Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion

The only player that doesnt really make any drafting sens to me is McIntosh in regards to needs, Batchelor,Darrou,Grimes and even Dea to agree will be all competeing for the same role, I would of rather gone with Lowrie or Atkins at that pick even considering how late Atkins was taken and Lowrie missing out.
Inside/outside mid with Pace would of been better as far as i am concerned

Disagree, Dea, Batch, 5th,6th backman,,McIntosh 4th and runner out of backine, Grimes 3rd backman tall

Recruiters including Frank have said we needed a ruckman on the list hence his selection. He may play KD in the future but he will be developed as a ruckman. That is from the clubs mouth tonight. Not a Key Defender, they don't see him there and to be honest, maybe part time but nor do I.

We had a good draft. GWS stole the show, Collingwood did well, as did Carlton. If we had got Membrey instead of McDonough I would have a similar reaction to now. I don't know how far he would have lasted to be honest.

I think we are one of the winners of the night. That's enough for me. A lot rests on McBean becoming a player. If he does this draft is an A+. If he doesn't its a B. I am confident the other three will be good players for us. He is the question mark.

I also think the Doggies did well with Stringer, Macrae and Hrovat.

People realize we got 3 mids and a kpp? Mcintosh is one I only saw played out of position at KPD. But Knightmare had him going pick. 18 for awhile.

If McIntosh does become a midfielder then it will be a fantastic selection , Has anybody ever seen him live does he have the ability to play the midfield role ?

The only player that doesnt really make any drafting sens to me is McIntosh in regards to needs, Batchelor,Darrou,Grimes and even Dea to agree will be all competeing for the same role, I would of rather gone with Lowrie or Atkins at that pick even considering how late Atkins was taken and Lowrie missing out.
Inside/outside mid with Pace would of been better as far as i am concerned

McIntosh won't be in competition with Batch, Dea, Darrou etc. He will be played as a tall wingman. Pure outside midfield and we wanted a runner. This kid is in the very good, border line elite category of this year's pool for endurance and he featured prominently in the kicking. Trust me with have a great player here,

If McIntosh has that ability to play mid, Then its a fantastic selection
As you probably remember my 1st choice was plowman and it wasnt as a defender but a tall midfielder, Just hope that McIntosh has 'some' inside ability

I also think the Doggies did well with Stringer, Macrae and Hrovat.

Depends. I wouldn't of taken the Stringer risk there. Macrae good but better at pick 6. Hrovat a great get. They did ok. Not in the best for mine.

GWS, Collingwood, Carlton all did well. Menzel, Tamay and Graham is a great haul.

Guess its time to throw my 2 cents in after a few beers (& lurking for the last few hrs) not that anyone gives a f@#k...
Cotch, Dusty, Conca in the middle. Add Tuck (Arnott\Verrier possible replacements when he's gone). With Ellis, Morris & now Vlas as possible rotations off half back.. that's the making of one tough midfield group. Not to mention all pretty good users of the ball.
Have I missed anyone?

Knew this would happen.....Hartley & FJ being "Cute" again....

....and let's use 33 on a 3rd rate version of Grundy, sub -200 ruck who probably can't even play forward....

.....I feel sick....:(
well why dont you apply for the cheif of recruiting im sure you are qualified and will do an excellent job

Is it me or is Richmond building their tall stocks for the sake of selling them off for better developed players? We might done multiple Angus Graham-esque trades to get mature experienced players.

No offence, but I don't know how you could come to that conclusion when you live in a different country?
Apologies if you have since returned to Australia, still just a ridiculous comment with no substance to it.

No worries mate. I may live in a different country but have remained a loyal tiger- platinum membership and all.
I have read extensively pre draft and am in constant touch with a lot of mate who are tigers and I also know quite a few involved in the afl. You would be surprised how much I know. My opinion- we are all entitled to it- is that t I was dissapointed with this draft. My analysis is that I would have taken other players than those picked given they were available, based on needs to really propel this list forward. This is a huge draft- I have written extensively about this and I hope we have got it right. That' s all. Hope I am proven wrong. Now whats your ridiculous story?

If McIntosh does become a midfielder then it will be a fantastic selection , Has anybody ever seen him live does he have the ability to play the midfield role ?
Been playing it in th WAFL seniors. Wingman.

