2015 Phantom Draft

University
My final go at the draft this year. My old thread was poor, wanted to start a new one.

A = Academy Selection | F/S = Father-Son Selection

1. Carlton | Jacob Weitering - Key Defender - 93kg/195cm (Pretty much a done deal. Needed to fill the void of Lachie Henderson after failing to poach Adam Tomlinson last month. Will lead the back line for 15 years)

2. Brisbane Lions | Joshua Schache - Key Forward - 100kg/199cm (A year late, but a replacement for Jonathan Brown. Surely will be playing next year consistently, as the Lions need to move forward quickly and will do everything they can to keep hold of their youngsters)

3. Sydney Swans | Callum Mills (A) - Midfielder - 80kg/188cm (Guaranteed Swan in 2016. Looking like a freak; the best midfielder of the draft. He's ready to go)

4. Melbourne | Darcy Parish - Midfielder - 74kg/181kg (Disagree they need him but it is imminent. Looking like a Scott Pendlebury type player and is one of those youngsters set to pounce on the scene early. My pick for Rising Star)

5. GWS Giants | Jacob Hopper (A) - Midfielder - 82kg/186cm (Guaranteed Giant. He'll struggle to get games, but that's all a part of the journey. Avaraged 23 touches a game for North Ballarat in the TAC Cup this year, excellent for his level. Essendon to bid)

6. Essendon | Aaron Francis - Tall Defender/Forward - 92kg/191cm (Can't see Essendon passing up the chance to draft him. He's tall, an Essendon supporter, and the perfect replacement for Jake Carlisle. Will be a one club player, surely)

7. Essendon | Sam Weideman - Key Forward - 94kg/196cm (Grandson of a champion Magpie, Weideman is looking fine for 2016. The Bombers have always struggled to score, and it's time they solve this. Can't imagine he'll slip past the Bombers, unless they decide to pluck Curnow instead)

8. GWS Giants | Matthew Kennedy (A) - Midfielder - 88kg/187cm (Another academy player going to the Giants. Goal kicking mid, something the Giants could really utilize in the future)

9. Gold Coast | Charlie Curnow - Key Forward - 95kg/191cm (Brother of Ed, Charlie will head up North most likely should he not be drafted by Essendon, as the Suns will be looking for an immediate Dixon replacement. Terrific pace and ready to pounce)

10. Melbourne | Darcy Tucker - Half-Back - 80kg/184cm (A bit high probably but the reason for this is because Melbourne have a poor defence and they certainly don't have talented youngsters spilling out of it either. Fast player who should adapt to AFL footy quickly at any club)

11. Brisbane Lions | Eric Hipwood (A) - Key Forward/Defender - 84kg/202cm (Probably won't go this high up but I expect Carlton to bid for a key forward quick and Hipwood will be their first choice. He's fast and a great swingman, but the Lions will pick him up regardless of draft order)

12. Carlton | Harry McKay - Tall Forward - 95kg/200cm (They'll look to boost their forward stocks for the future, so McKay is looking like the best option. He's tall, Victorian, and he's just got a Carlton name)

13. Adelaide | Wayne Milera - Half-Forward - 75kg/185cm (Adelaide could use a flashy player like Milera, and a South Australian could be very valuable to them. Will go relatively early, and Adelaide will pounce if Gold Coast don't, you'd think, however they could try Clayton Oliver instead)

14. Brisbane Lions | Ben Keays (A) - Midfielder - 83kg/185cm (Carlton will bid again, as they'll look for midfielders now, but the Lions will take their academy gold, who will certainly not do an Aish and fly off. Avaraged a whopping 29 touches a game for Queensland this year)

15. Carlton - Clayton Oliver - Midfielder - 86kg/187cm (Carlton will be fortunate if he's still around, and will almost certainly take him. Won the Morrish Medal with Murray Bushrangers and looks AFL set)

16. Richmond | Kieran Collins - Key Defender - 100kg/194cm (Will be keen to spoil Hawthorn's plans and take the star defenders, may go to Carlton a pick earlier however. They'll need a man to replace Newman immediately and Chaplin in the long run. Tigers could draft in any area however)

17. Adelaide |
Ryan Burton - Key Forward - 88kg/191cm (Maybe I just like the sound of another Burton at Adelaide. Is a mystery this draft and might go much later, as he has a poor injury history, and the Crows may prefer to draft in the midfield)

18. St Kilda | Harley Balic - Midfielder - 80kg/187cm (Could go higher to Adelaide or someone else, but I think St Kilda would get a great deal at Pick 14 (18 after academy selections). Can play anywhere, and a quality addition to a thriving St Kilda side)

19. Hawthorn | Jade Gresham - Midfielder - 77kg/178cm (Things always happen when he gets he ball. Came 2nd in Morrish Medal and averaged nearly 30 touches in the TAC Cup. Hawks will be desprate to prepare for life without their very aged midfield. Freak)

20. Gold Coast | Callum Ah Chee - Half-Forward - 71kg/182cm (Brother of Callum, I see Ah Chee heading North East of his home, South Australia. He has everything a small forward/midfielder needs, and may even go higher in the order)

