2011 Collingwood Draft Prospects Thread

What your saying is true snoop unless west coast (who you make out to be gun shy) or freo (who has the biggest risk averter coach) take him early, he is very little chance of being first or second round.

I'm sorry I just hate how one performance takes a player from pick 60 to pick 10, ala that rookie full forward the dogs took a couple of years ago who may just have been cut

Talked to a Peel mate of mine and he said that Manson did tear them a new one and was one of the best performances against their team for the year. So the talent is there, it is just a question on who plans to take the risk.

Collingwood = Most popular club, most well supported, richest and best facilitated club

I dont think u can say best facilitated with a number of clubs getting newer facilities recently. How does most popular club (and most supportered which is kinda the same thing) change anything. Are u gonna justify being payed $100k less to play infront of a 15,000 bigger crowd every week, and the much higher media scrutiny

If you talk to players who were drafted/had the chance to be but didn't quite make it (from Victoria) they would almost all nominate Collingwood 2nd to the club they support.

Collingwood is also, very soon, going to be updating their facilities to match the improving facilities of other clubs.

It is also a club with the best sports science bloke in the industry who can iprove players longevity and decrease their injury recovery time. You only need to look at Luke Ball for example. We also have the keshmoney to do Arizona trips at will, something that alot of clubs cant.

You are right, money would play a part in their decision, but so would the above.

What your saying is true snoop unless west coast (who you make out to be gun shy) or freo (who has the biggest risk averter coach) take him early, he is very little chance of being first or second round.

I'm sorry I just hate how one performance takes a player from pick 60 to pick 10, ala that rookie full forward the dogs took a couple of years ago who may just have been cut

know completely where you are coming from but to be fair there have been 6 performances and 5 have been down right sensational. its a huge gamble to take him early but I dont know many of the current pool who would kick 8 on debut in a Colts game and then 30 in 3 weeks up north.

lewis broome heading back north today is exactly what the AFL clubs fear. I know with Stevens up here last year it was frustrating as well for GWS so for all the excitement their is ample evidence these blokes struggle.....and understandably so given its such a massive change.

Ps Whose the rookie Dogs FF you are talking of?

Young south Aussie kid, 190cm full forward was likened to jack Anthony, name completely escapes me. Was a bigfooty favourite, and ended being a rookie

Matt Panos?

Young south Aussie kid, 190cm full forward was likened to jack Anthony, name completely escapes me. Was a bigfooty favourite, and ended being a rookie

Matt Panos?

Panos isn't a fair comparison because he produced consistently for a full season including a solid showing at the national championships and it wasn't just bigfooty that rated him.

A better comparison would be Serhat Temel. He played 6 weeks of great footy at the end of 09 (not 100% on the season) culminating in a 7 goal GF. He then rocketed up the list of potential draftees and eventually slipped through the cracks completely due to commitment issues.

Last I heard he was running around with the Greenvale seconds......

Panos isn't a fair comparison because he produced consistently for a full season including a solid showing at the national championships and it wasn't just bigfooty that rated him.

A better comparison would be Serhat Temel. He played 6 weeks of great footy at the end of 09 (not 100% on the season) culminating in a 7 goal GF. He then rocketed up the list of potential draftees and eventually slipped through the cracks completely due to commitment issues.

Last I heard he was running around with the Greenvale seconds......

Well Manson has been kicking 5+ Goal Bags nearly everywhere he has gone that I have read.

Temel was just not Commitment Problems - He was also seen as too Slow

Well Manson has been kicking 5+ Goal Bags nearly everywhere he has gone that I have read.

Temel was just not Commitment Problems - He was also seen as too Slow

I tip my hat to you as I know you were one of the first to mention Manson, but I was more referencing the fact that so many have jumped on the bandwagon of late. I probably didn't word my post all that well either.

Manson's gone wooshka in the landmark country game (1 match), Claremont Colts (2 matches) and up in the NT (3 matches) and is suddenly a nice prospect, if you can curb the go home factor, according to every Tom, Dick and Harry. I'm not talking about the likes of snoop, knighta or yourself here, because you guys knew about him.

I realise he's probably put in other strong performances, but many people like me (who only have a passing interest) would only be aware of the past 6 games of note he's played.

Panos was the opposite he was talked up all year by not only those on BigFooty, but also draft watchers within the media off the back of some very solid and consistent form. The only ones to disagree were those in clubland who so far seem on the money (despite Panos finishing the season relatively well).

I'm not comparing Manson and Temel as players in any way except for noting that both had/ have commitment issues and both became bolters due to kicking late season bags. Which as far as I could tell is what Opti was more getting at, my apologies if I'm off the mark.

I tip my hat to you as I know you were one of the first to mention Manson, but I was more referencing the fact that so many have jumped on board the bandwagon of late.

