2018 Rate My Team (Post JLT)

Gonna roll with this until JLT. 35.9k remaining.
  • Defenders are the main distributors for their teams and love to kick. Another year for Shaw to be the general down back for GWS, possibly for the last time.
  • I did have Mitchell instead of JPK but I think (hope) he will have more help in the guts this year and his scoring will go down a bit.
  • Jaeger is a risk but by all reports he's flying.
  • Hopefully campaigner Horse gives Cameron some games this year after being talked up a lot last year. Otherwise I need cover for Ryder.
  • Covering Barlow shouldn't be too difficult with some DPP flexibility.
  • Bundy is definitely worth the risk given his scoring potential and will be either a stepping stone or F7 at year's end.
  • Rookies are a bit of a crapshoot but the maturer players like Doedee, Murray, Mirra, Brodie, Kelly, Barry and Fritsch should be serviceable if given games.

team.PNG

Nice ave.
You bro
iu

Thats you bro!

• Defenders are the main distributors for their teams and love to kick. Another year for Shaw to be the general down back for GWS, possibly for the last time.
  • I did have Mitchell instead of JPK but I think (hope) he will have more help in the guts this year and his scoring will go down a bit.
  • Hopefully campaigner Horse gives Cameron some games this year after being talked up a lot last year. Otherwise I need cover for Ryder.
  • Bundy is definitely worth the risk given his scoring potential and will be either a stepping stone or F7 at year's end.
  • Rookies are a bit of a crapshoot but the maturer players like Doedee, Murray, Mirra, Brodie, Kelly, Barry and Fritsch should be serviceable if given games.

View attachment 459067
Good side .....most discussion occurs around the defense, which is a risky one

Can Tuohy repeat last year, Shaw showed some real signs of aging .......how your byes looking ?

Good side .....most discussion occurs around the defense, which is a risky one

Can Tuohy repeat last year, Shaw showed some real signs of aging .......how your byes looking ?

I reckon Tuohy can go a few points better without Mackie and being the main outlet of their defence. Tipping Shaw to bounce back, and I feel better spending ~460k on a proven scorer compared to Burto or McDonald.

Out of the 14 premos (not counting Jaeger and Bundy), 12 are playing in round 12, 11 playing in round 13, 9 playing in round 14. Seems that round 14 is giving people a few headaches, but hopefully I'll have brought in some other premos by that stage to cover them.

I reckon Tuohy can go a few points better without Mackie and being the main outlet of their defence. Tipping Shaw to bounce back, and I feel better spending ~460k on a proven scorer compared to Burto or McDonald.

Out of the 14 premos (not counting Jaeger and Bundy), 12 are playing in round 12, 11 playing in round 13, 9 playing in round 14. Seems that round 14 is giving people a few headaches, but hopefully I'll have brought in some other premos by that stage to cover them.
I've got 13 warm bodies for R14 ATM ......9 might be disastrous for R14 :p

Looks like lots of trading ahead of the byes .....

This is more of a reveal of structure than completed team, I'm going for the 2 established, 2 potential top 8 setup. Looking for a wider base of cash generation than GnR. Current thinking explained below:

upload_2018-2-12_20-47-59.png

I have lots of scope to adapt/change leading into round 1.

upload_2018-2-12_20-43-41.png

This is more of a reveal of structure than completed team, I'm going for the 2 established, 2 potential top 8 setup. Looking for a wider base of cash generation than GnR. Current thinking explained below:

View attachment 459156

I have lots of scope to adapt/change leading into round 1.

View attachment 459155

Pittard a lock? Interesting.
What do you reckon made him go backwards last year? And what's he gonna do to turn it around? I was keen on him as an upgrade target last year but he just kept going backwards. Haven't even considered him this year.

Only other one that puzzles me is Fyfe as an undetermined, he's the lock of the season imo.
He's back.

What do you reckon made him go backwards last year? And what's he gonna do to turn it around? I was keen on him as an upgrade target last year but he just kept going backwards. Haven't even considered him this year.

Only other one that puzzles me is Fyfe as an undetermined, he's the lock of the season imo.
He's back.

Jasper is my favorite player and it makes watching Port games more fun. He prob won't average more than last year; Houston is likely to improve, Hartlett is more settled this year, might be a new defensive structure etc, etc.

Yes, Fyfe is perhaps undervalued-- one of the current superstars, his hair looked great in the international rules, etc etc. He's in the undetermined section because I haven't researched him, yet. Lots of good options >613k.

He's back.
Pittard a lock? was my reaction.

1k left over

Took all the second year players out.

Tossing up:
Witherden, McGrath, Barlow & Lobb
V
McDonald, Wilson, Smith & Petracca

Any feeeback is appreciated.

F1D07327-B240-40AC-A26E-24AEC64EE2DF.jpeg
9F83F3A4-F299-41B3-9144-64C74F00224C.jpeg
05C5857D-A209-470D-971F-DA3FACCBF445.jpeg

1k left over

Tossing up:
V

View attachment 459223
View attachment 459224
View attachment 459225

Structure is good mate. 14 keepers with 2 mid pricers is the same setup I'm running. :beercheers:

I'm not excited about Wilson or Burton, but McDonald is currently in my side. I'd suggest making one of Wilson/Burton a certain keeper type like Hibberd and swapping one of Dusty/Mitchell/Oliver to someone who is priced unders instead. Coniglio, Prestia, Cripps, Blakely come to mind but there are heaps more that are priced under what they offer for 2018.

1k left over

Tossing up:
V

View attachment 459223
View attachment 459224
View attachment 459225
lots of guess work and hope in the backline but i guess JLT may bring some changes
the midfield is sex
R2 may need to change which is a worry with only 1k in the kitty but no one knows what to do with that spot.
up front i like Billings and Heeney. every other forward is a wait and see proposition imo

those cheap $102k and $117 rookies may be a problem if they dont start cause you got no cash to grab a 123.9k replacement if required.

Those two should definitely be wait and see propositions considering their preseason injuries.
Absolutely.

I guess if there are positives it’s Heeney can still do the running of pre-season training & Billings has completed most of the pre-season unlike Lobb/Yeo.

View attachment 459067

The POD of the year team. At every opportunity you've taken a POD.

You'll either be outright leader by about 500 points by round 4 or; ranked about 175k with only school girls and Collingwood supporters behind you.

The POD of the year team. At every opportunity you've taken a POD.

You'll either be outright leader by about 500 points by round 4 or; ranked about 175k with only school girls and Collingwood supporters behind you.

Would you say they're unreasonable PODs though?

1k left over

Tossing up:
V

View attachment 459223
View attachment 459224
View attachment 459225

I like the midfield a lot.

But your backline is a concern. You're basically picking 3 players to break out to go along with another 2 potentials in the fwd line. Seems unlikely. Nevermind you have JOM in the middle and Lycett as well. For me, you're locking away an extra 4 trades minimum.