Preview 2012 Expectations

Always love seeing the cats get up... huge fan... I think next year will be similar to the last 4 (since you guys dominated 2007) there will be 3 or 4 teams who are around the mark at finals and whoever is having the best run with form and injuries should get take the flag. Hopefully it is Geelong again until the Tiges can have a crack... And can't wait to see Menzel back firing again, cult figure even at other clubs!

Can't believe the sustained brilliance this Club has delivered since 2007. Every reason to believe we will continue to be a major force in 2012. We are at the cutting edge of manpower management , succession planning and selfless buy-in from an amazingly talented and committed player group. All that and we changed our gameplan and won a flag in the same year - let's remember Scott had them excited about 2015 so can't wait to see what else this Team has in store for us !!

Very hopeful that Billie Smedts and Mitch Brown can put their injury riddled pasts behind them and push for regular senior selection in 2012.

They both seem likely types.

top 4. Hoping to see a majority of the youngsters getting some games.

Re: Next Year Season 2012

Should be the same top 4 as 2011. By seasons end we were 6-7 goals better than West Coast, 5 goals better than Hawthorn, and 6 goals better than Collingwood. I can't see any clubs outside of those getting close to overtaking us. Carlton need to pull something out of their backside to have a genuine shot at getting near a GF. Sides like Sydney, Essendon, Fremantle, North aren't quite there yet. Every year there is a bolter, my prediction for 2012 is Freo :s

Having said all of that i expect us to be top 4 but it will be anyones from there. Will be tough but as long as we don't depart the finals disgracefully.

I agree with you there, none of the other sides could rise to Geelong's level.

However, Geelong could certainly slide back to the pack if they aren't as hungry in 2012.

I'm expecting that in an effort to even up the competition, Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood will all play each other twice in 2012... and with 18 teams, 17 wins might be required for top 4.

That makes early wins critical, so you can rotate your list and be fresh for the finals.

The word on the street is that we play the Pies in Round 1 and then you guys in Round 2.

Thinking it will look something like this.

Bulldogs

Only look like 5 contenders to me. But having said that, there's no way I would have put WC in the top 8 for 2011

Re: Next Year Season 2012

I agree with you there, none of the other sides could rise to Geelong's level.

However, Geelong could certainly slide back to the pack if they aren't as hungry in 2012.

I'm expecting that in an effort to even up the competition, Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood will all play each other twice in 2012... and with 18 teams, 17 wins might be required for top 4.

That makes early wins critical, so you can rotate your list and be fresh for the finals.

The word on the street is that we play the Pies in Round 1 and then you guys in Round 2.

I don't mind playing Pies and your mob twice,but I hope we don't get the ridiculous situation where we play the Hawks twice in about 7 weeks and the Pies last round of the season.

Geelong was my pessimistic option (due to thinking we'll blood even more next year)
Richmond was my optimistic. They have the ability. Lets see if the resolve and implement the game plan if it has finally sunk in.

I like north, but I dont think they will get anywhere until the forward line is sorted and harvey is gone. And I think that as good as their kids are they've all spend bugger all time playing together due to injuries.

Can't believe the sustained brilliance this Club has delivered since 2007. Every reason to believe we will continue to be a major force in 2012. We are at the cutting edge of manpower management , succession planning and selfless buy-in from an amazingly talented and committed player group.

This is the key for me.
Everyone can talk about the way their club goes about it. But we've proven it now. And I didn't fully buy in until this year.

I remember texting a pie mate @ 3/4 time in round 8 and saying "we'll run over you due to fitness"

He said "we are the fittest, everyone knows that"

And I said "they are all wrong"
Nice night that :D

Bulldogs

That's my top 8 :D
I reckon West Coast will get a very good draw of home games and Naitanui should put together 4 quarters of footy.

Can see Collingwood slide only gradually as other teams catch up to everyone and Carlton's high expectations will again backfire and see Ratten sacked.
Fremantle, Essendon and the Dogs will have an excellent year.
We will do what we usually do and lose between 2 to 5 games all year and prepare a month out for finals footy.

Thinking it will look something like this.

Bulldogs

Only look like 5 contenders to me. But having said that, there's no way I would have put WC in the top 8 for 2011

That is a reasonable prediction. I'm not certain on West Coast replicating this seasons form next year and I thought the Bulldogs were in a lot of trouble before the start of this year. I doubt Hinkley can have them back in the top 8 after one year at the helm. I do rate Richmond a chance next year for the 8th position they'll need a bit to go right but I think Adelaide are a better bet. As for us, I don't see us sliding from the top 4 so long as our injury tally remains low.:cool:

Wishful thinking about Hinkley? McCartney got that gig, I'm thinking Bombers could not have another year like that with injuries again?? Ditto Freo. And yet again, I think Saints will try and have one last gasp effort at the elusive flag with their list, and new coach.

Blues feel dangerous

Pies, Hawks, WCE should be thereabouts again.

I have learned to fully appreciate that Geelong is the best team at list/ player/ injury management and succession planning, and the CS factor I hope is huge again. And Scarlett, ? last season, very possible he goes and does a Lingy next year.