21. North Melbourne | Mitchell Hibberd - Half-back - 85kg/191cm (North need to youth-en up that defence, and he certainly wouldn't mind being selected by the Roos, being from Tassie. Free flowing back flanker, who will fit straight in their side)

22. Hawthorn | Riley Bonner - Half-Back - 85kg/191cm (Hawks will be desperate to replace those who have left, and he will make a great replacement for Suckling. He's from SA, but has a long boot and this picks falls in the middle of his draft rank, according to experts. Expect him to go here)

23. Carlton | Rhys Mathieson - Midfielder - 82kg/186cm (Will be the steal of the draft, and Carlton will pounce guaranteed should he be available. My favourite bloke in the draft, and will be terrific in the future)

24. Western Bulldogs | Josh Dunkley - Midfielder - 86kg/189cm (Will reject Father/son and land in Victoria like he wants, the Dogs midfield is already terrific, but injury troubled, and I think the Dogs may land him. He's a strong bloke, and one to watch. Hard to say where he'll land)

25. Western Bulldogs | Ben McKay - Key Defender - 91kg/199cm (Twin of other prospect Ben, he could certainly head to Carlton if they're still on the look out for key position players. Dogs need a replacement for Talia and for Morris in the long run, and is perfect for the Dogs)

26. Fremantle | Dylan Smith - Key Forward - 82kg/198cm (Dockers will want a long term replacement for Pav after failing to lure McCarthy and Smith will be first on their shopping list probably, however it's arguable he won't go this high. There aren't too many key position players left anymore)

27. West Coast | Ryan Clarke - Midfielder - 84kg/185cm (Hard-working, efficient gun who averaged 31 touches a game for Eastern Ranges in 2015)

28. Essendon | Daniel Rioli - Small Forward - 65kg/179cm (He's a Rioli therefore he's special. The North Ballarat Rebels boy could definitely end up in Perth, but I believe Essendon are in the pole position to land him. They want goals? He'll get them. He's as a light as a feather however)

29. Essendon | David Cunningham - Midfielder - 79kg/183cm (Bombers need youth to progress their future, and he could be a solution. He is speedy and exciting, and would be a good coup at Pick 25)

30. North Melbourne | Luke Partington - Midfielder - 75kg/182cm (Very hard working midfielder who will achieve high at any club)

31. Collingwood | Tom Cole - Half-Back - 76kg/185cm (Ball winning defender who can play higher up the field. Magpies need defenders, and Cole is one of not too many still hanging around. Was very consistent for the Pioneers this year, averaging 25 touches)

32. North Melbourne | Sam Skinner - Key Defender - 97kg/197cm (Great talent but injury prone, so may fall down the order)

33. Gold Coast |
Will Snelling - Midfielder - 68kg/177cm (No specific position to improve at West Coast, so they may have a tilt at anyone. He's skinny as hell, a problem, but has a SANFL premiership to his name, that's something)

34. Western Bulldogs | Aidyn Johnson - Forward/Midfielder - 75kg/185cm (Agile, athletic and strong. Could be a big part of the Dogs' exciting forward line)

35. West Coast | Tom Wilson - Key Forward - 69kg/194cm (Very light for his height, but may add touch to tjr Eagles forward line)

36. Port Adelaide | Tim Sullivan - Ruckman - 91kg/200cm (May want to boast their ruck stocks, having only one solid ruckman. From SA as well, and is supposedly a hidden gem in this year's draft)

Draft order really goes nuts here when Sydney, Brisbane and GWS all have picks, after picking academy players early. Other draftees include:

St Kilda | Bailey Rice (F/S) - Midfielder - 81kg/185cm (Picked St Kilda over Carlton. Good contested ball winner)

31. Collingwood | Tom Cole - Half-Back - 76kg/185cm (Ball winning defender who can play higher up the field. Magpies need defenders, and Cole is one of not too many still hanging around. Was very consistent for the Pioneers this year, averaging 25 touches)

The one postion the pies do not need is a small/medium defender.
Sharenberg, Williams, Langdon, Marsh, Sinclair, Ramsey and even Oxley..

• Banned

The one postion the pies do not need is a small/medium defender.
Sharenberg, Williams, Langdon, Marsh, Sinclair, Ramsey and even Oxley..

Yeah, I guess so. Although Sinclair and Ramsay are hardly anything to the club's future. Oxley doesn't really play that role. They certainly don't need more midfielders, and they hardly needs small forwards.

Dont write off Ramsey just yet.. Was really really good early last year..

Go back and watch Ramsay play early this year. He was really excellent. Long term Toovey replacement imo.

But yeah, I agree with matt_hillier , we have a surplus of small/medium defenders at the moment. Pretty sure Hine said in an interview a few weeks ago too that another key forward and some outside pace were our most pressing needs.

Nice Work!! Tucker (early) and Mathieson (late) are the only questionable ones I reckon, but all in all would love if your draft falls for the Baggers that way! Nice to see a Pie helping a Blue out for once!!

