NFL 2005 Mock Draft

A mock first round of the upcoming draft...

Thoughts... criticisms... anything...

1 San Francisco
Alex Smith QB Utah
(6’4, 208lbs)

2 Miami
Ronnie Brown HB Auburn
(6’0, 231, 4.45)

3 Cleveland
Braylon Edwards WR Michigan
(6’2, 209, 4.45)

4 Chicago
Derrick Johnson OLB Texas
(6’2, 231, 4.55)

5 Tampa Bay
Cedric Benson HB Texas
(5’10, 220, 4.55)

6 Tennessee
Antrel Rolle CB Miami
(6’0, 205, 4.50)

7 Minnesota
Mike Williams WR USC
(6’4, 230, 4.60)

8 Arizona
Aaron Rodgers QB California
(6’2, 223lbs, 4.75 40)

9 Washington
Erasmus James DE Wisconsin
(6’4, 261, 4.79)

10 Detroit
Alex Barron T Florida St.
(6’7, 323, 5.20)

11 Dallas
Marcus Spears DE LSU
(6’4, 295, 5.04)

12 San Diego
Shaun Cody DT USC
(6’4, 292, 4.95)

13 13 Houston
Thomas Davis FS Georgia
(6’1, 226, 4.60)

14 Carolina
Jammal Brown T Oklahoma
(6’4, 300, 5.25)

15 Kansas City
Justin Miller CB Clemson
(5’11, 198)

16 New Orleans
Anttaj Hawthorne DT Wisconsin
(6’2, 310, 5.21)

17 Cincinnati
Travis Johnson DT Florida St.
(6’3, 290, 5.10)

18 Minnesota
Brodney Pool FS Oklahoma
(6’3, 198)

19 StLouis
Adam “Pacman” Jones CB West Virginia
(5’10, 190)

20 Dallas
Mark Clayton WR Oklahoma
(5’10, 185, 4.45)

21 Jacksonville
Carlos Rogers CB Auburn
(6’0, 195, 4.42)

22 Baltimore
Elton Brown G Virginia
(6’4, 338, 5.30)

23 Seattle
Shawne Merriman OLB Maryland
(6’3, 249)

24 Green Bay
David Pollack DE Georgia
(6’2, 260, 4.70)

25 Denver
Heath Miller TE Virginia
(6’5, 254)

26 New York
Khalif Barnes T Washington
(6’5, 305, 4.85)

27 Atlanta
Wesley Britt T Alabama
(6’7, 290, 5.30)

28 San Diego
Dan Cody DE Oklahoma
(6’3, 260, 4.6

29 Indianapolis
Kevin Burnett OLB Tennessee
(6’3, 236, 4.60)

30 Pittsburgh
Channing Crowder MLB Florida
(6’2, 241)

31 Philadelphia
Darryl Blackstock OLB Virginia
(6’2, 233)

32 New England
Marlin Jackson CB/S Michigan
(6’0, 200, 4.50)

Heaps could still change though...

Re: Just to create some discussion...

i believe the JETS will be looking at a CB with their 1st pick at 26...one of either Miller, 'Pacman', Jackson...whoever is available when we're on the clock.

fuey said:
A mock first round of the upcoming draft...

Thoughts... criticisms... anything...

11 Dallas
Marcus Spears DE LSU
(6’4, 295, 5.04)

20 Dallas
Mark Clayton WR Oklahoma
(5’10, 185, 4.45)

Not a bad effort, nice work.

You have the right positions selected for Dallas but i reckon Shawn Merriman might be a shot at 11 although Marcus Spears has impressed during at the combine.

If Dallas draft a WR at 20 and Troy Williamson is around im sure they will snap up the south carolina speedster before clayton. Parcells wants a deep threat and williamson will give him that.

Bears won't take a linebacker, already have Urlacher tied up to big money in that position, and Briggs will want big money when his contract is up next year. As much as i'd love Johnson, Jerry Angelo won't tie so much of the cap into one position, not to mention if he drafted on defence with pick 4, considering the respective states of our D vs O, then he'd be linched.

It'll be either Braylon Edwards if he falls, Mike Williams if he doesn't. Need another reciever to complement Moose, and to provide a more long-term solution. The only curve ball I could see is one of the running backs, they definately won't draft a quarterback or anything on defence (except MAYBE a corner), there is no left tackles this year worth pick 4, and those are the only positions you use top 5 picks on.

Yeah there were a few picks in there which I wasn't happy with eg. Merriman too low, Davis a little too high, Rolle a little too high also, but couldn't decide how I'd change it to fix my issues with it.

Basically, there's been a lot fo talk of Merriman going at 3 to the Browns, which is feasible, which in turn would definitely have the Bears picking Edwards. I don't think if the Browns picked Edwards, that the Bears would pass up a talent such as Johnson. And I'm not sold on Williams, he's shown signs of laziness and there's some ends who've ran faster 40s than him, in a word, risky. IMO, there's two sure things in this years draft, and thats Edwards and Johnson.

DonAce, I do agree with you regarding the possibility of a RB or CB though, I don't think any of the top CBs are worthy of a No.4 pick, and I think they would be a chance to get "Cadillac" Williams at pick 39. BUt with the depth at the position this year, could even wait to Round 4 (which is your next pick, I think.)

Marcuz, fair enough, I think more in terms of best player at the position, which I think Clayton is, but not by much. The only real deficiency in Clayton is his size, but he runs a 4.43 40, and has the better hands, while there's a few more question marks over Williamson.

