List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion Part II

Further to my boy Nathan Drummond overlooked in 2013 scored 26/30 for clean hands & 27/30 for kicking and ran a 15.8 beep today that goes with a 2.93 20m, a 23.95 sec repeat sprint result. A mature aged kid who comes in with a developed body who could play from round 1. Ticking a lot of boxes at the draft combine for mine. If he is there 3rd round I hope we swoop.

Would love him on a half back flank breaking lines or on an opposite wing to Ellis.

I think we will be after someone like this:
Tom Lamb (Dandenong Stingrays)

Born 19.10.1996, 193cm, 84kg

AFL biography: Tall forward/midfielder with elite endurance, rare goal sense and footy nous. His versatility makes him a very difficult match-up for opposition teams. Strong overhead, he averaged 14.8 disposals with 50 percent contested in five matches during the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Member of the NAB AFL Academy. Father Wayne played with Melbourne and Fitzroy. Grandson of St Kilda premiership player Ian Cooper.

Mark Wheeler, Dandenong Stingrays: "Tom can run like Nick Riewoldt and he's the sort of player who can either win you a game on his own or lose you won. Consistency is the big thing with him but he puts a lot of pressure on himself. I think his best position is as a half back flanker, but he can obviously run through the midfield and go forward and take a big mark. Even if there are two people on him he'll find a way to sit on someone's head. Athletically he's just excellent - he wants to run under 10 minutes for the 3km time trial and he's already done a 9.57 and a 15 beep, so he might bounce back up the order if he can do that and blow everyone away. I like him because he can play everywhere and because he's he the sort of person who just wants to please everyone. Once he gets into an AFL system, I think he'll settle down and become a pretty special player."

Operation: GET COCKATOO! Really think we should trade our #11 for GWS #20 + #23 and snap up Nakia early, he was suppose to fly under the radar! I see Phantom has him at #45 but surely now he's bolted to a top 35 prospect.

I know this wont mean much as the club would meet with a lot of players over the combine, but McLean met with us last night.

hopefully it went well:D
Shit it thought this was the trade thread and just threw up my weetbix :eek:

;)

I'm very interested to know that if we are short of a bull midfielder who can play straight away like Dan Richardson has stated and I agree with, who from the draft is gonna fill that need?

Connor Blakely 187cm 81kg midfielder from WA already playing against men in the WAFL
Nathan Drummond 181cm 85kg 19yr old who played VFL with us this year. 2.93 20m sprint and a high 14 beep test. Speed and endurance.

2 names that spring to mind.
Neither of them will be able to step into a bull midfielder role. Is Panos testing? His running ability will be the key to him getting picked up.

Gotta say, I saw Drummond play a couple of times with our VFL side and was quite meh on him.

Dean Gore?
Like him. Might even be there at our second but wouldn't count on it.

Would love something like:
#11- Weller
#31- Cockatoo
#48- Anderson/Lonie/McLean
#66- Drummond
+Miles Upgrade
That would be a great haul.

Harrison Wigg. Get the Wigger!:thumbsu:
Receiver.

One who I reckon will shoot up the rankings is Daniel McKenzie from Oakleigh.

Further to my boy Nathan Drummond overlooked in 2013 scored 26/30 for clean hands & 27/30 for kicking and ran a 15.8 beep today that goes with a 2.93 20m, a 23.95 sec repeat sprint result. A mature aged kid who comes in with a developed body who could play from round 1. Ticking a lot of boxes at the draft combine for mine. If he is there 3rd round I hope we swoop.

yes like him also

I know this wont mean much as the club would meet with a lot of players over the combine, but McLean met with us last night.

hopefully it went well:D

is that the small forward?

Know much about him?

is that the small forward?

Know much about him?

Yeah thats the small forward.

Really good kid (played cricket with him the last few years), light frame but is very quick on his feet.

Think he came top 5 in the league goal kicking for the TAC Cup comp as a small forward, was kicking 1-2 goals a game most weeks and usually bobbed up with 3+ every couple of weeks.

averaged around 25-30 disposals a match for them, came second in the league bnf i think it was.

was BOG in the TAC grand final. and kicked the winning goal to get them into the prelim, so doesnt mind the big stage.

has a great leap on him, and good goal sense. very similar to a Shane Edwards type but finds more of the ball (at TAC level).

Scored 27/30 in the kicking test, didnt set the world on fire with his sprint results, got 14.1 in the beep test i think.

while the sprint times were down he makes up for it with his swift side stepping in traffic.

Emma Quayle has done some shorts profiles on the players at the combine. The "Draft Harvester" series that include comments from their coaches, I thought some might be interested.

Small forwards, Defenders and Midfielders
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-draft-combine-harvester-small-forwards-defenders-and-midfielders-20141002-10p87j.html …

Thanks Toady - from the small forwards list, Jake Johansen sounds a ripper - albeit small yet seems to deliver it in spades in other areas...captained SA to the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships title, showing great leadership capability ... Prolific ball winner and playmaker who finds space well and was a genuine spark for his team, winning All-Australian honours.

