Mod. Notice 2012 Player Reviews

• Thread starter Thread starter Haso

Brisbane Lions
We are now looking for expressions of interest in this years player reviews. The Lions player reviews take pride of place in the Roster Watch threads every year, and have been of a high quality over the years. The Lions board has historically been a BigFooty leader in this department, and we would like to continue to do so. Once posted to Roster Watch, the reviews are compiled and placed in the Brisbane Chapter of the BigFooty Annual in .pdf form.

We are keen to give the reviewers from last year the first shot at nominating to review the same player this year, or if your player is no longer on the list, first shot at a new player. If this applies to you and you would like to contribute again, please let us know by posting here.

We are also keen for newer posters or those who haven't contributed a review previously to nominate to have a crack as well. If a player is not taken this year and/or weren't around last year to be reviewed (i.e. Lisle, Zorko, draftees, etc) and you feel that you are up to it, please post here which of these players you would like to take, and your nomination will be considered.

I will post your name next to the player on the list below as they are nominated. Bold are locked in, red have preferences lined up:

Jed Adcock - jackess
Todd Banfield - Nuggo
Callum Bartlett - kharis
Claye Beams - BeamStar17
Rohan Bewick - Grimreepah
Simon Black - POBT
Jonathan Brown - PattyKisagun
Amon Buchanan - kharis
Justin Clarke - TheBrownDog
Aaron Cornelius - Sanchez365
Jack Crisp - Gibbo_88
Sam Docherty - PattyKisagun
Josh Drummond - WhiteLionFeva
Josh Dyson - Lionheart Penno
Mitch Golby - blynd_freddie
Josh Green - Tassie4ever
Pearce Hanley - PTizzle
Brad Harvey - Crusha first preference (wrote it last year)
Ryan Harwood - Tassie4ever
James Hawksley - Nuggo
Ben Hudson - - Matwt73
Pat Karnezis - Jorgo
Ryan Lester - Bert Man
Matthew Leuenberger - - Baby_Jenks
Jordan Lisle - - Jorgo
Billy Longer - charles202
Matt Maguire - jackess
Ash McGrath - - Jemima
Nial KcKeever - POBT
Daniel Merrett - Rubix WingMan
Sam Michael - - PattyKisagun
Richard Newell - Jorgo
Jesse O'Brien - POBT
Joel Patfull - patfullfankezz
Jared Polec - Matt_BL
James Polkinghorne - blynd_freddie
Andrew Raines - Nicky G
Jack Redden - doddgey
Bryce Retzlaff - TheBrownDog
Daniel Rich - Jorgo
Tom Rockliff - Grimreepah
Sam Sheldon - thoselionslads
Brent Staker - Nuggo
Cheynee Stiller - knaf
Patrick Wearden - Mr Ripper
Stephen Wrigley - Quigley
Elliot Yeo - irel
Dayne Zorko - Chasing the Dream

It should be mentioned also that we are not strictly looking for Conrad's Heart of Darkness or Joyce's The Odyssey with every review, and that often a couple of paragraphs are enough. For an example of what they looked like last year for those who haven't seen them, they are in the Brisbane chapter of the 2011 BigFooty Annual.

Could I have Josh Green please?

I would take Patfull, but I'm far too biased to be objective.

So can I have my other boy Reddo?

Loving the enthusiasm from such a recent poster, Bert Man. Waiting to hear from his recviewer from last year, but if that poster doesn't want to do it, we will have a think about it.
Ok thank you very much. If any player needs a review I am more than happy to do it.

I would take Patfull, but I'm far too biased to be objective.

So can I have my other boy Reddo?
I would like to see if doddgey is keen to do Reddo's review again this year, but if he relinquishes it, you'll be first on our list Kezz.

Happy to do a couple - not picky....they're all worthy.
Thanks Nuggo. Last year you reviewed Banfield, Lester, Maguire and Staker. Are you happy with some or all of these ones? Entirely up to you. You get to choose these guys first up as you reviewed them last year.

I would like to see if doddgey is keen to do Reddo's review again this year, but if he relinquishes it, you'll be first on our list Kezz.

Thanks!

If not, I can try to be reasonable about Joelly...emphasis try LOL.

Shame my video won't upload to Youtube (I thought the song I picked was all good as I found multiple tributes using it on Youtube, however when I went to check one before I uploaded mine to see how they did their ending, it'd had the song removed! So much for that idea...) as it's not too shabby and would make an interesting way of reviewing lol.

Mitch Golby & Polks please IH84

Will let others have a go at the rest of the "P's" but if there are a couple holes towards your dead-line then I'm happy to help out with a couple more...

As long as that's fine with GingerGreatness who did the review last year, that should be fine thank you Grim. If GG wants to do Bewick again, would you consider reviewing Rocky again as you did last year?

No probs with Grim taking Bewick, thanks Haso :thumbsu:

Hey Ian, last year I reviewed Merrett, Leuenberger and Beams. I must say this year with work commitments I haven't been able to see Lions games with regularity. Would be happy for others who've seen more to take them instead.

No probs with Grim taking Bewick, thanks Haso :thumbsu:
Thanks GG, Bewick's all yours, Grimreepah.

Was there another one that you would like to have a crack at his year GG? You'll get preference as a reviewer from last year. One of the new list members from this year maybe?

Thanks Nuggo. Last year you reviewed Banfield, Lester, Maguire and Staker. Are you happy with some or all of these ones? Entirely up to you. You get to choose these guys first up as you reviewed them last year.

Let somebody else have a crack at those boys if they wish. If nobody picks them I'll take them under my arm flap.

Hey Ian, last year I reviewed Merrett, Leuenberger and Beams. I must say this year with work commitments I haven't been able to see Lions games with regularity. Would be happy for others who've seen more to take them instead.
Totally understand, BigCat. We'll find somebody to fill your big shoes :thumbsu:

Alright Bert Man, Lester is all yours. Looking for a top effort mate. It may be a good idea to check out some of the reviews from last year to get a feel for it when you come to starting a draft.
Thanks very much! I will try not to let you down :)

I've watched Zorko for past 5 years in AFLQ/NEAFL am and happy to have a crack...(although the fact that my father took me to Glenferrie Oval as a toddler may make some in here cringe..lol)