2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

He's definitely a project ruck, 208cm and only 85 kg.

He's a fairly recent convert, so it's a bit early to call. He played 10 games in his only season, and dominated the ruck (at his height, what a surprise). Apparently he's got an okay kick, and with a background including NSW Institute of Sport basketball program and soccer goalkeeper, you'd think he's got a decent set of hands.

From memory he comes from an athletics family and is quick for someone of his height. If someone is quick & 208cm and doesn't kick the ball like Dermott McNicholl / Rod Austin then probably worth picking up through a scholarship scheme. King & Gardiner will probably give him plenty of assistance as he will not be pushing for their spot for a couple of years.

Wake-up call ends Armitage's late nights

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25087283-11088,00.html

Jay Clark
February 22, 2009 12:00am

WHAT David Armitage needed was "a kick along".

The talented ball-winner was seen to be treading water playing 16 games in his first two seasons before being told at the end of last year more was required.

Not more effort but, as Armitage puts it, more attention to detail.
"It was more off-field stuff like my diet, recovery and getting more sleep," Armitage said.

"Instead of staying up late watching videos I'm going to bed early and getting up in the morning and being active.
"I think I probably needed a bit of a kick along from the club leaders and I definitely got it."

Approaching a definitive third season, the changes in Armitage's life have helped him set alight this pre-season.

The 20-year-old, who was taken with the Saints' prized first pick (No.9) in the 2006 national draft, is no longer "going through the motions".
Armitage has not missed a session all summer and has impressed in the top running group, pushing established stars such as Lenny Hayes.

Sick of being benched so frequently last season, and dropped to the VFL three times, Armitage has high hopes of playing AFL all year.

"I guess I was a bit frustrated last year, because I would play three or four games in a row and then get dropped," he said. "I'd think to myself, what did I get dropped for?

"But it is clear now and it will be a good learning curve."

With St Kilda's premiership window still open, if only just, Armitage could provide the boost the team needs.

Already a hard in-and-under player, the 183cm bulldozer knows he needs more of an outside game.

He averaged 10 touches a match last season - deemed not enough for an on-baller of his quality and potential.

"I'm not getting out in space enough and doing that hard running to get the easy possessions," he said.

"I like getting the hard ones and, in that sense, I'm pretty lucky because it can take a few years to teach, but I'm making things difficult for myself."
The Queenslander missed the club's NAB Cup loss to Brisbane with a slight hamstring niggle, but is likely to be back in the senior team against the Western Bulldogs on Friday night.

"If I can have a few good 'praccy' matches, hopefully, I can be in for Round 1 and then stay there for the year," he said.

"Yes, I have high expectations of myself, definitely."

- after reading Fizz's article & this one I'm a bit floored by the freakin casual attitude to playing AFL. I'm sure Armo will lift to far greater heights than Fizzer, but FFS it seems that once they get onto a list, everything else comes easy??!? I'm sure they're not alone either. This from the club that has just farewelled the hardest working player the AFL has seen???? :mad:

I think this is precisely why we have failed in the last 5 years to win the premiership. Well, that an injuries. The talent was there, but the application, the discipline, the will, not there for many of the players. Remember last year or the year before, Rossco came out and said there were "Too many passengers". Well, we're looking at them right here. And what Lyon has done is get rid of passengers, or tell people to pull their finger out. There is no such thing as a free ride any more at St Kilda.

http://www.footygoss.com/index.php/main/club_news/wafl_general/view/young_swan_spreading_his_wings/

Young Swan Spreading His Wings (PT 2)
Posted Feb 21, 2009 - 7:57 AM

(This story follows on from Part 1)

The move away was never going to be an easy one, but Miles at least had a few more years than most on his side, moving as a 21 year old, rather than an 18 year old. His host family made the initial stages very comfortable, looking after all the homely touches that only a mother can give. Before long, he was on the move again, this time into a place with just him and team mate… “The club encouraged us to be as independent as possible as early as possible. Mum, Dad, and Ashleigh (Luke’s sister) all visited independently, mum was a huge help in setting us up in the new place, it was just coming into NAB cup time, and we were both flat out training trying to impress for a spot, so it was great to have mum looking after all the little things that 2 young blokes might not have thought of”.

