2011 Rds 1-4 Trades Mega Thread

which player do you take if you can take only one?

• Libba

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Curnow

Votes: 0 0.0%

Re: Round 3 Trades & Trading Strategies

My team "LivinTheDream" is placed 117th overall and I have a big decision to make tomorrow.
No trades so far in the first two weeks and I am only looking at trading Bewick or Ward to Curnow at this stage as i got lucky with having both Tapscott and Libba in my side prior to round 1.
Really torn on the idea of Bewick to Curnow or Ward to Curnow this week.
Don't want Ward to have a big one against the Suns this week and then have the bye but would love to use the $165k saving to upgrade Richardson/Duncan/Darling the following week as Duncan/Darling will go up in price and both have a bye in round 5 or 6.
As Ward and Bewick both have a bye in round 4 I'm leaning towards Bewick->Curnow as there is less need for job security on my midfield bench although as proven so far Curnow has the potential to outscore Ward all season and could be doing so for $165k less.

Really tricky one that I will open up for discussion.

DEFENDERS1. Goddard, B2. Gibbs, B3. Deledio, B4. Enright, C5. Adcock, J6. Heppell, D 7. Lower, N23. Stanley, D24. Toy, J 25. Duigan, NMIDFIELDERS8. Swan, D 9. Judd, C10. Pendlebury, S11. Boyd, M12. Ward, C13. Harris, D 26. Swallow, D27. Liberatore, T28. Bewick, RRUCKS14. Sandilands, A 15. Cox, D29. Smith, Z 30. Derickx, TFORWARDS16. Riewoldt, N17. Franklin, L 18. Goodes, A19. Duncan, M20. Krakouer, A 21. Knights, C 22. Tapscott, L31. Richardson, C 32. Matera, B 33. Darling, J

Cheers
EyeInTheSky

im thinking of getting rid of jolly, and bring in warnock, and getting rid of irons for curnow?? this will leave me a bit of money in the bank, ur thoughts?

I like this :thumbsu: but I also like Irons job security.
Only doubt I have on Curnow is his chances of keeping that starting midfield spot should his output reduce any. If he is only required for your bench then I would take Curnow and the big price rise. As you can see above, I will be bringing him in for possibly Rohan Bewick.

Gamble > Tapscott
Yarren > ROK

what do you guys think??
I'm hoping Rocket rests libba this week so i can pick him up next week before price rise :D

Love this trade and wish I was in a position to do the same :thumbsu:.
I wouldn't do it if you have either one of Adam Goodes or Colin Sylvia already in your side though...that's potentially 4 x 100+ scorers sitting on your pine in round 5.
Quite content with my team so far and the output from my predominantly midpriced forward structure which should hopefully only increase it's output this week but I envy the man that has the ability to do those two trades as it is very much a no brainer if you have all your other spots covered for the next 3 weeks.

I started with Boak because I thought he would step up to about 105-110 average as Port's number 1 mid. It was either him, Bartel, Mitchell or Mundy. I want one of them as my number 6 mid at about mid year.

I am probably going to hold onto him for now but honestly he looks very ordinary at the moment and Port are likely to be on the end of a hammering this week. I am very tempted to trade him immediately for Mundy and pocket the extra 20 grand before Mundy goes through the roof. I think Mundy is consolidated as a consistent scorer and boak simply is not.

I started with Boak because I thought he would step up to about 105-110 average as Port's number 1 mid. It was either him, Bartel, Mitchell or Mundy. I want one of them as my number 6 mid at about mid year.

I am probably going to hold onto him for now but honestly he looks very ordinary at the moment and Port are likely to be on the end of a hammering this week. I am very tempted to trade him immediately for Mundy and pocket the extra 20 grand before Mundy goes through the roof. I think Mundy is consolidated as a consistent scorer and boak simply is not.

Do you have Swan and Pendlebury Curnow/Libba ??
I might be inclined to trade Boak for one of those blokes if you don't have either of them. If you opt to take Curnow/Libba then you might be able to afford to upgrade them to Hodge/Selwood after the round 6 bye and spend your cash elsewhere in the meantime.

I have lost Lenny Hayes for the season, should I cash grab & trade Hayes for Libba/Curnow & upgrade to premium midfielder later or go sideways to Bartel/O'Keefe now??

Tough choice, i think it would depend on the balance of your team. Bartel/O'Keefe and very nicely underpriced and would potentially be your premium midfielder that you would want in the end anyway.

I would also rather play O'Keefe in the forward line if you can.

Do you have many cashcows? If not then maybe a trade down to Libba would be beneficial, but if you think you are well stocked then I would trade to Bartel just slightly over O'Keefe - despite his MPP.

My trades that I am thinking about this week are:

1. Switching Hibberd to the midfield for Heppell and losing my link (here's to hoping he doesn't play for a few more rounds) - and trading him to Libba

2. Richardson to Tapscott - sideways trade, Richardson isn't doing too badly but Tapscott has a much higher ceiling. Only concern is 3 non-playing in round 5 with Goodes and Darling, but can use a MPP to cover that.

Thoughts?

