List Mgmt. 2019 Draft Prospects

• Thread starter Thread starter Wizard17

AFL site pumping Pickett up big time now, and doubling down on our "heavy" interest.

He's exactly what we need

Pickett's menacing approach to the game has overwhelmed SANFL defenders throughout the season and has come despite his slender 71kg frame.

"He makes people shit themselves," Bamford said

"He actually gets off on it, as well. He likes to hurt blokes. He's done some unbelievable things, in terms of his off-the-ball blocks and his defensive efforts as a small forward.

"The body's not going to worry him, he's a tough kid.

Pickett's menacing approach to the game has overwhelmed SANFL defenders throughout the season and has come despite his slender 71kg frame.

"He makes people shit themselves," Bamford said

"He actually gets off on it, as well. He likes to hurt blokes. He's done some unbelievable things, in terms of his off-the-ball blocks and his defensive efforts as a small forward.

"The body's not going to worry him, he's a tough kid.
I know we need to take any comments about any potential draftees with a little grain of salt, particularly at this time of year, but damn those are exciting attributes to read of.

When you think of how potent our forward line was late last year, adding a genuinely physical kpf like Bruce and a little powder keg like Pickett is a mouth watering prospect

AFL site pumping Pickett up big time now, and doubling down on our "heavy" interest.

He's exactly what we need, but still not sure we should be using pick 13...

What makes you think 13 is a reach? just coz he's not in Twomey's phantom form guide top 30? i remember Twomey had Bontempelli at around 18 on his phantom guide and Clayton Oliver in the twenties the year after. If you went by his phantom form guide, then you would have missed out on those guns

I would rather use pick 13 and 100% get one of the players we think will be there then trading it for 2 later picks and missing out. I think our target at 13 is 1) McAsey 2) Weightman 3) Jackson 4)Pickett. We only have 3 list spots and one will be a rookie upgrade so there’s not much point to trade 13 for 2 later picks unless one of the picks is a future and roll the dice. I think Sam will play it safe and not trade 13.

What makes you think 13 is a reach? just coz he's not in Twomey's phantom form guide top 30? i remember Twomey had Bontempelli at around 18 on his phantom guide and Clayton Oliver in the twenties the year after. If you went by his phantom form guide, then you would have missed out on those guns
Actually Bontempelli was rated 12 by Twomey this time in 2013. Clayton Oliver was not drafted the following year.

Nothing to do with any of that anyway. I just don't think Pickett has strong enough form this year to justify selection at pick 13, taking into account the alternatives available at that selection.

Cody Weightman exhibits many of the same traits as Pickett as a player, but had a better, more consistent year. If we passed on him for Pickett, I would be disappointed.

With only 2 list spots available & Young certainly being upgraded, we won't trade 13 down for 2 picks if we can't use 1. If we do trade #13 (which I don't think we will), it would be for a later pick & something for 2020.

Take Pickett, I've read one article about him but I'm right on that train. Him & JUH from next year in the forward line will make every pundit & media flog bring up a Franklin/Rioli comparison

Actually Bontempelli was rated 12 by Twomey this time in 2013. Clayton Oliver was not drafted the following year.

Nothing to do with any of that anyway. I just don't think Pickett has strong enough form this year to justify selection at pick 13, taking into account the alternatives available at that selection.

Cody Weightman exhibits many of the same traits as Pickett as a player, but had a better, more consistent year. If we passed on him for Pickett, I would be disappointed.
I'd rather Pickett tbh. Weightman's never really excited me.

It's a fairly weak draft this year, so it's a good time to go for a risky high upside pick I reckon. Drafting consistency this year means getting at best a b-grader. Go for the possible star I say.

With only 2 list spots available & Young certainly being upgraded, we won't trade 13 down for 2 picks if we can't use 1. If we do trade #13 (which I don't think we will), it would be for a later pick & something for 2020.

Take Pickett, I've read one article about him but I'm right on that train. Him & JUH from next year in the forward line will make every pundit & media flog bring up a Franklin/Rioli comparison
Put on your superman capes for draft night, it's wharfie time.

syfGRhG.jpg

Yeah it’s an interesting situation. Last year we were in a position to draft someone consistently excellent in Bailey Smith. I think McAsey will also be consistently very good and definitely the one I’d love to get. If he’s not available, we can choose between players who seem like they’ll consistently be good (Weightman and Bergman), or a real boom or bust proposition in Pickett, who could be the best of the lot or could be nothing much. If McAsey isn’t available, I wouldn’t mind taking the risk on Pickett. We got consistency last year from Smith and up and coming in West.

I would rather use pick 13 and 100% get one of the players we think will be there then trading it for 2 later picks and missing out. I think our target at 13 is 1) McAsey 2) Weightman 3) Jackson 4)Pickett. We only have 3 list spots and one will be a rookie upgrade so there’s not much point to trade 13 for 2 later picks unless one of the picks is a future and roll the dice. I think Sam will play it safe and not trade 13.
I'm with you 100%, we fought like hell to keep 13 and I just can't see us trading to go back further down the ladder. Sure we could get a great offer on the night however I think we have a list of targets and will pick whichever is there when our turn comes. Not opposed to Pickett his vid (and that's all I have to go on) is just what we're missing and could be a real surprise packet in a couple of years... and a good start to our indigenous squad.

