2017 Trade and FA thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I'd take a Don Pyke press conference over a Chris or Brad Scott one any day of the week.
Does it save you on sleeping tablets ;)

I don't mind the Scotts when they speak but can't stand the constant barracking in the box. Don't they have other things to be watchingthan the umpires?

Haha a journalist asked whether Fagan would have liked Cameron and he replied "absolutely, any team would love him. "

What was said was the following.

Caroline Wilson. "There is a lot of talk that Charlie Cameron wants to go home and move back to Brisbane. He is contracted but I think Adelaide struggled last time to keep him there. Would you...would you look at a trade for Charlie Cameron?"

Chris Fagan: "We're certainly interested in getting players to our club that can help us progress up the ladder and his age profile and talent would certainly something we'd be interested in. I’ll leave all that to David Noble and Dom Ambrogio, but from a coaching perspective if Charlie Cameron were to be available and interested in coming to Brisbane, we'd love to have him as part of our team."

He is also likely getting shipped out because of off field issues. No thanks. Why dont you guys take him, you give us Cameron and we give GC a third rounder.

Very poor post hahaha

I live in Adelaide, but am a lions supporter and always have been.

I have heard of none of these off field issues. Since you are so in the know could you please elaborate on what these issues are?

Cameron would be a good pickup, but for what is being speculated (late first rounder) I feel is a massive overpay on a guy who has kicked 22 goals in 19 games for the Crows who are top. How many is he going to kick with us in a young, developing side 10?

Very poor post hahaha

I have heard of none of these off field issues. Since you are so in the know could you please elaborate on what these issues are?

Cameron would be a good pickup, but for what is being speculated (late first rounder) I feel is a massive overpay on a guy who has kicked 22 goals in 19 games for the Crows who are top. How many is he going to kick with us in a young, developing side 10?

Wrong end of the stick there, sunshine. I believe he was referring to Matera with the issues. Crows take him, we get Cameron and Suns get the 3rd.

Yes mate, he was referring to Matera about "off field issues". And since he is aware of these I just like to know what these are.

Only issue with Matera has seemingly be staying on the park, had alot of injuries. But Rodney Eade has come out and said the fitness and training at the Suns is not up to standard. So surely if we can offer an improved program, he'd be a gun get for us

Not a big ball winner either. Not sure he offers much.
I don't think getting the ball is his problem, it's more that he's pretty useless in contests and doesn't work hard enough defensively. He's got pace and a long kick, could be useful on the wing if he can work both ways.
Yes mate, he was referring to Matera about "off field issues". And since he is aware of these I just like to know what these are.

Only issue with Matera has seemingly be staying on the park, had alot of injuries. But Rodney Eade has come out and said the fitness and training at the Suns is not up to standard. So surely if we can offer an improved program, he'd be a gun get for us
Isn't he just another one of the many players at the sun who don't work anywhere near hard enough? Talented, but he's slow as treacle and doesn't offer much in the way of defensive pressure.

I had the impression he's a bit of a turnover merchant.

I don't have much interest in Savage either, he has a great long kick but not an elite kick IMO.

Often see a lot of "prodigious kickers" get thrown in that elite user category.

IDK. I thought it as fairly poor from Fagan TBH. Season is not over and Crows will be playing finals should have brushed it off IMO like all other coaches do. Wouldn't like it if it was another club expressing public interest in one of ours.
Nailed it SM. Have to say though Adelaide are a bit precious about fages comments. Pyke's reaction IMO, adds fuel to the fire. Can't remember pyke reacting this way when he found out lever met with melbourne officials, thats far worse IMO

Not a big ball winner either. Not sure he offers much.
Had an average year this season and spent a bit of time in the VFL but has been averaging 26 disposals over the past 6 rounds since returning to the senior side and has really stepped up and played some great footy to the point where Saints fans have gone from saying that he is a candidate to be delisted to now wanting to sign him up to a 3 year deal. He has a long penetrating kick, takes the game on and has pace. I'd be interested in bringing him on board as long as he comes fairly cheap.

Very poor post hahaha

Isn't Matera one of the guys that was getting on the sauce the night before matches?
He seems to have lost interest at the Suns. I believe he has the potential to be elite at a West coast/Vic club.
Not a good fit for us as I believe he needs a change of location.

Isn't Matera one of the guys that was getting on the sauce the night before matches?
He seems to have lost interest at the Suns. I believe he has the potential to be elite at a West coast/dockers/ Vic club.
Not a good fit for us as I believe he needs a change of location.

If that was the case they would have got rid of him when they dumped Bennell and Dixon.

Matera is a gun when fit but I agree it looks like he has lost interest at the suns.

Isn't he just another one of the many players at the sun who don't work anywhere near hard enough? Talented, but he's slow as treacle and doesn't offer much in the way of defensive pressure.

Matera has pace (not like Cameron) but he's quick. I think his often lack of defensive pressure is due to mindset. I'd definitely back him in for a 3rd rounder and hope we could turn that around. His skills are elite and he should be achieving way more than he has been

Just curious i wonder if we will get any younger this off season. Its hard to imagine we could. But rocky could leave and a few delistings we could get younger again.

Had an average year this season and spent a bit of time in the VFL but has been averaging 26 disposals over the past 6 rounds since returning to the senior side and has really stepped up and played some great footy to the point where Saints fans have gone from saying that he is a candidate to be delisted to now wanting to sign him up to a 3 year deal. He has a long penetrating kick, takes the game on and has pace. I'd be interested in bringing him on board as long as he comes fairly cheap.

Bit of a Travis Johnstone type?

If that was the case they would have got rid of him when they dumped Bennell and Dixon.

Matera is a gun when fit but I agree it looks like he has lost interest at the suns.

Matera has pace (not like Cameron) but he's quick. I think his often lack of defensive pressure is due to mindset. I'd definitely back him in for a 3rd rounder and hope we could turn that around. His skills are elite and he should be achieving way more than he has been
Yeah Matera isn't as slow as treacle... well maybe if it's his turn to chase. When there is a goal on offer he can move his way through traffic easily but other than that he is fairly useless. He makes Green look like an elite 2 way runner and that's saying something. Also shares Greens goal hogging ability.

Mmmm think your under selling matera, he is a highly skilled player that will do well at another club.
Edit- I definitely don't want him at our club but reckon he will tear it up wherever he ends up.

That would be very handy! I loved Travis. Chris Fagan would have got a fair bit out of Travis Johnstone I reckon.

Old Trav had that weird Guru vibe going. Also got headlights in his face when he entered the forward 50.

I don't have much interest in Savage either, he has a great long kick but not an elite kick IMO.

Often see a lot of "prodigious kickers" get thrown in that elite user category.
Fagan was at ahawthorn when they moved a Savage to Stkilda I doubt he'd now be inviting him up to Brisbane.

Can't see Lonie being a solution either, we are trying to build a bigger midfield, I think if we bring in an experienced midfielder from another club they'll be 185cm types who can run distribute and mark, that's the way the game is going.