2011 WAFL Finals Thread

Reserves Final Scores

Claremont 15.16 (106)
Perth 13.8 (86)

Unlucky for the Demons.

Now for the big show. I'm not a supporter of either side but have an interest in a couple of the Subi boys as i played with and against them in juniors. Hopefully Subi can win but it'll be tough

Claremont under 5 goals :thumbsu:

I'm seriously in tears. I've followed a lot of different clubs with different sporting codes who have choked and choked but now I finally get to celebrate a final. I hate myself so much for not being able to go but i dont give a shit as the lads got a win. Claremont I am so proud of you, you have deserved this for so long, you guys are seriously dead set legends. I love this club so much, I have loved them for longer than Fremantle and the other clubs I have listed.

Pablo and EFH I wanna thank you for providing such a great analysis of each game and no one could EVER discount your support. You guys are both legends yourself and I know you're as excited as I am.

Swannies, you are a legend mate, I wish I could say I'm sorry districts failed (where I was born unfortunately) but I won't :D You have provided this board with brilliant pre game and post game reports. You are a brilliant WAFL fan and I'm ecstatic to see guys like you post on this board, I always look forward to it.

Very emotional at this point but don't expect it often! Many young blokes in our side should find spot on AFL lists.

I'm a West Perth supporter but well done Claremont :thumbsu::thumbsu:

There were so many players in this Grand Final who are way ahead of players in the AFL it's ridiculous. I reckon half a dozen players could walk into AFL teams. Recruiters really are the most overpaid pampered bunch of jokes going around.

Next season should be a ripper. I think crowds will be right up next year.

Haha, awesome to hear that I wasn't the only one with tears in the eyes!

Thanks for an awesome season guys, love you all!:D

YEEEAAAHHH!!!

I'm off to the club to celebrate!

Great game just got home drinking the first of what will be many.

A nice steak and a bottle of Grange coming up for dinner.

Makes up for the heart break of last year.

Well done Tigers. :thumbsu::):)

Credit where credit is due You have to say that Subiaco are to be commended for getting to the GF considering where they were placed mid season. They played very well today but the overall class of Claremont beat them, you had to admire their spirit as they never gave up.

Foot note : Des Headland thats the last we will see of that dirty piece of shit in the WAFL.......what a dog act. :(

Great game just got home drinking the first of what will be many.

A nice steak and a bottle of Grange coming up for dinner.

Makes up for the heart break of last year.

Well done Tigers. :thumbsu::):)

Credit where credit is due You have to say that Subiaco are to be commended for getting to the GF considering where they were placed mid season. They played very well today but the overall class of Claremont beat them, you had to admire their spirit as they never gave up.

Foot note : Des Headland thats the last we will see of that dirty piece of shit in the WAFL.......what a dog act.
:(

What I thought as well!

Congrats to the tigers and McPhee.

It seems the coach learnt a lot last year and the players today were more desperate, committed and defensive than they have been in the past. Rudeforth set the tone, Murphy continued it just about getting his head caved in by Headland and then Rudeforth reinforced the tone by continually throwing himself on hand grenades. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Wilkes was excited, probably the most excited on the ground, so does that suggest it's his last game for the Tigers? Mitchell just runs so hard, as did many of his teammates, and Gilligan and Weedon provided that little bit of flair and class to top it off.

Also meant to add, had kids looking over my shoulder, that I liked the unselfishness with which Richardson played. Looks good setting up goals.

Commiserations to Subi, but a fantastic second half of the season and with the development of Kerr, Blechynden, Wheeler, Phelan, Hughes they look to be in a good place. Well done to Pickett, thanks for your contribution to the WAFL, Headland and Rix, fantastic careers.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Congratulations Claremont, a very deserving premiership for the Tigers.

Subiaco were gallant in defeat, and can hold their heads high after being 3-7 mid-season, and making a grand final.

This now leaves only 3 teams with a premiership drought of a decade or more; East Fremantle (13 years, last flag in 1998), Peel Thunder (No premiership in 15 years in the competition) and Perth (34 years, last flag in 1977 and last grand final in 1978).

