2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

This is our 1 chance at pick 1, IMO we have to get a long term player that will build our team, and a player that will fill a role we are in need of. To me - as an outsider that has seen SFA of any of them - Rayner has far too many question marks, and whilst he may be the most naturally gifted in this draft has too many question marks. LDU is a good midfielder, but will not change our one paced midfield, and has queries of his own. Paddy Dow is the one for us - he may have his imperfections, but fits our needs profile well.

And on the team side - he is a mate of Clug and Berry and would enhance the chance of all three developing into integral parts of our next premiership midfield.

Paddy Dow, come on down.:thumbsu:
Don't really think he is a mate of Clug and Berry, I think it is them just wanting another Vic Country player. I also want Dow, altough if our recruiters believe that the Rayner rumours are overblown then I would also be happy with him. Kinda feel we got the pick 1 in the wrong year but can't do anything bout it

This is our 1 chance at pick 1, IMO we have to get a long term player that will build our team, and a player that will fill a role we are in need of. To me - as an outsider that has seen SFA of any of them - Rayner has far too many question marks, and whilst he may be the most naturally gifted in this draft has too many question marks. LDU is a good midfielder, but will not change our one paced midfield, and has queries of his own. Paddy Dow is the one for us - he may have his imperfections, but fits our needs profile well.

And on the team side - he is a mate of Clug and Berry and would enhance the chance of all three developing into integral parts of our next premiership midfield.

Pretty excited about Dow. We are finally drafting someone with some pace but he is also very comfortable in throwing his body around and winning the loose ground balls. A workman that might lack a bit of class but nonetheless the perfect fit and someone who we have been screaming out for for years. McCluggage, Berry and Dow midfield looks very well balanced from where I stand.

Yeah, I think in terms of raw fit he's the best pick for us from the top tier. Although if Rayner manages to finish in the 80th percentile in the yo yo that might change.

At this stage I'd love it if we were able to get Dow, Higgins and Worpel before we need to match for Ballenden. Would all be really good fits for the group we're building imo.

Yeah, I think in terms of raw fit he's the best pick for us from the top tier. Although if Rayner manages to finish in the 80th percentile in the yo yo that might change.

At this stage I'd love it if we were able to get Dow, Higgins and Worpel before we need to match for Ballenden. Would all be really good fits for the group we're building imo.
Yep I agree with all who think Higgins would be a good get for us. He's my preferred target with Port's pick. Hopefully they lose to the Eagles granting us pick 12. Higgins as someone who wins the contested footy, racks up the possessions, has high tackle numbers and can kick goals definitely fills a need for us. He lacks hurt factor but his ability as a small crumbing forward sort of makes up for that imo. He kind of reminds me of Ainsworth although Ainsworth is more explosive and athletic(Higgins is more productive in the midfield though). Ainsworth stands out more to be fair.

I hear this a lot that he lacks hurt factor and granted I don't have much to go on but what I've seen in the midfield he's got the smarts and grunt to create things and can identify opportunities to move the play and create scoring chains or opportunities. He's also a pretty good mark for a small bloke, especially one on one. That in itself is pretty handy but the small forward stuff you mentioned is what tantalises me. Haven't seen those big bags he's kicked in TAC but he seems like a mid grunt with forward nous that is absolutely perfect for that Toby Greene role. Would love someone really dangerous around goal, that can take a mark and rotate through the midfield and win his own balls as well as get things going. Damn hard worker too. Just feel like he might be slightly out of our reach. Seems 7-10. Would love, love, love if that Port Pick was enough to get him.

I think Fagan's comment re: hybrid midfielder means someone who can win the contested ball but can also provide outside run, preferably with good skills.

So someone like Dow or Rayner. ;)

EFA. ;)

With Dow's highlights, there are enough glimpses of different traits that if he can put it all together, he'll be a star midfielder.

Sure at present his kicks can be a bit of kick long in hope, but Dangerfield still does that, and he's had 10 years in the AFL to fix that already. ;)

Great review.......People tend to overlook Fagan's very specific brief.I think Constable will work into this territory, and wouldn't mind taking him second pick.Sometimes small actions have great significance, and when the last centre square contest happened, between the allies and vic.metro. virtually to decide the game,Rayner went into the square, and his opponent was Zac Bailey. Bailey swept the ball forward in Dangerfield style ,desperate and committed, and Rayner hardly seem to move,and Bailey virtually won it for them
Higgins is not within cooee of Ainsworth.
.Bailey has had comparatively little development compared to most,and I think he is a great second or third option.