Then the reality of year one in an AFL system began rear it’s head, Miles long distance relationship suffered, and his body broke down. “I went though a really tough time in the first 6 months, I really dug myself into a big hole, and it wasn’t until I got in touch with the fire Brigade over here that things started to look up”. Miles was a victim of his own ambition, and his refusal to acknowledge mounting pains in his calf resulted in him missing a lot more footy than he might of “When you’ve been talked up for a couple of weeks saying you’re going to play at Telstra Dome, when the only time I’d been to Telstra Dome was sitting in the third tier going ‘wow, this is amazing’ imagine playing, and then you’re presented with the opportunity to play in front of 25000 it’s a real hard thing to say to the physio nah, I’m not right, pull me out, especially at NAB cup, as a Rookie that’s really your opportunity to shine. I played, and was pretty happy with my game, didn’t get many possessions, but felt I did my job, then I woke up the next day and I couldn’t walk.”

The frustration wasn’t going to be over quickly “I ended up missing 16 weeks in the end, came straight back into the VFL seniors for the Casey Scorpions, so that gave a me a little of confidence that they believed I had something to offer, and got to the point where I was told I’d be next in line should we lose a defender” and then another set back, “but I broke down again, and missed three or four weeks. Late in the season the coaches asked me to give them a glimpse of what I was capable of. In my return game, trying to make a statement to the coaches, I ended up getting knocked out and in Frankston Hospital for 7 hours on a spinal board with a spinal brace…after that it was decided I needed a proper break”

With his calm disposition coming to the fore, Miles went about doing everything he could to impress off the field to give himself the best chance of getting a spot again in 2009. “It was a really big focus for me, making sure I was in the coaches face, reminding them that while I couldn’t play, I was still here, and wanted to show them I wanted to play next year. Ticking off all the boxes like gym sessions, physio, team meetings, all that sort of stuff.”
It was during this time that the fire service became the outlet that kept him sane, and when the AFL Pa’s educational officer and co ordinator Claire Mitchell Tavenor knocked on the door, she’d found a young man who clearly has a world outside football. There were some doors to be broken down for Miles to follow his other passion, the Fire Brigade understandably reticent to gift AFL players a pathway, determined not to compromise their strenuous testing regime.
The AFLPA and Miles were growing frustrated when a chance meeting between Chris Smith, a trainer at Richmond and a Fire fighter with the MFB, and Miles’ development coach at a café, left the hitherto barriers a thing of the past. “I gave him a call, went in to the station to meet him, and I was wrapped to meet him, he said he’d try and get me in for some work experience…and for what it’s turned out to be, I ended up being issued with turn out gear, an observers helmet, and all of a sudden when the bell went, I was suiting up, directing the truck, and taking in some amazing experiences. For the first time since being in Melbourne I was happy again, building some networks, and expanding my life to people who weren’t just footy footy footy. The club was great too, allowing me some flexibility to go in and do full night shifts, and full day shifts, and that was just awesome, gaining their experience and trust, and starting to get more and more involved hands on.”

He’s been exposed to some experiences most do everything to avoid, including some emergency medical responses, drug overdoses, burning buildings, and human death “I guess you’re given this opportunity to see first hand to see what a fire fighter does, why not make the most of it, I want to be able to get in and do the job when it’s my time, rather than sitting their with my jaw wide open”

Miles voice raises in intensity, and reflects genuine gratitude for his time learning the much more serious game “It’s just absolutely amazing to have had shared the experience, I mean the guys’ family aren’t even allowed to ride in the truck, that’s how serious it is. Out of the fire brigade I’ve made some life long friends.” Meeting a wei lass probably didn’t hurt the attraction either “I’ve got a wonderful girlfriend who’s actually a paramedic at our station, it’s just opened up the outside footy world so much”.

