List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Gee that is very interesting. Did he elaborate on why he would never fit in here?
I don't want to misquote Lloyd but he just said Scrim needed to go to a club with a strong culture.
He wasn't bashing the Suns he just knew Scrim was always going to struggle with the demands of being a professional athlete just like Boston.
Lloyd said Scrim needs strong leaders around him 24/7 if he was going to make it at the top level

Just found in BF if you give it to religion or private school education or the school tie culture people get all upset.

In the Titans Forum you get applauded.

It’s not worth upsetting the Suns Brotherhood..best sometimes to just pull back and not go too hard.
You have to understand that Aussie rules encompasses people of all socioeconomic backgrounds. That's not really the case in rugby league (traditionally working class) or rugby union (traditionally upper class) fanbases.

If the majority of Titans fans are of a working class background, it's really not surprising they would applaud someone bagging private school education. In Aussie rules circles, there's a very good chance you're going to offend 50% of your fanbase if you do that. You just need to be more wary of the clientele :)

PBC's developmental program might have produced an impressive amount of players over the last few years, but there are/have been plenty of private schoolboys from the GC that have entered the AFL system:

All Saints - Nick Riewoldt, Kurt Tippett, Steven Lawrence, Joel Tippett, Lachie Weller
TSS - Clark Keating, Aaron Keating, Brad Moran
St Andrew's - Bailey Scott

I just get the feeling other clubs want us to take the King boys so they can all just get the players they want. The old “prevent the go home” factor is a huge possibility of backfiring into our face if both boys aren’t playing regular senior footy within the first year or two, which is highly likely. Look at Scrimshaw.
With respect, don't think you avoid that with either Luko or Rankin. They've just been (slightly) more professional about it than the Kings.

I think Rozee is the best chance of being a keeper.

Personally I don't get it. Some bloke says to me I can get away from the olds to Surfers with my best mate/brother, play footy, earn good coin - where do I sign for that!

We've been hit by the go home as much as anyone so totally get the frustration, but those 4 lads ( King x 2, Luko, Rankin) are all major flight risks.

With respect, don't think you avoid that with either Luko or Rankin. They've just been (slightly) more professional about it than the Kings.

Personally I don't get it. Some bloke says to me I can get away from the olds to Surfers with my best mate/brother, play footy, earn good coin - where do I sign for that!

We've been hit by the go home as much as anyone so totally get the frustration, but those 4 lads ( King x 2, Luko, Rankin) are all major flight risks.
To be honest all the top 15 are Flight Risks no point worry too much . From former Adelaide recruiters Lever look the less flight risks .

Nah, Rozee built of stern stuff, from the country.

He'll be fine wherever he lands
I think either Adelaide or Port will end up with Rozee . I prefer Rozee but got the gut feeling GC recruiters might draft Lukosius and Rankine .

Think most in here are pretty keen on Rozee with pick 3. Probably going to have to just back our recruiting staff to do their due diligence. Remembering as well though that last year Cam Rayner was deemed a big flight risk and he looks pretty settled and stoked to be at Brisbane one year in now.

At some point the merry go round will stop
It was a major blunder to introduce new teams and FA at the same time
But at some point it will settle
I still maintain you draft the very very best talent you can
The go home factor is a percentage play just as everything in a trade scenario is and is a flame fanatically fanned by opposition supporters and Southern media
We either take the best and back ourselves in to improve which makes player retention much easier or just perennially take the next best because they “might” ( with the emphasis on might) be more inclined to stay at the next contract
The second scenario is just ridiculous in professional sport.

Take the best

Everyone who moves interstate is a flight risk but if you take two guys from south aus where there’s only 2 clubs compared to Victoria with 10 then there’s less chance and makes their value higher if they do request to go home

I can get away from the olds to Surfers

Only people who don’t spend much time on gc hangout in surfers

Gee that is very interesting. Did he elaborate on why he would never fit in here?
Our lack of leaders..

What is your play? At this stage it looks as if you will miss on lukocius, rozee and rankine.. are you content with Hately? I rate him but would you be satisfied with that?

