List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part III

Guarantee you someone would see value in him. You need to remember he has a massive tank. Tough. Shown he can perform a shut down job*

Remember he was touted as a very late first rounder in his draft year. He will have interest.
Sorry but it doesn't matter where he was rated in his draft year , its what he has done since being drafted into a real competition that matters and IMO thats been bugger all , falls over all the time and when he does get it he panics . He played a decent quarter against the worst team in the league last year and some need a box of tissues , Lets see what teams are willing to offer for him

There is absolutely no need for us to keep D-Mac. Doesn't provide enough run and carry with the ball, his disposal is not very good and he gets beaten a fair few times 1v1.

We have players like Coff who will be making that position their own and also have the perfect replacement for Geary in Paton who is better than D-Mac at all the above traits.

If we persisted with White like we have with D-Mac I think we would have had a very good player on our hands.
The bloke can run around a track but when he gets on the oval he refuses to run , well except around in circles like a chook with his head cut off

Sorry but it doesn't matter where he was rated in his draft year , its what he has done since being drafted into a real competition that matters and IMO thats been bugger all , falls over all the time and when he does get it he panics . He played a decent quarter against the worst team in the league last year and some need a box of tissues , Lets see what teams are willing to offer for him
He was top 10 in last years B&F from 13 games, an incredible effort.

He's definitely a player with limitations, but he generally tries to play within them as I'm sure he's asked.

He'll always probably be fringe, but I don't think he's anywhere near as bad as you keep making out.

Worried that Ben King may find the lure of playing with his brother for the team they both love, and fuelled by the positive Moorabbin vibe comments yesterday from Paddy Ryder, Gold Coast coach Stuart Dew attempted to replicate Brett Ratten’s jubilant and enthusiastic leap in front of his players.

He was top 10 in last years B&F from 13 games, an incredible effort.

He's definitely a player with limitations, but he generally tries to play within them as I'm sure he's asked.

He'll always probably be fringe, but I don't think he's anywhere near as bad as you keep making out.
Thats fine mate , you rate him i dont , everyone has an opinion , I think him finishing 10th in our B&F is more of an indication of how we played last year and the personal we have at the club , not how good DMac is

He's really not though, Newnes has had a few 20+ plus disposals, 5-6 mark, 3-4 tackle seasons. Jones cracked that once, only with less marks, kicks and goals.

Prepare for disappointment.

yeah but Newnes is weak as piss, can’t count the amount of times he just hung off the contest this year when he could have gone harder for the ball. At least Jones has a bit of Kent in him and goes at the pill.

He's really not though, Newnes has had a few 20+ plus disposals, 5-6 mark, 3-4 tackle seasons. Jones cracked that once, only with less marks, kicks and goals.

Take your point on Jones, but Newnes hasn’t been that player for two seasons now. His drop off has been unusual and Jones in recent form is considerably better.

Of course I do, where am I in error?.

Just one example.
Whilst other teams have played on ANZAC day before, Collingwood & Essendon have made that game into what it is. You’re kidding yourself if you think if they changed it to us V the bulldogs or Melbourne v North that it would still be the same success.
We’ve had plenty of Friday night & prime time games over the years, including Monday night against Carlton which instead of embracing everyone bitched about, just like they did when we played games in tassie, just like they did when we played games in NZ. The AFL even gave us a crack at Good Friday Football.
So it’s easy to whinge about the AFL not being a level playing field, but we’ve had numerous chances but for whatever reason stuffed it up.

Does anyone here think there's any chance at all that Paddy McCartin plays again? We haven't had a real update in months.

If it's true about the rumours of North being about to tie up Papley on about 600k a year, not the ridiculous figures claimed yesterday
Then once again we have been gazumped by an ordinary rival! Whilst we have been spending our energy where it's not needed by
Courting the likes of Jones and being caught up in the silly money being offered to the ordinary Crouch.
I feel like all of Saints, North and Dogs fans view each other as the "ordinary rivals". In reality, we're all as shit of a destination as each other from most player's eyes

Does anyone here think there's any chance at all that Paddy McCartin plays again? We haven't had a real update in months.
Iv been told plenty of times by experts on here that im not a Doctor but IMO there is no way he will play again anywhere ,

Looks like Dmac was identified by Ratts as a ball butcher, although he gives it all, poor decision making cost games.