Not content with his own progress, Miles is now working hand in hand with the AFLPA to try and develop an ongoing program. “Now we’re trying to develop it so that other players can do some work experience like I have. It’s going to be based on the Next Goal Programme. It’s going to be a 10 day program with 4 day shifts, 2 night shifts and then 4 days experience with training and education, fire investigation, other departments that will give the guys a good insight into what goes on a) as a firefighter and b) what goes on on the other side of things, which is so often over looked. Hopefully in a couple of months time we’ll have other players coming in and enjoying the experience and opportunities that exist.”

It’s a topical career choice in a country where people are grappling with the disastrous reality of the Victorian Bush Fires, and Miles feels their pain “If I got given the opportunity, and the club Ok’d it I’d be up their in a second, you just really want to help in any way you can, it’s horrendous what people are going through”
With all that effort and energy, Miles realises that he must focus on his footy if he’s to make the most of his opportunity, and the club, which has been nothing but supportive throughout, is keen to get the best of their project player. As we enter the NAB cup a year on, Miles’ body is fit and ready to go, and he’s excited about proving his worth on the field. You can rest assured that regardless of the capacity Miles represents the saints in, he’ll be making the most of it.

Michael Leeds

Some quotes from the article :

"Zac (Dawson) is only 22 and in very good nick. He’s very quick."

"Raph Clarke. He’s a nice size. For Raph to be a legitimate tall he probably needs a couple more centimetres"

OMG

This is my personal favourite:-

We beat everyone in the eight last year bar Geelong. The Bulldogs last year beat us twice even though we started quite well.

Then went on to name Brent Guerra as a retired champion.

Ahh?? :confused:

Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke raring to go [& Bakes]

Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke raring to go

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25107661-19742,00.html

Sam Edmund | February 26, 2009

ST KILDA could yet have valuable twin towers Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke back in action before Round 1.

The Saints yesterday confirmed Koschitzke and midfield general Lenny Hayes would play their first games of the year in tomorrow's practice match against the Western Bulldogs at Visy Park.

And in a welcome sight for the Saints, Riewoldt yesterday returned to full training after surgery a month ago to drain a cyst in his left knee.

The captain moved well during a lengthy session at Moorabbin, skipping only one drill to raise hopes he will play at least one warm-up match before confronting Sydney at Telstra Dome on March 28 in the season-opener.

Gritty tagger Steven Baker will also play against the Bulldogs after finally overcoming the lingering knee injury that wrecked his 2008 season. :thumbsu:

St Kilda assistant coach Stephen Silvagni said the Saints were expecting a serious output from Koschitzke against the Dogs.

"It's always good to have one of your key position players back, obviously with Nick not being there," Silvagni said.

"Kosi has had a fantastic pre-season so he should go in with a fair bit of confidence and we're looking for a solid performance out of him."

Silvagni said Baker, who hasn't played a senior game since Round 7 last year, would be kept on a tight leash tomorrow. :D [ruff!]

"I'm sure he'd be looking forward to the game. The last 12 months have been difficult for Steve," Silvagni said.

"He's obviously coming off his knee injury, but he's done most of the pre-season.

"We'll probably ease him into the game, but I'm sure he'd be keen to get out there and get through it."

Re: Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke raring to go [& Bakes]

And sorry to rehash this 'touchy' subject, but thought people would be very interested.

Horror movie too much for Magpies
27th February 2009, 6:00 WST

Eddie McGuire has revealed that Collingwood baulked at recruiting Ben Cousins because of the controversial contents of the highly anticipated documentary on his drug addiction and recovery.

Collingwood president McGuire refused to divulge details of the excerpts he had seen, but described them as graphic.

