2006 Draft ....... profiles

philhawk said:
Great work as always mate, just a couple of queries ...

a) You rate Connors higher then Ellis? So you're saying if Connors was in the 05 draft, he'd go most likely higher than Ellis?

b) Can you be more specific on Hansen? :p 'Top 5' sounds amazing, but which number exactly! Also, you've rated his general skills around 5/10, 6/10 etc. What exactly is it about him that pushes him up the pecking order to a Top 5 draft pick as you suggest?

a) imo . yes i rate conners much higher than ellis. imo ellis would be lucky to go top 20 in this years draft.

b)i have hansen at 5 at the minute. although things might change after i get more dvd's of players and can draw a better line through them. will be watching hansen live again in the coming weeks.

hansen brings heaps to the table

- 195 KP prospect
- courage and heaps of it
- reads play brilliantly, natural CHB imo
- one of the top 3 contested marking player in draft.
- good speed

Thanks LHodge on the Conners details. As posted somewhere else on here, I thought we should take Conners at any pick he was available for - though perhaps not yet quite so high first round as you have him. Haven't seen his club games, but the champs efforts were a silkier but still tough and versatile Scott Burns to me and just wonderful to watch. Bit worried that I haven't seen his name much in club results, but you'll know more than I about them. Since so far we seem to be his biggest fans, should we alter the draft process to be decided via an arm wrestling competition?

LEROY JETTA

175cm - 73kilos - 06.07.88

CLUB - South Fremantle

AFL LIKE - Jason Akermanis

CHAMIONSHIPS POSITION - ROVER-WING-HFF

AFL POSITION - ROVER-SMALL FORWARD

KICK - 50m KICK ON BOTH SIDES. RIGHT 7.5/10 LEFT 7/10
- Kicking can vary from very good to sometimes a little erratic.
- Clanger count at champs a concern, but has good technique/ball rotation/balance in his kicking action

HANDBALL - 6.5/10 right side. will only improve at AFL level. he is a kick first handball second type footballer.

STANDOUT ABILITY - Blistering pace

STAR - Jetta has so many ticks in so many areas its scarey.

*genuine midfielder, had queries after watching the champs last year wether he could be a genuine midfielder as most of his work was done off the HFF in 2005. QUERIES GONE. already gathered over 30 possesions in the WAFL - proven against men & played majority of champs in the middle. his future lies in the middle at AFL level.

*his recovery and ability to get back to his feet in any situation was first class. many times both he and his opponent went to ground and he was up and off with the footy while his opponent was still getting up.

*clearnece work was also top class. not only does he have blistering pace and can run the lines (break games open) but his inside work in traffic was very good. will carve out a career in the middle imo. strong body so rarely goes to ground

*outstanding vertical leap. so in essence plays a little taller than his 175cm frame.

*loves to take them on and has that little bit of arrogance that very good footballer have. im sure he would have been tested many times at senior level this year by men wanting to bring the young fella back down to earth. will have to chase up some stats from the WAFL this year.

*GAME BREAKER !!! will win games off his own boot. had chances to tear the first game to bits at the champs, but his kicking was a little off when shooting at goal on the run. (last year he rarely missed) By memory, would have kicked close to 5 points in game one and could have easily kicked 6-7 if things had gone his way.

QUERIES - kicking needs a little work. but nothing to be worried about. when travelling flat out, sometimes clanger kicks.
- height will worry some recruiters but guys like wallace will be fantasizing about him already.

RANKING - 4 ( SUBJECT TO CHANGE )

AFL READY (wiseby speak) - year 1

LukeHodge15 said:
AFL LIKE - Jeff Farmer

[/B]
Id say hes more like a nathan g brown (at the same age) or even brent harvey, plays a lot more midfield type than farmer. (one of my pet hates is aboriginal players always being compared to aboriginal players.)

Lingsface said:
Id say hes more like a nathan g brown (at the same age) or even brent harvey, plays a lot more midfield type than farmer. (one of my pet hates is aboriginal players always being compared to aboriginal players.)
agreed

i struggled with a comparrison.
didnt like farmer comparrison much at all.

have come up with a better one i reckon after further thought.

Jason Akermanis. - im happy with that.

LukeHodge15 said:
agreed

i struggled with a comparrison.
didnt like farmer comparrison much at all.

have come up with a better one i reckon after further thought.

Jason Akermanis. - im happy with that.

Good heavens. So the kid can play then.