Manson's gone wooshka in the landmark country game (1 match), Claremont Colts (2 matches) and up in the NT (3 matches) and is suddenly a nice prospect, if you can curb the go home factor, according to every Tom, Dick and Harry. I'm not talking about the likes of snoop, knighta or yourself here, because you guys knew about him. Its more guys like me who have a passing interest in it.

Panos was the opposite he was talked up all year by not only those on BigFooty, but also draft watchers within the media off the back of some very solid and consistent form. The only ones to disagree were those in clubland who so far seem on the money (despite Panos finishing the season relatively well).

I'm not comparing Manson and Temel as players in any way except for noting that both had/ have commitment issues and both became bolters due to kicking late season bags. Which as far as I could tell is what Opti was more getting at, my apologies if I'm off the mark.

Well every year there does be some Bolters on BigFooty that are seen as top 2 Round Picks and Potential Guns and Then they get Rookied or not Even Picked

Info From Snoops Annual Mock Draft:
# 50 Collingwood – Murray Newman (Swan Districts / 179 / 67 / 93)
Massive fan of this kid and cant believe isn’t more highly rated…. I actually think this kid could be a real bolter. He is a bloody ripper and whilst he spent most of the year in the Swan District seniors he is probably 2 years off having an AFL body he will be well worth the wait. Very classy mover who can middle and fwd albeit think he will be a small fwd in his earlier years. Just never seems to lose his feet and uses it well either side and is almost cat like in his ability to move across the field. Played most of the year in the WAFL senior side after kicking 6 in his first and only Colts game. Didn’t put a foot wrong in the seniors and his last game was very good.
AFL Comparison – Actually reminds me a bit of Aker in some ways. Has that cat like ability to just stay on his feet and go from either side of the body. Also can play up and down the ground.
Roughie – I think the Pies would be keen on a tall forward and so wouldn’t surprise to see one of Gordon , Sheahan, Hammond, Orval, Brown, or Murphy here. Steve Verrier is a kid who strikes me as a ‘Hine” type.

# 65 Collingwood – Nick Murphy (Oakleigh / 194 / 87 / 93)
Not sure exactly where Nick Murphy goes because without knowing which screening he went to I would have thought he was pretty high (ie I expected him at DC). The fact he only went State makes me think I am over rating him and hence why I have dropped him back. Very mobile key position player who was well performed last year and who kicked a bag of goals this year including 5 in the GF. Very mobile forward who probably relies more on this than his ability to take contested marks. Is a beautiful kick and with his basketball background there is a lot to work with. Would probably like to see a touch more aggression in his game.
AFL Comparison – Jarrad Waite
Roughie – Love Sam Gordon to drop to here. Jordan Murdouch is one I think may drop and who would appeal if they didn’t rate any more talls. Jackson Merrett another.

# 67 Collingwood – Jordan Murdoch (Glenelg / 188 / 85 / 92)
Gone very unheralded this year and one of my real favourites for this draft. I think he drops off a bit because he is over age (19yo). Kicked 25 goals in 6 U18 games and as a result got to see some Reserves and Senior action as well. Just looks a natural footballer and has terrific height and speed and is a one toucher which makes him a standout. Has played closer to goal than he will at AFL level where he is likely to be a HF type but could conceivably push up to a wing as well. Lovely kick and has really good kick penetration. He could well go a lot higher than this.
AFL Comparison – Like a HF flank version of Leon Cameron
Roughie – Steve Verrier

Mal Lynch – I genuinely forgot about him. Can definitely see him going and Collingwood might be the club as he plays the Leon role pretty well.

Patrick Weardon – Bushy lad who Pies seem to be into. Haven’t seen him at his best but a typical Hine type player. Tall, athletic, good hands and good skills.

Matt Panos?

About to be elevated to the senior list and had an absolutely terrific end to the season. played HB at start of year and then pushed fwd and from what i remember kicked 4 in a losing GF. Will be playing seniors next year and not a bad effort for a taller fwd after 2 years. Few 3rd tall fwds (188 - 191cm) make it and thats where i think a number of us went wrong. I remember speaking to Kev Sheahen in Sydney and he was convinced he would go high. Just dominated the game that day and thought he was v good. There are very few 3rd fwd tall types who make it. Cornelius (v similar body shape, state form and champ form) was another example. He was expected to be a top 10 but ended up going circa 50. Reality is they dont go high because history says they tend to struggle. Lynch a couple of years ago went in the teens and struggled, jarrad grant was circa #5 i think and Mayne went circa 50 - they are the only genuine 3rd tall fwds that went in top 50 of last few drafts. To be fair Karnezis and Darling went last year but overall thats not many 3rd tall fwds in the top 50 of the last 5 or so drafts.

