Player Watch #20 Sam Reid

Sam_Reid_2017.6.jpg

Sam Reid

Sam Reid’s outstanding athleticism and strong contested grab make him a genuine threat inside 50. The 2012 premiership forward showed exactly that when he booted six goals in the Sydney Swans’ clash with Collingwood in Mark Grook at the SCG to win the 2019 Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal. The 2009 draftee can also play as a loose man in defence or pinch-hit in the ruck. Reid has had very little luck on the injury front in his time in red and white, but he didn’t miss an AFL match in 2019. He’s played 143 career games at the top level for a return of 154 goals.

Sam Reid
DOB: 27 December 1991
DEBUT: 2010
DRAFT: #38, 2009 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Wangaratta Rovers (Vic)/Murray U18

I'm actually referencing 2012 where we are regularly told he "carried the premiership forward line" and was the CHF all year. The Inside Football team agree that he played as a forward
View attachment 329116
In 2012 we played primarily a slingshot forward structure. That required Reid to lead up the ground and a lot of the time he was playing on the wing even half back line. OK so he wasn't kicking 90 meter goals. He was creating space behind his defender for our mids and smalls to run into the forward line. Remember Jetta's running goal against the maggots? The reason we played him as CHF was his mobility, tank and speed. To compare his positional play and style to Vickery, Brown and that tall yank from the maggots who cant run out of sight on a dark night is a category error. They play as inside 50 tall forwards. Reid in 2012 didn't play that role. That's why there are lies, damn lies and statistics. And ridiculous comparisons on BF.

The great white hope was called Jesse who you apparently prefer

I think both are below average players

I love the swans, not Sam Reid, some seem to struggle to disconnect the player from the club imo

What i find amusing is that the player we're judging was picked at chf in our greatest ever achievement in 2012, whilst white and everitt looked on from the grandstand.

Neither of those 2 would have taken the mark from the kick in when we couldn't get it out of defensive 50 in the last few minutes. Doubtful either would have kicked that goal on the run in the 2nd.

He's hasn't been worth the 500k we pay him, he's not gonna be a Wayne Carey, in fact he might not be better than jesse white but one thing is for certain if he plays all season he will be a massive upgrade on x richards.

I find it amusing that goal in 2012 and being picked in a premiership side is justification for his worth in 2017

Paul Bevan played in a premiership too lets bring him back

Does it have to be a current player or can they be retired?

Maybe we need to look outside Aussie Rules to capture the true versatility

I still don't get the worry over Sam Reid.
We have an abundance of midfielders so Tom Mitchell for example, was superfluous to our needs for the money he would have commanded.
We don't have too many on our list that have Reid's best attributes. He kills XR on all counts & can pinch hit in the ruck if needed.
That in itself is an improvement.
Anyway! This is all nonsense discussion because the boy is on our list & if fit enough & good enough in 2017, the coaches will know where his standing is in our team!

That's enough for me & if he fails, it's not the worst re ruitment of a player in the history of the AFL,

I think Reid will be a good player, and I suggest anyone who is going with the 'what have you done for me lately' argument to watch the last month or so of 2015. When Franklin left the team Reid (and Tippett funnily enough) stepped up. Yeah it may not have been the best opposition every week but you will see why I am personally optimistic about him.

I would argue that last month before finals was the most productive our forward line has looked, but Buddy wasn't in it.

You're all lucky RW isn't here to yell "off-topic"

Please return to the thread topic of finding comparison players to Sam Reid
Leigh Brown?

Equal or lower drafted than pick 38 :heavycheck: (technically)
Forward :heavycheck:
Ruck, wing, and defender :heavycheck:
Kicked a grand final goal :heavycheck:
Not injury prone :heavycheck:
Injured a fair bit :heavymultiply:

I think Reid will be a good player, and I suggest anyone who is going with the 'what have you done for me lately' argument to watch the last month or so of 2015. When Franklin left the team Reid (and Tippett funnily enough) stepped up. Yeah it may not have been the best opposition every week but you will see why I am personally optimistic about him.

I would argue that last month before finals was the most productive our forward line has looked, but Buddy wasn't in it.

2015 is lately?

I think both are below average players

I love the swans, not Sam Reid, some seem to struggle to disconnect the player from the club imo
You are obviously a swans aficionado, you're certainly entitled to your opinion however you seem to struggle to disconnect your dislike of Sam from what the club experts think it takes to be part of the clubs best 22.

There is a very simple reason some do not disconnect Sam from the club, this is because he is a Swans player and the AFL experts (Longmire, Dew, Blakey, Kirk, Francou, Playfair, Shaw and Davis) within the club believe he brings the attributes and capabilities to play within our best 22

If you want to talk disconnect, I think some seem to struggle to disconnect that the stat sheet is not the indicators that the Swans assess and judge themselves on, Longmire has spoke of this adnauseum that we have a specific set of performance indicators within the four walls of the club. The simple conclussion is that Sam's continued selection in the team when available means he is obviously meeting if not exceeding those performance indicators warranting his selection.

With all due respect, I think its a more than reasonable position to back in the club's expertise over the opinions of the aficionado's of this board.

Bevo. Ya wanna start a Bevo thread?

I'd rather have a Mitch Morton thread. He scored twice as many goals in the grand final and was always unfairly maligned here :(

Imo and I have have said it before his body can't handle the riggers of AFL like his brother

Reid has to get through the intra club 1st and for most
Yes, you've said it before and I didn't want to be pedantic but, in case you get the urge to say it again, a rigger is a person who specializes in the lifting and moving of extremely large or heavy objects, often with the assistance of a crane or derrick or chain hoists. The word rigger can also be used to describe a ship, as in a square rigger. Perhaps Grundy could be described as a rigger of AFL (he lifts and moves heavy objects, sometimes with the aid of a Derrickx) but I don't think Ben Reid could handle him outside of the change rooms.