The revelations would explain both Collingwood and St Kilda’s decision not to draft Cousins after they both investigated the option of taking the former West Coast captain.

“When Ben Cousins’ documentary goes to air, if it goes to air in the form that I’ve been privileged enough to see part of, there will be no issue that St Kilda or Collingwood made the wrong decision.

“He was absolutely not ready — he wasn’t ready to do anything, far less play football at the top level. It needed the jolt that St Kilda gave him by passing for him to really decide that it was about him wanting to play football again and giving to a club, as opposed to everyone in the whole world wanting to fall over for Ben.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=127045

St Kilda will do Graham Polak no favours

Mark Stevens | March 05, 2009

Although the Saints are thrilled to see the Tiger back in senior football 252 days after his brush with death, he'll receive no favours.

"The opposition are the opposition, no matter who it is," St Kilda football manager Greg Hutchison said yesterday.

"I don't know what goes through players' minds once they get on the field, but I'd imagine our blokes would be concentrating on what they need to do."

More: http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25140364-19742,00.html

- thought the headline was inferring we were a bunch of brisbane snipers

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25140251-19772,00.html

Matt Maguire unlikely to play in Round 1
Mark Stevens | March 05, 2009 12:00am

Have your say!Add your comments or read what others are sayingEmail article Share Add to Digg Add to del.icio.us Post to NewsVine Post to Facebook What are these? Printer friendly Text size+- ST KILDA defender Matt Maguire faces an uphill battle to play in Round 1 after being overlooked for tomorrow night's practice match against Richmond. Maguire was available to make the trip to Shepparton, but the Saints decided a low-intensity hitout in a VFL intraclub practice match would be more suitable for his preparation.

After a horror run with a broken leg and then a foot stress fracture, Maguire needs game time to push his cause.

Calf soreness restricted him to a half against the Western Bulldogs on Friday and he could not manage a disposal.

He played 76 minutes in the NAB Cup loss to the Brisbane Lions, but desperately needs continuity.

"Matt certainly hasn't had a lot of footy in the last two years and not playing much last week didn't help him," St Kilda football manager Greg Hutchison said.

"Matt is fine . . . he pulled up OK. He just hasn't been selected, that's all.

"We've got an intraclub match with Sandringham on the weekend. The plan is he'll spend some time playing in that game where he can maybe get 60 to 70 solid minutes.

"We thought the tempo of a VFL practice match might suit him better at this stage in his preparation."

Maguire has not played a senior game since Round 7 last year, but Hutchison stopped short of declaring him an outsider for Round 1 selection.

Hutchison said he could be recalled for the club's final practice match against Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium.

The Saints erred on the side of caution with Nick Riewoldt, holding his return back another week.

Riewoldt plans to complete a full week of training and then return from a knee injury against Port.

Graham Polak will return for Richmond, but the Tigers will be without eight of their top 10 in last year's best-and-fairest.

Boom recruit Ben Cousins will also miss the match at Shepparton's Deakin Reserve.

Others to miss are Brett Deledio, Matthew Richardson, Chris Newman, Kelvin Moore, Troy Simmonds, Nathan Foley, Nathan Brown and Kane Johnson.

The Tigers are unsure how long Johnson will be out with a knee complaint and will be guided by the veteran's thoughts.

Richmond football manager Ross Monaghan said the trip to the country had nothing to do with the spate of restings.

Monaghan said the club always planned for key players to miss week three of the pre-season matches

For Goose, I reckon this is the better preparation. If we can bring him back gradually so there's more chance of him lasting the season into the finals thats better than throwing him in the deep end & watching him drown.

Miserly St Kilda copies Hawthorn coach Alistair Clarkson

Mark Stevens | March 11, 2009 12:00am

ST KILDA coach Ross Lyon has quietly mastered his own version of "Clarko's Cluster", squeezing the life out of opponents in the pre-season.

