2017 Draft thread

It will be interesting to see how constable runs in the 2km as well. The knock on him is supposed to be his running too.

I guess if we pick Brayshaw it may not matter so much but if we go with Rayner, the club would be crazy to bring in another player with running issues. North did that with cunnington and ziebell which has badly affected their midfield IMO.

Fogarty's time will also be interesting. I'm hoping it's good so he doesn't drop anywhere near our picks.

I was really underwhelmed by Constable's highlights. Seemed to plant the feet whenever he got the footy in clearances and just throw out a handball. Won't be afforded that amount of time in the AFL unless he learns to move instinctively into space.

Looked a bit more impressive as a third tall though. Although again there doesn't seem to be instinctive movement you hope for when someone wins the footy.

I should hope that we genuinely believe Brayshaw is a superior talent to the likes of a Rayner or LDU if we do indeed select him at 1.

It's clear things have improved around the club and I would think we are in a position to now retain players. If it is a line-ball call between Rayner, LDU, Dow or Brayshaw sure, use the most recent interview as a point of differentiation between them. However, if he's slightly less talented, yet seems to be less of a flight risk, I would have issues with us taking him.

Rayner looks to have the most X factor about him based purely on those videos. He also tackles aggressively and appears to have a nice set of hands. Sure he might have some tank issues, but most of the time they can be resolved by an elite training environment. Thus, he would be my choice. Quality inside mids do have a habit of emerging from later picks/rookie drafts anyway. Rayner's attributes on the other hand are harder to find.

Easy pick for me that one, Aiden Bonar, him and Jaidyn Stephenson have the two biggest upside potential IMO.

Higgins for sure. Very safe pick, but I don't think he will be there at 15.

I don't know too much about the players and draft as much as you guys but l wouldbn't mind Constable. Big, modern inside midfielder, doesn't fumble too much, could complement Berry and Matho and LDU if we nab him

I like Bonar the most of that group the so would take him. Higgins would be a good get though too. I suppose if all four are there at 15 we're guaranteed to get two of them if we'd like. If we take Bonar you would think Dogs would take Murphy and then Richmond would be looking at one of the talls still on the board and we could take Higgins with 18. I think we'd have to be pretty lucky for all four to be available though.

Just by going from these responses you can see the draft is quiet even. There seems to be a less definable talent brackets this year compared to last few years for the top 20... there are a the top 4 or so, and then from 5-20 it is fairly even. It's annoying that we are limited in who we can take because of 'homesick' kids though. Scotty Clayton came out firing about kids saying they will walk after 2 years at the Suns and that will no doubt have an affect on the talent pool you can select from. No doubt we suffer from the same issues.

Interesting times ahead and I definitely have to feel for the Lions list managers. Must be stressful.

But that's kinda my point. Oxygen carrying ability is only one relevant factor. Top speed is another. Determination/gut-running is another. Fitness and endurance is another. It's been stated that he's been working on his tank in the offseason. Has it improved? Being able to run 2km at reasonable speed might tell you a bit about his physiology, but I (along with most people here, I assume) am interested in whether he has actually improved gains over 7 or 8 km, particularly at repeat sprint pace.
You're right, there are many components. But the point of the combine testing is to get information they don't already have. They can assess his gut running from watching games, they can get an idea about his grit and psychology from interviews, speed is determined in the sprint testing, repeat sprint is assessed in the repeat sprint test. This is about giving clubs information they don't currently have access to.

I was really underwhelmed by Constable's highlights. Seemed to plant the feet whenever he got the footy in clearances and just throw out a handball. Won't be afforded that amount of time in the AFL unless he learns to move instinctively into space.

Looked a bit more impressive as a third tall though. Although again there doesn't seem to be instinctive movement you hope for when someone wins the footy.

I'm only going off the meagre footage online but he looked to me to have clean hands and a quick mind, both of which are super valuable in an inside mid i think. He'll never be a grab it and burst away type mid, but as a distributor, i thought there was some promise. Obviously that role doesn't require extreme pace, but if he can't cover the ground then he's not much use. We already have Matho who struggles in this area, don't need anymore IMO.

Of course he would say Collingwood, he’s a massive fan and his bedroom is a shrine to that club.
I don't like 1st, 2nd year players nominating a club that they want to be traded to let alone players nominating clubs pre being drafted.

If the Dockers had him in mind for pick 5 what would they be thinking now?

I wonder if there is much difference today growing up as a kid a fan of one team. The game is so commercialised, with so much media content available, that kids can follow their team 24/7.

Also with the increasing freedom of movement for players, is it any wonder we're starting to see kids determined to play for "their" team.

Brisbane Lions weigh up draft bolter with top pick over favourite Cameron Rayner
JAY CLARK, Herald Sun
November 15, 2017 3:00pm
Subscriber only
ANDREW Brayshaw has emerged as a surprise candidate for Brisbane’s No.1 pick as the Lions strongly consider the Sandringham ball-winner.

The younger brother of Melbourne hard nut Angus Brayshaw was widely considered a top-20 pick mid-year but has surged into top-three calculations in the past month.

Hailed as a future captain and 200-game star, the accomplished midfielder is considered one of the most well-rounded and reliable midfield talents in next Friday night’s national draft.

BUCKENARA: WHAT YOUR CLUB NEEDS ON DRAFT NIGHT

EVERY CLUB: BEST AND WORST DRAFT CLASSES

YOUNG GUNS: GARY BUCKENARA’S TOP 30 DRAFT PROSPECTS

BROTHERS: DRAGONS’ “HAMISH AND ANDY” SHOW

Brayshaw’s considerable leadership and character strengths also fits snugly with the young Lions’ needs as they look to fast-track their rebuild under coach Chris Fagan.

