Just posted what he said on Oct 2 last year, nothing else
Fair enough, to be honest I didn’t really look at any context. It wasn’t an attack on you or your opinion, I’m sorry if it came across that way.

Just posted what he said on Oct 2 last year, nothing else
There was no talk of hannebury going anywhere either.
And nicnat hasn't signed,
And they have 2 other senior ruckmen,
they have a tight salary cap,
he hasn't played for 2 years- there's probably currently (like with hanners) a big gap between what wc value him at in $ vs how nicnat values himself in $ terms.
He and west coast are actually in a VERY similar situation to hanners and swans last year.
Ripe for someone with money to get in his ear and swoop
He played 15 games last season.
He's a bit younger than Ryder, but i'm not convinced he won't be the first of them to retire.
There was talk about Hannebery looking for a move early to mid last year IIRC.There was no talk of hannebury going anywhere either.
And nicnat hasn't signed,
And they have 2 other senior ruckmen,
they have a tight salary cap,
he hasn't played for 2 years- there's probably currently (like with hanners) a big gap between what wc value him at in $ vs how nicnat values himself in $ terms.
He and west coast are actually in a VERY similar situation to hanners and swans last year.
Ripe for someone with money to get in his ear and swoop
It sure which ones we are actually going after but I would guess Cogs, Jones, Martin and Tomlinson would be the ones. I have been on the Papley train for a while and after the 1st half tonight I am convinced he is next best out of contract after cogs.Stephen Cognilio
Zac Jones
Adam Tomlinson
Paddy Ryder
Todd Goldstein
Jack Martin
All of these players we have been linked to so far this season, I may have missed one or two. Which ones are we actually serious about pursuing. Jones and Ryder/Goldstein would be achievable surely.
Cmon Pluggs - these guys are the epitome of chook lotto. They mass produce drivel for tabloid trash publications and due to the nature of the business the next issue rises above the horizon and whatever they print last week is quickly forgotten. Not to mention the fact no one holds them accountable for what they publish.I know people don’t like guys but he would have some information even if it’s slight. If they guess all the time they are eventually found out.
Can’t agreeCmon Pluggs - these guys are the epitome of chook lotto. They mass produce drivel for tabloid trash publications and due to the nature of the business the next issue rises above the horizon and whatever they print last week is quickly forgotten. Not to mention the fact no one holds them accountable for what they publish.
They absolutely guess and play both sides of an argument to stay relevant.
Sorry, it’s a bugbear of mine the way these ‘journos’ take liberty and run with stories that are factually incorrect - still waiting for an apology to Dempster.
Stephen Cognilio
Zac Jones
Adam Tomlinson
Paddy Ryder
Todd Goldstein
Jack Martin
All of these players we have been linked to so far this season, I may have missed one or two. Which ones are we actually serious about pursuing. Jones and Ryder/Goldstein would be achievable surely.
As long as he doesn’t playNow linked to Roughy for a coaching, leadership, list management role when he retires. Maybe he’ll bring Clarko along with him.
As long as he doesn’t play
That’s ok mate - it’d be a boring place if we all agreed on everything. Keeps us young.Can’t agree
On his interview the other day Marshall said he was 202cm, i think it says only 200 in some sites. We will have a situation if he gets injured at the moment tho with Longer and Pierce injured as wellAll respect to Roo but Marshall is doing mighty fine as our main ruck and we need a elite mid before anything else.
I dont think he is much of an upgrade on any of our mids, so paying 1.4 for him would be ridiculous in my view. Dodged a bullet i reckon tooTBH I reckon we dodged a bullet missing out on Shiel, he has been ordinary in the Essendon midfield this year. If King can have an (major) injury free career we are Streets ahead!
Agree we need a capable back up ruck , however whoever we get has to realize they are only going to play in Marshall gets a injury.On his interview the other day Marshall said he was 202cm, i think it says only 200 in some sites. We will have a situation if he gets injured at the moment tho with Longer and Pierce injured as well
No idea but I will go with a hbf being a dime a dozen and small forwards hard to findOut of curiosity, why do you think Robbie Young was selected in the National Draft but Cal Wilkie wasn't?
Needs I'd say.Out of curiosity, why do you think Robbie Young was selected in the National Draft but Cal Wilkie wasn't?
Wish it was Sydney Stack in hindsight.Out of curiosity, why do you think Robbie Young was selected in the National Draft but Cal Wilkie wasn't?
I wouldn't take too much notice of the flogs writing for the papers , the amount they get right is minimalAgree we need a capable back up ruck , however whoever we get has to realize they are only going to play in Marshall gets a injury.
As we know they say in the papers they are going after Goldstien , I just feel we could find someone with a bit more longevity , Goldstien is giving his all this year knowing he has to for a extension of contract and being 32 - huge risk , the other one is Ryder , another who is injury prone.
We will be getting Bigun in the draft , but of course he will be development , we also have the big basketball player who is still learning to play football.
Are we better keeping Longer and Pierce - they just seem not good enough , even though Longer may be a better tap ruckman at times.
Jones / Fremantle , Phillips / Carlton , Pittonet / Hawks would be options - but to grab a Goldstien , Ryder , Nic Nat and Martin who are all uncontracted at the end of the year and tell them they will play mostly at Sandringham , I would find it hard they would want to finish there career like that , even then will there body stand up.
They might just end up keeping one of Pierce or Longer and hope Marshall can stay on the park.
You want to be paying a 33 yo ruckman who has done two knees $800 a year , I hope its your money your using . He is great when fit but you would have to doubt him getting back to anywhere near his bestMeh- it would be worth shaking the tree, we need A graders all over the park and if we sit around waiting for the perfect, risk free one to land in our laps- we'll die wondering.
The club took a calculated risk on getting hanners right.
Just like the hawks did with jager.
High risk is ok if it comes at an acceptable cost AND can lead to high reward.
Nic nat on say 800k ×4 would be worth a punt for where we are at- we've got 1million bucks of salary cap sitting on the sidelines doing nothing this year.
Plus all of robbo, mccartin and steven potentially done?
We can afford to risk money.
Just like with hanners- if he's a bust, that sucks- but it hasnt cost us opportunity or ability to retain anyone... so who cares?
May as well go for nic nat instead if we're going down that track
Sam McClure on the 2nd of Oct last year
Dylan Shiel will not be at Essendon ....herald sun going to either Carlton / St Kilda / Hawthorn
Was very specific ....said Essendon definitely out of race .
He writes for the ageSam McClure on the 2nd of Oct last year
Dylan Shiel will not be at Essendon ....herald sun going to either Carlton / St Kilda / Hawthorn
Was very specific ....said Essendon definitely out of race .
Actually that might not be enough