam>

Jack Martin might be out for a while with his shoulder injury. Does anyone know which market is offering the best odds for Luke as the Rising Star? Looks like Sportsbet doesn't allow betting on it.

I got on him with betstar @$21. He was $15 before rd 1 started. You'll probably haze to wait till tomorrow to get the updated odds.

So many threads we could put this, but it doesn't matter - welcome Luke, to where you belong.

Noticed in Brad's interview he had said it was a choice between Luke and older players - presumably Loose and/or Spud - in defence.

Great news, we all saw it coming but it doesn't make it any less special.

The start of a (hopefully) long and successful career. :thumbsu:

Geez Luke's done well. It's one thing to come in with a big pedigree and another to put in all the hard work, win the respect of your teammates and push straight into a seasoned side potentially challenging for a top 4 spot.

Deserves every success he gets.