The well-drilled Saints have allowed rivals only 31 forward entries on average in their three matches.
St Kilda conceded only 33 entries against the Brisbane Lions at Carrara, 36 against the Western Bulldogs at Visy Park and a miserly 25 against Richmond in Shepparton on Friday night.
Teams average 50 entries during the home-and-away season, underlining the extent of the "big squeeze".
The Saints have conceded only 23 goals in three games.
Disciplined zoning has pressured opponents into mistakes and the Saints have preyed on turnovers.
Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson had great success with rolling zones or clusters last season.
Lyon is adamant flooding has been consigned to the past, but has clearly been working on the rolling zone.
"People talk about flooding. I don't think flooding exists any more," Lyon said.
"Maybe on one situation - when a team gets a free kick or a mark outside the arc and everyone will roll back to try and fill the holes.
"If you don't, they (opposition) just lead and block and kick too well. Other than that, everyone's trying to stop it in their front 50 and midfield."
That is code for rolling zone and the Saints, at this stage, look as if they have cracked it.
St Kilda is also handballing more, using it 28 more times by hand than by foot against the Tigers.
"We just over-used the hands a little bit," Lyon said. "I'm a kick merchant. I like kicking.
"Whatever the result, you've still got to have more effective kicks than the opposition."
Lyon said the lift in handball was a result of zoning sweeping across the AFL.
"You get tease space - it's not quite kick space," he said. "It invites a bit more handball . . . to try and release a kicker.
"It (handball) is more suited to the space you've got to work through."
Lyon said the Saints had come to the conclusion that winning the 50-50 ball would be imperative.
"Stoppages are going to be critical . . . then go quickly," he said. "There is no real zone set-up at stoppages. To beat Hawthorn you need a good clearance stat."
St Kilda is clearly shaping up well for Round 1.
The club also has stars in form - including a streamlined Luke Ball, who is sparking genuine excitement.
"Luke Ball is putting his hand up and saying I can run again and I'm quick again and I've had a really good summer," Lyon said. "That can only be good for us."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25168810-19742,00.html
:confused:
Dunno why he's singled us out as copying "Clarko's Cluster" when it's evident a majority of coaches like us have used but modified it to suit their own teams style.

Because supposedly we're cluster masters now young grasshopper.

Watch out Hawthorn and Geelong we've got black belts now, HAYOOO!

Pretty useless article though since as you said really everyones copying the cluster or trying whacky shenanigans to comabt it to single any 1 club out.

Usual rubbish but FWIW :

Saints be praised

Mark Stevens | March 20, 2009
David Armitage might try a blind turn and a quick getaway the next time someone thrusts a tape recorder at him.

His coach Ross Lyon, shrewd enough never to talk down the opposition, has at least twice moved to clarify comments made by his young midfielder last month.
"We're taking nothing for granted, but Ross said how we've got a good draw and that we don't want to get off to a mediocre start," Armitage told the Sunday Herald Sun.

Lyon has stressed the comments were taken out of context. Regardless, it seems Armitage might have innocently gone a little too far.

And, just quietly, you can understand where he was coming from. Any fan not too superstitious to look beyond week one of the season would be salivating about the Saints' chances.

The widely held belief is the Victorian teams will dominate this year, leaving the interstaters as stragglers. And the Saints have five interstaters in a row to kick off the season: Sydney (H), Adelaide (A), West Coast (H), Fremantle (H) and Port Adelaide (A). Yes, "Armo", it is a good draw.

Sydney, West Coast and Fremantle at Docklands early. You've got to like your chances there. No one likes travelling to AAMI Stadium and Port could be a bolter this year, but neither road trip is as scary as it once was.

Having seen three of St Kilda's four pre-season games, they are up and about. Well drilled and as ready as anyone. That means you can pencil in four wins in the first five rounds. Port is the only loss.

Given St Kilda's recent history of turning at the halfway point in the 4-7 to 5-6 range, a 4-1 start will be massive. From there, the Saints have the talent to make the finals, as long as their slightly flimsy depth isn't tested by injury.