BACHAR HOULI

CLUB - Western Jets - Spotswood

HEIGHT - 180 cm

WEIGHT - 84 kilos

SPEED 20m

- 2006 - 3.0 approx = Good
- 2005 - 3.2 approx = Very Slow and not good at all - put down to injurys

AFL LIKE - ????? I'm Struggling, maybe Cousinseque..... HELP :confused:

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITION - Ruck Rover - HFF - FP

AFL POSITION - Onballer - HFF

KICK

- 8/10 Left. 50+ Laser left foot,Tree trunk legs helps. Brilliant Ball rotation with a small tendency to kick around his body.
- 4/10 Right. Typical left footer, very average on his right

HANDBALL

- 9/10 Left. Has the ability to handball 30m already, rarely waste by hand or by foot.

POSITIVES

- Absolutely torched them when he was the Captain of the under 16 Victorian squad, be4 injury cut him down last year. Heaps and heaps of positives about Houli, where do u start.

- Brilliant by hand and foot, clubs will be wetting themselves with his skill. Rarely waste a possesion and puts teamates into space with a laser short pass on the chest or perfectly weighted kick to advantage. Doesnt waste the footy at all. By hand their isnt many better in this whole draft than Bachar.

- Keeps feet in a contested situation and when forced to ground in a contest he is the one first back to his feet and off and running.

- He would have aced the peripheral vision test at camp, his awareness of where his teammates are around is first class.

- Clean with no fumbles.

- Good overhead and never takes his eye off the footy.

NEGATIVES

- Injurys, just about missed the whole of 2005 with injury and missed small sections of 2006. Is his body made for AFL.

- Already a man playing amongst boys, is there much physical improvemnet left in him

DRAFT POSITION

Pick 4 - 12

Spot on luke hode, I always have a kick with him at the park and he hits you like a bullet. Also very strong over head for his size. A gun and has the phsique to play AFL next year. Love him at Hawthorn to hit Willo on the chest. Bring on the houli!!!

These are great LH15, keep it up :thumbsu:

Could you please have a go at one on Albert Proud (if you know enough about him?) Cheers :thumbsu:

tats said:
Spot on luke hode, I always have a kick with him at the park and he hits you like a bullet. Also very strong over head for his size. A gun and has the phsique to play AFL next year. Love him at Hawthorn to hit Willo on the chest. Bring on the houli!!!

Forgot about overhead.......cheers mate. Will add to profile. :p

these are sensational mate really are jst wondering if u could do one one eric mackenzi and ben reid as i want to no some things so i can split them thanks mate

thenextbigthing1999 said:
these are sensational mate really are jst wondering if u could do one one eric mackenzi and ben reid as i want to no some things so i can split them thanks mate

Thats funny, because the next one im planning on doing is Eric McKenzie.

LukeHodge15 said:
BACHAR HOULI

Ive heard it before, and agree with it.

Shannon Grant is a perfect example, both left footers, both good kicks, both goal scoring mid's.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
Bachar Houli = Brent Moloney.

Nah , can'y see that. Houli middle name is CLASS and Maloney isnt that.

Maybe a mixture of Yze + Grant + Cousins :p

LukeHodge15 said:
very very early days, but thought i would start getting a few profiles together of players likely to get taken in the 2006 draft. still waiting on a heap of dvd's so i can analyse the draftees and find more weaknesses that i havent picked up already at the championships.

----------------------------------------------------------

TOMMY HISLOP

185cm - 85kilos - 07.06.88

AFL LIKE - MARK RUiCCUTO

CHAMIONSHIPS POSITION - RUCK ROVER , HBF, FF, HFF, CENTRE

AFL POSITION - CENTRE/RUCKROVER

KICK - 50m KICK ON BOTH SIDES. RIGHT 8.5/10 LEFT 7.5/10 (Good Kicking technique and good ball rotation)

STAR

- probably wont go until the teens, but I have ranked much higher than that.

- favourite player I watched at the championships.

- POWER MIDFIELDER who can play both roles ....... In and under and outside finisher.

- Missed most of 2005 with a shoulder reco, so imo upside is still there.

- Early days but has captain material written all over him, huge leadership qualitys. Was directing his teammates where to fill holes and plenty of encouragement.

- Clearances , runs hard, chases hard, tackles hard........POWER MIDFIELDER with that touch of explosiveness.

- Playing senuior footy at the minute for tassie devils VFL side, type of player ready to go in 2007. and I think the step up will only make him a better player

- Switched to FF in the first game of champs, where he showed good speed off the mark when leading , good hands and accurate kick for goal.

