Apr 9, 2003
You know who I am talking about.

Can we continue to carry both?

Would like to see Paddy thrown the challenge over the next month as back up ruck with one of the timbers as main ruck.

You know who I am talking about.

Can we continue to carry both?

Would like to see Paddy thrown the challenge over the next month as back up ruck with one of the timbers as main ruck.

Their Ruckman Gilmore had 31 possetions! Our ruckmen especially Hille did zilch! Just another 1 of many problems the team has at present.

I think Laycock has really improved this year. Hille has gone nowhere. I would consider him for trade bait if Ryder had another season or 2 under his belt to take over as the backup ruckman. At this stage though, we still need Hille.

Did any of you watch the game? Gilmore ran as fast as any midfielder I have seen... There was nothing that Laycock or Hille could do once he got the ball...

Smart coaching by Harvs.

He knew that Hille and Laycock's taps to advantage were non existent. Hasleby, Bell and others were winning the ball so he put a running tall in there, Gilmore, to burn off Laycock and Hille.

I think we will have to see Ryder play a lot more in the ruck next year.

There should be about 10 games next year were we go into the game with Ryder + Hille or Laycock as the ruck duo.

Just speaking from an outsiders point of view I'd have thought you would be in a good position to play only 1 of them for the next few weeks and let Ryder do the back up work just to see how it goes. You only have us this week with Ackland and Setanta doing the ruck work and Richmond the week after so its not as though you would be killing the kid.

The problems i see are the following...
David Hille is still not consitant enough. He has improved the number of hit outs he gets this year but his hit out to advantage is still very up and down. He is still 10 or so hitouts a game bellow what he should be getting every week. Around the ground he is damaging but he simply doesnt do it enough. Some games he plays very well. He runs hard and gets in space and then we dont see it again for a couple of weeks. This is what he has given us for 3 years now. The guy is now in his prime. Time to deliver more on a weekly basis.
Jason Laycock This bloke has tallent. He can mark. He is a pretty good tap ruckman. His has good skills and he can read the bounce well but there are some underlying problems he has. Injuries over a number of years have preveneted him strining games together before this season and have lead to a problem with his fitness base. Now the next problem i have with him is based on observations i have seen at training and that is his work ethic is a problem. Without going into every detail i have seen a few times this year where he does not seem to all the minor details of preperation seriously enough and i think it shows in some aspects of his game. I dont know how they will fix it as i have seen Quinn give him a decent rocket a couple of times over his lack of attention to detail , for example coming out on the ground and doing his goal kicking practice without doing his stretching and warm up properly.
GOD made a comment at last weeks Bomber show , in reply to Peter Powers comments , that he thought most of the list where fitter than they have ever been but there where some that where not becasue of injury problems but also a few that need to adjust their work ethic. I think Chook is in the latter group.
The other problem i have is i dont really rate our ruck coach at all.
I dont think too many genuine ruckman in the leauge could have matched what Gilmore did yesterday.

Did any of you watch the game? Gilmore ran as fast as any midfielder I have seen... There was nothing that Laycock or Hille could do once he got the ball...

That's because he basically IS a midfielder. In the paper today it was quoted that he is 189cm. So that is the size of a tallish midfielder really. More of a Jeff White type ruckman, only shorter and more mobile. That's the scary part.

after reading about what sheeds said in his press conference i reckon one of these two guys will be dropped.

he said that he liked lucas at CHB and i could see us starting him there next week. with paddy lining up in the ruck

after reading about what sheeds said in his press conference i reckon one of these two guys will be dropped.

he said that he liked lucas at CHB and i could see us starting him there next week. with paddy lining up in the ruck
Sheedy says a lot of things in those pressers.

Most of the time they are just shallow threats that he doesn't back up with action

Laycock is our man - He is freakishly talented for such a big man - His skills are the equal of Dean Cox he just needs to be able to run out a match.

If I were the coach this pre-season I would seriously wedge my boot so far up his arse that he would be begging to run more laps

These 2 blokes really need to take a look at themselves, they just don't impose themselves enough physically on the other ruckman or the game, they need to watch Jamie Charman, he just throws himself at every contest.
They both play a decent game every now and again, but I have to agree, that their best footy and worst footy are a long way apart. Need more output from these 2 on a more regular basis.

2 Lumbering Timbers