2018 Rate My Team (Post JLT)

0BAp7A2.jpg

I know I am late for this season, but I think I might have an ok squad. So hit me with the problems in hand.

I really like it mate, super balanced. Going 4 deep up forward and down back is a luxury. Wish I had the gonads to start Nicnat in the ruck.

29425925_759669787555834_5423227652443996160_o.png

DEFENCE 3-0-5
All preseason I have gone with 4 keepers down back and 3 up forward in the hopes enough forward rookies would pop up, but no. We likely don't have even a single rookie priced below 150k in the forward line with half decent job security.
Because of that, I've been forced into 3-0-5.
It was either Gov, Howe or Burton for D3 and I ended up with Gov as he's surprisingly quite consistent and there should be a lot of ball headed his way this year. D4 is between Naughton/Coffield, but with Adams and Morris going down, Naughton has just that little better job security. No idea who to go out of Keefe/Mihocek/Murphy for that last rookie spot. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

MIDFIELD 5-1-5
Not taking the risk with Danger. I've been looking for a reason not to start him, and I got it.
Dusty, Titch, Zorko and Fyfe are locks to go 110, and Parker for me is more likely to go 110 than Cripps and Shuey. His ceiling isn't as high, but he's had a preseason and I'm backing him in to get back to his best.
I've downgraded Coniglio to O'Meara so i can start the season with 100k in the kitty for rookie (read Danger) corrections.

RUCK 2-1
No need to comment on Gawn.
It's between Martin, Goldy, Nank and Nicnat for that second ruck position and I've gone with Martin on the assumption Archie Smith won't play.

FORWARDS 3-1-4
******* nightmare of a line. Can't be arsed picking break out options for F1-3, I need stars that are going to start and finish in the top 6 assuming all goes well with their fitness, and these three to me represent the best chance at high level consistency.
I just changed Devon Smith to Sicily for flexibility. I wish I could squeeze Rayner in there, but it wouldn't be leaving me any room for rookie corrections.

Please, rip into it. I'd love to hear anyones opinion.
Good side, I reckon, agree with selfconfesdaflnerd on the Greene + JOM vs Cogs + Smith alternative, but mostly because I'm very conservative on JOM.
If you've been following him and you reckon he's good to go, stick with him. Greene might get out of the gates slightly slower, but looked sharper than expected in the time he was on ground in JLT2.
Murphy doesn't seem to be getting a Guernsey, might need to grab an alternative depending on cash reserves.

0BAp7A2.jpg

I know I am late for this season, but I think I might have an ok squad. So hit me with the problems in hand.
Caddy to JOM/Armitage
Clark to Brayshaw (must have mid rookie)
Hayball to Coffield (replacing with Banfield in middle)
Taberner to Crozier

otherwise, some very nice POD picks. but back your gut.

Good luck everyone, especially to the regulars who always provide advice to others and everyone cluey enough to start our lord and saviour Shannon Hurn.

Looks good besides McCartin
How come? He looks like the best option around that price to me
NRoo gone so he'll be playing every game and there's points up for grabs. Number 1 draft pick. Had a great JLT as well
I honestly think he can average close to 80. Saints have the Lions and the Roos at Etihad in the first 2 rounds. Wouldn't be surprised if he kicks a bag and scores 100s in both.

NRoo gone so he'll be playing every game and there's points up for grabs. Number 1 draft pick. Had a great JLT as well
I honestly think he can average close to 80. Saints have the Lions and the Roos at Etihad in the first 2 rounds. Wouldn't be surprised if he kicks a bag and scores 100s in both.

Thought about him, too, but not gutsy enough. Definitely a perspective there and he looked sharp in the passages of play i saw.

Nice side, different fromthe crowd.
Reckon so many have gone off Dahl he's a nice option.
Witts I would worry Nicholls might get a run at some stage, but Witts was a solid scorer in 2017 and if he stays top dog, he should give consistent output.
Petracca could take the next step, but competition for points thru mids at Dees, I'm not as buliish as some.
ANB I'd argue won't get there, wouldn't consider. Sicily an alternative, gives you swingset.
Don't want to throw heaps of changes at you, you've put time /thought into your structure and if you like it, stick with it. Good luck.

Good to think about re Nicholls. See your point on ANB but I have a real feeling about him this year, had the same gut feel on Oliver last year, the high half forward role with no Watts means he'll distribute a heap. Cheers for the feedback :thumbsu:

I honestly think he can average close to 80

As humans we try and stay away from pain as much as possible. In this case it’s the pain of possibly losing points from a player that no one else will have. So, automatically these people shut down an outside thought as stupid or not thought out, when really it’s their pain that is showing through and their lack of imagination and willingness to accept that pain.