A friend has given us his wife's MCC membership every year Hawthorn DOES NOT make the finals, and it coincides with Geelong winning flags. Should have submitted that in the OMEN thread. 3 consec years my wife goes and we winthe GF. Meanwhile my 3 kids and I struggle to get GF tickets, Ballot dependency. Point is, if we are to go BTB, it can not be against Hawks!!! Yet they are THE team I would love most of all to beat in a GF. Who believes in omens anyway?

I expect the AFL to manipulate the draw, to reduce the number of blowouts. We will play Collingwood, Hawthorn, Carlton, St Kilda and probably Essendon twice.

They will placate these tier one sides above by reducing the number of interstate trips. Good for the finances but will make top two more difficult. Though our tough draw worked in our favour last year.

How you figure?

By my reckoning we had one of the tougher draws going, which made our performance all the more impressive.

I think we will be top 4 again. Can we make a GF or even go back to back? We sure can, but those sorts of things are as much dependent on the improvements other teams make as much as anything we do.

As long as we continue to evolve and develop, while maintaining the ethos that have put us where we are, i'll be happy.

It's going to be tight at the top in 2012 that's for sure.

How you figure?

By my reckoning we had one of the tougher draws going, which made our performance all the more impressive.

I think we will be top 4 again. Can we make a GF or even go back to back? We sure can, but those sorts of things are as much dependent on the improvements other teams make as much as anything we do.

As long as we continue to evolve and develop, while maintaining the ethos that have put us where we are, i'll be happy.

It's going to be tight at the top in 2012 that's for sure.

Totally agree, and expect no favors for 2012.

Pretty much the same as last year... if we have a good run of injuries and form coming into finals, we will compete - and we will be the team other teams don't want to play , regardless of form.

I probably have higher subconscious hope for next year, than I did for this year though... As I didn't think we would be as dominant as we were given all factors (ageing, Ablett, new coach). So I'm more hopeful and optimistic for next year having seen what we did this year.

I'm exactly the same. After winning in 2009 I was so satisfied at what this current group of players had done that I thought the inevitable decline would come but I'd sit back rather comfortably knowing I've witnessed a couple of flags.

Now we've won a third I want bigger and better things. Go back to back for the first time in 60 or so years, get into double digit VFL/AFL flags. Really make a big blue and white hooped stain in this current part of AFL history!

Seriously, I was happy with the 2 flags but now the mighty Catters have made me one greedy cat and deservedly so - they've proven everyone wrong time and time again.

Let's make the most of this incredible golden era!

Concur with the sentiments being expressed on this page. Am more confident about 2012 than I was this time last year looking towards 2011. But it will come down to the rub of the green where it comes through to the likes of Ottens and Scarlo getting through the season. These guys are the two most important guys in the team.

expect a lot of teams to try copy scotts way of list management and resting key players. expect a lot of teams to be hungry. expect some teams loke melbourne, footscray, fremantle, to improve.
expect geelong to have 1 more year with a chance while scarlett is around.
expect us not to have such a perfect start to a year next year, being the hunted again, winning the close ones like saint kilda, carlton, collingwood
expect next year to be really tough and wonder who will do lings job, how will ottens shape up, will gillies get games, will hawkins continue, will duncan and christensen keep improving, will vardy play ruck at all
will the team have as much to prove next year now they have proved everybody wrong this year and how will scott react when we start to lose the games we won this year.
chapman, scarlett, ottens, corey, wojcinski couild be playing their last season and this may be the spur we need, because this team has nothing to prove, has done it all, and back to back is all that is missing and we know how hard that is
with some luck and management we could do it. i do not expect it

Kangaroos

I predict a collingwood v hawthorn grandfinal, and fremantle to improve with their huge list of injuries to return

Expectations are set high at the Geelong Football Club. No longer is it about 'potential', 'next year', or 'making up the numbers.'

We have been the best team in the competition since 2007, and no doubt the clubs internal expectations will be quite similar to this year - Set the club up in the off season with managing injuries, player management and introduce a small batch of hand picked players to the club

Expectations of these young guys will not be high, but the club will expect to see the professionalism which is now expected at the club. Younger players will continue to gain experience while senior players will be managed carefully.

I think the club would be happy to cruise along at the start of the season while the media goes on about Hawthorn belting mediocre teams or buddy and cyril, Pies looking for redemption and the worldy Harry O and a few other teams justling for a crack at the top 4. In this time I expect us to do what we have done of recent years - Start slowly, but do enough to win games and have a comfortable record of 7+ wins from our first 10 games which sets us up for another tilt at a top 4 birth.

Later in the season while we continue to chug along, tweaking the team here and there, people will start to realise that Kelly, Enright etc have had sensational seasons but have been 'underrated' while Tom Hawkins produces his first 40 goal haul in the first 18 games of the year.

We know our list is filled with 'big game' players, and I see no reason why we cant expect a top 4 finish. I think its unlikely we will finish on top after the H&A season as I think a rampant Hawthorn will take those honours, but our group of players can once again do the job when it counts.

