2014 Fixture Discussion

The next big thing in the non stop AFL Calendar is the 2014 season fixture. We can use this thread to update any news and rumours about the fixture for 2014. I would also like to know what things people would like to see in next year's fixture.

1) More Sunday Twilight games against top sides at the SCG. Richmond pulled a good crowd this season and atmosphere was electric.

2) 6 Melbourne based games e.g. for our SM supporters. NO GEELONG GAME !!!

3) I think we are due to meet Brisbane in Brisbane and Melbourne at SCG. Also would like to see us play away to the giants at skoda rather then ANZ for a better atmosphere.

4) Please footy gods no Geelong game !!!

More Melbourne based games...
If we do play Geelong, make it some type of marquee game at the G,
Not a big 4.40 Saturday arvo fan,
Every Sydney based game at our actual home SCG!!!!!!!!!!!!
And a fixture that includes close our best 22 players on the park, yes that's right after this year we get a 22 rd injury free fixture....
And in finishing, our last game will be happily played at the MCG Sat 27th Sept with a happy ending.
That'll do and thanks for asking.

I posted on another thread but my initial thoughts are we will likely avoid double-ups vs Geelong and Hawthorn.

The plan this year is for the ladder to be divided into groups of 6. (1-6, 7-12, 13-18).

As one of the top 6, our options are to play
2-3 from the same group (top 6)
1-2 from the second group (7-12)
1 from the bottom group (this will be GWS).

Given that the AFL will want 2 Haw/Gee games, 2 Haw/Freo games and since Freo beat Geelong at home, and beat them in finals twice running, it's likely they will have Gee/Freo twice.

That takes 2 of the three top 6 games for those 3 teams. Which means we can only realistically have 2 games against the other top 6 teams (Collingwood and Richmond) and possibly one of the top 3 (Haw, Gee, Freo). (Any other arrangement means there aren't enough top 6 games for Collingwood and Richmond)

Our middle games are anyone's guess. That's Port, Carlton, Essendon, Norf, Crows and Brions. So we'll double-up against 1-2 of those.

So our doubles should be:
1 of (Geelong, Hawthorn, Freo) or 1 of (Port, Carlton, Essendon, Norf, Crows or Brions)
1 of (Port, Carlton, Essendon, Norf, Crows or Brions)
GWS

The great thing about this is that if this is right, we are going to get home games vs Collingwood and Richmond, and two definite big MCG games vs Richmond and Collingwood.

Hawthorn in one of the first 4 rounds. With 'double demerits' for the GF, surely Rioli and Lake will still both be suspended...

I HATE SUNDAY TWILIGHT GAMES
Its to hot in the afternoon and you cant really drink all that much

The Sunday twilights need to be during long weekends with a holiday Monday. Encourages oppo supporter bases to get to Sydney for a weekend away and also can get out after the game for dinner and drinks without worrying about work on Monday...

Do not open the year against GWS. No Simmonds Stadium, No Tassie.

More Friday Night and Saturday at the SCG. No more Geelong @ Geelong. Let West Coast come here for once (last time they travelled against us was 2010). Also Port Adelaide are due for a Sydney game as well.

Playing West Coast at Subi again, absolutely hate playing Fremantle there and we usually beat West Coast.

Do not open the year against GWS......

With the Easter Show always going to delay access to Skoda for GWS, you can just about lock in an early ANZ game against GWS. The bright side of that is that it is one game out of the way with our ANZ commitment for the year and only need to play 2 more. It will also always be a GWS home game, so leaves us 9 SCG games.

What I'd really like is to play Collingwood at the SCG next year instead of ANZ. The club should lobby hard for it and it would make an absolute ideal opening home game of the year at the new SCG. Let's set a new ground record for AFL straight up...

With the Easter Show always going to delay access to Skoda for GWS, you can just about lock in an early ANZ game against GWS. The bright side of that is that it is one game out of the way with our ANZ commitment for the year and only need to play 2 more. It will also always be a GWS home game, so leaves us 9 SCG games.

I'm not a huge fan of opening the season against GWS but as we tend to be slow starters it probably works in our favour at the moment (until they start to get stronger).

Surely we'll escape the trip to Geelong this year. I don't mind us getting a Tassie game as we have a following there but please ditch the New Zealand game, the Saints are welcome to keep playing there but give some other teams the exposure.

I'm not a huge fan of opening the season against GWS but as we tend to be slow starters it probably works in our favour at the moment (until they start to get stronger).

Surely we'll escape the trip to Geelong this year. I don't mind us getting a Tassie game as we have a following there but please ditch the New Zealand game, the Saints are welcome to keep playing there but give some other teams the exposure.

I understood it was St Kilda and Melbourne in NZ this year? Or was that just a rumour?

We've been to Geelong a lot in past years. In fact, we've been there in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013... 9 times in 10 years (mind you, they've been to ANZ and SCG 9 times in the same period, 10 if you count a final). But there is a smaller number of clubs they send there, due to crowd numbers. They won't send the big Vic clubs there, meaning instead of a roughly 6 in 17 chance of playing there it's a 6 in 12. Hopefully we only get one Cats game this year, and it's at home at the SCG. :thumbsu:

I understood it was St Kilda and Melbourne in NZ this year? Or was that just a rumour?

We've been to Geelong a lot in past years. In fact, we've been there in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013... 9 times in 10 years (mind you, they've been to ANZ and SCG 9 times in the same period, 10 if you count a final). But there is a smaller number of clubs they send there, due to crowd numbers. They won't send the big Vic clubs there, meaning instead of a roughly 6 in 17 chance of playing there it's a 6 in 12. Hopefully we only get one Cats game this year, and it's at home at the SCG. :thumbsu:

you would presume we are likely to play the cats twice, im fine with that, just cmon if you can play finals there send some other teams down there, like essendon

As I said earlier in the thread, it's likely only a 1 in 3 chance we'll play Geelong twice this year due to the fixture structure (or even less, if we only play 2 teams in our band). But even still it's 50/50 if we go to to them or they come to us for the one game we do play.

-Sydney Vs Hawks at Aurora. Last year it was a big game and there is a shitload of Swans fans down here. We got 19k there and was Tassie's biggest crowd there in three years. Compare it this year when we had three games that were in our top 6 for lowest ever because GWS, Freo and WB played.
- 6 games in MELBOURNE! Not Geelong! And not going to NZ!
-I think we would be due a game in the GC or Brisbane next season.
-I know they can't predict the ladder before the fixture is out but preferably not three contending teams in the last month of the season would be nice aswell. It's happened the past two against the same teams in Collingwood, Hawks and Geelong and at the same venues aswell besides the Hawks game in Round 23 this season.

Skoda is to small to host both swans and gws

I HATE SUNDAY TWILIGHT GAMES
Its to hot in the afternoon and you cant really drink all that much

I really like the Sunday Twilight games in Melbourne, its a great way to finish off the weekend.