List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

One of Kelly or Aish would be nice but if they don't fall through it is a toss of a coin between KK and Sharenberg, just think KK will be the better player (more impact on games) in the end, Scharenberg will be a good player don't get me wrong here it is just that he hasn't made the next step that was expected.

also where did this Birchell comparison come from? Surely they have a better comparison than that, are they just trying to say that because his a tassie boy he plays like another tassie boy?

KK is a Hawks supporter so I think with Birchall being from TAS and a lefty like him, he was his favourite player growing up and thusly tries to play like him. Its not the worst comparison, they are both rangy rebounding halfbacks with great left boots, I think KK is more athletic though.

Another comp for KK might be Jack Macrae, as KK possess a great side step and good vision, is thin of frame and is a lefty like J-Mac.

Agree with this one more, I think he plays a lot like a Macrae/Murphy hybrid of sorts great at breaking lines and great overhead ability in contested situations like Murphy and got the side step and kick of Macrae. Leads from the front too hence why I like him (also doesn't make our midfield too small).

Boy I would be most disappointed if our decision at P4 was simply on the basis of 'if the kid can play as a mid'.
Sh1te we have no hope what ever of running all the guys we have now who posters would have us playing through
the midfield, doing so. Otherwise it would simply be a rotating door with no one in there long enough to even have
time to figure out who they were supposed to be on, let alone to get a touch on the ball.

Lets see, prior to this draft those proposed to run through there include :Wallis, Boyd, Dahl., Higgins, Stringer, Macrae,
Gia., Smith, Griff., Coons, Libba, Hrovat, Stevens, Hunter, Pruden, JJ, Picken, Jong. Apologies to any one I have missed.
Add a couple of talls, and that's about the whole team.

My point is, whether or not a potential draft pick is likely to be able to play as a mid or not is about Absolute Zero on
the scale of importance when selecting our preferred draft picks. Posters have been saying since this time last year [ and
probably well before that], that what we need most is...pace, skill, class on the outside, to balance our overload of inside
grunt. Now all of a sudden it seems that it is almost a sin for a player to be predominantly a receiver/distributor, no matter
how talented or skilled.

Look I make no claims to being well versed on all the draftees, but I doubt any team would knock back any of the kids
likely to fall in the top ten or so. That is not to say that some are not better than others.

But from what I have seen, I think that the only thing that makes Boyd P1 is that he is a KPP.
For mine Aish is just a super talent who would be fantastic for us in the unlikely event he slipped to us. Kelly and Billings
are both natural footballers either of whom I would be absolutely rapt to have in our jumper. Haven't really seen enough of
Scharenberg to make a truly informed decision, but plenty of commentators whose judgement I generally respect seem to
rate him.

Every player has weaknesses in their game, especially at 17 yo. Surely that is what all these coaches are paid all the money
for... to improve on the weaknesses in the players games, and polish their strengths.

No way I would be reaching for players further down the list in preference to the top 5 kids. Do we really want to do another
Howard or Grant type pick, just because a talented kid is better on the outside of the pack than he is at its base.

For mine one of the main reasons we improved in the second half of this season was that we included players who were there
to receive and push the ball into our front half, rather than all being part of the pile of bodies on the ground at the base of every
pack.
Balance. It takes more than one type of player to make a balanced side. Yeah, everyone needs to be prepared to "crack in"
when it is there turn to go, but they don't need to all be poor man's Crossy clones either.

I hope we opt for a talented, skilled natural footballer who is all class, rather than having our judgement clouded by whether or
not he plays in and under.

Agree totally with you Paulveed though that whole "top 5 kids" varies from club to club and recruiter to recruiter, from person to person. It is near impossible to know whether or not the "Top Five Kids" that some see here now will still be inside the the top 5 in 5 years time or whether they'll have difficulties, all teams swing and miss sometimes. Our recruiters no doubt will have watched all of these and more to decide who we think belongs at Pick 4 and I trust them to make the right decision in the matter for the betterment of the Club.

If Gia plays through the midfield next year, I'll be surprised.

If Gia plays more than half the matches I'll be surprised. And if he does, it means either several of our other forwards have
either failed to come on, or are injured.
I expect he will play quite a bit for Footscray as a playing coach, and quite possibly a captain/co-captain.

From what I can gather Sheed is a good player that we might have out eye on, but I believe we would take Aish in a halfbeat if he was to fall. He is silk in the midfield.

