Training 2017 Preseason

• Thread starter Thread starter Surly Boy

your information was spot on Mr.Ripper thanks, it's on lions.com now-

The players have officially kicked off pre-season training which is now open for our members and fans to come along and watch, up until the Christmas break.

Sessions are held at Yeronga (Cansdale St, Yeronga) on Monday, Wednesday & Friday mornings, with times posted on our website here.

Any changes to times will be posted on our Twitter account.

If you can't make it, don't sweat! You can follow all the action from training on Twitter (@brisbanelions) and Snapchat (brisbane-lions).

Young Robbo taking out the time trial is getting about as boring as QLD winning State of Origin!
I reckon this kind of effort will be rewarded this year. I also think if you have a lad that can smash the time trials, is hard a the footy, good one on one and very good overhead, you have to back your development team in with his kicking and some of his decision making.

I think with robbo is he lacks the polish and composure. As he says in the time trial video. Only way to rectify this is by playing firsts. Him paparone and those that kill it in the reserves are gaining nothing. Unfortunatly we can only fit 22 players on the park.

Is it the only way to rectify it tho?
Surely there must be some training method that would help improve his composure and polish during practice that would help transition him to the 1sts more easily.

it was also great to hear Chris Fagan mention Lewy Taylor as one of the players who impressed in the time trial, must have been the running around in 400 meter circles at QSAC:). seriously good to hear.

Maybe they played the sound of a "barking Wreckers Yard Dog" over the loud speaker ................................:)

Is it the only way to rectify it tho?
Surely there must be some training method that would help improve his composure and polish during practice that would help transition him to the 1sts more easily.

Ritalin? I know a couple of weight lifter types who snort it just before a lift for concentration and composure.

I reckon this kind of effort will be rewarded this year. I also think if you have a lad that can smash the time trials, is hard a the footy, good one on one and very good overhead, you have to back your development team in with his kicking and some of his decision making.
I reckon Robbo's first option is more often the right one. To me, if he gives it off quickly, he'd reduce the number of turnovers. It seems as though he second guesses himself and that split second delay creates pressure. If he gives it off quickly then he's at least going to make an error with the right intent - to keep the ball moving. I hope they give him the confidence to trust his first instinct.

The other thing that will hopefully come with continuity is better productivity. Be nice to see him getting 20+ touches more regularly.

I reckon Robbo's first option is more often the right one. To me, if he gives it off quickly, he'd reduce the number of turnovers. It seems as though he second guesses himself and that split second delay creates pressure. If he gives it off quickly then he's at least going to make an error with the right intent - to keep the ball moving. I hope they give him the confidence to trust his first instinct.

The other thing that will hopefully come with continuity is better productivity. Be nice to see him getting 20+ touches more regularly.
Couldnt agree more.

Didnt think I seen him. Hopefully hasnt over trained.

Totally agree. Over doing training also leads to increase in soft tissue injuries. and let's not mention the dreaded stress fractures aloud.

Given how our players looked dead on their feet during the year and Fagan said that 14 are currently on the injured list, I reckon my mate was on the right track when he said the team was being over trained during the season. Maybe we need a lighter touch on physical effort in season and more time on tactical work.