“He’s probably the safest bet of the lot,” one recruiter said of Brayshaw.

“He might not be as eye-catching as some of the others, but you could plonk him in the middle, know he will play well and build a team around him pretty comfortably.

961f083b236e5a6c8007efaff6e1fbed

Andrew Brayshaw shows the pain after competing in the yo-yo endurance test during the AFL Draft Combine.
“For them (Lions), it wouldn’t be a bad move.”

Brisbane could also snare Brayshaw’s older brother, Hamish, late in the draft order or as a rookie on November 27 to help fill-out its midfield.

Andrew Brayshaw has firmed as this year’s biggest draft bolter after an impressive draft combine last month when he topped the endurance running (yo-yo) test.

The 184cm midfielder has also posted a 15.2 beep test and will be ready to play senior footy in his debut AFL season next year.

While he has not provided as many spectacular highlights or kicked as many goals as some of the other pick No.1 candidates, talent-spotters love his consistency and attitude.

Sandringham talent manager Ryan O’Connor said Brayshaw was worthy of an early draft choice.

“There’s a really good mix of footy, character and commitment there, so I think it would be a pretty appealing package, particularly, too, for an interstate club,” O’Connor said.

“If he was lucky enough to do that (be taken No.1), I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t let them down.”

3295c8c9c6c4ac22c3ae62e70a61fdf1

Andrew Brayshaw in action for Vic Metro.
9f959f13dafc69da2a464d2270d029d5

Angus Brayshaw in action for Melbourne. Picture: Michael Klein
It means exciting forward-midfielder Cameron Rayner, who has long been linked to the No.1 pick, could slip down the order to either Fremantle (No.2), Carlton (No.3) or North Melbourne (No.4).

It would be a dream result for the Kangaroos who would love to have Rayner’s creative goal kicking and x-factor.

Others in the mix for the No.1 pick include midfielders Luke Davies-Uniacke and Paddy Dow.

But the Lions could favour the dependability and decision-making of Brayshaw, who has also made clear to Brisbane he would have no worries moving interstate.

“When you sign the dotted line, you sign up for a national competition so it’s not just Melbourne, you can go interstate and I think that’s an awesome opportunity,” Brayshaw said on SEN.

After an early-season quad injury, Champion Data rated Brayshaw the No.1 ranked player over his two games at the national championships where he averaged two score assists a game.

The Haileybury product’s 14 kicks were also 100 per cent effective, underlining his clever foot skills.

In the TAC Cup Andrew averaged 25 disposals at 73 per cent disposal efficiency, rated elite for his position.

That's just shit by Naughton.

What a flog.
Don't see anything wrong with this 17 year old young fella outwardly saying he would prefer to go back to where he was born & play for Collingwood. We all forget to understand that these potential AFL stars are all kids. Calling him out saying That's just shit by Naughton for me is out of order and then going a step further and calling him a flog is pretty low. Thousands of kids dream of playing AFL for their favourite club of choice from a young age, so why wouldn't any kid want to realise his dreams? The challenge for Freo is to change his mind by showing him a pathway via the Dockers that he could consider exciting enough to want to be there. Same as any other club in the AFL. The kid is entitled to an opinion about his own life without copping your above abuse.

Wingard was the same wasnt he? Pretty much told GWS that he didnt want to go there and would leave after 2 years?

Yep. Was lauded as being "brave" for ensuring he'd slip through the first five picks and get to stay at home at pick 6.

Don't see anything wrong with this 17 year old young fella outwardly saying he would prefer to go back to where he was born & play for Collingwood. We all forget to understand that these potential AFL stars are all kids. Calling him out saying That's just shit by Naughton for me is out of order and then going a step further and calling him a flog is pretty low. Thousands of kids dream of playing AFL for their favourite club of choice from a young age, so why wouldn't any kid want to realise his dreams? The challenge for Freo is to change his mind by showing him a pathway via the Dockers that he could consider exciting enough to want to be there. Same as any other club in the AFL. The kid is entitled to an opinion about his own life without copping your above abuse.

The problem is that the AFL brings players in via a restricted system called the National Draft. As with all drafts, it's intended to be an equalisation measure such that the worst on-field clubs get the first dibs on the best on-field talent. When flogs can manipulate it in a way to ensure they get to go where they want, it defeats the point of having a draft.

He knew the rules around the National Draft when he signed up for it. As with any player if they had a preference to stay home or move to a particular place they could have skipped the draft, gone to uni and/or gotten a job in that location.

One of the positive aspects of increased media coverage for us average punters is that we can get a bit of a glimpse into the character of the potential draftees. What has emerged is interesting. Earlier, Rayner for example was portrayed as a party boy and a flight risk. However what we are seeing is quite the opposite. A young man who is determined, a potential leader and a thoughtful, considered young man and one worthy of being the number 1 draft pick. His running deficiency aside character wise Fagan would love him. We are seeing Andrew Brayshaw also as possessing good leadership qualities, independent and expecting and confronting challenges without fear. Another who would be an asset to any team. This is really going to be a difficult decision.

Media coverage also sifts the ones that have already got ahead of themselves (Ling, Naughton) and exposes character traits that may be quite unhealthy injecting into Fagan's culture. Perhaps if Fagan was around Schache may not have been our choice at pick 2.

2017 Draft thread