2017 || Let's construct our best 22 || Part 3: Forward 6

• Thread starter Thread starter Headless

Our best forward unit of six?

Problem is I just don't really see Pedo as the solution to finally beat the Saints. I also think what he's most reliable at is not kicking very many goals, which isn't ideal in a forward. What I would really like is to select some other guy altogether, but what I have in mind isn't really on our list.

I think my real problem is that I'm getting depressed in advance for round 1 because, unless Lewis brings some kind of magical steadying influence - which is possible, I don't see any reason at all why we suddenly win this time.

Best option I've heard so far is go small and play AVB as the second forward, problem is if Gawn gets hurt we are absolutely ****ed but I love the idea of playing Kennedy, Garlett, Kent and Trac all in the same forward line with Hogan Watts and AVB rotating

Best option I've heard so far is go small and play AVB as the second forward, problem is if Gawn gets hurt we are absolutely ****** but I love the idea of playing Kennedy, Garlett, Kent and Trac all in the same forward line with Hogan Watts and AVB rotating
Yes I would try that. Saint defence gets a boost this year with Carlisle coming in but I figure multiple smalls could probably run through his legs.

Actually, apart from my usual pre Saints depression which I get every single time, it's a fascinating match up.

I don't want to even contemplate Gawn hurt. If it's any comfort he looks great at training - it's incredible stuff to see a bloke that tall who is also that fit and mobile. He's like some totally alien species. If the worst happens we still have Spencil. He's grown a vast Afro so possibly is developing cult figure leanings.

Yes I would try that. Saint defence gets a boost this year with Carlisle coming in but I figure multiple smalls could probably run through his legs.

Actually, apart from my usual pre Saints depression which I get every single time, it's a fascinating match up.

I don't want to even contemplate Gawn hurt. If it's any comfort he looks great at training - it's incredible stuff to see a bloke that tall who is also that fit and mobile. He's like some totally alien species. If the worst happens we still have Spencil. He's grown a vast Afro so possibly is developing cult figure leanings.

There's no evidence of this I can be bothered but I knew Gawn was something special in his first couple games, he didn't have that clumsiness below his knees of normal ruckmen especially of his size. Seemed to be unusually clean, what I didn't see coming was his brilliance above his head as well as his tap work
But yeah back to the game I reckon we need to try something different against the saints like playing on the counter against them. Problem with that Is their forward pressure Is awesome so that could cause a lot of holding the balls against us in our D50

Positive for us is that it being round 1 it will be a scrappy affair that will suit our inside game over their outside game
Carlisle is a gun BTW, what an awesome pick up for the saints personally think he is better than T.Mac

Best option I've heard so far is go small and play AVB as the second forward, problem is if Gawn gets hurt we are absolutely ****** but I love the idea of playing Kennedy, Garlett, Kent and Trac all in the same forward line with Hogan Watts and AVB rotating

If Gawn gets injured early we will probably lose the game. But I agree that Hogan, Watts and Vandenberg is our best combination and I still think it is worth the risk. Forward pressure is crucial in modern football and is more important than contested marking ability IMO.

There's no evidence of this I can be bothered but I knew Gawn was something special in his first couple games, he didn't have that clumsiness below his knees of normal ruckmen especially of his size. Seemed to be unusually clean, what I didn't see coming was his brilliance above his head as well as his tap work
But yeah back to the game I reckon we need to try something different against the saints like playing on the counter against them. Problem with that Is their forward pressure Is awesome so that could cause a lot of holding the balls against us in our D50

Positive for us is that it being round 1 it will be a scrappy affair that will suit our inside game over their outside game
Carlisle is a gun BTW, what an awesome pick up for the saints personally think he is better than T.Mac
Dunno about Carlisle. His best is superb, but he's been known to disappear as well. I don't know if he will ever be really reliable. He doesn't seem especially bright or mature either - I wouldn't swap Tommy for him. I'm probably being a bit hard on him but I kind of feel as though there have been a handful of games where I decided that Carlisle was the next big thing only for him to disappoint the very next week.

I don't think I am going to handle it very well if we don't finally beat the Saints. I'll probably go weird and suspend everyone's account. I think my most embarrassing hysterical meltdowns have been losses against the Saints. Even for 186 I was slightly better behaved, I just went silent and stern.

What is this thread I'm on? It's Headless best six forward right. Yeah we should definitely play the Weed. He's a few kilos bigger and looks to be getting the hang of things. Except if I remember rightly he is one of the growing number who seem to part their hair on the wrong side with the help of clay goo stuff. I don't know whether that is a worry or not.

