2017 trade hypothetical thread

Thinking outside the box a bit, would either of the Western Australian sides have any interest in Daniel Rich. Sure he is contracted, but in my opinion he could do with a fresh start, and the Lions need to start making some big inroads with their list. Could be a win/win. What would he be worth ??

Apparently pies interested in Schache.

What would he cost? Sure he was a pick 2 from a few years ago but is he better than anyone in the top 5 from this year's key forward centric draft?

First rounder for him then (4 atm), easy.
Wouldn't get it done in my opinion. Their list overhaul needs to involve clearing all the dead wood they have. Not trading their best young players. Considering that they are likely to finish last, you can't hold them to ransom with the threat of the pre-season draft. I dont think a 1st and a second would even get it done.

Thinking outside the box a bit, would either of the Western Australian sides have any interest in Daniel Rich. Sure he is contracted, but in my opinion he could do with a fresh start, and the Lions need to start making some big inroads with their list. Could be a win/win. What would he be worth ??
People have been mentioning Rich to us for years. I don't think we'd be interested.

We do need a KPF though, Schache is attractive to us.

Getting him would probably mean something like this: pick 10-14 + Schofield (KPD) for Schache

People have been mentioning Rich to us for years. I don't think we'd be interested.

Getting him would probably mean something like this: pick 10-14 + Schofield (KPD) for Schache

Brisbane would want a top 5 pick at the very least.

Schofield doesn't make up a 5 pick drop in the top 10... he's mediocre at best.

That's also assuming West Coast will even have a pick as high as 10, which I doubt they will, would need to do much better.

Brisbane would want a top 5 pick at the very least.

Schofield doesn't make up a 5 pick drop in the top 10... he's mediocre at best.

That's also assuming West Coast will even have a pick as high as 10, which I doubt they will, would need to do much better.
Yeah fair point. I reckon Schofield would get a game in most 22s at AFL level, I dont reckon he's mediocre at best. A KPD who's being kept out of the side by McGovern and Barrass is unlucky not to be playing regularly IMO. However I agree. What do you think would take to get it done? Our second and their third?

Nope.

I think you'd have to trade into the top 5 to have any chance of Schache.

West Coast are likely to be knocking on the door of top 4 for a few seasons yet, right? I can't see a late first rounder even making the Lions blink, IMO they'd be asking for a top 5 plus more.

It'd cost West Coast alot to get him over.

To get a kpp taken pick 2, who they have put 2 years of development into, you have to give up pieces that hurt. Not fringe players.

Rich is on far too much money for clubs to have any interest in him

Apparently pies interested in Schache.

What would he cost? Sure he was a pick 2 from a few years ago but is he better than anyone in the top 5 from this year's key forward centric draft?
Despite the hype, this not a KPP draft. There might be 3 talls picked in the top 10. And it's a big might.

Probably a lock for the top 10, and possibly even the top 5 is Ruck/KPF Sam Hayes. All Australian as an bottom ager last year, and is the best performed big this year. Smashed it on the weekend at TAC cup kicking 6 in the first half.

But I will say this. From what I heard this season, the TAC cup this year might be the weakest it's ever been with so many of the top prospects and touted bottom agers all playing private school footy instead. Geelong Grammar and Haileybury probably have stronger teams than half or two thirds of the TAC cup teams.

Possible top 10 pick is Brisbane academy KPF/Ruck Connor Ballenden. He's been played down the back as KPD and through the ruck for most of the Div 2 academy series. Possibly in attempt to hide him a little. Luke Power the AFL Academy coach rates Connor as the most advanced of this years talls.

Third possible top 10 pick is ex Giants academy player, Jarrod Brander. He has had an interrupted start to the season coming back from school cricket for Geelong and suffering a couple of small niggling injuries. There is some debate where he should play, KPF or KPD. Again, Luke Power the AFL academy coach believes he should play as a KPD.

There are possibly another three talls in the next ten prospects, but they are so far back in development, they're not really a threat to crack the top 10. They are more ranked on potential and ceiling than performances right now.

Unless one of these prospects rips the Under 18 div one championship apart, Schache is a better prospect than all three.

If I am the Lions, I would want pick 2 and a high second round pick for Schache. Now I do not want the Lions to lose Schache. It would be a blow on multiple levels for the club and fan base. But if we were to lose Schache, I want pick 2 (plus that second round pick) so we have the first two picks in the draft, and don't face the prospect of losing a pick if another team with an early pick bids on Ballenden and we have to match using the traded in pick.

Out of curiosity what would opposition supporters be willing to give up for Tim Broomhead in terms of either picks or a player?

He seems to be ridiculously highly rated by some on our board and just curious whether its just me that goes 'meh' or do other less one eyed supporters see something in him?

Round 2, sitting on the wing and he had the chance to back into the pack, get cleaned up but create a 50/50 ball..... turns, sees he would get cleaned up and lets the bloke mark the ball uncontested...absolute pea heart for mine. Has some talent but wouldn't get much. Boards at every club overrate their own.[/QUOTE]

Brisbane don't need a KPD. We have a lot of very highly rated young KPD's. And we have another coming out of our academy this year.