They still have a dearth of exciting kids, but their top end is top class. Nick Riewoldt is a superstar. Sam Fisher isn't far behind. Brendon Goddard looks set for a massive season. Lenny Hayes gets forgotten far too often. And if Nick Dal Santo has any pride, it would have been pricked big time by the criticism last year. Expect improvement from him, too.

But the buzz player at St Kilda is Luke Ball. Lyon is genuinely excited about Ball's progress. He can run freely again and his kicking penetration is back to somewhere near his best. Ball looks considerably lighter, but has lost none of his grunt factor. In a practice match against Richmond at Shepparton a fortnight ago, he had nine clearances in the first half. Handy work in a warm-up game.

The Saints have pledged to kick more goals and put their better players in more dangerous spots. If Ball stands up, and newcomer Farren Ray and Leigh Montagna can add support, the Saints will have more options this year. Justin Koschitzke has looked rusty through the pre-season, but is always a threat as a deep forward. Stephen Milne will be Stephen Milne again. Underestimate him at your peril.

The ruck duo of Steven King and Michael Gardiner also look good. If they both avoid injury, and it is a big if, the Saints will often get first use. Both missed the club's practice match last Friday against Port and it showed. The Saints were smashed in the clearances.

Down back is more of a worry. Max Hudghton's calf is a concern. They can be nagging injuries and it's the last thing a player beyond 30 needs to start the year. Matt Maguire, the Saints' No. 2 tall defender, is also underdone and not ready. That puts added pressure on Jason Blake and Zac Dawson. It also means that the plan to play Fisher in midfield or up forward has to be put on hold. Steven Baker back to take the small forwards is a massive plus, though.

So with a favourable draw and a bit of luck with injury, there is no reason why the Saints can't push for top four again.

Ray, Ball and Baker are big additions to last year's team that lost to Geelong in the preliminary final. And remember, the Saints were good enough to roll Collingwood easily in a semi-final.

Another article filled with crappola :

Season preview: St Kilda

By Luke Holmesby and Matt Burgan 19 March, 2009

LAST YEAR
Played: 25
Won: 14
Lost: 11
Finished: 4th
Best and fairest: Sam Fisher

2009 IN BRIEF
Coach: Ross Lyon
Captain: Nick Riewoldt
Coaching staff: Tony Elshaug (midfield), Andy Lovell (Sandringham), Stephen Silvagni (backline), Leigh Tudor (forward line), Danny Sexton (development)

ARRIVALS & DEPARTURES
Arrivals
Exchange period – received: Farren Ray (Western Bulldogs)
Rookie elevation: Robert Eddy, Andrew McQualter
Scholarship elevation: Blake McGrath (Pennant Hills) – rookie list
NAB AFL Draft: Colm Begley (Brisbane Lions), Paul Cahill (Sturt), Nick Heyne (Gippsland Power), Tom Lynch (Sandringham Dragons), Alistair Smith (Perth), Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft: Zac Dawson (Hawthorn), Steven Gaertner (Dandenong Stingrays), Brad Howard (St Kilda), Sam McGarry (Sandringham Dragons), Tom Simpkin (Geelong Falcons), Ross Tungatulum (St Marys)

Departures
Retired: Robert Harvey, Fraser Geihrig
Delisted: Shane Birss, Matthew Ferguson, Aaron Fiora, Charlie Gardiner, Michael Rix.

FIXTURE
The Saints will play 15 games at Docklands, and with 11 of their first 14 games to be played at the ground, they can expect to make a strong start to the year.

The team does have six trips interstate, including a home game against
Melbourne on the Gold Coast in round 10.

The Saints play
Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood just once, which should also help position them well this year.