Others for consideration surely have to be Wigg, Deluca-Cardillo (played senior footy In WA - a competitive player that is rarely beaten one on one) Garlett and Mclean (starting to really like him)
Caleb Daniel must be considered as a rookie...at only 167cm..Had an outstanding last three games of the under-18 championships, averaging 20 disposals at 92 per cent efficiency and two goals per game on his way to winning All-Australian honours

As long as we recruit 1or 2 of these I'll be happy

Connor McKenna signs with Essendon, being from Ireland it's fairly clear the kid had no idea what sort of shit storm he has walked into.

Smart decision. Will get games straight away.

After listening to what Richardson had to say about our focus this off season and the likelihood that our interest in Greenwood has waned to the point that we're not going after him, I'd like to see us explore the following.

Trade - I know Richo said everyone was happy and wants to stay, but I can't help but feel that McDonough might look at moving back home for more opportunity, I mean if we were going to keep him then surely we would have signed him already. So a trade to Adelaide for their second round pick is something I'd like to get back for him. So McDonough for pick 30

That would give us picks 12, 30, 32, 49, 66 & 83. With those picks here is how I'd draft:

12. Liam Duggan 183cm 76kg Defender/Midfielder
Kid who can slot into a HBF to start off with and then work into the midfield. Brings speed and skill.

30. Nakia Cockatoo 188cm 84kg Defender/Midfielder
Like Duggan above another who can initially slot into a HBF role before working his way into the midfield. I know he is the current hype player and many think he'll go higher than this, but his lack of exposure this year might see him only climb into the middle second round.

32. Connor Blakely 186cm 81kg Midfielder
A kid who has played against men already who could be ready to go from round 1. An inside/outside type. See him as a forward first rotating through the middle.

49. Nathan Drummond 181cm 85kg Utillity
Overaged kid who like Blakely could play early on. Possesses good skills as well as a mix of speed and endurance. Played VFL for us this year.

66. Dean Gore 183cm 86kg Midfielder
A kid who isn't showing up in many Phantoms at the moment, but was early in the year. Comes across as a hard at it inside midfielder who wins contested footy and when he doesn't have it likes to crunch opponents who do have it. Like Blakely has played against men already so gives us another ready made option.

83. Anthony Miles (rookie promotion)

Again this is based on my interpretation of what Richardson has said in the press this week and how we want to improve our midfield depth. With the above we certainly improve on our midfield stocks. The bonus being that all of them would be capable of playing from early next year. It would also mean that we get to use the rookie draft to take a few project KPP types and maybe the odd mature aged player from the state leagues or delisted types.

I can't fathom how Gore isn't in that many Phantoms. He should be off the board by 30.

Drummond is injury prone and an ordinary kick. Can't see him being on our radar.

I think our 3rd rounder should be used on a classy small forward to put at the feet of our talls. Particularly if we play 3 of them.

After listening to what Richardson had to say about our focus this off season and the likelihood that our interest in Greenwood has waned to the point that we're not going after him, I'd like to see us explore the following.

Trade - I know Richo said everyone was happy and wants to stay, but I can't help but feel that McDonough might look at moving back home for more opportunity, I mean if we were going to keep him then surely we would have signed him already. So a trade to Adelaide for their second round pick is something I'd like to get back for him. So McDonough for pick 30

That would give us picks 12, 30, 32, 49, 66 & 83. With those picks here is how I'd draft:

12. Liam Duggan 183cm 76kg Defender/Midfielder
Kid who can slot into a HBF to start off with and then work into the midfield. Brings speed and skill.

30. Nakia Cockatoo 188cm 84kg Defender/Midfielder
Like Duggan above another who can initially slot into a HBF role before working his way into the midfield. I know he is the current hype player and many think he'll go higher than this, but his lack of exposure this year might see him only climb into the middle second round.

32. Connor Blakely 186cm 81kg Midfielder
A kid who has played against men already who could be ready to go from round 1. An inside/outside type. See him as a forward first rotating through the middle.

49. Nathan Drummond 181cm 85kg Utillity
Overaged kid who like Blakely could play early on. Possesses good skills as well as a mix of speed and endurance. Played VFL for us this year.

66. Dean Gore 183cm 86kg Midfielder
A kid who isn't showing up in many Phantoms at the moment, but was early in the year. Comes across as a hard at it inside midfielder who wins contested footy and when he doesn't have it likes to crunch opponents who do have it. Like Blakely has played against men already so gives us another ready made option.

83. Anthony Miles (rookie promotion)

Again this is based on my interpretation of what Richardson has said in the press this week and how we want to improve our midfield depth. With the above we certainly improve on our midfield stocks. The bonus being that all of them would be capable of playing from early next year. It would also mean that we get to use the rookie draft to take a few project KPP types and maybe the odd mature aged player from the state leagues or delisted types.
Dont just assume from a media report that we aren't into Levi anymore.