Who would you suggest we draft then?
If Lukosius is such a major flight risk, he shouldn’t have impressed our recruiting team so much in his interviews an then go on record as saying he’s happy to move interstate.
Rankine is the one that I’d most be concerned about, hence Rozee as my preferred option, but I’d also prefer Rozee because of his versatility.
We’ve never had issues hanging onto our S.A. boys, it’s the Vic Metro ones we struggle with.

If Lukosius is such a major flight risk, he shouldn’t have impressed our recruiting team so much in his interviews an then go on record as saying he’s happy to move interstate.
Rankine is the one that I’d most be concerned about, hence Rozee as my preferred option, but I’d also prefer Rozee because of his versatility.
We’ve never had issues hanging onto our S.A. boys, it’s the Vic Metro ones we struggle with.
You guys have just gotta take the two best players available at picks 2 and 3 and thats Rankine and Luko...

If you dont... then youve basically devalued those picks... youve used picks 2 and 3 to get players that werent valued at 2 and 3. might as well trade them if your gonna do that.

As far as flight risks are concerned.. well youve gotta just take the chance.

I moved to the goldy in 2002. Had a whole group of mates and we were all living up here, probably around 30 of us in the Southern end of the GC. Although we were drawn here for the waves and lifestyle not drafted in to play footy.
I could count on one hand how many of those 30 still live here and I myself wouldve gone home to adelaide by now if i hadnt have met my wife and had kids.. she doesnt want to move to adelaide because her family live here.

Most of those 30 lasted 3-4 years.. some a bit longer.. some less.. the goldy is great but the glitter wears off pretty quick for most i think. Although f*** me those first few years, some unbeleivable parties and fun times.. benders that went for days!

The place just doesnt have any real feeling of homeliness and soul about it in my opinion. Adelaide is still my home.. always was and always will be.. and most expat south aussies I know and talk to say similar things about it.

The flight risk and draw to return home will always be there for these lads but the Suns have to ignore it because it will be the same for any player you pick that isnt from SE QLD..

You guys have just gotta take the two best players available at picks 2 and 3 and thats Rankine and Luko...

If you dont... then youve basically devalued those picks... youve used picks 2 and 3 to get players that werent valued at 2 and 3. might as well trade them if your gonna do that.

I moved to the goldy in 2002. Had a whole group of mates and we were all living up here, probably around 30 of us in the Southern end of the GC. Although we were drawn here for the waves and lifestyle not drafted in to play footy.
I could count on one hand how many of those 30 still live here and I myself wouldve gone home to adelaide by now if i hadnt have met my wife and had kids.. she doesnt want to move to adelaide because her family live here.

Most of those 30 lasted 3-4 years.. some a bit longer.. some less.. the goldy is great but the glitter wears off pretty quick for most i think. Although f*** me those first few years, some unbeleivable parties and fun times.. benders that went for days!

The place just doesnt have any real feeling of homeliness and soul about it in my opinion. Adelaide is still my home.. always was and always will be.. and most expat south aussies I know and talk to say similar things about it.

The flight risk and draw to return home will always be there for these lads but the Suns have to ignore it because it will be the same for any player you pick that isnt from SE QLD..
Just out of interest how many SA kids drafted in the past 5-6 years have returned home?

Everyone who moves interstate is a flight risk but if you take two guys from south aus where there’s only 2 clubs compared to Victoria with 10 then there’s less chance and makes their value higher if they do request to go home

Only people who don’t spend much time on gc hangout in surfers
1. I think it's a decent strategy to try and draft friends/brothers. Have to try something.

2. Agree, I take my holidays at Rainbow Bay, but I'm the wrong side of 40. If I was on the right side surfers might be more attractive

Look, it's really hard we have same problem, which is why we are unashamedly desperate for the SA lads.

All you can do is your best DD on their personality and hope your environment works

Our lack of leaders..

What is your play? At this stage it looks as if you will miss on lukocius, rozee and rankine.. are you content with Hately? I rate him but would you be satisfied with that?
Absolutely rate JH highly, and I'm certain club does too.

If nothing eventuates with trading further up - I think we take him at 8

Just out of interest how many SA kids drafted in the past 5-6 years have returned home?
I dont think you can teally look at the past and use it as a gauge to what will happen now and into the future..

Just out of interest how many SA kids drafted in the past 5-6 years have been so incredibly highly rated as Rankine, Rozee and Luko..

Sweet FA.. but then.. South Australia hasnt seen young talent like this in decades.

