2013 Mock Draft

If Hogan and Martin were in the draft where would you rate them?
Martin at one, Hogan at pick 2/3 interchangeable with Boyd. Right now Hogan has the upper hand but hindsight is helping with the VFL work. If they were both available, this would probably rival the super draft in terms of talent. Aish, Boyd, Hogan are all extremely talented and Martin is probably that class above.

You should have the opportunity to grab a tall forward with your second pick. I think someone like Hourigan should be available, maybe even Mitch Harvey. On Taylor, no key forward is really available at 14 and Taylor is an exciting player.

You seem to be implying that Harvey is the best KPF ranked somewhere between our 1st and 2nd selection. At this stage you have us taking Dunstan, I assume rating him as best available at our selection. At this stage on our list we have Michie and Sheriden who seem to play a similar kind of game to him, and they are sitting behind Mundy and Barlow. We also have a raft of other emerging mids in Sutcliffe, Neale, Crozier etc and hopefully Morabitto making a comeback. A lot of emerging talent on our list in the midfield.

Usually I am a supporter of "best available" especially with first pick. But this year I would be pretty happy if we pulled the trigger on whoever the club rates as best KPP at that selection. And very happy to go KPP with 2nd round as well.

Would love a couple of Gardiner, Harvey, Hourigan, Marsh, McCarthy on the list for next season.

So picks 1 & 2? Martin dominated against swans reserves the other week

I'd like to think that Hogan would be higher rated than Boyd but in reality I have nfi. From my perspective it's more important that we develop the kid properly, not fussed about how he is ranked. I'm no expert and I haven't seen a lot of them this year but Martin looks like an absolute jet, there's a reason GC went after him so hard.

Martin at one, Hogan at pick 2/3 interchangeable with Boyd. Right now Hogan has the upper hand but hindsight is helping with the VFL work. If they were both available, this would probably rival the super draft in terms of talent. Aish, Boyd, Hogan are all extremely talented and Martin is probably that class above.

Martin looks like a cracker. Looking forward to seeing him, O'Meara, Ablett, Bennell and Swallow in the same team. Except for when they play Melbourne, I know I'll absolutely hate it then :)

Yep Martin is a jet :D but I don't think Hogan is too far behind. The Dees have a pretty solid midfield developing so I wouldn't be too afraid of the Suns.

Why wouldn't they be afraid of the Suns? Gold Coast are already massively better than Melbourne despite having a younger team. They're desperate for a priority pick to try and get anywhere near you in the next 5 years.

Usually I am a supporter of "best available" especially with first pick. But this year I would be pretty happy if we pulled the trigger on whoever the club rates as best KPP at that selection. And very happy to go KPP with 2nd round as well.

Would love a couple of Gardiner, Harvey, Hourigan, Marsh, McCarthy on the list for next season.
Would be a bit of a stretch, Gardiner will be gone and after that the KPP stocks are pretty even but not really good enough for a pick 14.
I'd like to think that Hogan would be higher rated than Boyd but in reality I have nfi. From my perspective it's more important that we develop the kid properly, not fussed about how he is ranked. I'm no expert and I haven't seen a lot of them this year but Martin looks like an absolute jet, there's a reason GC went after him so hard.
Hogan is probably better a ground level but Boyd might be rated higher due to size. Very hard to tell with these things, but I'm sure that Hogan will start his career better with the extra pre-season under his belt.

Would be a bit of a stretch, Gardiner will be gone and after that the KPP stocks are pretty even but not really good enough for a pick 14.

Hogan is probably better a ground level but Boyd might be rated higher due to size. Very hard to tell with these things, but I'm sure that Hogan will start his career better with the extra pre-season under his belt.

Hogan also has the ability to play in the backline if they want and he seems very physically developed for his age.

Latter could also be said for Boyd at over 100kgs. On Hogan, any team will be better off playing him up forward.

Weight is not the only determination of physical development. You could put an 80kg rookie against an 80kg matured midfielder and they would not have the same levels of physical development.

In terms of endurance, Boyd has developed to a certain extent. He would run a pretty good beep test.

I personally don't rate McCarthy as a first round prospect. Presents well and being from WA, Freo would consider taking the punt but I don't think they should.
I have him in my top 5. I don't think he will go that high but I think he will end up one of the best. Fascinating draft with how people rate everyone differently. Making the phantom draft really interesting.

The way he presents has all other clubs in trouble, he's almost always dangerous. I reckon he'll be better than Hourigan and Harvey but clubs probably won't draft him as highly as those 2.

Its not just right now that Hogan has the upper hand, he had the upper hand last year when Melbourne took him before Martin.

Hogan > Martin. Boyd v Martin v Patton is a tough call.

Its not just right now that Hogan has the upper hand, he had the upper hand last year when Melbourne took him before Martin.

Hogan > Martin. Boyd v Martin v Patton is a tough call.

o_O

GC had the first minidraft pick and took Martin before him. Melbourne never got to pick between Martin and Hogan.

The way he presents has all other clubs in trouble, he's almost always dangerous. I reckon he'll be better than Hourigan and Harvey but clubs probably won't draft him as highly as those 2.
I personally feel he could turn into a Jack Riewoldt type. I think he has star potential. I do like Hourigan as well though but have McCarthy way ahead at this stage. Has hardly played serious footy apparently so has a lot of development left. But you could be right and clubs take the other 2 first, which would be a mistake IMO. As would you taking Battersby before the Saints in the Phantom Draft :p

o_O

GC had the first minidraft pick and took Martin before him. Melbourne never got to pick between Martin and Hogan.

Hogan was off-the-table first. Then it got all caught up with the ring-a-rosy with Viney, GC picks etc. The order they were taken in was not the order they were sold in.

Martin went first.

Source? Because there's been no mention of such that I've seen anywhere until just now.

I personally feel he could turn into a Jack Riewoldt type. I think he has star potential. I do like Hourigan as well though but have McCarthy way ahead at this stage. Has hardly played serious footy apparently so has a lot of development left. But you could be right and clubs take the other 2 first, which would be a mistake IMO. As would you taking Battersby before the Saints in the Phantom Draft :p

Completely agree with you, the star potential for a forward is there. Works hard and looks dangerous.

On Battersby, I would be thrilled if we picked him up with our 3rd rounder in the actual draft, just the type of player we need. Kicking + inside ball :eek:

Great work mate.
With Freo I dont think we'll be looking so much at luke dunstan, as he sounds a bit like lachy neale. Ross likes real big-bodies in the middle with a few smaller ones to such as lachy but I don't think we need any more young guys in that mold.
Marcus Bontempelli might get a look as he fits that 190cm + Midfield role however I think we will be having a good look at key forwards first and feel that the man we'd be taking is Jonathon Marsh. Interesting you don't have him in the first round, where do you think he'd be getting taken, any other key-forwards/defenders wouldn't hurt either.

Great work mate.
With Freo I dont think we'll be looking so much at luke dunstan, as he sounds a bit like lachy neale. Ross likes real big-bodies in the middle with a few smaller ones to such as lachy but I don't think we need any more young guys in that mold.
Marcus Bontempelli might get a look as he fits that 190cm + Midfield role however I think we will be having a good look at key forwards first and feel that the man we'd be taking is Jonathon Marsh. Interesting you don't have him in the first round, where do you think he'd be getting taken, any other key-forwards/defenders wouldn't hurt either.
I reckon he'll be one of the early second round picks. Has potential and x-factor but I think that he has a way to go as a forward.