List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Prospects

Who do you want with our first selection in the National draft?

• Peter Wright

Votes: 47 41.6%
  • Patrick McCartin

Votes: 33 29.2%
  • Sam Durdin

Votes: 14 12.4%
  • Other

Votes: 19 16.8%

Someone worth looking at for a later ND pick, Claremont's Brendan Abbott (to be nicknamed 'Postie'?)... 188cm 95kg defender/mid...

2013 Draft Profile:
The inside word
Originally from Albany, WA. Abbott is a powerful, physical half-back flanker with explosive speed, strength and agility. He has a fantastic vertical leap and a hard-nosed approach to winning the contested ball. Abbott played just seven games for Claremont in the WAFL colts competition and one match for the WA U18s before heading home to Albany for personal reasons. Has the ability to play on taller opponents due to his impressive vertical leap. Ran a lightning quick 2.87s in the 20m sprint at the state combine, making him rare in this category.
Defacto, seen him in the flesh?

Someone worth looking at for a later ND pick, Claremont's Brendan Abbott (to be nicknamed 'Postie'?)... 188cm 95kg defender/mid...

2013 Draft Profile:

Defacto, seen him in the flesh?

not yet, but will check him out in a couple of weeks time

None of that at all, but let's be honest, who told you about Goddard, Watters etc and was shouted down by Defacto and co? In fact I had crap slung at me for 12 months about Watters......

If I wanted to make up a rumour I reckon I could expand my mind and post something a little bigger than someone who won't re-sign indicating an interest in coming to our club.

Brian can't speak for anyone else and as I have said many times in the past, I have no inside knowledge or connections in the club, so my comments are to be seen from there.

The objections I have had with your posts include:
  • Posting personal opinions as fact. No problem with wild speculation on BF as that is the currency that drives many threads. But there is big difference from saying its your own speculation, to posts that are being put forward as inside knowledge and fact from the club
  • The ongoing public campaign that you waged against Watters. No doubt that he was toxic, but as with public dissemination of this could only publicly affect the club, sponsors and management. You were right, in that Watters was a tool, but don't agree that everything that someone knows has to be broadcast irrespective of effect on others
  • Posting comments from your phantom profiles to agree with your earlier posts. Really, that is the funniest and quite tragic
  • Personal attacks, rather than as the vast majority on here do and argue against the argument someone is putting forward
  • If your comment re Cameron is indeed fact and not fiction, is this something that the club wants publicly discussed, bringing other offers and deals to the fore that may affect our securing of Cameron
No doubt that you also have a love of the club. A concern sometimes as to how this passion is shown.

Phantom Profiles? Please name any apart from BD which is the only one I can access from my iPhone, as you well know and I have stated here before.
I'm sure people posting on Big Footy makes a HUUUUUGE difference to what people decide to do with their football lives, do you really think anyone gives a stuff about what is posted on forums like this?
As far as me running a public campaign against Watters, who is the public apart from 10 regular posters and readers of this forum? I think you need to put things in perspective and get off your high horse, I don't care what you think about my posts, I don't know you at all. And that's not a personal attack, it's the reality of the internet, I'm mates with one person on here, if you don't like my posts that will bring down the footy club then simply press block or ignore or whatever it is that we do on here.
Have a nice day.

Phantom Profiles? Please name any apart from BD which is the only one I can access from my iPhone, as you well know and I have stated here before.
I'm sure people posting on Big Footy makes a HUUUUUGE difference to what people decide to do with their football lives, do you really think anyone gives a stuff about what is posted on forums like this?
As far as me running a public campaign against Watters, who is the public apart from 10 regular posters and readers of this forum? I think you need to put things in perspective and get off your high horse, I don't care what you think about my posts, I don't know you at all. And that's not a personal attack, it's the reality of the internet, I'm mates with one person on here, if you don't like my posts that will bring down the footy club then simply press block or ignore or whatever it is that we do on here.
Have a nice day.
Couldn't agree more. Sunshine saint, how can you honestly believe anything that is said on this forum or any other forum would be detrimental to the club? Surely you jest