Cheers,

Hell yeah, Johnson is a shoe in to be a Derrick Brooks type impact linebacker, but that said I really doubt the Bears will draft D at 4, not that i'd complain.

I think you undersell Mike Williams though, his size alone will make him a huge endzone threat, especially against the dwarf bunch of corners in the NFC North.

That said, I would be rapt with any of Edwards, Williams, Ronnie Brown, Johnson or Benson at four.

How bloody good are the Texas 2?? they are just unbelivable atheletes. Cedrick Benson in my opinion is the best HB in the draft and i would have him before Auburns Ronnie Brown.

Theres some good CBs in the draft and i would think that my (Packers) will probably target one, that or either a Safety. Thomas Davis is 1 that they are looking at to fill the Safety spot left by Sharper and ot be honest if we got him it would ease the pain a little from losing Sharper. At corner Carlos Rogers another out of the Auburn crew is a guy with some real speed and has a nice build to play Corner, he would be in contention for us at pick 24.

cheers

The Dolphins are rumoured to be eyeing Benson over Ronnie Brown atm. Hard to separate the rumour from the fact before the draft...every team is tight-lipped except the teams with the first or second picks.
Keep an eye on Matt Jones, a QB at Arkansas that's expected to be a WR or TE in the pros. He's 6'6'', about 240 lbs, and ran under a 4.4 forty @ the combine in Indianapolis. Some team will take a gamble on this guy and it could be sooner than later. While he shouldn't go in 1st round, it could happen if Denver or Pittsburgh don't like the looks of what's left when they pick.

There was something like 10 trades in the first round on draft day last year. Its kind of silly to do mock drafts because the chances are many teams are going to end up in different positions.

i think smith will be numero uno as well.

coasting said:
The 49ers have said they want Alex Smith and are trying to sign him to a contract.

While I'm hoping this is true (cos that would mean I at least get something right), there's also the chance that they are upping the value of the No.1 pick.

Apparently there's been a lot of interest in Smith from teams such as Tampa Bay and Chicago (moreso Tampa), and they're hoping that he could fall to them at their respective picks. So the 49ers will a)pick him and keep him, or b) keep talking him up and get someone to bite so they'll get a ********load in return.

Either would not surprise me, but I'd still go with A. There's something about him that has me thinking he'll be a winner.

Back later with an updated mock...

coasting said:
The 49ers have said they want Alex Smith and are trying to sign him to a contract.

I also read this today as well, i think that Aaron Rogers is the better QB. He played under centre his entire College career and Alex Smith played from the shot gun with 4-5 WR in most sets. Dont get me wrong has a great arm but wont be playing from the shotgun in the NFL much.
Aaron Rogers on the other hand had to play west coast style offence, read coverages well and is very good mechanicly (spellling) just my thoughts.

Brylon Edwards will be big, also has anyone read about the dude from the XFL that got busted in college for stealing checks they reackon this guy has a better arm than any of them and ran a fast 40 at the work outs than half the wide outs.

If Blackstock fell to #31, I'd be happy, but odds are that the Eagles will trade up for an O- or D-line player.

I hear the Browns want to trade down from #3 pretty desperately.

Miami will be scared of drafting Benson, as he looks like the next Ricky Williams ;)

bobneil130 said:
I also read this today as well, i think that Aaron Rogers is the better QB. He played under centre his entire College career and Alex Smith played from the shot gun with 4-5 WR in most sets. Dont get me wrong has a great arm but wont be playing from the shotgun in the NFL much.
Aaron Rogers on the other hand had to play west coast style offence, read coverages well and is very good mechanicly (spellling) just my thoughts.

While it is true about only playing in a Shotgun Offense, he showed on his pro-day that he's just as comfortable dropping back three, five and seven steps, so scouts don't see it as an issue.

As for Rodgers, I'm just going to throw up a few names, and then I'll tell you what they all have in common.

Aaron Rodgers
Joey Harrington
David Carr
Kyle Boller
Akili Smith
Trent Dilfer

All played under the tutelage of Jeff Tedford.

The worrying sign is that none of Tedfords QB's have done much at the NFL level, scarily enough Trent Dilfer is his best performed student. Even scarier, Harrington, Carr and Smith were supposedly more talented at the same stage of their careers.

also has anyone read about the dude from the XFL that got busted in college for stealing checks they reackon this guy has a better arm than any of them and ran a fast 40 at the work outs than half the wide outs.

Adrian McPherson, played Arena League last year, not XFL. A mate saw a highlight reel of his, and said he looked awesome. Michael Vick type. I'm hoping the Pack take a chance on him in the 3rd or 4th round, if he's not already taken.

Regardless of who goes no. 1 (it should be smith or rodgers, although edwards is prob more talented), rodgers won't go lower than 2. Though Miami might not take him, the bucs might trade up for him.

David Carr is an awesome QB, its just unlucky he has landed at the Texans. He will be awesome when they start to build the team up. He had a good year last year also.

Arena league yeah thats what i meant. Should be a late 2nd round to 4th round selection.

Go Colts

But i still think Aaron Rogers will go #1 and stay in baytown

I just hope like hell either Edwards or Ronnie Brown falls to the Bears.

Please god not Cedric 'my knees are sore after 1000 carries' Benson.

NFL 2005 Mock Draft