Im not going to pretend i know anything about any of these kids, as i have paid no attention to the pre-draft banter or seen any of them play, but.....;)

I still have a opinion on it, ha!

Pretty underwhelmed with the TYPES of players we picked up - just don't see the "why's" to it.

We drafted a backman who doesn't seem tall enough or have the natural build to ever be a serious KP prospect - a "3rd tall" type, was that something we really needed to address right now? Didn't we just ditch Post who had these same attributes & started showing some glimpse of potential?

We then drafted a kid who is tall enough to be a ruckman, without any of the physical power, strength, intimidation or aggression you crave from a quality ruckman. I love the idea of a 203cm guy who can run well, but rarely that works out well - does it? We did all this with a guy like Grundy sitting there available @ 9.

I would have just thought with a guy like Grundy there, it was the year to pull another big on the list and use the rest of the picks on midfield and rotation players. We already added Chaplin down back - we lost Graham - i can't recall us EVER drafting a genuine ruckman of genuine quality, except Ottens & he really was recruited as a forward. Other than him, Stafford, Dear, Charles, Maric are the best we have been able to offer.

Vlas with 9, as much as like like the sound of him, after getting the likes of Martin, Conca & Ellis recently, i just can't help but think this year we needed something different from a 1st rounder, & with Grundy slipping, it was their for the taking. Reminded me of when Rance slipped - all year we thought he was no chance, but he slipped and the option was there and we changed our plans and took it cos we needed it.

This crop seems very "Meh" in filling the obvious holes we all know we have.Not saying they won't come good - just don't get the thought process there. Ironically the pick i most feel comfortable with was our last one - seems a good get and see why we need someone like that to take the pressure of Riewoldt

No worries mate. I may live in a different country but have remained a loyal tiger- platinum membership and all.
I have read extensively pre draft and am in constant touch with a lot of mate who are tigers and I also know quite a few involved in the afl. You would be surprised how much I know. My opinion- we are all entitled to it- is that t I was dissapointed with this draft. My analysis is that I would have taken other players than those picked given they were available, based on needs to really propel this list forward. This is a huge draft- I have written extensively about this and I hope we have got it right. That' s all. Hope I am proven wrong. Now whats your ridiculous story?

So you didn't personally go watch and interview these kids?

I don't understand our drafting at all. I've let it marinate with me for a few hours and I am just bitterly disappointed. I think the general consensus was that we needed more midfielders, and in my opinion, at least 1 super quick line breaker.

We drafted Vlastuin - a half back who wasn't fit enough to maintain midfield time. I don't know what our obsession is with half backs. Vlaustin, Batchelor, Dea, Morris, Ellis, Newman, Houli, Verrier.

McIntosh - a player I believe we have no need for whatsoever. Rance, Grimes, Chaplin, Astbury, Griffiths, Elton?

McBean - a 202 cm player who is more suited to being a key forward or back? Spare me, why didn't we draft Grundy.

McDonough - probably my favourite pick from the draft, I feel we needed a small forward as I don't rate Nahas at all.

I don't understand our drafting at all. I've let it marinate with me for a few hours and I am just bitterly disappointed. I think the general consensus was that we needed more midfielders, and in my opinion, at least 1 super quick line breaker.

We drafted Vlastuin - a half back who wasn't fit enough to maintain midfield time. I don't know what our obsession is with half backs. Vlaustin, Batchelor, Dea, Morris, Ellis, Newman, Houli, Verrier.

McIntosh - a player I believe we have no need for whatsoever. Rance, Grimes, Chaplin, Astbury, Griffiths, Elton?

McBean - a 202 cm player who is more suited to being a key forward or back? Spare me, why didn't we draft Grundy.

McDonough - probably my favourite pick from the draft, I feel we needed a small forward as I don't rate Nahas at all.

Vlastuin is a midfielder and will be groomed as a midfielder even if he starts off the half back flank next year, McIntosh is supposedly a wingman/half back flanker so you would be better of adding him to the list of half back flankers and wingman. McBean is a project tall who has a shit load of ability just needs to finds his position where ever that may be.

