BigFooty Official 2017 Official Big Footy Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

IIRC when you nominate for the draft you are automatically nominated for the following years draft

It used to be three years after your first nomination, but I'd heard it had changed. I can't be arsed looking it up to check though. :)

Pick 84. Aaron Darling. 178cm 83 kg. Small Forward / Midfielder. Dandenong Stingrays.

images-29.jpg

In a cruel twist of fate Darling ( and Yes he is related : Cousin of Jack ) tore his right ACL in January 2017 a week before he was booked on a plane to fly West to do his AFL Academy placement with West Coast.
On raw talent Aaron deserves strong consideration as a forgotten prospect because the knee injury robbed him on any football this season.
My understanding is that the rehab has gone well and he is on track to recommence training.
Darling garnered enough interest to be invited to the Vic State Screening last month.

Darling pre injury was an explosive aggressive small forward who as an underage kid who played 16 games last season for the Stingrays.
Its disappointing that we never got to see the planned transition to midfield duties that was on the cards for Darling in 2017.
No doubting that picking a kid up after a knee reconstruction has its risks, but the talent was on show and its a bit hard to ignore, lets face it a pick in the eighties is a roll of the dice at the best of times.
Not to many AFL Academy kids slide this far down the draft board so I am OK with the boom or bust nature of this pick.

I had planned to take either Banfield or Schloithe with this pick however they have already been picked up.

ringo1 Swans now on the clock.

Pick 50 - Gold Coast - Kane Farrell

In my opinion, the Suns are really going to miss having Saad's run and dash out of the backline. He was able to take the game on, keep his composure and really find targets with ease when running off the half back flank. Obviously you can't get a ready-made replacement for someone like Saad in this draft, however what you can do is try to find a prospect that will be able to replace him in the long run. I reckon one of the players closest in playing style to Saad is Farrell.

Farrell's main weapons are his willingness to take the game on, and execution, off half back. Although he might not have developed as much as he would have liked in a statistical sense, he is still, in my opinion, one of the best and most damaging kicks in the draft. His long, more often than not accurate boot can break open zones and damage opposition defensive structures. Athletically, he's great, having a 2.90sec 20m sprint and a National Combine-best 8.10sec agility test time. He's also very strong overhead for his size, quite an underrated aspect of his time. When I've watched him, I've always thought he has traits of a smaller Brodie Smith, but I reckon he can push onto a wing in the future.

Naturally, there's going to be a few queries with a player at this pick, and the main ones with Farrell are his lack of statistical improvement this year, his endurance and his lack of defensive work for a defender. IMO the first and second problems go hand in hand. Once he develops his endurance and conditions his body, he'll be able to consistently get in better positions to find the footy more.

Who else? Ben Paton was another consideration here (someone I actually rate higher than Farrell), but I reckon Farrell's aggressive style of play for a defender is more of a need for Gold Coast, even if he is a little more raw.

Pick 84. Aaron Darling. 178cm 83 kg. Small Forward / Midfielder. Dandenong Stingrays.

View attachment 437133

In a cruel twist of fate Darling ( and Yes he is related : Cousin of Jack ) tore his right ACL in January 2017 a week before he was booked on a plane to fly West to do his AFL Academy placement with West Coast.
On raw talent Aaron deserves strong consideration as a forgotten prospect because the knee injury robbed him on any football this season.
My understanding is that the rehab has gone well and he is on track to recommence training.
Darling garnered enough interest to be invited to the Vic State Screening last month.

Darling pre injury was an explosive aggressive small forward who as an underage kid who played 16 games last season for the Stingrays.
Its disappointing that we never got to see the planned transition to midfield duties that was on the cards for Darling in 2017.
No doubting that picking a kid up after a knee reconstruction has its risks, but the talent was on show and its a bit hard to ignore, lets face it a pick in the eighties is a roll of the dice at the best of times.
Not to many AFL Academy kids slide this far down the draft board so I am OK with the boom or bust nature of this pick.

I had planned to take either Banfield or Schloithe with this pick however they have already been picked up.

ringo1 Swans now on the clock.

Good pick that was my next one.

We'll move on from Sydney for now, ringo1 can slot in a selection later.

In an effort to get this finished today, a stricter time frame of a couple of hours will be enforced. Feel free to send me through your picks if you want.