With all respect, there are a variety of means of affecting the club through negative comments. For example, all AFL clubs are very very conscious of all public comments and communications. All major sponsors receive information updates on media coverage, from the numbers of articles, comment type, TV viewing time, time their logo was seen on TV, newspaper features, logo appearances magazines, newspapers etc. Sponsors not only look for the linkage to the club, the appearances of their logos, but a positive flow through from their professional of the club. All major sponsor contracts have out clauses due to nominated issues with their sponsored club.

It wasn't that long ago that the Saints lost several major sponsorships due to player scandals at the club. Whether its a scandal, or continual infighting with admin, coaches or admin, these are possibly toxic to sponsors. It is no coincidence that we haven't secured a high profile sponsor over the past few years, when we were plagued with so much negative publicity of the club. Why support St Kilda, when they can equally spend their money on another team, that manages information, public image and relationships far better than our club has?

The major scandals are the worst case, but equally damaging is the drip feed of negativity surrounding a club. The Saints have been one of the worst at managing this. Not saying that every comment that is posted online, is of vital importance to the club. But it is naive to think that people can post whatever they want and for it to have no effect.

10170826_816558838373595_4534058910945879484_n.jpg

I personally love your inside scoops Brian, keep up the good work.

Personality clashes aside, I'm not sure why people would want to silence someone who has regularly given us a few inside words.

It's the best thing on here....much more preferable to the endless cycle of the same discussions that I contribute to on a way too frequent basis :)

Sooo.... 2014 Draft Prospects hey? That Caleb Daniel looks like he could be a winner with a late pick! Where do people think he will go? Anyone interested in Brett Eddy? Remember watching him in the VFL v SANFL game and he looked promising. Has some real flexibility and agility to his game but still big enough frame to crash a pack and attack the ball aerially!

54 goals in 15 games at SANFL level says he's got 'something', even if he is too short at 194cm... :P

Seriously though, won the goalkicking for Sandy Reserves in 2009 and Collingfilth VFL in 2011 and comfortably leading the SANFL goalkicking at this point in the season. Will only be 24 at the end of this month, so has a lot of footy left in him; I wouldn't say damn if we saw a spot for him.

Brian has really put his nuts on the line with this call. Their will be a meltdown on the Saints board around trade time, I just can't work out if it will be a bigger melt down if Cameron comes or if he doesn't?
Regardless of whether it has or has not, this thread has certainly come to life! 11 pages of posts in the past 72 hours :eek:

Just on 2015 recruits. Not sure how much you have looked into it but do you know how Harley Balic (sandi) rates for his draft class.

Everytime I either watch sandi or see the best players he always features as an underager. Also why the hell wasn't he in metro this year, what were they thinking when you see some of the under agers that did make it.

Metro are screwed next year focusing to much on this years crop IMO

I think Brayshaw gets undersold a lot, especially if what Shifter said recently about him running the 20m in around 2.82 seconds (which is blistering) is anywhere near correct.

He is a terrific size, has what Shifter described as absolutely elite dual-sided kicking and handballing ability, I think has high character and all that sort of stuff and if he is anywhere near as quick as Shifter suggested he is and has the other attributes that Knightmare says he has (like excellent tackling and marking), then that would surely make him pretty much the "complete package", unless I'm missing something. Basically like a significantly taller and quicker version of Sam Mitchell, as far as style comparison goes.
Agree that his dual-sided kicking is elite but only in the sense that he is willing to go off either foot and it doesn't bother him one bit. I'm not sure he has elite kicking skills, just in this draft he isn't as damaging as a Jayden Laverde, Lukas Webb, Viojo-Rainbow, Wigg or Ahern (of players likely to be drafted in the top 50). That said, he's well above average for an inside midfielder.