QUERIES - ???

RANKING - 6 ( SUBJECT TO CHANGE )
good work hodgey, can you tell me when big footy do the complete profiles?

LukeHodge15 said:
BACHAR HOULI

CLUB - Western Jets - Spotswood

HEIGHT - 180 cm

WEIGHT - 84 kilos

SPEED 20m

- 2006 - 3.0 approx = Good
- 2005 - 3.2 approx = Very Slow and not good at all - put down to injurys

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITION - Ruck Rover - HFF - FP

AFL POSITION - Onballer - HFF

KICK

- 8/10 Left. 50+ Laser left foot,Tree trunk legs helps. Brilliant Ball rotation with a small tendency to kick around his body.
- 4/10 Right. Typical left footer, very average on his right

HANDBALL

- 9/10 Left. Has the ability to handball 30m already, rarely waste by hand or by foot.

POSITIVES

- Absolutely torched them when he was the Captain of the under 16 Victorian squad, be4 injury cut him down last year. Heaps and heaps of positives about Houli, where do u start.

- Brilliant by hand and foot, clubs will be wetting themselves with his skill. Rarely waste a possesion and puts teamates into space with a laser short pass on the chest or perfectly weighted kick to advantage. Doesnt waste the footy at all. By hand their isnt many better in this whole draft than Bachar.

- Keeps feet in a contested situation and when forced to ground in a contest he is the one first back to his feet and off and running.

- He would have aced the peripheral vision test at camp, his awareness of where his teammates are around is first class.

- Clean with no fumbles.

- Good overhead and never takes his eye off the footy.

NEGATIVES

- Injurys, just about missed the whole of 2005 with injury and missed small sections of 2006. Is his body made for AFL.

- Already a man playing amongst boys, is there much physical improvemnet left in him

DRAFT POSITION

Pick 4 - 12

Geelong at 7 is what I hope. It's good to see you rated him at 4-12 as most on this board think he will drop to the 20's. Has to be ranked in front of Proud, Armitage, Connors, Collard. SURELY.

Hey would you be able to do a profile on travis boak? im looking forward to where you think he will be drafted.

ERIC MCKENZIE

CLUB - Claremont - Another WA GUN

HEIGHT - 195 cm - 6 ft 5 in

WEIGHT - 91 kilo

SPEED - 20 metres - approx 3.09 = Average

AFL LIKE

- Cross between Fletcher & Clement , I hate these comparisons though

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITION

- FB - and stuck there because of WA options

AFL POSITION

- Spine - CHB would ideal because he could end up being the general down back and have more influence on the game. Match ups could dictate between FB and CHB. Similar to Fletcher in his young days.

KICK

- 8/10 Right ..... Good sound technique and long
- 6/10 Left.......Gets the job done, above average

HANDBALL

- 6/10 ...... Stock standard, has the tools to improve heaps in an AFL envoriment

POSITIVES

- Just have a look at his measurements .... 195cm 91 kgs and u can see that recruiters would have him pretty high on their boards. Add to that he is one heck of footballer, and u have a highly rated key defender which are like hens teeth in the AFL. TICK

- On the footy field he is so POISED & BALANCED, he has heaps of time to make decisions and most of the times they are the correct ones. Already one step ahead of most players, similar to another highly rated defender in this draft Lachie Hansen. BIG TICK

- No fear and loves the hard competitive stuff, 1% etc. looks like he hates to get beaten which are huge ticks. TICK

- Pretty hard to get a form line through McKenzie due to the fact that he was stuck at FB all champs, but from all reports coming outa the west, he has just kept improving and improving

- Did ok on Hawkins in the game at Geelong, but its pretty hard when the ball is coming in lace out from the metro mids and the fact that Hawkins is ****ing good.

- Long rangey arms perfect for spoiling as a backman. Just the perfect prototype for an AFL Backman. TICK

- Injurys - havent got any knowledge of a previous history. TICK. But like i said be4 im an amateur at best and my sample size is miniscule compared with what the big dogs have.

- Good overhead mark and solid hands, would love to have seen him played forward at the champs and WA results might have been better. They just lacked a KP player from their squad to balance up their side.

NEGATIVES

- Good question, I'll find some just give me time.

DRAFT POSITION

Mckenzie flying up my charts, looks to be a complete footballer with very little boxes that aren’t already ticked

Pick 6 - 12