Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
mojo31 said:Hi mate.
Hansen has been super impressive at CHB but now pushing forward is doing well. Taking contested marks and kicking goals. Like I have said he can play anywhere and has shown that.
Anywhere down the spine and it just depends on what the club needed and how other players are going. Just adds flexability and versatility to a team. Not a 1 dimensional player.
You get some talls and they have all the skills but before they are drafted they play forward and you really dont know how they will go down back. You are just guessing with them.
Nobody is a lock for number 1. Like I have said in my opinion 5 fairly equally talented players and any of them could go at 1. Since its early May and we have hardly started the year and not had the U18 Carnival or the draft camp testing (how tall they are especially) its almost impossible to know.
I have my list. Others have theres. Its all pretty close and anyones guess.
Gumbleton is playing senior football in the WAFL and playing at a level that the talls from last year were nowhere near at that level (Clark, Ryder and Kennedy). Will he continue with it? Maybe.
Sellar is playing seniors as wellin the SANFL. Taller and filling in. Playing CHF and ruck. Not dominating but solid. Just turned 17.
Gibbs continues his good form in the seniors at Glenelg week after week.
Thorp has had an injury and been out. So he is the unknown at this stage. But just going on last year with him.
We will all know a lot more after the U18 Championships when some of these players are head to head.
But Hansen is still my pick at this early stage. If he keeps playing forward and kicking bags then he will firm. Everyone knows he can play CHB. Its strong form at CHF which will help him more than another year killing the poor forwards who line up on him when he plays CHB which is almost meaningless as far as recruiters go.
He showed he could play forward last year but there is a difference bewteen be able to "play there" and being a gun there. At the moment he is a 9/10 down back and 6/10 up forward. Some of that is due to opportunity of not playing there. Hopefully he gets to play forward more.
Stan. said:So what is the reason he is having a sook, surely he should be a bit tougher than this.
cypher said:Maybe it was the last act of Mojo31!![]()
It's a mystery when harmless posts disappear without explanation!Sezzac1 said:I was supporting him and having a crack at the trolls who caused him to 'sign off' and the leeches who pass of his info as their own thoughts on various footy sites on the net. Go figure.![]()
Maybe I only thought I hit the 'submit button' and it is purely in my own tired brain late on a Friday arvo.![]()
Bentleigh said:One of:
Lachlan Hansen
Scott Gumbleton
Mitchell Thorp
James Sellar
Worst comes to worse I'd take Bryce Gibbs
Pharaoh said:Isn't it nice to know that each team is only going to get one of these potential stars in the next superdraft?
tigertRANCE said:Yeh unlike the Hawks of the last two drafts. Yeah the Tiges had it in 2004 but the Hawks had the double. (2004 & 2005). Great to see they can't tank and go for the trifecta. If it were up to Clarkson though, he would love to do it again.
GO TIGES!!!
I would ask Jimmae if I wanted fiction.Sezzac1 said:Depends whether you want fact or fiction for an answer.![]()
Pharaoh said:No point tanking this year. There's only one pick to be had and the draft goes deep. You, my Richmond friend, are just jealous![]()
i know them very well, kruez played solid in initial games for knights then was interupted with AIS, since then has came back flying looking very confident and versatile as every, lots of agility about him and a good football brain. hopefully he does well in tasmania tomorrow. Grimes is a freak on both sides of body, extremly classy midfielder who seems to find space and have alot of time, first 3 games of season he missed due to stress fracture in foot, which was a re-occuring injury that he has had trouble with in the past. Both boys are back and i wish them well against tas and in their vic metro campiagns.KING-JAMES said:Does anyone no anything on the big Knights Ruckmen Matthew Kruezer? Also anything on Jack Grimes both go to my school and i heard Big Matt is a gun.
KING-JAMES said:Thanks mate,If they get drafted what round do you think BigBazz?
mojo31 said:Dal Santo was 13 so he was not exactly a late draft pick but I understand what you mean with he now surpassing some others who were taken before him.
J Kelly was 17.
B Harris was 71.
I think the thing with the upcoming draft which sets it apart is the number of really good tall prospects.
Hansen, Thorp, Gumbleton, Sellar, Leunberger,Riewoldt, Hawkins (F/S to Geelong), Mackenzie all likely first rounders.
The absolute cream of midfield talent is not there as compared to 2001 at this stage. There are about a dozen good mid prospects but nobody as yeat in the Ball, Judd, Hodge class apart from Selwood who I would have behind those 3 by a bit still.
Looking at the draft just gone. Marc Murphy( best player in the 2005 draft in my opinion) I would have at about 9 if I could have the pick of anyone. So thats Gibbs, Hansen .... Leuenberger and then Marc at 9.
As far as the talls Dowler, Ryder, Kennedy and Clark are all reasonably even. I would put Sellar,Leuenberger Thorp, Hansen, Gumbleton, Riewoldt as in front of all of them at this stage. Mackenzie is about the same level.
So I think a number of the midfiled prospects are even and one player taken at 30 might be very similar to a mid taken at 10. The players from Qld and Tasmania will be harder to judge. Div2 in the U18s and in competitions in there state where it is harder to work there ratings out. So I would see those players as capable of making a recruiter look silly when all things are looked at in 5 years time.
Albert Proud is the one player I really like who may not be rated as high by others. I doubt he would be top 10 in other peoples opinions. So he would be the one and maybe Houli if he continues to be injured.
I think the point is that the 2001 draft is a world away in terms of information available these days. The level of analysis and scrutiny with the U16s from the last few years, the U18s and recruiters watching them play in there local competitions. The interviewing, medicals and testing. It does not mean that players taken last wont go onto become guns but it will happen less and less as the drafting process becomes more scientific and more resourced by clubs.
Gilly1972 said:Hi eays,
Unfortunately you won't see Mojo posting here anymore as he attracted the attention of some dimwitted posters.....