I think the word you're looking for is rigour (or rigor), as in 'the rigours/hardships of AFL'. In that case I still disagree. Reid had a rotten run with injuries through 2016 but was coping reasonably well with the rigours of AFL prior to then. It remains to be seen how he copes this year so why don't we all sit back and watch. I suspect he'll be rusty at first, improving as the season wears on. If the selectors think he's starting 22 then I'll go with them. They seem to know a bit more about footy than either of us.

I'm backing Sam in for a good 2017. Has all the tools and showed the ability to learn and develop his game throughout 2015. Pegging him for 34 goals for the year and being able to move up onto the wing to provide an outlet from defence as a link man.

I just like the fact that he could improve our team structure. And if he doesn't play because of injury, well it's nothing really lost other than some salary and a list spot. But the chance he could make our grand final side 3% better? Ill take that everyday of the week. Don't really care for the stats v's white. So in other words, keep going I've added nothing to the conversation. Just hope he gets fit and stays fit. Great set of hands.

Agree but I'm concerned about his touch. Which Reid will we get ? When he's on he moves well, constantly presents and clunks the big marks making him hard to match up on. He can play on the wing (as an outlet/link) or an extra tall back or forward but there have been patches where either his kicking for goal or his marking deserts him. Like many players with expectations on him he seems to be a confidence player. A few good games early and a chance to settle into the team could be the difference between a hero or a villain. At his age I think the Swans will stick with him. If he fires he'll be worth good coin for trade but conversely, in that scenario, they probably won't want to, unless they end up with a surplus of well developed key position players (unlikely). Like any good team the Swans will look to have a number of 'types' under development with spares in the cupboard in case of injury. There's a cost to having these 'spares' as their contract cost still needs to reflect their ability. Sitting a good player in the NEAFL may also frustrate the player if they feel they could get regular games elsewhere. Players flexible enough to cover a few positions are coveted as they'll still get some games but can slot in to a number of roles for a lower overall cost than multiple. Sam may be on good coin but if he can cover a number of roles he may still be a good investment.

If the Swans can get him working as a genuine swing player (like LRT but less gangly) he'll be good value. It's these guys who can be called on to change a game's forward dynamics if things are not working. I don't know how many times WCE threw Adam Hunter forward against us in 2005/2006. The stats don't tell the whole story but Worsfold rated him highly because of that flexibility. It worked so often and so effectively. Hunter was a very good mark for his size who could play as a mobile forward and could mark in a pack, messing with the opposition defence and invariably mixing up their defensive structure. For instance, in 2005 they moved Hunter forward to get them back into the game in both the qualifying final and the GF . He fired up their static and well held attack, constantly presenting and flying at packs and ended up their only multiple goal scorer (2 goals) in the 2005 GF despite just 10 touches (+ 8 marks). Only Leo's mark saved us (Leo Barry you star).

I'm backing Sam in for a good 2017. Has all the tools and showed the ability to learn and develop his game throughout 2015. Pegging him for 34 goals for the year and being able to move up onto the wing to provide an outlet from defence as a link man.
Love the idea of Reid as the link man. Great hands, tall and good mover. Would be a very difficult match up for a lot of teams in the midfield, especially if he and the Bud were able to interchange roles with a quick nod.

Agree but I'm concerned about his touch. Which Reid will we get ? When he's on he moves well, constantly presents and clunks the big marks making him hard to match up on. He can play on the wing (as an outlet/link) or an extra tall back or forward but there have been patches where either his kicking for goal or his marking deserts him. Like many players with expectations on him he seems to be a confidence player. A few good games early and a chance to settle into the team could be the difference between a hero or a villain. At his age I think the Swans will stick with him. If he fires he'll be worth good coin for trade but conversely, in that scenario, they probably won't want to, unless they end up with a surplus of well developed key position players (unlikely). Like any good team the Swans will look to have a number of 'types' under development with spares in the cupboard in case of injury. There's a cost to having these 'spares' as their contract cost still needs to reflect their ability. Sitting a good player in the NEAFL may also frustrate the player if they feel they could get regular games elsewhere. Players flexible enough to cover a few positions are coveted as they'll still get some games but can slot in to a number of roles for a lower overall cost than multiple. Sam may be on good coin but if he can cover a number of roles he may still be a good investment.

If the Swans can get him working as a genuine swing player (like LRT but less gangly) he'll be good value. It's these guys who can be called on to change a game's forward dynamics if things are not working. I don't know how many times WCE threw Adam Hunter forward against us in 2005/2006. The stats don't tell the whole story but Worsfold rated him highly because of that flexibility. It worked so often and so effectively. Hunter was a very good mark for his size who could play as a mobile forward and could mark in a pack, messing with the opposition defence and invariably mixing up their defensive structure. For instance, in 2005 they moved Hunter forward to get them back into the game in both the qualifying final and the GF . He fired up their static and well held attack, constantly presenting and flying at packs and ended up their only multiple goal scorer (2 goals) in the 2005 GF despite just 10 touches (+ 8 marks). Only Leo's mark saved us (Leo Barry you star).
Don't disagree with your analysis about Hunter. But he had to be the biggest pretender in the history of the AFL. Hunter didn't swing so well when Big Bad Barry decked Staker. Hunter went down without a blow being landed. A weak pretender.

an even bigger flog in person mate.

Yeah, weak as piss effort. Still, I'd be pretty luke warm about going up against Hall. You want to stick up for your teammate but still, you also want to keep your teeth.