Last I checked, this thread was to do with Draft prospects...
LOL!
Mate you and Stanley sidetrack nearly every thread with your awkward flirting jerking of each other.

Just on 2015 recruits. Not sure how much you have looked into it but do you know how Harley Balic (sandi) rates for his draft class.

Everytime I either watch sandi or see the best players he always features as an underager. Also why the hell wasn't he in metro this year, what were they thinking when you see some of the under agers that did make it.

Metro are screwed next year focusing to much on this years crop IMO
I have my own opinions on Metro's squad and coaching, but won't go into that too much as it is just junior football and it's about showing the talent of your best players, something Metro always do well. On their bottom age talent I think they'll be fine, a 3rd place finish coming up next year, with Country likely to win Div 1 in 2015. Metro are trying to get as many players drafted as possible and looking down the list of players that look worthy of top 50 spots, it's dominated by Victorians. They sacrificed next year's crop to get a few players from this year drafted or possibly onto a rookie list.

On Balic, I believe he's from a strong basketball background like McKenzie, Tucker (2015) and Petracca. He's a forward who has shown the athetlic traits of a basketballer. Probably not a first round prospect for next year but one whose name is in contention for a draft spot. Clubs will have a better idea of where he sits, but for me he's another who will get an opportunity to show his place in the later parts of this year and throughout next season.

I have my own opinions on Metro's squad and coaching, but won't go into that too much as it is just junior football and it's about showing the talent of your best players, something Metro always do well. On their bottom age talent I think they'll be fine, a 3rd place finish coming up next year, with Country likely to win Div 1 in 2015. Metro are trying to get as many players drafted as possible and looking down the list of players that look worthy of top 50 spots, it's dominated by Victorians. They sacrificed next year's crop to get a few players from this year drafted or possibly onto a rookie list.

On Balic, I believe he's from a strong basketball background like McKenzie, Tucker (2015) and Petracca. He's a forward who has shown the athetlic traits of a basketballer. Probably not a first round prospect for next year but one whose name is in contention for a draft spot. Clubs will have a better idea of where he sits, but for me he's another who will get an opportunity to show his place in the later parts of this year and throughout next season.
Thanks for that Rahul. Yeah he is a basketball first but reminds me of the new breed of pendels-bonts-blacres type of seems to have more time than he should and finds a way to never get tackled.

Played some footy for parkdale earlier in the year and smoked that aswell (albeit it a crap grade).

I'm allready on his wagon for the 2015 draft

Let's try and keep this thread friendly and on topic yeah? When talking about trading and drafting, unrealistic ideas are always going to be brought up. In fact they make up much of the thousands of posts in this thread and the other T/D/FA thread. So less criticism and more detailed discussion would be superb!

Also no more memes. It adds nothing to the conversation. If someone replies to this with a meme - watch out! :P

Let's try and keep this thread friendly and on topic yeah? When talking about trading and drafting, unrealistic ideas are always going to be brought up. In fact they make up much of the thousands of posts in this thread and the other T/D/FA thread. So less criticism and more detailed discussion would be superb!

Also no more memes. It adds nothing to the conversation. If someone replies to this with a meme - watch out! :P
WTF is a meme anyway?

A meme here would be an internet "catchphrase" such as "you jelly bro?" which people post and re-post.
Apparently it hasn't dawned on the people of Bigfooty that the're not funny/clever anymore.

A meme here would be an internet "catchphrase" such as "you jelly bro?" which people post and re-post.
Apparently it hasn't dawned on the people of Bigfooty that the're not funny/clever anymore.
ooooooooo... burn.

Personally I would love us to chase a couple of tough mids & another tall KPD. Have faith in Stanley, Bruce & Lee coming good or worse case scenario just plonk Holmes in the goal square ( #benuff2scarethecrapoutofanydef. )
Imagine Templeton & possibly Saad feeding off the crumbs. Do that & we don't have to pay overs for anyone.