2006 Draft profiles (mojo31)

let me first say thanks for the report on tommy H what do you think of coalan Buckly from West Adelaide apperently was dominating the under 17s he is strong i know thatt but i havnt seen him in a while do u think he will get drafted? Thanks a bunch mojo

Invigoration said:
Any thoughts of Bushranger boy Brad Collins?

He was eligible for the last draft and did not get invited to draft camp. Got a state screening and his testing was not very good.
Had a number of defenders at Murray who were played in front of him last year, Marcus Drum, Alipate Carlile and Tim Looby. He is a medium defender who plays half back flank but does not get a lot of opportuntiies. When one of those 3 were out and he got significant gametime and responsability he was fine. But at his height he needs more to his game. More rebound and more flair and attack. Just some more edge in his game to stand out. Half back flankers are not going to be drafted unless they really stand out and at this stage he does not.
So he will get an opportunity this year to show what he has got and will need to run more and set things up back there and attack.

So an outside chance of getting drafted for this year I would say at this point. Will need to improve significantly but is capable of doing that given more responsability.

cypher said:
Can he be used in a backpocket like Graham Johncock?

If Sheldon isn't worth a third round pick I would love Carlton to target skilled Aboriginal midfielders with our 2nd and 3rd round picks. Something Carlton sorely lack in our side and I'm reminded of everytime Wells or Davey do their thing.

Better as a forward and a winger. Johncock is a more robust and physical player. Well built and is good in traffic and playing on a man.
Hayes is more of a goal kicker and ball carrier who is better in space. Think of a left footed aboriginal player with great speed who plays at Melbourne and you get a better idea of what he is like. Plays like him, looks like him.

Effes said:
Carlton really need to look at a Jed Adcock type to allow Carrots to play in the midfield......any on the horizon?

Have to agree with Lingsface there about Brock. Physically strong and good defensive skills and can stick to his opponent and is very hard to beat 1 on 1. Ideal HBF/BP initially in the AFL with a good chance of becoming a midfielder over time. He played seniors last year in the WAFL and would be AFL ready year 1.
Here is what I wrote on him a while ago

16) Brock O’Brien

Midfielder/half back flanker

180cms and 79kgs
30/5/1988
Peel Thunder (WA)

Physical player suited to playing on an opponent. Thrives on the contest and has a good strong body already. Impressed at the U18 Championships for Western Australia and was used mainly as a defender there. Showed the ability to play close and also to attack at every opportunity. Used the ball well and showed agility and pace as well as picking the right option.
Clean ball handler who has the hands of a good midfielder and a complete game at this early stage. Tough player who runs through and around similar sized players and will take his time to dispose of the ball. Very versatile and really could develop anywhere.
Managed to play senior football for Peel Thunder in the WAFL last year which is quite a feat for someone so young.
Not lightning quick but has good pace and an all around game which belies his age. Good in the air and capable of taking a strong mark. A very good rebounding small defender at this stage who will hopefully develop into a midfielder over time. Hard and classy at the same time and will be top aged come draft time and most likely play most of this year in the seniors for Peel Thunder. So he wont be much of a risk for the team who takes him. A physically ready player with not as much scope as some of the other smalls but a good overall game and the right attitude and temprement to take the next step up to AFL football.

mojo31 said:
Have to agree with Lingsface there about Brock. Physically strong and good defensive skills and can stick to his opponent and is very hard to beat 1 on 1. Ideal HBF/BP initially in the AFL with a good chance of becoming a midfielder over time. He played seniors last year in the WAFL and would be AFL ready year 1.
Here is what I wrote on him a while ago

Very nice kick like Adcock as well...

Also Mojo there is few aboriginal boys playing for the colts his year that look very very good especially there ff/chf cant quite remember his name though...do you know who im talking about?

Another question have you heard any reports on Justin Simpsons pre season?

hey mojo just wondering if i could get some info on the qld boys comeing through this year..there has been alot of talk of the talent coming from there.. could you help out??????????..cheers

bigdogg said:
hey mojo just wondering if i could get some info on the qld boys comeing through this year..there has been alot of talk of the talent coming from there.. could you help out??????????..cheers

I wrote up Albert Proud, Brent Renouf, Rickey petterd and Gavin Urquhart. All top 30 prospects for the next draft.

