2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I can see Ballenden going earlier, Every time Brisbane had an academy tall they turned out to be guns. Andrews, Hippy and now potentially Ballenden.

Freeman, Tickner, Hammelmann...

briztoon cotter101 Do either of you know anything about Campbell Walker? He has been impressive in the reserves the last two weeks, named in the bests, kicking goals as a small forward. Did he have an injury in his draft year? Is he a rookie chance for us? Thanks in advance.

I don't follow the reserves or academy, and I don't have links to club to know who's who from the academy. However google is a wonderful thing and it appears he was a 2016 academy member who went undrafted last year.

I do not know if they are playing club footy elsewhere, but quite a few of last years undrafted academy players have topped up the reserve teams this season.

briztoon cotter101 Do either of you know anything about Campbell Walker? He has been impressive in the reserves the last two weeks, named in the bests, kicking goals as a small forward. Did he have an injury in his draft year? Is he a rookie chance for us? Thanks in advance.
Did an ACL if I recall correctly.

p.s. I really shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as cotter101. I'm just a pretender and know it. I follow the various draft boards on BF and elsewhere and just parrot what is said by the guys who actually go out and watch games and write up match reports and player profiles.

No worries. Just new around here. Wasn't sure who to ask. Modesty is impressive though.

Yeah our academy top ups tend to play for Aspley, Redland etc if we don' t need them.

News flash - Ballenden isn't either
Actually Ballenden is rated fairly high I believe. Definitly higher than the others l mentioned by a fair margin. I would be almost certain that he is rated higher now than he was a few months ago after he played in the defensive area and showed how valuable he could be. A key tall with great disposals that can go anywhere (ruck, forward, back) is really valuable.

We could potentially end up with pick 4, even if we lose against Melbourne this week. If we thump Norf next week and Gold coast cop a hiding both weeks, we'll be above them.

Actually Ballenden is rated fairly high I believe. Definitly higher than the others l mentioned by a fair margin. I would be almost certain that he is rated higher now than he was a few months ago after he played in the defensive area and showed how valuable he could be. A key tall with great disposals that can go anywhere (ruck, forward, back) is really valuable.
Ballenden was rated a potential top 5 pick a few months ago. He has dropped off a bit due to his inconsistency. He had a really impressive year last year as an under ager but didn't really live up to the hype this year

He was rated a top 5 pick last year. A few months ago when he was very inconsistent and not showing much in the games he was a late 1st rounder l reckon. His games in defence has pushed him to a mid to late 1st rounder imo

Not sure what your definition of a few months is, but in April/May (3-4 months ago) most draft experts had him top 5. Knightmare had him at 4 in his April rankings for example. He's dropped off as the year went on

I was basically referring to during the champs where he showed next to nothing. He did drop as you and l both said. But then shifted to defence and showed quite a bit. I reckon recruiters would have been interested in him the last few games he played which might have raised his draft position a little bit

Honestly after seeing Conor first hand I am thrilled we're drafting him. He looks such a complete player. He covers the ground well when given the license to run, is not afraid to hit tackles/contests hard and is Elite by foot (not sure by hand). He can play forward, back or ruck which is huge when you think about having 3 of Ballenden, Andrews, Mcstay and Hipwood who can play will forward and back. Our versatility is huge in the kpp stocks.