There might be an argument that we do need an experienced KPD with leadership qualities with two years left in him to mentor and protect our young KPD's. But that's the type of player we could pick up in a cheap trade or as a de-listed free agent.

Brisbane don't need a KPD. We have a lot of very highly rated young KPD's. And we have another coming out of our academy this year.

There might be an argument that we do need an experienced KPD with leadership qualities with two years left in him to mentor and protect our young KPD's. But that's the type of player we could pick up in a cheap trade or as a de-listed free agent.
A cheap trade being a third rounder, or a second/third round swap? I think DFA is a little bit of a stretch, clubs dont just let guys go with the skills that youre talking about. The only reason why I mentioned Schofield is I thought he might be viable. What would be a trade you would consider agreeable for Schache?

Hahahahahahaha. Not only will Schache not head West, they wouldn't want Will Schofield and a mid first round pick for him. Schofield is meh.

A cheap trade being a third rounder, or a second/third round swap? I think DFA is a little bit of a stretch, clubs dont just let guys go with the skills that youre talking about. The only reason why I mentioned Schofield is I thought he might be viable. What would be a trade you would consider agreeable for Schache?
More like a fourth round pick.

Of course clubs do. Look at what Hawthorn gave away last year.

Was actually a good discussion on the Lions board last night about this. Alex Silvagni was mentioned as some one we could have picked up last year on the cheap and would really benefit us right now. There's a whole list of possible players we could look at similarly at the end of this season. The offer could be 1 year as a player, 2 years as an assistant coach.

I mentioned what I would take for Schache in the second last post of mine, but it's probably to long for you to read. I have bolded it for you.

Despite the hype, this not a KPP draft. There might be 3 talls picked in the top 10. And it's a big might.

Probably a lock for the top 10, and possibly even the top 5 is Ruck/KPF Sam Hayes. All Australian as an bottom ager last year, and is the best performed big this year. Smashed it on the weekend at TAC cup kicking 6 in the first half.

But I will say this. From what I heard this season, the TAC cup this year might be the weakest it's ever been with so many of the top prospects and touted bottom agers all playing private school footy instead. Geelong Grammar and Haileybury probably have stronger teams than half or two thirds of the TAC cup teams.

Possible top 10 pick is Brisbane academy KPF/Ruck Connor Ballenden. He's been played down the back as KPD and through the ruck for most of the Div 2 academy series. Possibly in attempt to hide him a little. Luke Power the AFL Academy coach rates Connor as the most advanced of this years talls.

Third possible top 10 pick is ex Giants academy player, Jarrod Brander. He has had an interrupted start to the season coming back from school cricket for Geelong and suffering a couple of small niggling injuries. There is some debate where he should play, KPF or KPD. Again, Luke Power the AFL academy coach believes he should play as a KPD.

There are possibly another three talls in the next ten prospects, but they are so far back in development, they're not really a threat to crack the top 10. They are more ranked on potential and ceiling than performances right now.

Unless one of these prospects rips the Under 18 div one championship apart, Schache is a better prospect than all three.

If I am the Lions, I would want pick 2 and a high second round pick for Schache. Now I do not want the Lions to lose Schache. It would be a blow on multiple levels for the club and fan base. But if we were to lose Schache, I want pick 2 (plus that second round pick) so we have the first two picks in the draft, and don't face the prospect of losing a pick if another team with an early pick bids on Ballenden and we have to match using the traded in pick.

It would been on the club to trade for pick 2 and a pick in the 20 to 25 range to then trade to Brisbane. GWS pulled off a series of trades to move up to pick 2 last year. If a team wants Schache, they'll have to do the same. That's if I was Brisbane.

Yeah Bris aren't going to get a pick 2 and a high second rounder for schache. Just not going to happen.

Depending on what club he asks to be traded to and the position of their 1st pick will decide what else they add to the deal. They won't spend trading up then add in a high second. No team will have what you're asking for nor be willing to mortgage everything they have to obtain it.

Round 2, sitting on the wing and he had the chance to back into the pack, get cleaned up but create a 50/50 ball..... turns, sees he would get cleaned up and lets the bloke mark the ball uncontested...absolute pea heart for mine. Has some talent but wouldn't get much. Boards at every club overrate their own.
[/QUOTE]
Agreed, tends to be players who have had 1 or 2 good games (doesn't even need to be at senior level, VFL seems to have the same effect) then have a sustained injury period that seem to get more and more rated the more they sit on the sidelines.

I just don't see it with Broomhead, 5 years in the system and still plays like a rookie...

More like a fourth round pick.

Of course clubs do. Look at what Hawthorn gave away last year.

Was actually a good discussion on the Lions board last night about this. Alex Silvagni was mentioned as some one we could have picked up last year on the cheap and would really benefit us right now. There's a whole list of possible players we could look at similarly at the end of this season. The offer could be 1 year as a player, 2 years as an assistant coach.

I mentioned what I would take for Schache in the second last post of mine, but it's probably to long for you to read. I have bolded it for you.

It would been on the club to trade for pick 2 and a pick in the 20 to 25 range to then trade to Brisbane. GWS pulled off a series of trades to move up to pick 2 last year. If a team wants Schache, they'll have to do the same. That's if I was Brisbane.
I don't have a problem reading mate. Leave the condescension out of it.