Go back through and have a look for them if you like.

mojo31 said:
Beau Vernon

179cms and 73kgs
5/12/88
Gippsland Power

Quick player with skill and ball carrying ability. Hits the ball hard and while small he throws himself in and is quite fearless. Played all over the ground for the Gippsland and started last year in the forward pocket. Moved around after that with the occasional run on the ball and more time on the half back line.
Like to see him play midfield and especially wing this year with a bit of time as a rover. Very young last year to be playing TAC and was 16 for the whole season and with some likely growth and physical development he will be a good prospect for the draft. Has the attitude and skill to make it based on his efforts last year in a very good side. Given more opportunities and game time he should push his name right up.
don't think he will get drafted as i'm sure he suffered a pretty serious knee injury in a practice match. unfortunate cos he is a very good player

goDees22 said:
don't think he will get drafted as i'm sure he suffered a pretty serious knee injury in a practice match. unfortunate cos he is a very good player

Did his knee a few weeks ago in the practice game against Sandy Dragons. Not as bad as it could have been but still a cruel setback. Looking at a lay off of a few months. Was named in the Power 2006 squad and am sure he will do everything to hopefully be back some time in July.

On the other hand he needs to be careful he doesn't push it and come back too early. He was born in December 88 and if doesn't get back this year would be an ideal candidate for one of the U/19 spots next year.

The new rule definitely suits this type of scenario.

Jimmyjess said:
Did his knee a few weeks ago in the practice game against Sandy Dragons. Not as bad as it could have been but still a cruel setback. Looking at a lay off of a few months. Was named in the Power 2006 squad and am sure he will do everything to hopefully be back some time in July.

On the other hand he needs to be careful he doesn't push it and come back too early. He was born in December 88 and if doesn't get back this year would be an ideal candidate for one of the U/19 spots next year.

The new rule definitely suits this type of scenario.
yeah hopefully he can get back. i wasn't quite sure as i heard from lots of different ppl that he would be out for the year, down to only a couple of weeks.

let me first say thanks for the report on tommy H what do you think of coalan Buckly from West Adelaide apperently was dominating the under 17s he is strong i know thatt but i havnt seen him in a while do u think he will get drafted? Thanks a bunch mojo

hey mojo,
What are your opinions on Ben Ross and Ben Hughes from Gippsland Power, i saw them against the stingrays. Ross looked very good as did hughes. What did you think. Thankyou mojo

wonder if u saw scotty gumbleton play on the weekend. kicked 5 in the big league and in a pretty ********house team. maybe the difference in peel winning maybe. reminds me alot of a young matty pavlich in his younger days.

what you reckon.

Sorry I have not got to the players yet. I have been very busy and will put something up early next week.

I will also put all the profiles into a more user friendly version and have that finished end of next week also.

- Strengths
- Weaknesses
- Comment

Hey mojo. I have seen alot of people are after you for reports on players so i will try to make it an easy one. Who do you think are the chances from Calder Cannons to get drafted. I know of a few blokes down there and i was wondering if they have a realistic chance. Thanks.

suntagonal said:
Hey mojo,

Just wondering if you had seen anything on Jarryd Morton. Because because stuck here in Melbourne i dont get much chance to see the WAFL.

Cheers Mate
Pretty bored and thought id do my best effort to give you some information on Jarryd Morton.
JARRYD MORTON
Jarryd is a real utility type player which could work for him or against him at this stage....would be around 188cm-192cm and 82-85 Kg runs really well around a 14.5 would be his best beep test, great mark and a very solid set shot at goal, has a good kick but nothing like his brother mitch. The problem I see with his kicking is its very good when he doesnt try to spear it and make it carry 50m at chest high, just seems to do that quite a bit.Kicked 25-30 goals last year in WAFL and had one of the top averages of goals per game, vice captain of Hale last year and finished 3rd in the best and fairest which included Matthew Leunberger (1st) and Clinton Benjamin (5th) considered unlucky not to be in the state 18s inital squad. This year looks to be venturing into the midfield which could expand his game even more as with his fitness and his great over head mark could catch out many teams pushing forwardand taking marks and kicking goals like an andrew embley. Sometimes lacks consistency but has developed huge amounts in the last few years. I think will be drafted for a few reasons has great upside all the attributes a recruiter looks for, they would want his younger brother Cale as well and has proved himself at WAFL level...If he can grow another 3 cm will be up there with alot of the WA boys this year.

hiya Mojo

great thread...

I beleive the upcoming draft is referred to as a 'superdraft'.