Over to Snoop Dog

We'll move on from Sydney for now, ringo1 can slot in a selection later.

In an effort to get this finished today, a stricter time frame of a couple of hours will be enforced. Feel free to send me through your picks if you want.

Over to Snoop Dog

GWS take........

JORDAN JOHNSTON – GWV / MEDIUM FORWARD & MIDFIELDER / 185cm

One of the players I really enjoy watching. Is one of those kids that plays at a high tempo and is a real barometer for team. Probably started more as a half forward where he is crafty and clever in the air and on the ground. Has a good leap, turn of speed and his clean hands and ball use are good. Went into the middle later in the season and I was pretty impressed with his work inside and and out. Has good vision in traffic and makes good calls.

GWS take........

JORDAN JOHNSTON – GWV / MEDIUM FORWARD & MIDFIELDER / 185cm

One of the players I really enjoy watching. Is one of those kids that plays at a high tempo and is a real barometer for team. Probably started more as a half forward where he is crafty and clever in the air and on the ground. Has a good leap, turn of speed and his clean hands and ball use are good. Went into the middle later in the season and I was pretty impressed with his work inside and and out. Has good vision in traffic and makes good calls.
OH NO YOU DIDN'T! :(

Noah Answerth (Oakleigh Chargers) 184cm/79kg - Inside midfielder

Noah Answerth is a talented midfielder who has been really unlucky due to injury. He showed late in the season and in particular the Young Guns Game that he has some good traits from which clubs can work on to develop him into a full-time midfielder. He is an inside leaning midfielder but I feel he has the skills to become a really balanced player. Once he can get a full run at it, his endurance will improve and he already has solid speed and good agility. He already has the skills to begin his career at half-back before potentially progressing into the midfield, a move that he was denied due to injury this year. At 184cm and 79kg he is a good frame to fit in early on once he has improved his tank. I can picture him being a valuable contributor out of defence at Box Hill and in time, Hawthorn. For me it’s a good pick this late given his talent and another low risk/high reward pick.

Snoop Dog

Where does Callum Porter fit in all this?
Hopefully, to the first pick the Bulldogs have in the rookie draft. We've apparently shown genuine interest.

Pick 87 - Geelong - Lachlan Schultz 177cm 72kg
Small Forward
Williamstown/VFL

Schultz had a great year this year and would have claims as the best small forward in the VFL. Schultz has alot of AFL traits with his ability to win one on ones at ground level and in marking contests. He always makes defenders panic with the way he buzzes around. Schultz also doesn't turn 20 until the end of this month so there is plenty of development to go.

Schultz's numbers this year where fantastic with only a handful where he didn't kick a goal he kicked over 2 goals 10 times during the year so he can regularly hit the scoreboard. The first thing you notice with Schultz is how well he goes in marking contests against bigger opponents, there where multiple times where he would take fantastic contested marks and quickly play on and create a goal. He is one of those forwards that makes you think something will happen when he is around the ball.

Schultz has good speed but he isn't super quick which could turn off a few but the way he just buzzes around and creates scoring opportunities i feel makes up for it. He may not be ready yet to make the step to AFL but i feel under an AFL system he could quickly improve and be a threat at AFL level.

Why Geelong?
Geelong need a small forward and despite just missing on Miers and Daniels i feel Schultz could be great value here.

Who Else?
I considered Charlie Thompson but he doesn't have the speed that Schultz has. Sam Dobson the local boy could be picked aswell but he is more a 3rd tall forward but he would still be good value here.

Noah Answerth (Oakleigh Chargers) 184cm/79kg - Inside midfielder

Noah Answerth is a talented midfielder who has been really unlucky due to injury. He showed late in the season and in particular the Young Guns Game that he has some good traits from which clubs can work on to develop him into a full-time midfielder. He is an inside leaning midfielder but I feel he has the skills to become a really balanced player. Once he can get a full run at it, his endurance will improve and he already has solid speed and good agility. He already has the skills to begin his career at half-back before potentially progressing into the midfield, a move that he was denied due to injury this year. At 184cm and 79kg he is a good frame to fit in early on once he has improved his tank. I can picture him being a valuable contributor out of defence at Box Hill and in time, Hawthorn. For me it’s a good pick this late given his talent and another low risk/high reward pick.

Snoop Dog

Mate he went at pick 79