Yessssssss.. you beauty!!! :)

Amazing to finally attend a winning GF... i missed the 96 classic but unfortunately have been to every one since.. fantastic effort and reward for the last two years of dominance. Wilkes a deserved medallist and cracking performance.

Oh.. and Kane played alright too!! ;)

Alrighty, just got home from the celebrations. Had to leave early unfortunately, that
party will go well into tomorrow morning!:D

What a year it's been, clearly the dominant side in the comp, with really only another choke between us and lifting the cup!

Thanks to ALL the supporters, the support this year is unprecendented in Claremont terms, never have I seen such commitment from so many people at the club. We had a A big turn out at training, followed by an impressive turn out at the game, before a MASSIVE crowd back at Claremont tonight, the place was literally overflowing!
As Simon McPhee said, "We might not have the most supporters, but the ones we do have are without a doubt the best in the comp"

Congratulations, firstly, to the reserves, who held on against a fast finishing Perth. To win a reserves and league premiership in the same year is a remarkable effort, it truly treflect the depth and quality in the personnel at the club. I'm not going to single out too many individuals, because it really was a WHOLE club effort, but it would be silly of me not to give Jack Bradshaw a mention. Jack would've thought he'd almost cemented his spot in the league side, but was unfortunately left out of the side this week. He was, understandably, very upset, but knew he had a job to do in the reserves. He could of been forgiven for dropping his head abit, but such was the character of this fine young man, he lead from the front all day, and was subsequently awarded the medal for BOG.

Secondly, to the league boys. What can I say, a fantastic reward for a phenomenal season! My congratulations extend to all the coaches, board members, admin staff, trainers, doctors and players alike, who all contributed to the teams success. Well done to big Beau Wilkes, who was a deserved winner of the Simpson medal! What an emphatic win it was!

Finally, a massive congratulations to our inspirational leader, Clancy Ruderforth on a magnificent career. Your leadership and committment to not only the team, but the wider club will be sorely missed. What a way to go out!

Cheers to everyone on this board for a great season!
Cant wait to come back next season and do it all over again!

GO YOU MIGHTY TIGERS!!!

YYYYEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Well what can I say, what a fantastic day yesterday was. Both my youngest boy and myself had a great time and are completely stoked about getting a premiership.
We managed to get seats in a group with all the other Claremont fans who like to make a racket, I brought my big flag with a tiger on it and we jumped up to wave it every time a goal was scored.
There were a few tense moments in the game for me, when Subi were managing to get close and pressure Claremont, especially in the third quarter.....somehow we finished that quarter maintaining our lead and then extending by a goal.
Then when Subi kicked the first of the last quarter, I was like....nooooo don't choke!
Proved groundless because the Tiges finished of very strong anyhow and really started to enjoy themselves as they got further ahead.
I finally started to relax in the last ten minutes and enjoy myself......I'd been on tenterhooks all day. The reserves game didn't help either.

After the game I hit the club and had a couple drinks and much fun was had. I managed to get a stack of autographs on my flag and even managed to get a couple of club legends to sign it too. Denis Marshal, Dale Kickett, Darren Klemm, Wayne Blackwell, Don Pyke and a couple other former players whose names escape me. The players were also kind enough to sign my sons jersey, he was rapt.

Commiserations to Subi, they played some great footy this year and managed to show Claremonts defence up a few times yesterday as well. I think they will do well next year.

Oh yeah, what the hell was with the fans? I don't think I've ever seen so many Claremont supporters in one place before. Historically we just don't have a very large supporter base but yesterday what crowd there was, was maybe 2/3rds Claremont supporters.
Not sure what has happened to Subi's supporter base. I remember the 87, 88 and 91 grand finals.....as well as the 2007 (ouch) GF, there were plenty of Subi people there and with the exception of 2007 very large crowds.
Thanks for the props there Freofan_Mundy!

And of course, GO YOU MIGHTY TIGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey guys does anyone know if both the Colts and Reserves final were broadcast, or only the Senior final?

2011 WAFL Finals Thread