If we play the Weed then along with Hogan and Watts he will have needed some tackling practice because we'd be lucky to get four tackles a game out of those three.

Pedersen isn't a matchwinner but he is a smart footballer and works well in our forward structure. It is no coincidence he has played in a lot of our wins since he came in.

If we play the Weed then along with Hogan and Watts he will have needed some tackling practice because we'd be lucky to get four tackles a game out of those three.

Pedersen isn't a matchwinner but he is a smart footballer and works well in our forward structure. It is no coincidence he has played in a lot of our wins since he came in.

It's a massive problem IMO, not sure if it's spoken about a lot internally but it's certainly not mentioned externally that Hogan Watts and too a lesser extent as he's a kid Weed really let us down when they don't tackle
So much of modern footy is holding the ball into your end that we can't afford to play 3 blokes who only want to do the pretty stuff

Watts copped it for years but for a big bloke Hogan is fair dinkum soft in the tackle

Didn't hurt omacs development but it certainly cost us a lot of goals early on
Our forward line has a lot more experience than our backline last year, and in any case, I don't actually think the difference between Pedo and Weed is that big.

For all of his "attack on the ball" Pedo's not actually a great player, hopefully as a team we can lift in the physical side of the game.

It's a massive problem IMO, not sure if it's spoken about a lot internally but it's certainly not mentioned externally that Hogan Watts and too a lesser extent as he's a kid Weed really let us down when they don't tackle
So much of modern footy is holding the ball into your end that we can't afford to play 3 blokes who only want to do the pretty stuff

Watts copped it for years but for a big bloke Hogan is fair dinkum soft in the tackle

Pedersen also understands his role as effectively the workhorse and decoy so he doesn't get in the way of Hogan and Watts, Weideman last year got in Hogans way badly in the Carlton game.

I'm not saying the Weid is bad I've got very high hopes for him but he is still very much a project player I think, and I'd rather Pedersen as a role player than just throwing the Weed in and hope it works like we did with Omac.

Yup. Watching the Weid attempt to turn and lumber after defenders last season tells me he's got a long way to go yet. Needs to build the frame up, work on the engine and the mobility. Has nice hands a good set shot but he'd want to be clunking them then slotting them regularly to make up for being a witches hat when the pill hits the deck.

Would like to see Pedo lining up round 1 - better option for the team at the moment.

Can't remember where I heard it so take it with a grain of salt, but I recall a report that Hoges is conscious of his defensive side not being up to scratch and has been working hard on it during the pre season. Proof will be in the pudding I guess.

I love the old FF as much as anyone, sit inside the 50 clubbing blokes and leading at the footy only to return to the square but you just can't do that anymore
Plus he could add another 10 goals to his season if he starts hunting blokes and 10 to someone else

I love the old FF as much as anyone, sit inside the 50 clubbing blokes and leading at the footy only to return to the square but you just can't do that anymore
Plus he could add another 10 goals to his season if he starts hunting blokes and 10 to someone else
One thing we don't have to worry about with Hoges is whether he has enough campaigner in him :D

Games at Etihad:

Petracca Hannan Jeffy
Watts Hogan Kent/JKH

Regarding Brayshaw, I'd have him and Lewis on wings. Leaves Bernie, Melksham, Salem and Tyson on the pine in my best 22.
I don't mind this.

Love this. Usually we try and play tall and monster the Saints defence but now that they have Carlisle and Brown, wouldn't mind our own mosquito fleet biting a few Sainters in the arse

Heard this too in one of the training reports. Anywho, Hoges has worked his arse off to play more up the ground this season and that means his general fitness is improved. Think he will have the ability to display those second, third and fourth efforts.

I think the interchange will actually be a bit more clear cut than we're thinking - Salem, Stretch, Brayshaw and Vince with maybe vdB replacing one.

Think Rd1 will go

Carlisle to Hogan
Brown to Watts
Fisher to Pedo/Weid

I don't mind the idea of playing the Weid in that case, think Fisher will have to play very smart to beat him, and if Weid does enough damage to force Fisher and Brown to swap Watts will towel Fisher.

Think Rd1 will go

Carlisle to Hogan
Brown to Watts
Fisher to Pedo/Weid

I don't mind the idea of playing the Weid in that case, think Fisher will have to play very smart to beat him, and if Weid does enough damage to force Fisher and Brown to swap Watts will towel Fisher.
Fisher's retired. Dempster would be the third tall in the side I'd imagine.

Always got those two confused anyway. Dempster then.