Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion Part II

gibbs is a fantastic player but dangerfield is better and all we got for him was pick 9, 28 and dean gore. i think two first rounders is unreasonable and sos probably senses he could be another one to bend over the crows. a first rounder and a handy depth/fringe/bottom 6 player from us really should do.

WTF would we want a bottom 6 player for?? We have 10 odd already ....... You are not going to get a 40 touch, clean disposal, goal kicking midfielder that is contracted, for a pick 15-18 and a hack .....

Bend over and kiss your own arse and while your there give yourself a reach around.

BTW just for your info .. Paddy was a FA you idiot.

what did sos want for gibbs last year? and what does sos want for gibbs now?

gibbs is a fantastic player but dangerfield is better and all we got for him was pick 9, 28 and dean gore. i think two first rounders is unreasonable and sos probably senses he could be another one to bend over the crows. a first rounder and a handy depth/fringe/bottom 6 player from us really should do.

Go away!

Go and retrospectively tell Geelong you want more from the trade and report back and add that to what you give us for Gibbs. :rolleyes: Jeez - sitting pretty on top of the ladder and some people are still sooking!

Dale Thomas will earn another contract with us for sure. Does some really good things and busts his gut.
Loved the match tonight, thought we were gone, we looked slow and flat at stages but we weathered the storm. So much room for improvement is what excites me.

Assuming jones continues his form for the rest of the year, perhaps he becomes the missing piece in a deal for kelly?

Something along the lines of Jones + murphy -> kelly + hopper

Rationale being that we have sufficient backline depth and structure that we could afford to lose a backline player or two, especially as the young ones continue to develop - Goal would be to retain kreuzer, gibbs, casboult, 2017 + 2018 1st round picks. If we wish to retain murphy, then one of the 1st round picks gets packaged off with Jones.

Pretty sure GWS could do with a good quality CHB - though if not, we'd get sufficient currency from teams needing to bolster their defence that we'd be able to send through to GWS.

Assuming jones continues his form for the rest of the year, perhaps he becomes the missing piece in a deal for kelly?

Rationale being that we have sufficient backline depth and structure that we could afford to lose a backline player or two, especially as the young ones continue to develop - Goal would be to retain kreuzer, gibbs, casboult, 2017 + 2018 1st round picks. If we wish to retain murphy, then one of the 1st round picks gets packaged off with Jones.

Pretty sure GWS could do with a good quality CHB - though if not, we'd get sufficient currency from teams needing to bolster their defence that we'd be able to send through to GWS.

That's right up there mate.

No to trading Murphy.

But yes, certainly opens up a possibility of us trading Jones to help us land Kelly/Hopper.
Would actually be sad to see him go in that event, but we have KPD depth and need more quality mids.

Interesting times.

That's right up there mate.
Assuming the kelly/hopper rumours are true - we need currency (without selling multiple first round picks). The backlines is probably the only area where we have sufficient depth -> weltering/mcreadie/plowman/williamson/byrne/docherty with another preseason, ASOS/Rowe/white as mature bodies - all shown that they have the potential to fulfil the required roles with potentially jaksch/sheehan/glass-mcasker should they get the opportunity to show their wares before end of 2017.

For various reasons, none of the above players are tradable/likely to have currency - the only exception is jones.

If Liam shows that his resurrection is not a mirage, then there is no way that you let him go. He has slotted in so well that he makes Jones and ASOS superfluous . Today was the best combination in defence I have seen in the navy Blue since sos's father was going around.
Kelly will be breaking his neck to get to us now that he can see what we are capable of with such a young list.

Lol just visited the Adelaide board...they are keeping seriously strong tabs on Gibbs' form.

Heaps of discussion about the merit of trading him in at the end of this year and what they'd be willing to give up for him.
They're discussing his stats and everything.

Lol just visited the Adelaide board...they are keeping seriously strong tabs on Gibbs' form.

Heaps of discussion about the merit of trading him in at the end of this year and what they'd be willing to give up for him.
They're discussing his stats and everything.

Some are beginning to come to terms with the fact that they may have to hand over their first...

Absolute amateurs, if only they knew that was only the beginning,

Club culture is a delicate thing when it comes to trading players. We saw what happened when Hawthorn botched it last year, and Essendon never recovered from when they traded out Caracella, Blumfield and Heffernan in 2002.

It's not an exact science, but trading Murphy would be disastrous.

Just an observation but if you watch Gibbs closely he seems to me he wants to be there,plays with passion,loves his teammates and talks the team up.Not sure that's a player who wants out,but who knows what's happening behind closed doors.Pressure from the fam might be telling.

Benaly he does appear like that but if the missus is desperate to get home to be around family support network because of a young family i can see this resulting in another trade request at seasons end.

Praise for Gibbs though, has been complete professional. Outstanding year

Lel no. Far out you guys are small minded. Must be the water.

This is a piece that could push you over the top. If you come close and fail this year...you should remember the non trade last year cost you a flag.

Pick 17ish for Gibbs? Lel what a bunch of jokers.

If you want gibbs sos will bend you over and you will take it.

Adelaide are completely delusional if they think one first and steak knives will get a contacted player. It's more ridiculous to worry about their firsts when they are a chance at the flag this year and would be favourites with Gibbs. An A grade mid for 2 picks 16-18 and a chance to win a flag. Genius club they are to knock that back, id be sacking the list manager.

Comparing it to Danger who was out of contract is also wrong. I'd be asking for more than the 2 firsts at this point for wasting our time.

With Jones in form at 25, ASOS form also. Id expect Rowe gets a rookie spot next year as a support though injury from the club. Jones resigned and ASOS to the main list. Interesting turn of events.

I think the only way the Gibbs deal ends up getting done is a 3 way. Lever gets to the Saints, Gibbs to Adelaide and a first from each to us with a steak knives off Adelaide.

Better for us than both Adelaide 1sts especially if we can swing Hawk>Saints 1st :p.

But honestly I would prefer a pick in next years draft hmmm