Yeah it’s an interesting situation. Last year we were in a position to draft someone consistently excellent in Bailey Smith. I think McAsey will also be consistently very good and definitely the one I’d love to get. If he’s not available, we can choose between players who seem like they’ll consistently be good (Weightman and Bergman), or a real boom or bust proposition in Pickett, who could be the best of the lot or could be nothing much. If McAsey isn’t available, I wouldn’t mind taking the risk on Pickett. We got consistency last year from Smith and up and coming in West.
Agree, with the caveat that I think Bergman is also a bit of a bolter with a really high ceiling. Weightman the boring choice, as would be say Robertson.

From my readings of drafting lore, there are two things to be careful of when spending high draft picks (includes 2nd round):

1. Players who, while having "X factor" and the like, don't get much of the footy. If they are low possession winners in TAC, etc, what expectation can you have they are going to improve in that area in the AFL?

2. Players who don't get contested possessions. If they can't win their own pill in the junior or state leagues, how are they going to fare in the toughest comp of the them all?

How do some of the fancies being bandied around here fare on those basic criteria?

With someone who has been invited to the draft means that someone has rated him highly. Doubt Pickett will be there in the 2nd round despite not rated in the the top 30.

Nick Shipley, I still have the bruises from that one, never posted since, sometimes two and two equals six and
not four. Tim Kelly to West Coast at Pick 21 got me who t f is he, who is laughing now.

From my readings of drafting lore, there are two things to be careful of when spending high draft picks (includes 2nd round):

1. Players who, while having "X factor" and the like, don't get much of the footy. If they are low possession winners in TAC, etc, what expectation can you have they are going to improve in that area in the AFL?

2. Players who don't get contested possessions. If they can't win their own pill in the junior or state leagues, how are they going to fare in the toughest comp of the them all?

How do some of the fancies being bandied around here fare on those basic criteria?
Another couple from recent experience:

3. Talls who dominate at junior level just because they grew big early. They need other tricks - more than height & bulk - to make it against seasoned monsters.

4. (Related to #3) Talls with poor mobility, low agility are unlikely to make it. Kieren Collins is Exhibit A.

I've got no basis for this besides a sense from following the draft for the last few years, but my read is that a player can improve on low possession numbers. Bont is a good example I think. Also low possession numbers are fine if they are high quality, especially for certain positions (like small forward).

I am a big believer however that a player who can't win his own footy isn't going far, unless they are absolutely elite in other areas. They either slide or turn out to be busts (Toumpas is one example that comes to mind, Aish another one). Obviously no rule is 100% but I'm pretty strong on this one.

I've got no basis for this besides a sense from following the draft for the last few years, but my read is that a player can improve on low possession numbers. Bont is a good example I think. Also low possession numbers are fine if they are high quality, especially for certain positions (like small forward).

I am a big believer however that a player who can't win his own footy isn't going far, unless they are absolutely elite in other areas. They either slide or turn out to be busts (Toumpas is one example that comes to mind, Aish another one). Obviously no rule is 100% but I'm pretty strong on this one.

I disagree. You only need to look at Lipinskis career to see that’s not true.
He was an outside player with pea heart tendencies early days but has developed a game where he can be pretty damaging winning his own ball on the inside and out.
If you were to draft with points 1 and 2 as a rule, you would miss out on some very good players.

Points 3 and 4 are pretty spot on I reckon.

Have also seen plenty of ball winning animals at lower levels who can’t find a blade of grass at the top flight or missed out on getting drafted all together.

I would say these are more important to us:

1) Work ethic. Both movement around the ground and also training levels.

2) disposal efficiency under pressure, rather than the actual hard ball get.

3) Coachability.

4) Ability to pick the ball up. Nothing kills a team than a player fumbling around trying to find a handle on the ball.

Some players get invited to the event that aren't top 20 prospect
I remember GWS had one of their academy players at the draft but he went in the 30s-40s

Just club preference

Have also seen plenty of ball winning animals at lower levels who can’t find a blade of grass at the top flight or missed out on getting drafted all together.

This is a great insult, will definitely use that. Cheers :)

I would say these are more important to us:

1) Work ethic. Both movement around the ground and also training levels.

2) disposal efficiency under pressure, rather than the actual hard ball get.

3) Coachability.

4) Ability to pick the ball up. Nothing kills a team than a player fumbling around trying to find a handle on the ball.
5) Descision making and first give.

6) Discipline and life balance.

7) Cooking skills, I wish I had learned to cook as a kid.

Only way I see us trading Pick 13 is through live trade - I imagine we're probably holding it for McAsey. If he's gone, there's plenty of options available to us.

Could approach Geelong and try get Pick 17 + 24 for 13 + 53. They might go for it if they really rate a player sitting there at 13 who may not be there at 17. Could allow us to get Bergman and Pickett.

Anyone worried about splitting Pick 13 into two picks when we're only going to upgrade a rookie anyway should consider that any trades would likely involve Pick 53 as well. We'd be turning 2 picks into 2 picks.