What you and many others need to realise is the draft end up a lot different to what we expect it to. Many players you haven't heard the names of get drafted while players you know and rate miss out on the national draft some even missing out on the rookie draft. At the end of the day every recruiter has spent hours watching each draftee and have interviewed the ones they want and in doing so are able to give them an accurate placing on where they should go. You can also have all the talent in the world but if you are known for misbehaving you won't get picked up, football is just as much about the mental strength that it is about your ability and with Dimma's philosophy of having a good characters at the club we will go places(up the ladder). So trust in the decisions the club makes and watch our team become top 4 material.

Hate it how Geelong drafted Brodie Grundy. Stephen Wells is the ****ing man. We are all destined for mediocrity. We need to spend the FTF to get this guy to the club. Wouldn't have missed out on Grundy at pick 9 if he was recruiter.

Fitness is built through various preseasons. Vlastuin will be Shane Tuck's replacement. He will start in the same positions Reece Conca (2011) and Brandon Ellis (2012) started in the Round 1 line up, half back. Look out for these two guys, especially Conca to get more midfield time in 2013.

McIntosh is being likened to an Isaac Smith type, X-Factor, breaks lines and I trust the judgment of the recruiting team on this one.

McDonough - Looks impressive, but never heard of him before today. They're hoping he can become a Paul Chapman but I don't see him getting more than 20 games in the next 2 years.

McBean - Vickery clone. Certainly not good enough to be the ruckman of our squad, but can be a versatile wingman/very flexible player around the ground.

I think we shouldn't make big calls until we at least see them play a game!

I reckon Vlastuin will fit in very nicely next season. But would put good money on Grundy winning the Rising Star, Danniher too and maybe Menzel.

McBean is 203? Thought I saw him listed at only 196?
Bar Grundy, what would you have done differently?

Looking at who was still available at our picks:

Grundy - best tall KPP the draft, best available at 9 taking Menzel's injury concerns into account, rare talent - we obviously felt we needed a ruckman so why not get the best?
Jacobs - experienced ready to go hbf/mid would've offered more straight away than Vlastuin, which was obviously something we wanted- and with Grundy would've given us best of both worlds.
Graham - Morrish medal winner that went at 54 -steal
Membery- easily best available at 42 IMO

Would've been sorely tempted to go the hail mary with 42 and grab Gartlett or mabe even use 87 another rare talent with special skills and we really need some genuine line-breaking pace - but nobody took him, so I guess there's something really drastic that we're not privvy to and all the clubs are. He still might go PSD or Rookie though, so could still take a punt on him (yeah right:rolleyes:)

Ok, so my analysis of the final wash-up.

Pick #9 Nick Vlastuin

We get the guy I rated 6th overall. Menzel was the only one available I had higher who we could have taken but think it's pretty obvious why we didn't. NAB Cup game 1 Vlastuin will run through someone and all of a sudden everyone will love him. He'll be an inside mid once he develops. Will line up Round 1 vs Carlton and be a good contributor. Tough as nails, very good skills, good tackler, and been calling it ridiculously early (ie. before he was a Tiger) will be our captain after Cotchin.

Pick #31 Kamdyn McIntosh.

Ok so we get the guy we have at 59 on my list. He's so low because I've only seen him a couple of times and my WA knowledge is limited. From what I was told he was going to go first round and has been fantastic as a midfielder. Wasn't prepared to put him higher in my own list when I haven't seen him. M_R has him at 32. This is what I've been told of him. Smooth mover who kicks the ball exceptionally well. Strong in the air both defensively and offensively. Strong defensive game and developing a very good offensive game too with his elite skills. Has huge tank and work rate. Had a fantastic second half of the year.

Pick #33 Liam McBean

Kudos to THE_GUN on this one. I was certain this kid was going late first round and we had no chance of getting him. Bargain at this stage if he can find a position. Agility is amazing, skills for a big guy amazing, Moves like a bloody midfielder. Not sold on him being a ruck though unless it's as a 2nd ruck/KPP type. Prefer him as a forward than a back too FWIW.

Pick #42 Matt McDonough

This kid has so much ability if he can get his arse into gear in a full time environment. Strong in the air. Dead eye dick from set shots. Can kick goals out of his backside and is just a mini-bull in the forward line. Can push up into the midfield and be a genuine inside mid who accumulates a heap of the footy. Tough and courageous to boot. Could be the bargain of the draft if he can develop his tank.

Live Event 2012 Draft Night Discussion