Picks are all over the place, i think the order was pre-trade period so there would be some shuffling depending on needs

• Banned
Go back and watch Ramsay play early this year. He was really excellent. Long term Toovey replacement imo.

But yeah, I agree with matt_hillier , we have a surplus of small/medium defenders at the moment. Pretty sure Hine said in an interview a few weeks ago too that another key forward and some outside pace were our most pressing needs.

If he's still hanging around, Tom Wilson is a key forward, would give White, Cloke and Reid a push hopefully to stay out of the reserves. Maybe a small forward like Rioli is he's still around could make Blair focus more on what he's doing, and it's highly unlikely, but Ben McKay would be a gun full-back pick-up.

Cant see Crows taking Milera ahead of Oliver. Crows have enough similar players to Milera and he is overrated anyway. His one good SANFL game was against a slow Glenelg side.

Looks the right order to me.

After looking again it looks like he's factored in the bidding system, which is something I'm not even going to attempt to start getting my head around

Cant see Crows taking Milera ahead of Oliver. Crows have enough similar players to Milera and he is overrated anyway. His one good SANFL game was against a slow Glenelg side.

Had an excellent game against Port in the 1st Semi Final as well. Agree though that with players like Betts & Cameron, he may be surplus to their needs. I think most people are predicting that he will go to Adelaide because he is from SA, but the Crows have shown that they will draft from anywhere over the last 6 or 7 years.

Port only have 1 solid ruck? Thought Lobbe has been pretty decent the last few years and Ryder is a top 10 ruckman in the league. I can't see us wasting our first pick on a ruckman unless he is "best available".
If we do get a ruck, I think it'll be in the rookie draft or with a later pick.

Port only have 1 solid ruck? Thought Lobbe has been pretty decent the last few years and Ryder is a top 10 ruckman in the league. I can't see us wasting our first pick on a ruckman unless he is "best available".
If we do get a ruck, I think it'll be in the rookie draft or with a later pick.

Lobbe is the gun I was talking about. Ryder is hardly a ruckman but a forward option. That could change however with the recruit of Dixon.

I'm sorry, it's a good effort, but two points I want to bring up:
- Firstly, unless Aaron Francis goes to an SA club, I have a good feeling that he won't be a one-club player - have seen rumours that he suffers from massive homesickness.

- Secondly, I truly believe that the Dogs are as likely a pairing for Dunkley and Zac Dawson is for Hawthorn. It will, surely, never, ever happen. The player we very least need in the whole draft.

10. Melbourne | Darcy Tucker - Half-Back - 80kg/184cm (A bit high probably but the reason for this is because Melbourne have a poor defence and they certainly don't have talented youngsters spilling out of it either. Fast player who should adapt to AFL footy quickly at any club)

Completely disagree. Tom McDonald, Christian Salem? If Oliver is there at 10 (as your phantom suggests) we will pick him

I'm sorry, it's a good effort, but two points I want to bring up:
- Firstly, unless Aaron Francis goes to an SA club, I have a good feeling that he won't be a one-club player - have seen rumours that he suffers from massive homesickness.

- Secondly, I truly believe that the Dogs are as likely a pairing for Dunkley and Zac Dawson is for Hawthorn. It will, surely, never, ever happen. The player we very least need in the whole draft.

I agree about Dunkley, but Francis hasn't discovered his fears yet. He's from a small town three hours way from Adelaide, so when he went to school in Adelaide, it could only have strengthened his ability to live away from home.

Completely disagree. Tom McDonald, Christian Salem? If Oliver is there at 10 (as your phantom suggests) we will pick him

Salem is nothing special thus far. Was great in his debut year but can't say he was game changing this year. McDonald is a terrific player, I agree. But who else is there? Frost would surely have to play next year, and Dunn way past it. Garland and Grimes go alright but they're nothing special. The club need another injection of defenders sometime. You have plenty of talent in the midfield.

If you watched Melbourne, you would know he was injured from round 7-21. Was a huge loss when he went down and he definitely had no rust when he returned after 14 weeks out

adding to your post, McDonald is a future star if he is not already. Garland is a solid player. I consider Grimes a complete dud. Frost could be the support Hogan needs but I think he will eventually be a long term defender until we get some quality to support Hogan. Whether it be via draft or trade

If you watched Melbourne, you would know he was injured from round 7-21. Was a huge loss when he went down and he definitely had no rust when he returned after 14 weeks out

adding to your post, McDonald is a future star if he is not already. Garland is a solid player. I consider Grimes a complete dud. Frost could be the support Hogan needs but I think he will eventually be a long term defender until we get some quality to support Hogan. Whether it be via draft or trade

Gee, you're touchy. I already acknowledged that McDonald is a star, no need to repeat it. Salem isn't THAT good, and Melbourne won't be going anywhere without a defence which they hardly have.

We won't waste 36 on a ruckman; sullivan hasn't even played in a year and is highly touted to be overlooked in the nd and/or a late late rookie pick.