So whilst there has been some pretty good youngsters in the last decade come from the state.. they havent been anywhere near as special as this group and they probably havent been chased by the two Adelaide teams like these lads are now, and will be into the future if they end up at interstate clubs.

Youve also got to factor in that player movement isnt what it used to be.. players no longer care for free agency rules, contracts or loyalty like they have done in the past.. player movement is increasing.

i think a lot of people that move interestate would say the same thing tbh. i'm sure there are generations of people that have grown up and stayed living on the gold coast. i was born here, i love it here. sure if i got paid six figures straight out of high school to go play afl in south australia i would jump at the chance, but people always have a tendency to return to where they call home.

do you really think you can call the gold coast soulless when it seems like the main reason you came up here was to party? i think those days sort of dilute your opinion of the place tbh. having nearly all your mates move back home as well wouldn't create much of a homely vibe either.

i understand it works both ways, some return home, some stay. danny stanley was drafted out of victoria to the pies, then played for us for 5 or so years. after being delisted, he now works in real estate in broadbeach.

i'm sorry you feel that way about our city, it's not for everyone, but there's certainly qualities about it (if you look past the "party culture" that everyone seems to stereotype it for - i'm sure you'd be able to find that same atmosphere in any other capital city as well) that make the people that live here want to stay.

What you're saying basically reinforces the need for our Academy and to start churning out more players from it. For kids born here or those who have grown up here with family, the coast definitely feels like home and there's no place they're more likely to want to be. Real locals experience the glitter at a far earlier age than fly-ins (we were going to nightclubs at 14-15 years old) and are well over the excitement of it earlier than imports, and it always surprises me to hear non-Gold Coast residents say the coast has nothing to offer other than the beaches and nightclubs. it all depends on individual tastes. There's heaps to do in SE Qld. For most young blokes, that's what they want anyway. Plenty of outdoor and indoor activities in a great climate. Melbourne's attraction is that it's the Hollywood of football and for a footy mad kid who likes to get his ego brushed, it might be hard to resist the fame and fortune. That's the problem for all non-vic clubs IMO.

Absolutely agree to pick the best available, and Rankine is probably the most naturally talented of the two but for me, Rozee is a better fit for us ATM. Wouldn't be surprised if we went Lukosius and Rankine, but I think it will be Lukosius and Rozee, although Rozee might not necessarily be taken at 3. Still a bit to play out with May, live trading of picks etc.

You have to understand that Aussie rules encompasses people of all socioeconomic backgrounds. That's not really the case in rugby league (traditionally working class) or rugby union (traditionally upper class) fanbases.

If the majority of Titans fans are of a working class background, it's really not surprising they would applaud someone bagging private school education. In Aussie rules circles, there's a very good chance you're going to offend 50% of your fanbase if you do that. You just need to be more wary of the clientele :)

PBC's developmental program might have produced an impressive amount of players over the last few years, but there are/have been plenty of private schoolboys from the GC that have entered the AFL system:

All Saints - Nick Riewoldt, Kurt Tippett, Steven Lawrence, Joel Tippett, Lachie Weller
TSS - Clark Keating, Aaron Keating, Brad Moran
St Andrew's - Bailey Scott

Can add to that private school list
- josh Thomas, broc Macauley, Brent renouf, Jesse white, Shaun Hampson.
Some of whom had more distinguished careers than others but all who played where they had to without demanding trades.

You could make an inference by looking at a few names only that Qld public school kids have a higher hit rate of not working out due to questionable work ethic
- Boston, Rhan hooper

But that of course is not true either when you consider the many more that have. (Petterd, armitage, Zorko etc etc)

I think what’s clear is. you have to individualise the integration program for each draftee. This might be evident before draft day that one player has suspect work ethic or high potential for homesickness and therefore requires very close supervision, nurturing etc for staff and senior players. Or might become more apparent afterwards.

A professional organisation must be more sophisticated than pure black or white responses depending on players background.

I would hope that club is in tune with this as if draftees feel their needs are being met, they are respected and heard them the pull to go home will be much less.

One poster over the past few months has thrown some shade at whether this process was up to scratch at the suns. Hopefully it’s sonething we continue to work on.

If we get this right I’m sure it will go some of the way to improving retention.