Go for Curnow, you are forced into a trade so you may as well take the extra cash from it. He should peak at around 375k at round 7-8 and with the money in the bank you'll have the money for 2 premium upgrades.

I'm hoping Rocket rests libba this week so i can pick him up next week before price rise :D

Fat chance I reckon, they have the bye next week so he will get his rest then.

I think the biggest risk for Libba/Curnow buyers over coming weeks is if they are part of the "sub rotation" strategy that most AFL teams seem to be settling on. They will still rise in price, but suddenly there could be a 30-40 in their 3-week average to slow things down.

If i have a rookie who has scored low so far like Atley or Pittard, is it worth the sideways trade to Curnow this week to get the extra $$$ new week? is it just a waste of a trade.

I Wouldnt call Pittards scores low... 88 last week, what more do you want from him?

Go for Curnow, you are forced into a trade so you may as well take the extra cash from it. He should peak at around 375k at round 7-8 and with the money in the bank you'll have the money for 2 premium upgrades.

Cheers, was thinking the same as this will also allow me to upgrade Mitch Clark to Dean Cox this week but still get my premium mid back in the future.

What do people think of this:
rockcliff out >>> libber in
duigan or irons out>> curnow in

really don't like the look off rockcliff.

Tough choice, i think it would depend on the balance of your team. Bartel/O'Keefe and very nicely underpriced and would potentially be your premium midfielder that you would want in the end anyway.

I would also rather play O'Keefe in the forward line if you can.

Do you have many cashcows? If not then maybe a trade down to Libba would be beneficial, but if you think you are well stocked then I would trade to Bartel just slightly over O'Keefe - despite his MPP.

My trades that I am thinking about this week are:

1. Switching Hibberd to the midfield for Heppell and losing my link (here's to hoping he doesn't play for a few more rounds) - and trading him to Libba

2. Richardson to Tapscott - sideways trade, Richardson isn't doing too badly but Tapscott has a much higher ceiling. Only concern is 3 non-playing in round 5 with Goodes and Darling, but can use a MPP to cover that.

Thoughts?

Cheers, I have quite a few cash cows, i.e Lower, Heppell, Harris, Swallow, Gaff, Matera, Krakour, Richardson & Darling but will probly still go the cash option.

I personally will be holding on to Hibberd, I think he will be in the side sooner rather than later & will be a handy MPP with Heppell/Gibbs/Deledio/Goddard later on when the byes start to hurt.

Same with Richardson, might be a waste of a trade going sidewards to Tapscott without an injury so early on, he will play most games & has only played 2 AFL games (one against the pies off a short break) so i'll be giving him time.

My team "LivinTheDream" is placed 117th overall and I have a big decision to make tomorrow.
No trades so far in the first two weeks and I am only looking at trading Bewick or Ward to Curnow at this stage as i got lucky with having both Tapscott and Libba in my side prior to round 1.
Really torn on the idea of Bewick to Curnow or Ward to Curnow this week.
Don't want Ward to have a big one against the Suns this week and then have the bye but would love to use the $165k saving to upgrade Richardson/Duncan/Darling the following week as Duncan/Darling will go up in price and both have a bye in round 5 or 6.
As Ward and Bewick both have a bye in round 4 I'm leaning towards Bewick->Curnow as there is less need for job security on my midfield bench although as proven so far Curnow has the potential to outscore Ward all season and could be doing so for $165k less.

Really tricky one that I will open up for discussion.

DEFENDERS1. Goddard, B2. Gibbs, B3. Deledio, B4. Enright, C5. Adcock, J6. Heppell, D 7. Lower, N23. Stanley, D24. Toy, J 25. Duigan, NMIDFIELDERS8. Swan, D 9. Judd, C10. Pendlebury, S11. Boyd, M12. Ward, C13. Harris, D 26. Swallow, D27. Liberatore, T28. Bewick, RRUCKS14. Sandilands, A 15. Cox, D29. Smith, Z 30. Derickx, TFORWARDS16. Riewoldt, N17. Franklin, L 18. Goodes, A19. Duncan, M20. Krakouer, A 21. Knights, C 22. Tapscott, L31. Richardson, C 32. Matera, B 33. Darling, J

Cheers
EyeInTheSky
Tricky one mate could really go either way, Ward could continue scoring 70's and 80's in which case you would be wrapped with the trade, or he could go bang this week and then roll on. How much money do you have in the kitty?? If you have a bit of cash I would trade bewick if not ward.

I'm still in the same friggen position I was in Monday and haven't come to much closer to a decision. Basically I wanna bring swan in for boak which I will make when the teams come out, but the 1 that's killing me is bringing tapscott in which must be done. After I bring in Swan the team will look like this.