Great review.......People tend to overlook Fagan's very specific brief.I think Constable will work into this territory, and wouldn't mind taking him second pick.Sometimes small actions have great significance, and when the last centre square contest happened, between the allies and vic.metro. virtually to decide the game,Rayner went into the square, and his opponent was Zac Bailey. Bailey swept the ball forward in Dangerfield style ,desperate and committed, and Rayner hardly seem to move,and Bailey virtually won it for them

.Bailey has had comparatively little development compared to most,and I think he is a great second or third option.
Yup.

Not as far off as some people like to think I reckon as players who play a small forward role but have the ability to play as midfielders. As I said Ainsworth is more athletic and stands out more but Higgins is a little gun in his own right. One thing that cannot be disputed is they are both ultra competitive and desperate to be the best player on the ground whenever they cross the white line.

very nice Len. currently my top 4 picks for my Lions team are Coffield, Constable, Bailey and Miers. must get the 1st and the 3rd.must get Ballenden and Payne. yes there are others i like and yes my hope is to both sell the no. 1 pick and also get something for rocky or martin leaving. i'm praying ! I am against trading in players and i am treating this and the next drafts as one. unless we have a really bad year, which is possible,we can't get rankine but we can get our choice of the next classiest best fit midfielder and another at the next pick we have -given the number of talls expected in the top 10 2018 draft

I don't follow. Why is it any drop at all? It's not as if another club gets ahead of you. If you mean perception, does anyone really care if 5 becomes 6?
Yep - sorry if I wasn't clear. I meant perception alone. You can go from "we added another top 5 pick to our list" to "we added a pick 6 to our list". Only minor, for sure, but there's an element of sales in it. As I said - pick 21 vs 22 is nothing, but "we rated him the 4th best in the draft" is better than "we rated him 5th best in the draft, and we really would've preferred someone else". Only really matters to die-hard fans, but still - clubs do small things for appearances' sake.
Didn't Carlton bid on Setterfield last year at 5 and end up taking Petrevski-Seton at 6. Don't recall too much press about that.
Have to get bid on eventually... From memory, KM wasn't alone in having him at 3 - most draft watchers had him there. He still slipped to 5. Could just be coincidence, but from my general observations, academy picks tend to get bid on later than most serious phantom drafters have them. This may (or may not, I'm purely speculating) be one of the reasons.

Having seen a lot of Higgins (including his recent 7 goal haul against the Pioneers), I would describe him more as an opportunist small forward rather than a burst one, a la Ainsworth. It's not really a good comparison because they offer very different things. In any event, I doubt he will still be available at our second pick.

Had a good chat with Adam Cerra at school today, he is pretty keen to stay in Melbourne and would love to go to the Pies at 6..
Had a laugh with him and said if he ends up at Brissie he better not bloody leave! and he laughed and said nah wherever I go I will be committed, and I quote " could be worse then playing footy on good coin for a living, even in Brisbane" haha
Very nice young man, humble and unassuming. Shoulder in cast but otherwise is a solid, athletic, very well put together kid.

Paddy Dow gone for shoulder surgery, will be a delayed pre-season,anyone think he might slide or still in the mix for pick 1?

Probably has enough runs on the board given he played the whole season.

Paddy Dow gone for shoulder surgery, will be a delayed pre-season,anyone think he might slide or still in the mix for pick 1?
Paddy Dow shoulder surgery.
Adam Cerra shoulder surgery.
Darcy Fogarty knee surgery.
Callum Coleman-Jones knee surgery.
Charlie Spargo shoulder surgery.

The surgery he is going in for, is that likely to have any long term damage? i.e is there a higher risk of him having shoulder issues later in life etc?
Arthroscopic reconstruction, i have no idea what the long term issues might be.

The surgery he is going in for, is that likely to have any long term damage? i.e is there a higher risk of him having shoulder issues later in life etc?
Both Beams (already had) and Rockliff are having shoulder surgery as well. Rockliff is having a full shoulder reconstruction.

I do not know if clubs put much emphasis on a players physical measurements, but looking at Paddy Dow he looks to have long arms and large hands. Also looks to have a frame that can put a bit of size on.

Coming from a basketball background, there is significant emphasis placed on elite athletes body measurements, especially when looking at a players defensive potential. Different for AFL, but I would have to image long arms would be a positive in marking contests, so to larger hands.