Analysis 2018 List Management discussion Part 1 (continued in Part 2 - see OP for link)

Interesting that Fisher played 17 games and Cuningham 8 in 2017, yet neither chalked up a 20 possession game.
It's somewhat easy to see Fisher start to break that 20 possession barrier, yet not so easy to see Cuningham do so.

Think both will break 20 possessions in a game easily this year, and do it more than 3 times. All part of normal development. Dangerfield got '20' exactly just once in his second year for context.

Interesting that Fisher played 17 games and Cuningham 8 in 2017, yet neither chalked up a 20 possession game.
It's somewhat easy to see Fisher start to break that 20 possession barrier, yet not so easy to see Cuningham do so.

Again, that's not to cast a shadow upon Cuningham as his possessions could be very valuable.......but the thing is; How many low-possession players can we afford to carry in our team? Maybe we don't need many possessions to come good, but just quality possessions.

Just on possessions; Who do we think will be our highest possession players this year?

1. Murphy 2. Cripps 3. ECurnow 4. Kennedy 5. Fisher? What do we think?
Purely on possessions I’d guess you aren’t far off. I’ll say mine with the caveat of ave possessions per game as who knows when it comes to injuries. 1. Murphy 2. Cripps 3. Simpson 4. E Curnow. Now it gets murky... 5 could be Fisher, Sps, Kennedy or another defender/ rebounder like Williamson. I’ll go with Kennedy.

Again, that's not to cast a shadow upon Cuningham as his possessions could be very valuable.......but the thing is; How many low-possession players can we afford to carry in our team? Maybe we don't need many possessions to come good, but just quality possessions.

Just on possessions; Who do we think will be our highest possession players this year?

I think your top 5 is missing a defender, when you considere the ball will be down there a bit. Hard to pick which one though..maybe Plow.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

I think your top 5 is missing a defender, when you considere the ball will be down there a bit. Hard to pick which one though..maybe Plow.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
From the defenders I’d be guessing Simpson Williamson and Marchbank to be the biggest possession getters. Perhaps Byrne or whoever else helps fill dochertys spot

If Nth have room for two $1M players then what do we have in store?

One has to wonder about the pros and cons of such announcements.
What exactly is it designed to do and who is it for? To again titillate supporters and members? Are they going to buy it again, after all the misses?

Maybe LDU would be licking his lips should North want to sign him up for further years. No shortage of money in the bank.

T
One has to wonder about the pros and cons of such announcements.
What exactly is it designed to do and who is it for? To again titillate supporters and members? Are they going to buy it again, after all the misses?

Maybe LDU would be licking his lips should North want to sign him up for further years. No shortage of money in the bank.
They tried really hard last year to lure anyone they could and constantly spoke of their 'warchest'. Pretty sad really, was like watching some kid walk around asking every girl out and getting rejected each time. I think they might feel obliged to lure someone after all that effort last year... and the supporter(s) is(/are)are riding on one or two 'messiah' marquee signings to right the ship...

Could work well for us. They'll probably throw heaps of money at every free agent this year and drive the prices up for all the other clubs to fight over while we bide our time on next year...

Polson better lateral movement than Murphy? Maybe now... I’d be saying polson shows some of what Murphy has/had athletically but not quite to the same level.

To clarify, at the same age, i believe Polson has better lateral movement and inside ability, but Murphy had a better overall game

Cunners had a couple of games where quarter by quarter possession tallies were taking the form of 1-6-5-2.

He did what any other "first year" (inverted commas because second year, but first year getting games), does and plays inconsistently throughout matches.

His best position is W-HFF. Has good outside speed, but not afraid to get a contested possession either. I don't quite share your outlook, I think that with a solid support crew, and the growth of similar players around him, he could be starting 22 in our next premiership side.

Got the grey matter going with that question Harks. Going on Murph playing more outside I would suggest, of our on-ballers:

1. Cripps (plenty of minutes as our inside mid)
2. Murph (probably play more outside this year)
3. Kennedy (plenty of minutes as another inside mid)
4. SPS (will play primarily on ball. If he gets a lot of it we will have be all the better for it)
5. Ed (plenty of minutes on ball as our main tagger)

Putting a lot of 'hope' that our two young players in Kennedy and SPS can find plenty of the ball, but both have shown they can find their own ball and you would think will get plenty of time playing on ball.

*** really hoping Fisher pushes in to the top 5. If he does he will improve us immensely with his smarts and ability to bring others in to the game..

Gibbs is a obviously a loss. Can't argue with that and Kennedy won't be Gibbs, but he doesn't need to be.

Cripps: Had next to no pre-season last year, played with broken ribs and finally succumbed to a broken leg.
Petrevski-Seton: As with Cripps, he had a very limited pre-season, but showed good signs in the centre. Can only get better.
He's not the one we're talking much about right now, but he could become a real point of difference for us and he can find the ball. The use is sublime.
Dow: We can't expect much, but won't be surprised should he deliver plenty. Doesn't have to do it a lot, but just at the right times.
Kennedy: He's not Gibbs, but again, he doesn't need to be. Just bull enough to support Cripps, as we have a little more back-up this year.
Fisher: Stronger than last year and can find the ball, even though he looked half kick away at times last year
ECurnow: Losing Ed for the last 10 games of the year, didn't particularly help us, either.

