2011 Fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter WALL-e

From a selfish point of view I would have prefered our game in Perth to be against the Dockers as I am a member of the purple mob.

But with the Eagles out of finals contention and already planning their trip to Bali the week after I don't see too much problem with a trip to Perth in the last round of the season as we can bank that as a win.:thumbsu:

From a FTA perspective eight games is an improvement, and for WA viewers we will have eight games factoring losing FTA games when WA teams clash, and then gaining games when we play WA teams.

An ideal draw for Adelaide, would not have the last 5 matches being, Gabba, AAMI, Carrara, AAMI, Patersons curse. Three long road trips in the last 5 weeks really stinks.
Otherwise, a couple of games at the G rather than just one. Someone here has persuaded me that the round 2 bye could be beneficial.
And as an ACT resident, I too, would love a Sydney game. The games in Sydney are always very well attended by Crows fans.

In 2012, we won't have to worry about the byes and we should get at least one game in Sydney.

This draw is a gift.

Out of last years 8 finalists we only play two of them twice. That is unbelievable.

No NSW games though? :confused: Surely the AFC could have taken steps to look after our twelve NSW based fans.

Last season we had a great draw and didn't take advantage of it. The first 2 games were never going to be easy but Rounds 3-6 we let ourselves down. But as our draw got tougher we played better in 2010 and had that amazing win over Geelong which pretty much cost them dearly. We beat St Kilda as well.

Round 24 in Perth will not be a Friday Night, it will be a Saturday afternoon at the earliest. If both teams are well outside the 8 they will play Sunday Afternoon. I reckon we'll make the finals next year but that round 24 (or 22nd) game may be crucial to our success say if were going to play Collingwood in week 1 of the finals, not easy.

As I said we don't have to play Collingwood at home next year which is a huge bonus. I see us winning 8, 9 or maybe even 10 home games next year. Toughest home game is the opener vs Hawthorn. A dream home draw for us.

But we need to play much better away from home to be a finals chance, but 5th to 8th won't mean anything much. Top 4 is important.

This draw is a gift.

Out of last years 8 finalists we only play two of them twice. That is unbelievable.

No NSW games though? :confused: Surely the AFC could have taken steps to look after our twelve NSW based fans.

You have either never been to a Crows game at the SCG or you have forgotten the atmopshere of our last SCG game all those many years ago.

Remember when the Porpoise dragged us into the finals on the strength of his 5 goal BOG that night with a gamy shoulder and team mates who had forgotten how to win?

How after the game thousands attended the after match "Shed party" that made anything in West Lakes look tame.

Well maybe a slight exaggeration there but time has dimmed my memory so it looks like I will have to sit back in front of the idiot box for another year hoping against hope that at least the GWS will draw the Crows at Blacktown in 2012.

And Jenny you are complaining about 2 games in hot old Qld next season, send one down here we'll put on snow for the boys if thats what it takes.

Ok thats the end of my rant for 2011 season (which was pretty much the same as 2009 and 2010) perhaps we may end up with 2 matches a year post GWS!

PFFFFT hahahahaha:rolleyes:

Don't get all the fuss over the round two bye, its an awesome time for it. Bit of a break after a hard pre-season and the first real hitout, and there's no chance of having any momentum stuffed up. Imagine winning the first 3-4 games then having to drop everything for the bye in round 4-5...that'd suck.

Eight night games. Compared with recent years is that more or less? The more the better for us over here in Europe since they're the only ones televised live (that I know of). Always nice to watch your own footy club playing live at the local............café.

The biggest plus for me as a VIC supporter is one of our VIC games isnt sold to Tassie v Hawks like it has been for the last two years! Love the Sunday arvo games in VIC too, with playing footy Saturday arvo plus vickick early sunday mornings it makes it perfect to take the family to watch the boys play!

Bring on 2011

This draw is a gift.

I'd actually meant to check this and forgot. That is a huge leg-up, especially if we're going to go in the season with the hope that 2010 was us playing way under our real ability. Home ground advantages and travel difficulties and all of that mean very little compared to the effect of playing really good or really bad teams.

You can expect some of last year's non-finallists to be somewhat better this year, but you can also expect most of them to be pretty bad.

I know I said this last year, but we really should make the finals, and there should be no excuse for not doing so.

Because it's even further for them?

Plus I'm fairly certain we haven't had to do the last round Perth trip for the past couple years.