B: Gibbs, goddard, broughton, grimes, heppel, lower, everitt
(stanley, duigan, batchelor)

M: Swan, pendles, mitchell, sewood, cotchin, harris
(bewick, curnow, savage)

R: Cox, Warnock
(Smith, dericx)

F: Roo, franklin, Goodes, sylvia, fyfe, krakour, knights
(darling, richardson, matera)

So I've got $2000 in kitty after bringing in Swan and now I need to bring in tapscott, but the question is who the hell for lol? Original thought would be for richardsoon, but if I do that I will have no money in the bank to upgrade in the coming weeks. I could bring him in for fyfe or knights but if they fire and end up with a descent avg I'll be kicking myself. Got a feeling this decision could either F**k me up big time or it could be a great decision that improves my team. I hate making these choices:mad:

Thoughts or suggestions on who to bring tapscott in for would be great, cheers.:thumbsu:

What do people think of this:
rockcliff out >>> libber in
duigan or irons out>> curnow in

really don't like the look off rockcliff.

How do you propose to trade Duigen for Curnow!!!!?

probally a good idea to see what positions your players play before thinking about trades that can't be done :rolleyes:

Tricky one mate could really go either way, Ward could continue scoring 70's and 80's in which case you would be wrapped with the trade, or he could go bang this week and then roll on. How much money do you have in the kitty?? If you have a bit of cash I would trade bewick if not ward.

I'm still in the same friggen position I was in Monday and haven't come to much closer to a decision. Basically I wanna bring swan in for boak which I will make when the teams come out, but the 1 that's killing me is bringing tapscott in which must be done. After I bring in Swan the team will look like this.

(bewick, curnow, savage)

(Smith, dericx)

So I've got $2000 in kitty after bringing in Swan and now I need to bring in tapscott, but the question is who the hell for lol? Original thought would be for richardsoon, but if I do that I will have no money in the bank to upgrade in the coming weeks. I could bring him in for fyfe or knights but if they fire and end up with a descent avg I'll be kicking myself. Got a feeling this decision could either F**k me up big time or it could be a great decision that improves my team. I hate making these choices:mad:

Thoughts or suggestions on who to bring tapscott in for would be great, cheers.:thumbsu:

id go richarson

(bewick, curnow, savage)

(Smith, dericx)

Hey Turly,
I have $41k in the bank at the moment and leaning towards Bewick > Curnow as I am just about over my fear of Curnow not playing round 4 and waisting a trade :). No risk no reward and I'd be left with 4 Dogs/Lions not playing next week anyway if I don't do the trade so it's in the gun for tomorrow arvo.

As for your situation and seeing your side I would be inclined to shed a tear and put Tapscott down to one of the good rookies that you unfortunately missed out on. Why you ask.....look at the rest of your team as a whole. Everitt needs to go and I would trade him for Andy Otten this week saving you $129,900. If Everitt stays and you get Tapscott for Richardson this week then you will currently have all of Grimes, Everitt, Cox, Goodes, Sylvia and Tapscott sitting on your bench or scoring 0 in round 5. Then in round 6 you have the same situation with Broughton, Lower, Mitchell, Selwood, Franklin and Fyfe.

I personally would be trading Everitt to Otten tomorrow but you also need to start planning for rounds 5 and 6 as you will currently be taking a lot of hits in those rounds.
Always remember to plan ahead young grasshopper :)

How do you propose to trade Duigen for Curnow!!!!?

probally a good idea to see what positions your players play before thinking about trades that can't be done :rolleyes:

mmmm yes that would be good

ok just irons then

Hey guys just looking at my team now..... what are your thoughts on me trading out N.Krakouer for Heppel in my backline? Will give me some cash, but still think Krak might be able to play some decent footy for GC? Cheers fellas

I'd be doing this in a heartbeat...or Friday afternoon I should say!

Johanpetro; sounds like a solid trade to me... Heppel will go up, will play and opens up MPP. Krakouer at his best at Port wasn't even that good... Save the money. Make the trade!

What are people thoughts on this;
Hayes to Deledio (Swap him to DEF for Hibberd)
Then - Hibberd to Curnow
That'll leave me with;
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, broughton, grimes, Adcock, lower (Stanley, Toy, Duigan)
Swan, Judd, Selwood, Krakouer, Swallow, Curnow (Heppel, Atley, Bewick)

Or my original plan was Hayes to Curnow and Atley to Libba and free up cash for the next few weeks??
Thoughts?

What are people thoughts on this;
Hayes to Deledio (Swap him to DEF for Hibberd)
Then - Hibberd to Curnow
That'll leave me with;
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, broughton, grimes, Adcock, lower (Stanley, Toy, Duigan)
Swan, Judd, Selwood, Krakouer, Swallow, Curnow (Heppel, Atley, Bewick)

Or my original plan was Hayes to Curnow and Atley to Libba and free up cash for the next few weeks??
Thoughts?

That is damn tough to choose between. Deledio stiffens up the backline which is going to cop a bit of a hammering through the up coming byes (Goddard/Adcock, Grimes, Broughton/Lower). I would probably go with that but would consider keeping Hibberd and dumping Atley for Curnow instead.

I've personally decided to let the Curnow ship sail as I did a damn fine (lucky) job of picking rookies initially. Could bite me big time or pay off big time, we shall see :) :eek:

I was under the thought that I could dump Atley for Harris next week if need be and get Hibberd back in defense for one of my rookies when they mature a bit and Hibberd has (hopefully) played a couple games.

Just don't know about having the bomber players on the midfield pine...
Massive decisions.