I have a player in my backline that no one has mentioned in 230 pages. The difference is that I am willing to accept that pain if I am wrong. Most people aren’t, that’s why so many teams are the same.

If Barry isn't named, I will move Coffield into the middle and get Zuthrie down back.

BUT, I only have 45k in the bank. would like some advice on how to get Zuthrie (194k)

View attachment 472473

Interested to see what other Pies' posters think, but Cal Brown would probably be the one I'd look at swapping out. Garlett / Giles-Langdon.
Reason: Still young, highish price and Wells, Elliott, Fasolo, Aish etc. all potential to come in, Brown and Stephenson might get squeezed out.

Interested to see what other Pies' posters think, but Cal Brown would probably be the one I'd look at swapping out. Garlett / Giles-Langdon.
Reason: Still young, highish price and Wells, Elliott, Fasolo, Aish etc. all potential to come in, Brown and Stephenson might get squeezed out.
I was impressed with him in your 2 games, was very handball heavy but still scored 65-75. I think he would be the one, but I don't feel comfortable fielding Fritsch and one of Ryan/Venables/ZGL/Garlett.

I'm happy taking the risk in starting him, because if he does get dropped, i can gain 100k by downgrading him to the best scoring cheap fwd rookie.

If Barry isn't named, I will move Coffield into the middle and get Zuthrie down back.

BUT, I only have 45k in the bank. would like some advice on how to get Zuthrie (194k)

View attachment 472473
I'd probably flick Brown for Langdon. Had Brown myself for a time but it sounds increasingly like his JS is pretty shaky. At that price for a rookie you want to be confident they'll play every game barring injury. Doesn't sound like that's the case with him now.

Edit: Looks like gutsroy and I are on the same page there

I'd probably flick Brown for Langdon. Had Brown myself for a time but it sounds increasingly like his JS is pretty shaky. At that price for a rookie you want to be confident they'll play every game barring injury. Doesn't sound like that's the case with him now.

yeah, looking like that is the only option tbh

Yep, what gutsroy said, Brown is way off best 22. You're probably better off paying $123k for Venables who is pretty much best 22 already, he may lotto his way to a few 80s and get to $250k

Here is your man ;)
Paddy-McCartin.jpg

my last suggestion.
Lloyd to Mills and then you can keep the old structure that you prefer.
Mills is the better option IMO anyway.
Nah I've had Lloyd locked in for a long time, absolutely love him. Reckon he'll go 95-105 this year

Mills is meh, he'll still be very inconsistent. Next year or the year after probaby

Yep, what gutsroy said, Brown is way off best 22. You're probably better off paying $123k for Venables who is pretty much best 22 already, he may lotto his way to a few 80s and get to $250k

Here is your man ;)
Paddy-McCartin.jpg
already got Venables, have downgraded Brown to ZGL and went Barry to Guthrie. still prefer to have Brown though

Doesn't excite me, but I can work with this

$36k in the bank
View attachment 472436
McCartin has potential to be a great POD this year. If he can stay on the park he will score well - surprised he hasn't been talked about more but we know he's not that popular.... yet :)

I commend you for the gutsy move!

Made some tweaks. I don’t mind the balance, don’t think my defence or attack is light. Each has 3 keepers.

def: laird, hibberd, lloyd, doedee, murray, naughton, (finlayson, murphy)
mid: danger, dusty, titch, neale, zerrett, brayshaw, brodie, barry, (Kelly, holman, banfield)
ruck: martin, gawn, (Cameron)
fwd: Franklin, billings, heeney, petracca, garlett, fritsch,(giles-langdon, ryan)

Still cash in the bank and rookies will obviously depend on who is named. Only I’m unsure on is Brodie.

Made some tweaks. I don’t mind the balance, don’t think my defence or attack is light. Each has 3 keepers.

def: laird, hibberd, lloyd, doedee, murray, naughton, (finlayson, murphy)
mid: danger, dusty, titch, neale, zerrett, brayshaw, brodie, barry, (Kelly, holman, banfield)
ruck: martin, gawn, (Cameron)
fwd: Franklin, billings, heeney, petracca, garlett, fritsch,(giles-langdon, ryan)

Still cash in the bank and rookies will obviously depend on who is named. Only I’m unsure on is Brodie.
Get Coffield for Brodie and depending on teams, get Venables for Barry (move Garlett into mids)

nice team otherwise

nice team. how much cash left over? I'd be looking at upgrading Mills. not sure he can average what you need him to

Was thinking maybe Savage but not sure if I'm getting sucked in. Wouldn't mind getting in Josh Kelly for Mitchell if I need to find cash for elsewhere.