Richo will be keen to get him to Melbourne, where Dan can use his vast array of skills to bolster the Dees list and fill their gaps.

First, his pace will address an urgent need for them. Second, his, umm, err................Third, there is his pace and running ability. Fourth, there is...............his pace and running ability. Second rounder, but likely a junk pick, or assistance to get Ryder, Gray or Jones.

Genius again, Satan. Sending one of our direct competitors for a finals' place not one, but two Trojan Horses! First Richo, then Dan. All hail Mighty Satan! Our true Messiah!😈😈😈

Yes he's only cracked 20 average once, but that's a little misleading now isn't it?

He's averaed at least 19.5 touches a game for the last 3 seasons now.

And he's is 2 years younger than Newnes. The concerning thing is that Jones looks like he is clearly building while Newnes has gone backwards.

Whilst other teams have played on ANZAC day before, Collingwood & Essendon have made that game into what it is. You’re kidding yourself if you think if they changed it to us V the bulldogs or Melbourne v North that it would still be the same success.
We’ve had plenty of Friday night & prime time games over the years, including Monday night against Carlton which instead of embracing everyone bitched about, just like they did when we played games in tassie, just like they did when we played games in NZ. The AFL even gave us a crack at Good Friday Football.
So it’s easy to whinge about the AFL not being a level playing field, but we’ve had numerous chances but for whatever reason stuffed it up.
I’ve heard it all now, that’s just laughable, collingwood and Essendon turned up on a day that was the easiest sell on the calendar when nothing else in this city was open so competition was zero.

It’s a free kick anyway you look at it and should be rotated and yes the MCG on Anzac Day is just like tassie and NZ or a Monday night dead zone. This competition is meant to be a level playing field not a benefit for a few at the expense of others. Collingwood how many times do they travel, how many games at the MCG etc it’s a joke their set up to succeed.

Yes we’ve had all the luck just like when our period of relative success was brought to a halt with zoning. Sorry but it’s about time St Kilda stood up for itself and called out the special deals, what do we have to loose Sunday afternoons.

St Kilda have played twice on Queens Birth Day in modern times for 80k at the G V Collingwood in 92 and 71k at Waverley V Richmond in 98.
Collingwood even played on the G V North that same day in 1998 for 58k.
Despite these successes the same fixtures were never continued... and there's really little excuse for St Kilda not to be able to play on ANZAC or Queens Birthday at Docklands while another game is on at the G.
The AFL's obsession with fixturing stand-alone games is quiet baffling, after all public holidays are beneficial for the 20% crowd boost you get, which makes you wonder why the so called 'big clubs' require this advantage to fill a stadium.

Playing home games interstate or overseas are the opposite of a day game on a public holiday.
Playing a night game on Monday night isn't a marquee event either... if it was Eddie would be putting his hand up.

How is that relevant?

The discussion is around the level of financial welfare we get from the AFL.

How is the 10 million dollar line of credit they have given us NOT relevant??

Our club is singularly responsible for literally over 20% of the debt carried by all 18 teams:

Yes he's only cracked 20 average once, but that's a little misleading now isn't it?

He's averaed at least 19.5 touches a game for the last 3 seasons now.

And he's is 2 years younger than Newnes. The concerning thing is that Jones looks like he is clearly building while Newnes has gone backwards.
I'm not sure if it misleading when replying to someone who is claiming that Jones is a massive, huge, ginormous upgrade on Newnes.

Despite being down recently and playing as a defensive forward, Newnes has had more solid seasons to his name than Jones, so it is debatable whether he is any sort of an upgrade, let alone a massive one on a player who we clearly don't want.