Will that affect how many players are taken overall or does it just mean the guality goes deeper?

how deep is this draft and can you take a quess at how many players will go?

thanks

DDT

Lingsface said:
Pretty bored and thought id do my best effort to give you some information on Jarryd Morton.
JARRYD MORTON
Jarryd is a real utility type player which could work for him or against him at this stage....would be around 188cm-192cm and 82-85 Kg runs really well around a 14.5 would be his best beep test, great mark and a very solid set shot at goal, has a good kick but nothing like his brother mitch. The problem I see with his kicking is its very good when he doesnt try to spear it and make it carry 50m at chest high, just seems to do that quite a bit.Kicked 25-30 goals last year in WAFL and had one of the top averages of goals per game, vice captain of Hale last year and finished 3rd in the best and fairest which included Matthew Leunberger (1st) and Clinton Benjamin (5th) considered unlucky not to be in the state 18s inital squad. This year looks to be venturing into the midfield which could expand his game even more as with his fitness and his great over head mark could catch out many teams pushing forwardand taking marks and kicking goals like an andrew embley. Sometimes lacks consistency but has developed huge amounts in the last few years. I think will be drafted for a few reasons has great upside all the attributes a recruiter looks for, they would want his younger brother Cale as well and has proved himself at WAFL level...If he can grow another 3 cm will be up there with alot of the WA boys this year.

Thanks Lingsface.

Just recently I have come into abit of information about Jarryd. I think its a given we will take him f/s, you might find he is unofficially listed at 191cm.

DirtyDogTIGERS said:
hiya Mojo

great thread...

I beleive the upcoming draft is referred to as a 'superdraft'.

Will that affect how many players are taken overall or does it just mean the guality goes deeper?

how deep is this draft and can you take a quess at how many players will go?

thanks

DDT

Hi mate.

I am rewriting all the profiles and putting it into a more easily read format. It is going to take me a while though.

As for the draft. There is real quality at the top end and its mainly the talls. Its also very deep and I would expect clubs to pick well into the 70s and for no passes like last year.

So I would expect at least 70 players to go in the main draft as a guess at this stage. Last year I had 25 good prsopcets and maybe another 10 after that I thought were okay. At this very early stage for the next draft I would have 45 for the upcoming draft and another 15 who are okay.

Also as a comparison I had Mitch Calrk as the only genuine gun going into last year very early on. He of course had a poor year and carnival and questions over his development, work ethic and attitude were raised and he slipped to 9. For this year I would have 5 players at that level. Now not all of them will develop but it shows how much better things are compared to last year. It may not work out that way by November but with so many players already having played at the U18 Champs last year who will have another go this year. A great spread all across Australia with some top prospects from Tasmania and Qld and WA (in particular) along with the 2 guns from SA and it does look good.

Sellar, Gumbleton, Collard already making there mark in senior football and playing well. A couple of the Tassie boys to also play seniors it seems and to play VFL through the Devils.

I will watch Sellar tonight on video when I get home and how he went on the weekend for Glenelg. 197cms is his height now from what I have been told. Put 3 kgs on as well over the pre season. That moves him from 4 (Gibbs not included) to at least top 3 and maybe higher now.

The WAFL Peel game was sent to me with Gumbleton debuting when he kicked 4 goals and took a number of very strong marks. Still pretty wiry but great workrate on the ground and his marking is like I said already the best contested mark in any draft prospect in Australia. Good action over the ball when kicking for goal and is a sharp shooter.

Looking pretty good to me at this stage.

Whispers said:
Mojo, just wondering which players clubs will be chasing in the draft? Or which clubs require which players...

Mojo, can you tell me - will I get lucky tonight? And will my cat get fleas?

Jeez - give the guy a break. Why don't you try to figure this out for yourself, especially since it will be 19 rounds before the draft order is finalised.

Turbocat said:
Mojo , can you tell me anything about the kid tha won the Barrassi medal in U17's against the Irish , David Myer

I'm not Mojo but all I know is that he was listed at 190cm last year and is ineligable for this years draft by exactly two months. He was WA's V/C in the U/16s. Probaby a bit of a utility type; looks to be a good prospect for 2007.

Turbocat said:
Mojo , can you tell me anything about the kid tha won the Barrassi medal in U17's against the Irish , David Myer

Born 30/6/1989 so wont be eligible for this draft.

Is a tallish half back flanker who is almost KPP height but not quite. Left footed and very athletic and a booming kick of the ball. Good speed and classy with the ball. Pretty attacking and a modern style rebounding defender. Goto to work a little on his body work and hopefully add a few cms to become a potential CHB.

Good prospect and the Int Rules format suits his type with his athleticism.

Plays for the Perth club in the WAFL.