INJURY LIST
Jarryd Allen (torn hip muscle) – indefinite
Sean Dempster (ACL) – indefinite
Robert Eddy (knee) – possibly round two or three
Nick Riewoldt (knee) – available for round one

MATT BURGAN’S PLAYER RATINGS

5 – Luke Ball, Nick Dal Santo, Sam Fisher, Brendon Goddard, Lenny Hayes, Nick Riewoldt (6 players – 30 points)
Recent knee surgery won't affect Riewoldt's status. Fisher and Hayes are elite in their fields, and Goddard will receive the front-line kudos in 2009. Ball has shaken off his injury woes with a huge pre-season and Dal Santo copped his whack last year. He is only 25 and too good not to bounce back.

4 – Steven Baker, Jason Blake, Sam Gilbert, Jason Gram, Justin Koschitzke, Stephen Milne, Leigh Montagna, Farren Ray (8 players – 32 points)
Koschitzke has his critics, but he remains important structurally. Expect Gilbert to step-up, Baker to bounce back from injury and Milne to keep kicking goals. Blake's durability and consistency puts him here. Expect Gilbert and Ray (at his new club) to step-up. Ray's pre-season form has been most encouraging.

3 – David Armitage, Colm Begley, Raphael Clarke, Xavier Clarke, Robert Eddy, Leigh Fisher, Michael Gardiner, Jarryn Geary, James Gwilt, Max Hudghton, Clinton Jones, Tom Lynch, Steven King, Matt Maguire, Ben McEvoy, Andrew McQualter, Adam Schneider, Jack Steven, Zac Dawson (rookie) (19 players – 57 points)
Hudghton is clearly higher, but his calf injury on the eve of the season is a concern. Raph Clarke showed in last year's finals he could go to another level. But he needs a full season first. Ditto brother Xavier. Maguire also needs time. King and Gardiner have some pre-season form, but being veterans brings McEvoy into the mix. Expect Steven and Lynch to debut and be at the forefront of the new wave.
Dawson will add depth.

2 – Eljay Connors, Nick Heyne, Brad Howard (rookie), Luke Miles (rookie) (4 players – 8 points)
Connors has made some good strides over the pre-season and should debut. Heyne is an impressive youngster likely to be given an opportunity in 2009. Mature-age rookies Miles and Howard might stop some holes during the season.

1 – Jarryd Allen, Paul Cahill, Sean Dempster, Alistair Smith, Rhys Stanley, Steven Gaertner (rookie), Khan Haretuku (rookie), Sam McGarry (rookie), Blake McGrath (rookie), Tom Simpkin (rookie), Ross Tungatalum (rookie) (11 players -- 11 points)
Unfortunately injuries sustained by Allen (hip) and Dempster (knee) late last season are unlikely to result in returns to the AFL this year, reducing their rankings. Cahill, Smith and Stanley – all drafted last year will be given time to develop via the VFL. With St Kilda having the biggest list of any club in 2009, it will be difficult for the majority of its rookie-list players to play in the AFL this year, but don't be surprised if one does bob up.

Total team rating – 138 points (7 of 16, league-wide)

THE YEAR AHEAD
For a team that finished in the top four, St Kilda has made some sweeping changes to their list. 13 new players have arrived at Moorabbin as the Saints begin their first year of the post-Robert
Harvey era.

The Saints sneaked in to the top four last year but still have a fair way to go before they can match it with Hawthorn and
Geelong, both of whom inflicted heavy defeats on them in last year’s finals series.

WHAT THE CLUB SAYS
“We understand that we finished in a preliminary final and we played some really good footy in the second half of the year. We need to improve to take on the elite and we understand where we’re at.

"We still feel that we’ve got a list that can be very competitive. Having said that we need our very good players to play well and be out on the park. We also need our players underneath them to also improve.

"That means guys that have been at the club for three to four years.”
– Stephen Silvagni, assistant coach

With that as your signature, BG, I see this becoming a possible avatar:

HolyGhostbusters.jpg

or even possibly this:

danabarrett.JPG

:eek::D

Nice to be back BBG.

