2012 list management.

to what i was told he was never intended to be called up to the senior squad when he was recruited, was only meant to be the consistant mature player for the NEAFL

Exactly. He's doing what we recruited him for exceptionally well.

I'm not going to criticize him for lacking ability at AFL level when we never brought him on for that. Just a forced move.

Correct me if im wrong, but our rookie list isn't full so realistically he's not taking the spot of a youngster.

Sunny not doubting at all that he's a great influence in the twos for the kids. However, why does he have to be on our AFL list? Obviously it's lucky he was this year, but next season and going forward, why can't we just pay him as a twos player?

We do. We brought him on the rookie list. Only promoted because of all of our LTI's. He'll be back on the rookie list at the end of the year and not counted on the senior list.

Fair enough. I just always viewed the rookie list as a way of taking risks on long term project guys, or risky but talented kids. Just a different way to use it I guess.

I'm just an insignificant speck in the scheme of things so my opinion is utterly worthless. But gee, we could utilize our rookie list so much better I reckon.

Lol you got no idea, top up players are 17yos. Strict rules around it.

Are there? Never once claimed to be a NEAFL expert. I assumed it was similar to VFL clubs, where you can have whoeve you want playing for you. If that's the case then it's a bit of a flawed system imo.

Dont have to be an arrogant prick mate, not everyone knows the insides and outs of the NEAFL and the technicalities of lists. Can educate people in a less condescending way rather than floating your ego.

Haha the guy asked a question Bball. He never claimed to know the rules hence 'asking'. It's cool that you answered it for him, but that was a bit of a dick way of doing it lol :p

I do agree the system is partially flawed. Maybe there needs to be a system in place where we can use up to a certain amount of mature age top up players, but only after a certain quota (maybe 6?) 17 year olds have been used.

That aside, it is interesting to know they recruited him purely for that reason as I previously was not aware.

Be very glad to see him back on the rookie list though:p

Back on topic. Having McQualter on our rookie list is doing no harm at all. He is not taking the spot of any young player and off the top of my head there are four free spots on the rookie list. He provides invaluable experience to our younger brigade and this is especially beneficial on the training paddock, an experienced body who knows the ins and outs of an AFL club. He already lives on the GC and was brought on specifically to play NEAFL. Without the extent of this years injuries im sure not one word would have been spoken of him on our list as he would have not played an AFL game. If our rookie list was full I could see basis for this argument, but otherwise personally I believe the positives outweigh the negatives in this case.

Looking back on our recruitment of Warnock, I was a bit hesitant but didn't want to judge him before I'd properly seen him play for us (I think :p).

He's been great all year, definitely a great addition for us.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/145373/default.aspx

The Suns' backline general all season has been former Melbourne stopper Matthew Warnock.

Warnock is one of only three players - along with Josh Caddy and Harley Bennell - to play in every game and he boasts the most spoils in the AFL.

He said despite being under pressure against the Hawks last week, it was a challenge he relished.

"Obviously the ball has come down a lot and we haven't won too many games. That's all part of it, I'm not that phased by it," Warnock said.

"The last couple of years [at Melbourne] were pretty frustrating personally so it's been great to come up here and get a fresh start, which is what I wanted.

"Although we haven't had too many wins, I've really enjoyed the season. I think as a team we've got a lot of positives from it, we've improved a lot and I've enjoyed my footy this year, it's been good fun."

Unfortunately for Warnock, most of Gold Coast's first choice back six has succumbed to injury during the season.

Nathan Bock, Rory Thompson and Seb Tape all sustained season-ending injuries well before year's end, while Jarrod Harbrow also missed nine weeks with a fractured elbow.

"It probably does make it harder," he said.

"It does make a difference when you start to play a number of games with the same guys, especially in the backline it really helps, you get to understand how they play, where they run to, what their strengths are.

"It's probably been another challenge but something you'd expect being a young club, that we'd have quite a few players coming through there."

Haha the guy asked a question Bball. He never claimed to know the rules hence 'asking'. It's cool that you answered it for him, but that was a bit of a dick way of doing it lol :p

I do agree the system is partially flawed. Maybe there needs to be a system in place where we can use up to a certain amount of mature age top up players, but only after a certain quota (maybe 6?) 17 year olds have been used.

Hahah woah, fireworks from Metricon in here... a few "woosahs" are in order me thinks.

I reckon Warnock has been our best pickup after Ablett, Bock, Rischitelli...wow, has been unbelievable for us, career best form in his first year surely. Lead the AFL in spoils I think I read somewhere

Indeed. Please tone it down a bit bballscout. We're finally growing our user base on the Suns board. Youre gonna drive em off!

Good job of putting on your big person pants on :P

6a00d8341bf68b53ef013484bc3d68970c-800wi

Yeah, Warnock's contract is just carried over from his Melbourne days.

But surely there is no way we'll get rid of him. I have very little doubt we'd be able to find a contract that suits his needs. Probably a 2 year deal to see him out till retirement?

Due to our reducing list, I'm starting to lean towards trading that pick 2 for that mini pick again and get Jack Martin from WA. I think he's the one rated as the best in that mini draft? Anyone know much about him? Sunny?

I'm not sure we can use many of our picks this year with a shrinking list.