2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

Geelong desperate for another forward.

Gee you'd be tempted to see if they'd be prepared to lose Duncan for JK or JD, they'll want a tilt at the flag while Dangerwood are in their prime.

Geelong desperate for another forward.

Gee you'd be tempted to see if they'd be prepared to lose Duncan for JK or JD, they'll want a tilt at the flag while Dangerwood are in their prime.

Thank Christ you're not part of our list management.
Mitch Duncan is ok but you wouldn't give up up 1 of only 2 decent tall KP forwards we have for him.

Sydney reserves team?
Yeah Sydney reserves. Considering how many are leaving the club this year if we trade someone like Masten as well we'll need a bit of depth and experience around the club. Not rated at Sydney obviously but they've got lots of options in the middle

Thank Christ you're not part of our list management.
Mitch Duncan is ok but you wouldn't give up up 1 of only 2 decent tall KP forwards we have for him.
Haha, I've been strongly against trading both.

But if Geelong are desperate could pay overs for JK. I would be interested to know how far they'd go.

Duncan was a top 10 mids this year for mine.

I know we need quality mids but if you look at forward lines and ours needs tweaking then the Crows model is the one,2 small pacey crumbers in Betts and Cameron with the 2 talls Walker and Jenkins.
Ours Kennedy Darling with Rioli and ????
IMO we need another small (ready to go)
I'd also be tempted to trade in Crameri,he's a good forward and one that would take a lot of pressure off Darling.
With Cripps and Lecras to fight out the other spot

Haha, I've been strongly against trading both.

But if Geelong are desperate could pay overs for JK. I would be interested to know how far they'd go.

Duncan was a top 10 mids this year for mine.
Duncan + Cockatoo + pick I reckon.

I would rather Menagola than Duncan, Duncan is more outside.
Menagola just keeps improving, more games and the better he will become

Need to spend our 2nd rounder on Kelly, some posters have suggested our 4th, but quite a few other clubs are showing interest and sometimes you just gotta go after what you want, which one of our developing/depth mids have produced anything close to what he has in the Wafl this year? Any of them get get 30+ and kick 7 snags? Any of them even manage more than a goal a game? Masten? Redden? Experienced AFL footballers!

What we dont want to spend a 2nd on case qe miss out on another Lamb, Parto, or Rotham? Cant have us miss another Mutimer, Karpany or Cole.

He will be best 22 next year get it done i will be absolutely spewing if he is lining up in round 1 and any of Carlton, Gold coast or Brizzie.

Oh and O'Brien can EAD!

Really well said Tim Kelly is a must for us.
His clearance work in the centre square is just so good.
Get a good AFL preseason into him and he will be even better.
He would be playing centre for us round 1 next year if we draft him.

Not saying i want the Eagles to draft him, but im really getting sick of GWS and GCS loading up on all these talented West Aussies, they obviously have bettet recruiters in WA than us.

Ninyette has been invited to WA combine in October ...need two clubs to nominate the player so Giants are one team Freo or Eagles probably the other .

mate honestly i don't care about weak disposal by foot when you have a great contested game (unless you're slow af). We need to strengthen our contested ball winning aspect of our game. You add that and then guys like Gaff, Duggan, Sheed and Jetta have less pressure when they have the ball and cut the oppo with their skills. We have drafted a few great kicks and decision makers over the last few years and now we need to draft a few good contested players. Yes i understand a few of those better kicks have been bit average this year but I don't believe players can lose their kicking skills and it can be regained.

Totally agree. It's a good strategy to draft in a midfielder whose inside balanced/ contested game is a strength rather than developing an inside game to an outside mid.

Good example of that has been Matt Crouch at the Crows. Weakness was his disposal by foot when drafted and it still is an issue sometimes but he has worked hard at that aspect of his game. Arrived at the Crows with a great work ethic in the contest which has translated itself into senior SANFL and AFL level against men.

This is why I was pretty bullish on us drafting Jonty Scharenberg last year, even as a rookie when he was passed up at the National Draft. Weakness is his disposal by foot but he has a strong work ethic at the contest and a but like Priddis is a guy who you find at the bottom of packs, scrapping hard and feeding it to his mates.

We aren't fixing our midfield anytime soon, would need us to jag a couple of Dean Kemps out of our backsides or have a Dangerfield situation fall in our laps. I'm pretty shitty with all concerned to be honest. WCE recruitment for their utter failure over so many years to address this obvious problem (and therefore most likely wasting the careers of Kennedy and NicNat - two once in a generation players).

As for the AFL we are a huge club from a passionate footballing state and we just had our arsed handed to us by a new team in front of an empty stadium by a team chocked full of West Australian kids. So the millions of dollars pumped into footy development in WA through the support of WCE fans is manifested in the states best players running around in west Sydney where no-one gives a shit. Aside from my saltiness seems like a great way to wreck interest in the sport tbh. Certainly has mine.

I just hope GWS flop against Richmond and continue to same to Gold Coast.

Get our new state of the art training facilities up and going, get the best new stadium in Australia pumping with big crowds, keep building the list and maybe a few of them will start getting sick of playing in empty stadiums in Sydney west.