Draft Review 2007 - Redo the 2007 Draft

Id love Cotchin to be playing for the Hawks right now.. Cotchin kicking it to Rioli woulld b sweet hehe

Re: re do the 2007 draft now that we know what we know

carlton already have 2 competent ruckmen, if they were redoing the draft im sure theyd pick another need that they have which right now doesnt look like their ruck stocks

Hawks would move heaven and earth for Harry Taylor right now i reckon, even if it means giving up Rioli (almost unthinkable for a hawks fan)

Hell if the draft was redone now i reckon Harry Taylor would go first? I think the Blues need an elite KPB if im not mistaken, and hes as good as they come in the backline

is cale hooker the guy chasing buddy when he kicked goal of the year couple of years ago?

carlton already have 2 competent ruckmen, if they were redoing the draft im sure theyd pick another need that they have which right now doesnt look like their ruck stocks

Not to mention Sam Jacobs left for lack of opportunities. They had more than enough ruckmen.

Hawks would move heaven and earth for Harry Taylor right now i reckon, even if it means giving up Rioli (almost unthinkable for a hawks fan)

Hell if the draft was redone now i reckon Harry Taylor would go first? I think the Blues need an elite KPB if im not mistaken, and hes as good as they come in the backline

EXACTLY!!!

Didn't I tell you someone would agree?

Redoing the top 10:

1.Cotchin - The fact the Blues already have a good midfield is irrelevant. Easily the best talent.
2.Dangerfield - The next best talent. Inside players with pace are like hen's teeth. Tigers lose little.
3.Rioli - He'd have a feast roving to the Eagles big forwards at Subi.
4.Ward - He'd be their best inside midfielder and would be also captain.
5. Kreuzer - He has competition as the best ruck, but he's better around the ground.
6.Walker - If he's in the pool he's clearly the best key forward.
7. Taylor - The best key defender availiable.
8.Henderson - This time the Lions don't trade him :p
9.McEvoy - Bellchambers is tempting as a better tap ruck, but McEvoy offers more around the ground
10. Hooker - With the Crows down two quality KPDs, he'd be handy. He was put on the trade table, but hasn't had his colours lowered this year.

1. Dangerfield
2. Cotchin
3. Walker
4. Taylor
5. Selwood
6. Kreuzer
7. Ward
8. Rioli
9. Ebert
10. McEvoy

Possibly an element of bias putting Patrick ahead of Cotchin, I just think at this stage, Patty still has more room for improvement than Cotch.

Plus, Danger has a greater chance of winning a game off his own boot IMO.

1. Dangerfield
2. Cotchin
3. Walker
4. Taylor
5. Selwood
6. Kreuzer
7. Ward
8. Rioli
9. Ebert
10. McEvoy

Possibly an element of bias putting Patrick ahead of Cotchin, I just think at this stage, Patty still has more room for improvement than Cotch.

Plus, Danger has a greater chance of winning a game off his own boot IMO.

The inside word i've heard from tigerland is they believe Cotchin is running at 60-70% simply for the fact his achilles are only now settling down and he is yet to have complete preseason till this year.

There is no way Cotchin is running at 60%. He's a gun already and may get better as his body matures, but he can't be far off his peak talent.

Rivers usually takes the 2nd/3rd best tall forward doesn't he? Maybe a small on occasions also?

Hooker takes the oppositions best tall forward every week and is doing a bloody good job. Just ask Jack Riewoldt.

He was before his body blew out and he had to reinvent himself as a second tall. He won a rising star in the role.

There is no way Cotchin is running at 60%. He's a gun already and may get better as his body matures, but he can't be far off his peak talent.

I disagree he has still only had 2 full preseasons. Terry Wallace said he reckons we have only seen about 25% of what Cothcin has to offer :eek:

Terry Wallace. Cotchin is fully fit, obviously he has physical improvement left as do lost of other players from this draft year.

I can't help but think that there is going to be a proportional relationship between the number of games won by Richmond and the Lutz on BF.

I wonder how many calls they’ve taken down at punt road this morning about access to finals tickets. :p

Um, lol.

That means if he ever fulfills his potential he will be the best player in the history of the game.

I think Terry's just happy he got a top pick right for a change. :p

Um, lol.

That means if he ever fulfills his potential he will be the best player in the history of the game.

I think Terry's just happy he got a top pick right for a change. :p

Would be interesting to hear when he made that quote though. If it were early last year it would be justified.
Cotchins improvement has been remarkable. Year after Year, game after game he just seems to be improving and it doesn't look like its about to stop just yet. Amazing player.

No doubt, one of my favorites to watch and I think he could probably still become a 10% better player and a top 5 player in the comp.

But if that Wallace quote was recent, it's ridiculous.

Cotchin has not had anywhere near a full pre-season at AFL level . 2011 he was restricted due to growth related Achilles problems which are no longer an issue . Whilst his 2012 pre season was restricted due to off -season hip surgery , which IIRC meant he played little pre season games . I think he is running a little better than at 65% or what ever the figure was that some are indicating , but there is no doubt he has significant room for improvement .

Think there is a furphy.

My understanding is that Cotchin had an interrupted pre-season in 2009 due to Achilles problems.

Has now built up a base of 5 pre-seasons, so any minor niggles in upcoming pre-seasons, should not impact on his preparation.

1 Trent Cotchin - Carlton
2 Patrick Dangerfield - Richmon
3 Cyril Rioli - West Coast
4 Matthew Kruezer- Melbourne
5 Harry Taylor - Bulldogs (pick 17)
6 Brad Ebert - Essendon
7 Jack Grimes - Fremantle
8 Jarrod Grant - Brisbane
9 Ben McCvoy St.Kilda
10 Taylor Walker- Adelaide ( pick 75)
11 Chris Masten - Sydney
12 Alex Rance - Hawthorn
13 Cale Morton - West Coast
14 Scott Selwood - Melbourne
15 Lachlan Henderson - Kangaroos
16 Tom Bellchambers - Port ( pick 8 in pre season draft)
17 Callun Ward - Geelong
18 David Myers - Richmond
19 Rhys Palmer - Bulldogs
20 Tayte Pears - West Coast

Players in bold are the real bolters out the group

Not much talent from here on

Think there is a furphy.

My understanding is that Cotchin had an interrupted pre-season in 2009 due to Achilles problems.

Has now built up a base of 5 pre-seasons, so any minor niggles in upcoming pre-seasons, should not impact on his preparation.
Sorry mate but your understanding is wrong . His Achilles injury flared up
In both the 2009 and 2010 preseasons and was on a extremely well documented restricted 2011 pre season . Whilst he had a hip clean-up during the past off-season and returned to the main training group IIRC only the week before our first pre season game which he played reduced game time and did so in the following pre season matches .

Cale Morton beats out Scott Selwood?

You could potentially make a case for others but do you even know who these two players are?