The wild-card may be; Sam Kerridge.
I don't know when Carrazzo turned it around from being a fumbler and ball-butcher, to a starting mid, but if any player could do that on our list, Kerridge may be the one the coach would love to do so. Still pretty young as he's currently 24 and will play the year out as a 25 year old. Don't be too surprised should something click for Sam and if it doesn't, we know it won't be for not trying.

Someone finally shared my kedge love. Huge upside if he gets it together

Kerr never looks like the 194cm height he's listed at.

Kennedy is 188cm and there doesn't seem to be too much difference at all to me.....not a 6cm difference.
Kennedy's a lot more than 188, why can't they tell us the effin truth?

Someone finally shared my kedge love. Huge upside if he gets it together

I just love the effort Kerridge puts in......just not always the execution.
His last few games in the senior side though, were a lot better, than from memory, just about all his VFL games, at least by way of ball-handling.
There could well be a role for him in protecting the younger guys from the heavier stuff. Will be interesting to see what Bolton does.

Kennedy's a lot more than 188, why can't they tell us the effin truth?

Interesting you should say that, as the first session of the year had one tall guy I didn't know, playing kick to kick with a coach.
He had a cap on and I didn't take much further notice as I didn't know who he was. On reflection, I think it was Kennedy and if so, he's definitely not 188 and closer to Silvagni's height at 191/2

I think you're first four are pretty much on the money on the money (slip Simmo in between Cripps and Ed for mine) but then there's daylight before Fisher. He'd need to just about double his average possession count to get near Ed.

In between Ed and Fisher is probably Kerridge, Lang, Byrne, SPS, Thomas, Charlie, March, Willo, Wright, Kreuz, Plow, Weit, Cuningham and maybe even Lamb depending on his role.

Reckon Fish still spends a fair bit of time in the forward line. I've got some faith in him, but it seems a real stretch for him to get up into our 'top 5'. His year was 12, 17, 11, 8, 13, 9, 12, 11, 9, 10, 13, 11, 9, 8, 15, 16, 13. I think if he can get to 15 that's going to be doing really well for him at this stage of his career.

Samo still isn't really an accumulator yet either, not that he necessarily has to be, but he's coming from a 1st year base of 14 a game and even if you disregard his bottom half a dozen games he's still only up to about 16. that being said, if he can get to about 18 I think he's going to be tracking well.

Got the grey matter going with that question Harks. Going on Murph playing more outside I would suggest, of our on-ballers:

1. Cripps (plenty of minutes as our inside mid)
2. Murph (probably play more outside this year)
3. Kennedy (plenty of minutes as another inside mid)
4. SPS (will play primarily on ball. If he gets a lot of it we will have be all the better for it)
5. Ed (plenty of minutes on ball as our main tagger)

Putting a lot of 'hope' that our two young players in Kennedy and SPS can find plenty of the ball, but both have shown they can find their own ball and you would think will get plenty of time playing on ball.

*** really hoping Fisher pushes in to the top 5. If he does he will improve us immensely with his smarts and ability to bring others in to the game..

His last few games in the senior side though, were a lot better, than from memory, just about all his VFL games, at least by way of ball-handling.
There could well be a role for him in protecting the younger guys from the heavier stuff. Will be interesting to see what Bolton does.

Interesting you should say that, as the first session of the year had one tall guy I didn't know, playing kick to kick with a coach.
He had a cap on and I didn't take much further notice as I didn't know who he was. On reflection, I think it was Kennedy and if so, he's definitely not 188 and closer to Silvagni's height at 191/2
Probably just copied and pasted his info across from the GWS website when we picked him up...

Def thought he was in our best most weeks coming home last season

lI enjoy reading people's positive and optimistic views on players like Kerridge this time of the year. I thought his disposal in the X game was ok. However the X game saw players in plenty of space and relatively plenty of time to play to their strengths. Fisher and Pickett were very good with ball in hand as an example.

All that said - Kerridge has poor form in terms of disposal under any sort of perceived or real pressure. If he didnt have A grade athletic ability he is probably best viewed as a VFL player. Sort of the opposite of Thomas who still has the brains and composure to play under pressure but his body makes his execution of the kick in particular second rate.

I'd love to see Kerridge improve his disposal by hand and foot to AFL standards - he would then be another reconstructed Jones find. I am not too confident though. I thought Polson was pretty ordinary in the X game but track watchers have suggested he is training well - would be great to see him step up and challenge for a starting spot.

SOS is constructing a list which will force players up or out - there are a number of players who will have significant pressure on themselves to perform to higher standards - Kerridge/Graham/Polson/Cuningham are the midfielders which come to mind. I am more confident about Cuningham than the rest.

Now compare the exposed form of LOB and Dow - even though only seen in X football - both a class above in terms of skill by foot - Dow certainly showing he has more than one gear as far as acceleration off the mark goes.

The bloke I have high hopes for is Garlett ( to add to Pickett and Williamson) - I am hoping he is capable of playing anywhere with his speed and smarts - very handy.

All that said - Kerridge has poor form in terms of disposal under any sort of perceived or real pressure. If he didnt have A grade athletic ability he is probably best viewed as a VFL player. Sort of the opposite of Thomas who still has the brains and composure to play under pressure but his body makes his execution of the kick in particular second rate
I think Kerridge actually has quite a good footy brain as in he’s often in the right spots, knows where to run and reads the play fairly well. He really does just drop the ball when it comes to disposal quality. Can see him being a really good player if he starts using the ball well and has better hands in close.

That goal from around the edge of the centre square last year shows he has talent, we know he works bloody hard. Hope he gets there.