That's right, but there was a spate of 8 years (98 - 05) where we played the last game against WC or FREO in Perth, or the really taxing showdowns. 4 in perth, 4 showdowns. Would this happen to any of Collingwood, carlton, essendon?...only when pigs fly.

I don't think this draw is anything wonderful, (nothing to do with rnd 22 in Perth). My initial quick scan found it clumsy and awkward, but when I get time to have a decent look, I guess I'll see it in a similar light to most in here.

IMO the issue with the last round trip to perth is over stated

in the first 19 rounds we play in either Melb or Adelaide, we have a bye in round 16 and the last round.

lets compare our situation to the worlds top soccer clubs who are expected to travel mid week between countries to play in competions outside of their home competion and then return home to play in a fixture and perform, chalk and cheese really

surely in today's full time professional environment with so much focus on planning, preparation and recovery the Adel-Perth road trip with 1 week rest is no big deal

all in all a pretty good draw, yes we can find some issues with the draw like a round 2 bye, 2 x brisbane games in 3 weeks or a last round game in the west however all these minor issues can be managed with some good planning.......

all in all a good draw

In terms of lead up to the finals (which I still think we will struggle to make), Round 24 in Perth only becomes an issue if we have to then play away again in our first final. Earn a home final from stringing wins together when we need to (early-mid year) and it won't be an issue.

There is no reason we shouldn't be making finals with that fixture, absolutley no excuses.

footy has always traditionally been played on a saturday arvo, why is this now a problem?
Historically church on Sundays and no lights for night games. Saturday was the only possible time.

Now we're all heathens plus with the evolution of electricity our lux levels are off the charts. Throw in prime time tv and it is a whole new ball game.

Still, as many people who used to go to the footy Saturday arvos should still be able to go now. It's not the nightmare timeslot everyone makes out.

Don't get all the fuss over the round two bye, its an awesome time for it. Bit of a break after a hard pre-season and the first real hitout, and there's no chance of having any momentum stuffed up. Imagine winning the first 3-4 games then having to drop everything for the bye in round 4-5...that'd suck.
Hang on, Neil.

We're easing up a bit, remember?

Sorry cant agree with this, with all the fuss over match fitness this year, how is a bye in round 2 going to help. Surely match fitness needs to be built up with a few games in a row. So the first match will help a bit but most of the match fitness from the first match would be lost in the bye. So effectively we are going to be a couple of matches behind with match fitness going into rounds 3 and 4.
Surely if we need a bit of a break after a hard pre season we could take it slightly easier in the last week or two of preseason.

Sorry cant agree with this, with all the fuss over match fitness this year, how is a bye in round 2 going to help. Surely match fitness needs to be built up with a few games in a row. So the first match will help a bit but most of the match fitness from the first match would be lost in the bye. So effectively we are going to be a couple of matches behind with match fitness going into rounds 3 and 4.
Surely if we need a bit of a break after a hard pre season we could take it slightly easier in the last week or two of preseason.

That's true, but on the flipside. After first hit out players can take a bit longer to recover because there body is getting use to the full pace and the heavy hits again. So might be good for them to get that bit extra break, though I do still agree a bye a bit later in to the season would be more ideal.

If we didnt have a bye in round 2, most likely we would be playing a team in the same postition, having also just played their first game. So it would be even for both teams.

That's true, I'm trying to find positives so shh :)
Didn't think like that, hopefully we don't have the injury toll going in to round 1 like last year either.

Now this may sound like a stupid question to those who know more about the fixture and how the system works than I do but why can't there be maybe 3-4 occasions during the year when we have 2 games in Adelaide on the weekend e.g. have Adelaide play Friday night then Port play Sat night or Sunday??

Us non-Victorians always whinge at how Victorians don't travel enough so if the above happened, we'd get Victorian sides traveling more often and we'd get a couple more home games to even up the score a bit... Why don't they do this?? They manage to play 2 games on the MCG every weekend so why can't we play 2 here?? Am I missing something??

Now this may sound like a stupid question to those who know more about the fixture and how the system works than I do but why can't there be maybe 3-4 occasions during the year when we have 2 games in Adelaide on the weekend e.g. have Adelaide play Friday night then Port play Sat night or Sunday??

Us non-Victorians always whinge at how Victorians don't travel enough so if the above happened, we'd get Victorian sides traveling more often and we'd get a couple more home games to even up the score a bit... Why don't they do this?? They manage to play 2 games on the MCG every weekend so why can't we play 2 here?? Am I missing something??

But we already get more home games than the victorian teams! Is one of their reasons