Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion

It was mentioned on C7 news that rumours are teh Blues are making play for a 'gun' midfielder.. they mentioned Dusty but i would say that is unlikely... The one i reckon we might have a bit of interest in his Tom Rockliffe.

If you're a midfielder who doesn't find much of the ball at TAC Cup level it's very unlikely you going to get much better at it at AFL level.

This is not necessarily true, a player like Botempelli or Nat Fyfe at u18 level were not accumulators of the footy.

It was mentioned on C7 news that rumours are teh Blues are making play for a 'gun' midfielder.. they mentioned Dusty but i would say that is unlikely... The one i reckon we might have a bit of interest in his Tom Rockliffe.
I can't imagine we would be going after Rockliff, he was a major part of the problems Brisbane had retaining players.

What would he know. The majority on bigfooty agree that we are miles away and at least 2020 before finals . FWIW I agree with Roos

Did you just say, what would Roosy know, then say the majority of keyboard warriors don't think we can contend to 2020? I think Roosy would know more than nearly everyone here.

Are you 100% certain on that?
Seems strange to say you have to include the money if a player quits if he was a FA
But not if he was contracted normally.

What's the equivalent term for mate when addressing a woman? :)
A player changing clubs as a restricted free agent moved once the original club had the chance to match any contract. If the player then retires early then the new club has to include the contract in its salary cap for the term of the contract but does not have to actually pay it. It stops a club from putting forward a huge contract over a long period just to put off the club from matching it. It is a risk the new club takes.
Not sure about the equivalent term for mate. Anyone here know?

"Loophole" is the key word here.

If the AFL leaves one - clubs will drive a semi trailer through it!!

These rules on salary caps are to prevent exploitation of FA rules.

The only thing surer than the AFL leaving a massive loophole open is....

The AFL watching a massive loophole being plundered and abused and then changing the rules so drastically to close the loophole that it is left more broken than it was beforehand.

This is not necessarily true, a player like Botempelli or Nat Fyfe at u18 level were not accumulators of the footy.
That's because they played as forwards for most of their U18's time.

Bont moved into midfield for last few games and killed it - hence his late rise up the draft rankings.

I'm hoping we don't pick up a big name. We need to trade for kids who are ready to play like Marchbank and Pickett. I would chase Freeman and Hipwood (Bris) two Kennedys (GWS) or grey and tucker (Freo) or vandenberg and weideman (Melb) or McKay and Clarke (north). If we go after a FA it should be Picken (I don't think he will leave the dogs) he would be a great pick up to teach our young kids about hard work. I also think Trengove (Melb) would have great upside if he pass a medical.

I know, I was blunt, but we have to first acquire the players and then put two years into them bare minimum. Two draft years doing everything right and then two years in to get the required games into them (at the most optimistic); I still put it at 2020 to do a Bulldogs, if we are lucky.

That's because they played as forwards for most of their U18's time.

Bont moved into midfield for last few games and killed it - hence his late rise up the draft rankings.

Generally speaking you can only expect a maximum of a 20% improvement in a midfielders possession numbers going from TAC to AFL level, and that's assuming firstly that they will improve.

Ablett is on a new contract from his FA one to GC so if the club and he agree they can simply rip it up and if he wants to go to Geelong for say 300k then he can do it and he is off GC's books.
Franklin is different because he was a FA and it affects compo and teams ability to match bids.

I'm thinking we are actually a few years off and it wouldn't surprise me if we haven't hit rock bottom just yet and SOS tries to cash in on our last real assets in Gibbs and Kruezer. I did hear the other day though that of the Dogs premiership side 12 of the 22 had played under 40 games at the start of last season so thing can turn around very quickly
I'm reading this a lot recently, and it bothers me.

It's a version of the 'what the bulldogs proved last year' argument. Sure, the dogs 'proved' that you can win a grand final/turn things around quickly, but they did so in a year which was wide open, and absolutely everything - from the byes for the actual contenders keeping their key opposition from match practice, to the break between the end of season and the finals - worked in their favour. Last year was the most even in at least a decade, and the Bulldogs got very lucky in that their side didn't just peak at the right time, but certain players - Pickens and Boyd to name two - played their best football ever during that finals series.

Port Adelaide experienced a similar bounce a few years back, off the back of a scintillating midfield, rapid ball movement, dead-eyed key forwards and being able to run out matches so much better than their opposition. They experienced the bounce that you get when you couple talented youth and enthusiasm with utter belief in a game plan; the exact thing that got the bulldogs to their flag last year. The difference, of course, is in both side's contexts; Port Adelaide fell agonisingly short, and suffered critical injuries that ruled key players out. They had no benefit of the bye allowing their players extra time to recover, nor did they have the advantage the bulldogs had of opposition having only played one game in four weeks.

You cannot make plans for the best possible scenario. You must make plans for the most likely, then compensate for what actually occurs. While it is possible that things could improve swiftly, there is far more evidence to a rebuild taking time than there is for some mirage of form tiding people through in the short term.

I'm hoping we don't pick up a big name. We need to trade for kids who are ready to play like Marchbank and Pickett. I would chase Freeman and Hipwood (Bris) two Kennedys (GWS) or grey and tucker (Freo) or vandenberg and weideman (Melb) or McKay and Clarke (north). If we go after a FA it should be Picken (I don't think he will leave the dogs) he would be a great pick up to teach our young kids about hard work. I also think Trengove (Melb) would have great upside if he pass a medical.

Picking up a FA wont affect the drafting of young kids.

You cannot make plans for the best possible scenario. You must make plans for the most likely

I'd be dissapointed if that were the case. For mine, if we were contenders going into the new year and didn't have multiple plans in place, then you can expect to finish the finals series low top 8 and likely being out-coached.

I know, I was blunt, but we have to first acquire the players and then put two years into them bare minimum. Two draft years doing everything right and then two years in to get the required games into them (at the most optimistic); I still put it at 2020 to do a Bulldogs, if we are lucky.
The club has made a lot of inroads. If it proves development is part of that then things will really start falling in place 2019 onwards.