On the news front (confirming Woody is gone for the year):

Saint's long road back

March 22, 2009

WHEN a slightly strange elbow injury gobbled 15 weeks of his first year at St Kilda in 2007, Jarryd Allen was frustrated, and more than a little uncertain. He hadn't played his first senior game, and he was wondering whether he could, and would, get there, what it would be like and how he would go.

"I knew I was missing out on something," he told The Sunday Age. "I just wasn't really sure what I was missing."

Last year, Allen played his first four games and had some questions answered. He loved how fast the matches were, how much bigger and better his opponents were; it challenged him. He loved the noise of the crowd, and felt like he was beginning to belong among the senior teammates he had spent two years getting to know.

Dropped after his first three games in the middle of the season, he worked his way back into the seniors for the second week of the finals — St Kilda's semi-final against Collingwood. He looked forward to doing more.
But last November, Allen was sent for a second operation on the hip he injured eight minutes into the semi-final. While a fracture in his hip socket had begun to mend, there was some bad cartilage damage that needed further attention.

At a time when season 2009 felt as if it were ages away, the 21-year-old was told that he would probably not play again until 2010. "It was hard, because as soon as I hurt myself and came to the bench, I wanted someone to tell me when I'd be back," he said. "At first, I was thinking, 'Can I get back into this game?' And from there I started wondering about the next week. When I found out what was wrong, that I wouldn't play for so long, my heart sort of sank. It was hard, mentally, right from the start."

After the first operation came two weeks spent almost entirely in bed, followed by six more weeks on crutches. Then came the realisation that he wasn't entirely fixed. When he started doing a little bit of rehab, Allen's hip was still clunking and grinding, causing some pain and discomfort.
This was not entirely unexpected; because the injury was so unusual, the first operation had been about finding out what precisely was wrong, and starting to fix it. The second surgery, nine weeks after the first operation, finished the job — a section of cartilage was refusing to grow back, so Allen had his hip bone prodded to stimulate some regrowth.

Then? Another few days on the couch, another six weeks on crutches and a still delicate mind. "I knew it was going to be a long road back, and it really does test you," he said. "Your emotions are all up and down. I was so relieved to get off the crutches and before I knew it I had them back again. But I knew it was going to make me or break me, in a way. I knew I was going to get back or not going to get back and when you're right at the start of it, when you know how long there is to go, that's really tough to deal with.

"I'm a pretty positive person, but even now there's a lot of thoughts: how long is this going to take me? Can I do this? You've just got to keep your mind occupied, get to the club and get stuff done, really.
"It's more away from the club that I think about it; you start thinking, 'Why me?' But I've spoken to the psychologist here and I've learned a lot more about how to deal with that. When I'm here, I feel good. I feel like I'm doing something when I'm here, that I'm keeping my mind busy."

Allen started running two weeks ago — jogging, really — and he is having to concentrate hard on his technique so that he is using and strengthening the right parts of his hip. It's the same in the gym.
"I have to be patient, but it's mostly about recognising how I feel. I'm learning a lot about how my hip works and when I need to back off and when I can work harder," he said. "At the moment, there's not really any joint pain, but I'm still figuring out all the muscles around the joint. I'm still overloading some and not using others enough. "It's a hard thing to learn. You have to always be conscious of what you're doing, but when I get it all right, that's when I'll start to make some real progress, I think."

Allen's basic goal for the season is to inch back into full training and be completely ready for next pre-season. Having learned a little more about the unknown, he badly wants to get back there. "Four games is not really much I suppose, but I'm definitely glad I've experienced it. If I hadn't, I think the club would be wondering where I was at, and I'd be wondering the same thing, wondering if I could make it. I feel within myself that I can at least get to the level, so I want to be back there as soon as I can. That's my motivation," he said.

"I really wanted this year to be the year when I got in there and played a lot of games. That's not going to happen, but I've just got to look at getting myself right and being positive and doing what I can to have a big 2010."

2009 Media Thread