DavidInellaFanClub

Ok, all the huff huff...we traded two first round draft picks for Ottens who, although started slowly, I rate in our top 3 most important players....Richmond supporters gave us garbage for trading him for 2 1st round picks when he was struggling...but it got me to thinking...our first pick was 32 and I believe that we have done better out of that draft than Richmond who had something like 5 first round picks.

Take this:

Pick 1 - Brett Deledio - Ok, won a NAB Rising Star..(surprisingly), but other than that is at best an average player, they are struggling and so is he, that's not what a Number 1 pick in his 3rd year should be playing. So far, and this is harsh, but will be a good player but will never live up to a Reiwoldt or a Hodge or a Murphy.

Pick 4 - Richard Tambling - Will be at best a good average footballer, has not shown much, probably doing alright for someone in such a shit team, but just hasn't shown enough yet to show he is gunna be a good player.

Pick 12 - Danny Meyer - In and out of a bottom side, is rated very highly by Kevin Sheedy, maybe Terry isn't getting the best out of him, but if he is in and out of the team now, what happens if they rise off the bottom?

Pick 16 - Adam Pattison - Just doesn't look like he is up to it at this stage, I may be proven wrong.

Pick 20 - Dean Polo - Probably the best of the lot, struggling this year, but looks like he will be a player...Polled 3 votes for his debut, will only get better.

Pick 36 - Luke McGuane - Is a good size, but so far not up to the task.

Pick 52 - Dean Limbach - Delisted, and I don't understand why, has a great set of hands has kicked a huge amount of goals for Williamstown and just looks a good type.

Pick 65 - Mark Graham - Retied, one year service, wasted.

Compare that to our picks:

Pick 32 - Brent Prismall - If we weren't going so well he would be in our midfield, will be a really good player and right now, would be starting midfield for Richmond, can hit targets over long distances, will be back in our side soon enough.

Pick 48 - Nathan Ablett - Starts either full-forward or centre half-forward in the top of the ladder, is struggling for form at the moment but is otherwise having a good year, provides a target has kicked more than 20 goals for us this year, Will be a good forward for the next 10 years.

Pick 62 - Matthew Egan - Probably rates in the top five players taken out of this draft, a steal at 62, is your typical modern footballer, keeping the captain at second fiddle in CHB, great set of hands, moves well and shuts down his opponent.

Now analyse it and give your opinion, but who is more set up for the next five-ten years out of this draft?

im not disappointed about giving up draft picks for ottens more the player we gave to melbourne. maloney is twice the player tenace is and rumour has it collingwood would have traded their pick for tenace but we said no.

Im prety sure essendon wanted him too :mad:

Anyone can play like moloney did. Not hard to run and kick it long. Not many people have blistering pace like tenace. Especially in a team that was deemed to be "slow".

retrospective looks at past drafts is fraught with danger. Because you are basing your assumptions on current form which can fluctuate. The draft is about educated guesses so it is a kind of chook lotto.

I've said all along that Geelong weren't really that phased about losing a Round 1 pick, as they knew they had N.Ablett in the bag, who they rated highly. Would they have done it if it was the 2006 Draft? Probably not, but things sometimes have a way of working out.

I think you're a bit biased with how ordinary some of the players Richmond got out of that draft are. I'd imagine the likes of Deledio, Tambling and Polo would be thriving at another club, under another coach.

We did brilliantly out of that draft though, no doubt. I don't actually know why Prismall ever got dropped from the side, he was doing brilliantly. Egan is a permanant fixture in our defence and Nathan looks to still have a lot of improvement in him. Great drafting given where we picked these players up. If I recall correctly we got Chappy around pick 30 as well. I could see Prismall becoming as important to the side as Chappy is if he gets more game time.

On Deludio and Tambling.
Don't agree. Both will be better than ordinary players.
Deludio is drowning in a sea of medocrity. Put him in our side , with our mids to share the tags and he would look a quality kid. Frankly , Id love to have him at Geelong. Tambling may take a while but he has shown enough to say he too will make it if he is dedicated.
The question I suppose is whether the Tigers picked the right kids with their picks with the form of Franklin this year and Griffen last year.

I'd like to know why Egan was so underrated for him to have played the role he has at Geelong , Richmond and several others miss-judged him

Just a perfect example of why Richmond's recruiting has been the worst out of ANY team over the past 10 years.

Prismall, Ablett and Egan looks like an excellent haul so far.

Deledio should be a star, but I think the rampant mediocrity at Richmond has temporarily slowed his progress. Best thing he could do for his own career would be to change clubs, but will eventually get there even if he stays with the Tiger (just might take him an extra few years).

Tambling should also be OK. Won't be a superstar midfielder, which is probably what they were hoping when they drafted him, but could be a very good flanker or forward pocket.

And is it just me, or is Pattison just about the biggest dud seen on an AFL ground in the last 20 years? He is fair dinkum hopeless, and I can't see him getting much better. I honestly wouldn't give him a game in the VFL reserves.

Youre kidding yourself mate......open youre eyes to some of the talent at other clubs......anyway it is far too early to judge as most players outside the top 5 are still in their first 20 AFL games and developing.

Deledio,Travis Cloke,Matthew Bate(dont underrate this kid, very high quality),Ryan Griffin.Lance Franklin & Jordan Lewis for a start are ahead of Egan at this stage......others with a handfull of games will be good players also.....eg Cam Wood, jesse Smith, Jordan Russel etc

The only players ahead of egan from who you have mentioned are Franklin, lewis and maybe deledio. In his first year egan cemented a spot in geelongs defence. Something that many recruits cannot do in their first season. Not to mention Egan would easily be in the top 10 tall defenders in the league.

Youre kidding yourself mate......open youre eyes to some of the talent at other clubs......anyway it is far too early to judge as most players outside the top 5 are still in their first 20 AFL games and developing.

Deledio,Travis Cloke,Matthew Bate(dont underrate this kid, very high quality),Ryan Griffin.Lance Franklin & Jordan Lewis for a start are ahead of Egan at this stage......others with a handfull of games will be good players also.....eg Cam Wood, jesse Smith, Jordan Russel etc

He is ahead of Bate and Cloke. Comfortably.

Homer, I really do understand where you are at.
We ( that is dudes like you and me) always fail to recognize a real talent when he first emerges for an opposition club.
We either have to pick up on his ability in a moment of clarity, be convinced by an associate whose opinion we respect or be seduced by the media (lets face it, they never stop trying).
But Homer, take it from a footy lover. It is just that I happen to barrack for the Cats.
Matthew Egan would be one of the most promising key position players to emerge in years.
I am not talking Geelong here.
I am talking AFL.
Because the media aren't all over him doesn't mean he is not making an impact.
Sooner rather than later he will be rated a major strength in the make-up of the leading side in the competition.
As a blues supporter, you too will see this before too long, as long as you keep your eyes open and you have some vague concept of the game.
Take my word for it, your coach already knows and I would suspect that most of your players would.

Dont under estimate Bate, ive seen a couple of his games and he hasnt done that much, in and out of an ordinary side at the moment. Egan is a solid CHB he is way ahead of Bate at this stage. Dont forget Egan was a gun tennis player and didnt play much footy and a Jnr, he is still learning the game and has a lot of improvement left in him.

Homer stay of the duff beer mate and open your eyes.