D1 2016 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

Why is too much to ask the person who is reporting on games for the Division to actually go and watch some of them? Seems a reasonable ask to me.

The Di Langtons of this world are rare indeed (non-club affiliated scribes). She was great as she would go to watch a selected senior game each week, and often get a free lunch!

As everyone knows its a volunteer gig and frankly in my experience pretty much everyone who writes comes from a VAFA club where, in this world of minimal volunteer assistance, it's as important to their club that they be there in match day such that leaving to watch another game of footy would seem like cheating on your club.

A more balanced approach involves having several club contacts who know their team/players intimately and can send something through after the game to go into your column.

I cannot recall a season where the VAFA were so inundated with interest for scribe roles that they knocked people back. If they could, no doubt the club affiliated ones would be left aside in favour of completely non-affiliated writers.

That's the reality. You just have to work with it and tip in what you can to make sure your club is reported upon regularly and accurately.

The Di Langtons of this world are rare indeed (non-club affiliated scribes). She was great as she would go to watch a selected senior game each week, and often get a free lunch!

As everyone knows its a volunteer gig and frankly in my experience pretty much everyone who writes comes from a VAFA club where, in this world of minimal volunteer assistance, it's as important to their club that they be there in match day such that leaving to watch another game of footy would seem like cheating on your club.

A more balanced approach involves having several club contacts who know their team/players intimately and can send something through after the game to go into your column.

I cannot recall a season where the VAFA were so inundated with interest for scribe roles that they knocked people back. If they could, no doubt the club affiliated ones would be left aside in favour of completely non-affiliated writers.

That's the reality. You just have to work with it and tip in what you can to make sure your club is reported upon regularly and accurately.
Good idea. Call the club and get something to write about. Doesn't seem hard. Much easier than writing 2 pages of nonsense

What a lot of rot. A graders? An A grader out is Ben Dowd playing in the ressies like he did yesterday, or Steve Gilham not playing, again like yesterday. They are 'A graders', I'd suggest you have no one even near that level at your club. Don't get ahead of yourselves and be disparaging after a loss, it lacks class.
So, using your "logic" Briz, those two are B Graders, heh?

More Di Langton's I say.;)

pretty easy solution I reckon.

Much better to have a prospective sports journo writing first-hand accounts than relying solely on recycling club base biased accounts of varying quality.

How about the VAFA dip into their coffers and offer a fee to allow people to move around the various games so a personal take is the cornerstone of the reports and tips. Heaven knows their affiliation fees are high enough.

Much better to have a prospective sports journo writing first-hand accounts than relying solely on recycling club base biased accounts of varying quality.

How about the VAFA dip into their coffers and offer a fee to allow people to move around the various games so a personal take is the cornerstone of the reports and tips. Heaven knows their affiliation fees are high enough.
Like that's gonna happen?

No reason why it shouldn't.

Oh and btw. Spoke to a former Salesian coach today who also once played for the Monders. So knows both grounds. Fell about laughing at the suggestion St Mary's Salesian ground is 30% smaller than Gunn. I now see the link between your avatar and your posts.;)

Ridiculous for so many reasons.

No reason why it shouldn't.

Oh and btw. Spoke to a former Salesian coach today who also once played for the Monders. So knows both grounds. Fell about laughing at the suggestion St Mary's Salesian ground is 30% smaller than Gunn. I now see the link between your avatar and your posts.;)

Chuckle. I was on a wind up. Gunn Res. IS not much bigger than Ferndale Park. Anyone who has seen both could attest to that. I'm just on this forum for laughs. You're on top of it AM. Clearly, not much escapes your attention.

Can't believe it needs explanation. Didn't know there was a limit on forum space.
Silly comment again Les. Have no problem in having a conversation about a suggestion I make and pleased to accept valid criticism. But when the response is vacuous and you persist in providing not a scintilla of substance to your vacuous post it adds nothing to the conversation.
Chuckle. I was on a wind up. Gunn Res. IS not much bigger than Ferndale Park. Anyone who has seen both could attest to that. I'm just on this forum for laughs. You're on top of it AM. Clearly, not much escapes your attention.

Must say your facetious side alluded me. Got the irony in your last bit though.;)

Takes all sorts to make a forum tick over. Serious and not so serious. Must ask Lumpy when I next see him who his whimsical Wicker follower might be. :)

Silly comment again Les. Have no problem in having a conversation about a suggestion I make and pleased to accept valid criticism. But when the response is vacuous and you persist in providing not a scintilla of substance to your vacuous post it adds nothing to the conversation.

Must say your facetious side alluded me. Got the irony in your last bit though.;)

Takes all sorts to make a forum tick over. Serious and not so serious. Must ask Lumpy when I next see him who his whimsical Wicker follower might be. :)
Ask anyone.

I'll leave it then. Many a team has run out on the ground missing half their best 22 and still won.

In my opinion, your comment demonstrates a lack of respect to Bulleen Templestowe.

No disrespect at all. Good on BT but people are asking why it was such a blowout and not having half your best side in does not help. They may have still won but not with the final result. And I beg to differ that many a team with half their best side have won games of football. I would say that is more an anomaly in todays age.

What a lot of rot. A graders? An A grader out is Ben Dowd playing in the ressies like he did yesterday, or Steve Gilham not playing, again like yesterday. They are 'A graders', I'd suggest you have no one even near that level at your club. Don't get ahead of yourselves and be disparaging after a loss, it lacks class.
What I am talking about mate is that there were a lot of their regular A grade out (not A graders as in guns). Look for what its worth my son is CHF for SMS just moved down from Darwin. He can play (was NT thunder U18s last year in TAC). Now are you and others calling my son a liar?

Christ this forum is worse than the AFL forums. Think I might bow out. Thanks but no thanks

No disrespect at all. Good on BT but people are asking why it was such a blowout and not having half your best side in does not help. They may have still won but not with the final result. And I beg to differ that many a team with half their best side have won games of football. I would say that is more an anomaly in todays age.

If you are used to winning heaps because you have had close to your best side in week in week out, maybe get ready for the law of averages to come into play.

It's inevitable in the VAFA, particularly in the higher grades with the higher intensity, that teams will have to deal with more than 6-8 of their best 22 unavailable. That's why clubs with depth tend to progress up into Premier C and beyond.

What I am talking about mate is that there were a lot of their regular A grade out (not A graders as in guns). Look for what its worth my son is CHF for SMS just moved down from Darwin. He can play (was NT thunder U18s last year in TAC). Now are you and others calling my son a liar?

Christ this forum is worse than the AFL forums. Think I might bow out. Thanks but no thanks
Before you bow out are you able to shed some light on SMS relationship with the Northern Territory. In recent years you have had some terrific young players come from there.
Gary Puruntatameri certainly looks very fast when he gets his hands on the ball and knows how to slot goals. Good luck