--------
Top 3: Hawthorn, Geelong, Collingwood

In and around 4th spot: WCE, Carlton, Fremantle

Fighting out the last spots in the 8: Essendon, Sydney, Richmond, Melbourne, Saint Kilda

Always 1-3 games outside the 8:Adelaide, North Melb

Competitive but no real danger: Brisbane, WB, Gold Coast

And the rest:GWS, Port

Expectations are set high at the Geelong Football Club. No longer is it about 'potential', 'next year', or 'making up the numbers.'

We have been the best team in the competition since 2007, and no doubt the clubs internal expectations will be quite similar to this year - Set the club up in the off season with managing injuries, player management and introduce a small batch of hand picked players to the club

Expectations of these young guys will not be high, but the club will expect to see the professionalism which is now expected at the club. Younger players will continue to gain experience while senior players will be managed carefully.

I think the club would be happy to cruise along at the start of the season while the media goes on about Hawthorn belting mediocre teams or buddy and cyril, Pies looking for redemption and the worldy Harry O and a few other teams justling for a crack at the top 4. In this time I expect us to do what we have done of recent years - Start slowly, but do enough to win games and have a comfortable record of 7+ wins from our first 10 games which sets us up for another tilt at a top 4 birth.

Later in the season while we continue to chug along, tweaking the team here and there, people will start to realise that Kelly, Enright etc have had sensational seasons but have been 'underrated' while Tom Hawkins produces his first 40 goal haul in the first 18 games of the year.

We know our list is filled with 'big game' players, and I see no reason why we cant expect a top 4 finish. I think its unlikely we will finish on top after the H&A season as I think a rampant Hawthorn will take those honours, but our group of players can once again do the job when it counts.

--------
Top 3: Hawthorn, Geelong, Collingwood

In and around 4th spot: WCE, Carlton, Fremantle

Fighting out the last spots in the 8: Essendon, Sydney, Richmond, Melbourne, Saint Kilda

Always 1-3 games outside the 8:Adelaide, North Melb

Competitive but no real danger: Brisbane, WB, Gold Coast

And the rest:GWS, Port

Good one, i was thinking something like that :D

expect a lot of teams to try copy scotts way of list management and resting key players. expect a lot of teams to be hungry. expect some teams loke melbourne, footscray, fremantle, to improve.
expect geelong to have 1 more year with a chance while scarlett is around.
expect us not to have such a perfect start to a year next year, being the hunted again, winning the close ones like saint kilda, carlton, collingwood
expect next year to be really tough and wonder who will do lings job, how will ottens shape up, will gillies get games, will hawkins continue, will duncan and christensen keep improving, will vardy play ruck at all
will the team have as much to prove next year now they have proved everybody wrong this year and how will scott react when we start to lose the games we won this year.
chapman, scarlett, ottens, corey, wojcinski couild be playing their last season and this may be the spur we need, because this team has nothing to prove, has done it all, and back to back is all that is missing and we know how hard that is
with some luck and management we could do it. i do not expect it

This. Just like every other year, clubs will try an emulate the best side.. the thing is only a few teams could do the finals game plan we have because of the big bodies around the ground.

I hope we go in with our h&a gameplan we had this year and then do the long kicking for the finals so it's not easy to work us out (unlike the press)

The only change from the GF Team is Ling and he is a big out because of shutting down guys like hodge,mitchell, judd, Kerr and Swan is not to be underestimated and also he is damn accuarate kick for goal

On Hunger I don't think it will be an issue, Menzel and Vardy will be hungry for success as well as Scarlett and Chappy. And there is one thing this amazing side hasn't acheived yet is back 2 back!

So if it was going to happen anytime and any team in this competition will do it it's Geelong.

GO CATS!!!

I don't think we exactly re invented the wheel with the game plan for everyone to suddenly come out and try and copy us. I reckon our backline would love teams, especially sub standard ones, bombing it in long as they read the play and peel off their opponents so well. The flood/press era has made average backlines look good, we have the best one on one backline by a mile.

I think Carlton and Essendon are the two teams that will threaten a top 4 spot for us. Collingwood and Hawthorn should hold their ground. Eagles had a massive improvement and a lot of it gameplan based, they will be picked apart over the pre season and struggle next year IMO.

Another poster mentioned that other clubs will copy the way we rest/rotate our players throughout the season.

The big thing here is depth. I am confidant that our depth is much better than other clubs, especially those outside say the top four teams, but will not be as superior as this year. We still have a playing squad of around 30 like this year, but the question is whether the losses from the squad of this year (Mooney, Ling, Milburn) will be offset by the additions (Smelts & co)?

Whilst I believe that the additions will be good senior players in time, the balance of the "playing squad" will be skewed greater towards inexperienced youth than to hardened senior players.

Injuries and how often our ageing stars are rested will determine how many youngsters are played and how often.

Basically my point is, for example, that I would be happy for Motlop to play 8-10 games this year, I wouldn't like to see him play 18+ games, as unless he us really displacing senior players, a player like him would be playing too many games for us to be top of the tree next year.