Frankly I think a number of us over rated Panos but equally i think he has been a player the clubs probably under rated as he is starting to demonstrate. An elevation to their senior list would say to me he should have been an ND selection. I suspect Richmond would have rather taken him than Troy Taylor.

Thats why am interested to see where Hammond, Kersten and one or two others who are that 190/1cm go.

Had Panos going at 33 to Essendon in 09.

Agree with Snoop that AFL clubs underrated him. At his size (191cm) maybe some might get put off, also some might have thought that his leading style as a key forward might not be totally effective at AFL level as it might have been 10 years ago when it was more 1v1, I usually don't like the shorter KPPs but Panos was a clear standout in his draft year and had the performances on the board. Was a draft year lean with quality KPPs and he was one of the better ones.

Would still take him around the same position today. Still a clear top 40 quality prospect from his draft year in my books and probable top 30 prospect in my mind still without going through the names a looking at exactly where I'd have him.

Have liked his VFL form both forward and back. Think he might have a future at AFL level still in a WBD side lacking quality young KPPs.

About to be elevated to the senior list and had an absolutely terrific end to the season. played HB at start of year and then pushed fwd and from what i remember kicked 4 in a losing GF. Will be playing seniors next year and not a bad effort for a taller fwd after 2 years. Few 3rd tall fwds (188 - 191cm) make it and thats where i think a number of us went wrong. I remember speaking to Kev Sheahen in Sydney and he was convinced he would go high. Just dominated the game that day and thought he was v good. There are very few 3rd fwd tall types who make it. Cornelius (v similar body shape, state form and champ form) was another example. He was expected to be a top 10 but ended up going circa 50. Reality is they dont go high because history says they tend to struggle. Lynch a couple of years ago went in the teens and struggled, jarrad grant was circa #5 i think and Mayne went circa 50 - they are the only genuine 3rd tall fwds that went in top 50 of last few drafts. To be fair Karnezis and Darling went last year but overall thats not many 3rd tall fwds in the top 50 of the last 5 or so drafts.

Frankly I think a number of us over rated Panos but equally i think he has been a player the clubs probably under rated as he is starting to demonstrate. An elevation to their senior list would say to me he should have been an ND selection. I suspect Richmond would have rather taken him than Troy Taylor.

Thats why am interested to see where Hammond, Kersten and one or two others who are that 190/1cm go.

Do you think we would take a 3rd Tall?

Darling Example is a good of a Player who does not Quite Fit a Postion.

Few that fit this in this years draft woule be.

• Jordan Lockyer
  • Shane Kersten
  • Jake Hammond
  • Jordan Kelly
  • Alex Howard
  • Ben Darraou
  • Pev Wright

Do you think we would take a 3rd Tall?

Darling Example is a good of a Player who does not Quite Fit a Postion.

Few that fit this in this years draft woule be.

• Jordan Lockyer
  • Shane Kersten
  • Jake Hammond
  • Jordan Kelly
  • Alex Howard
  • Ben Darraou
  • Pev Wright

Who knows but I dont really see us taking one. Personally am not sure 3rd tall fwds have been all that successful draft picks. Darling and Karnezis may have changed that last year but in recent years not that many get taken and even fewer seem to make it. Cornelius, Tom Lynch was a pretty good example and Lewis Johnston another who I thought would all go on and be pretty good but to date have probably struggled. Arguably one of the more successful has been Caf and hence why I wouldnt be letting him go. Gotta to remember he was v good in that GF win.

Thought I put some Video's of Prospect that could be there for us in RD 3:

Andrew Bosley:

[YOUTUBE]5TtT0GdFJrA[/YOUTUBE]

Ben Brown:

[YOUTUBE]0v8rhT6bGjA[/YOUTUBE]

Joel Hamling:

[YOUTUBE]jY6xhzPQWLw[/YOUTUBE]

Jordan Staley:

[YOUTUBE]BOveXq3WHI0[/YOUTUBE]

Murray Newman(Snoops Pick):

[YOUTUBE]LC8vhECASi4[/YOUTUBE]

Steven Verrier:

[YOUTUBE]curexAQnrSY[/YOUTUBE]

Jackson Merriet:

[YOUTUBE]S3yTuPbD68k[/YOUTUBE]

Tom Curran:

[YOUTUBE]vW-5DU0qaTE[/YOUTUBE]

Marley Williams:

[YOUTUBE]ga4_TxU2cKY[/YOUTUBE]

Hmm if we walked away from the draft with Newman at either 50 or 65 I'd be very satisfied with that. I'm extremely hesitant to form an opinion based off of a 2 minute video clip, but as far as first impressions go that was a good one. He appears to have quite a bit to work with!

2011 Collingwood Draft Prospects Thread