If Gia plays more than half the matches I'll be surprised. And if he does, it means either several of our other forwards have
either failed to come on, or are injured.
I expect he will play quite a bit for Footscray as a playing coach, and quite possibly a captain/co-captain.

You were the one that said it!:)

You were the one that said it!

I was not suggesting all those players would or should play midfield, merely listing those that people had cited as possibly playing through there.
As I said there is no way all of them would be needed to fill those roles. Most will spend the predominance of their on-field time on flanks.

I was not suggesting all those players would or should play midfield, merely listing those that people had cited as possibly playing through there.
As I said there is no way all of them would be needed to fill those roles. Most will spend the predominance of their on-field time on flanks.

I find that same method being used with posters regarding our small & mid sized forwards. Anyone who cannot be squeezed in is dismissed as "rotating through...".

Reality is, we have built some great mid depth, which means some will be playing for Footscray.....regularly!!

The missing link for us is what they are like outside of footy, what their families are like and so on. Macca meets all the prospects families and its part of his, good player, good person mantra. Could be we skip on a more highly rated player based on that.

On that score I have no idea. I have seen most of the top guys interviewed and no alarm bells there.

The thing I don't get is why GWS and Melbourne are willing to trade picks 1 and 2 for the right deal? Makes me a bit suspicious of the draft quality at the top end, or could it be that in Melbourne’s case they are pulling the wrong string again. They are looking at trading pick 2 for 9 and a couple of players from GWS. That would indicate that they don't really see much difference between Aish/Kelly/Scharenberg and whoever is at pick 9. Fair enough, plenty of examples of later picks ending up better than the early ones.....pretty risky strategy though.

Seems a good deal for GWS though, who on one had would give up pick 1 if they could, but then look to grab pick 2 now. The word is they like Scharenberg, big bodied more mature, versatile and if that is the case then we must get Kelly or Aish. I reckon the saints will go for Aish or Kelly regardless.

I reckon we'll end up with Kelly if the Melbourne deal on pick 2 happens..

The thing I don't get is why GWS and Melbourne are willing to trade picks 1 and 2 for the right deal? Makes me a bit suspicious of the draft quality at the top end

I reckon it's also related to the fact that both those clubs will be losing supporters in the droves as they have been performing so badly, without much fo a ray of hope for next year either. So both are willing to look for short term gains (trading early draft picks for experienced players) over longer term gains.

Heard Saints were sold on Kelly?

If Dees trade pick 2 to GWS for Bugg/Buntine and Pick 9 - who do you reckon GWS will draft at 2?
I am hoping they draft Scharenberg and then Aish slides to 4!
Looking back on GWS' past drafts they have picked up Whitfield, O'Rourke, Coniglio, Tyson, Greene - would they go another genuine mid in Aish?

Read today in the Sun Robinson comparing Kelly with Griff ?
Shit that has changed my mind.
Any you guys see a comparison ?

Read today in the Sun Robinson comparing Kelly with Griff ?
Shit that has changed my mind.
Any you guys see a comparison ?

Speaking of flog journalists, Robinson is just about the biggest of them all; nothing but a sensationalist bogan. He has no idea. The Australian football media is probably the worst sports media in the world.

Sure, you could compare them in the way that they can both run and have nice skills. Aside from that, the reality is that Kelly just isn't the power athlete that Griffen was/is. Remember when Griff first exploded on the scene and there were comparisons to a young Robert Harvey in the way he used to literally bulldoze through tackles? Kelly has none of that.

I like Kelly and think he will have a good AFL career, but I can't see the Griffen comparison.

Jus
The thing I don't get is why GWS and Melbourne are willing to trade picks 1 and 2 for the right deal?
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-17/trade-wrap-thursday
"It is understood the Eagles see little difference between picks No.6 and No.11. Collingwood, however, clearly has some motivation to push up the draft order."

Adding two other clubs perspective sees Collingwood wanting a higher pick, but the eagles not caring about moving from 6-11.

Wowee- Dees just traded Pick 2 for Dom Tyson!

Would have rather Aish but thats just me. Maybe haven't seen enough of Tyson.

Wowee- Dees just traded Pick 2 for Dom Tyson!

Would have rather Aish but thats just me. Maybe haven't seen enough of Tyson.

Official ???? Gotta laugh at MFC. Tyson is good, but is he comparable to Aish/Kelly etc. ? There original premise was flawed (wanting a mature "gun", ostensibly for an unproven 18yo"gun") but now they have done this. Can anybody see the logic ?